Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Shorts - 10"

Write Your Review

4.7 /5

Filter Reviews

All 73 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Shorts - 10"

4.7
True To Size
September 11, 2020

Nice Shorts!

These shorts are great! The material is very comfortable and seems to be durable. Love the side and back zip pockets to secure the goods. I would say they run a bit on the small side...I usually wear a 32 or 33 waist but needed a 34 with these. Highly recommend as a hike, bike, swim, all around great functioning and looking pair of shorts!!

September 10, 2020

Comfortable, Functional, Good Lookin'

Everything about this short is spot on... except for one nit. I've found that Patagonia bottoms (shorts and pants) usually don't leave enough room in the seat for people with slightly more developed glutes (nicest way to put it). As such, these shorts tend to fit close to body right around the seat through the center pelvic region, but ha... Read Moreve room to spare in the waist. The fabric is nice and the pocket is appropriately sized and placed. Hem length is flattering without becoming another player in the fad right now of super short shorts.

September 9, 2020

Just right.

The shorts are very well made, comfortable, and seem like they will wear well. Just what I was looking for.

September 9, 2020

Great quality and multi use

Loved my new shorts, great quality and fit. I use it in several situations, super confortable and environment friendly!

September 8, 2020

Perfect versatile shorts

I bought the Quandary shorts as I have owned the pants for quite a while, so I know they are well made and stand up to hard wear. The shorts are almost perfect. For me they would be 100% perfect if they had a non-metalic D ring sewn above both front pockets for keys etc. On the pants I cut off the internal waist ties as I didn't think they wer... Read Moree necessary but I am keeping them on the shorts in case I want to use them for swimming. The fabric is strong but soft, lightweight and durable. You can buy cheaper shorts but you will have to replace them long before these guys wear out.

September 7, 2020

Perfect Shorts for the Tropics

I live in Hawaii and found these shorts to be perfect for the warm weather we have here. I wear shorts all year round and I can honestly say these are the best shorts I've owned. The fabric is very comfortable and are breathable even on high humidity days. I have purchased my outdoor clothing from Patagonia for the past 30 years and still have... Read More clothing still in great condition!

September 2, 2020

Very lightweight

Shorts are very comfortable, super soft and light especially on hot days its nice to wear for hiking and walking. Id highly recommend them

September 1, 2020

Perfect Backpacking Shorts

I love these shorts---fit, fabric, function! Just returned from a week at Yellowstone where I wore one pair for 3 days of day-hiking and another pair for a 4-day backpacking trip. I really like the way these shorts fit--slim but not constricting. The quick-drying fabric was really nice as I got caught in a few rain showers and on the backpack, had ... Read Moreto ford the Snake River 4 different times. The river wasn't that high but I managed to splash water on myself every time and the shorts dried within minutes afterwards. I also love the simplicity of these shorts--they are not over-built but rather, perfectly functional. I could fit a small camera in one front pocket, my pocket knife in the other, and the front zippered pocket was perfect to hold water-treatment pills. I have 2 pairs of these shorts and I feel like they will wear like iron but I still hope Patagonia doesn't stop making them any time soon.

September 1, 2020

Everyday shorts

These shorts are slim fit and they mean it. If you have any booty or thighs bigger than a runway model there probably not for you. The quality is excellent as is the case with most Patagonia product. Design is really functional as well. Just tight. Im 62 and 188lbs if that helps.

September 1, 2020

Great fit and style

These are excellent shorts and honestly can do anything. They're nice enough for work but great for a post work hike or fly fishing session. The pockets are well-designed, and the fabric is perfect in terms of style and durability. They also have a little stretch which makes the comfort a 10 out of 10. Highly recommended.

July 14, 2020

Great Shorts

Great piece of gear for all round active wear! Side zip pocket could be moved higher to accommodate larger/longer phones, as current location does not allow zipper to close over my iPhone. Not sure about the waist ties.....they are a stretchy cord that doesnt seem to get very tight. Have not worn them in the water, but fabric seems like they would ... Read Moredry fairly quickly,

July 13, 2020

Perfect Amount of Pockets

This is my second pair of this shorts, Patagonia Men's Quandary Hiking Shorts - 10". They are comfortable, durable and look great. They have the right amount of pocket with zippers, these are my go to shorts, i use they every week. don't know why i didn't get another pair sooner.

July 13, 2020

Great fit

Easy care, durable, and comfy. Didnt get the drawstring, but if worn in the water I can a use.

July 13, 2020

Great Shorts

One of the most comfortable shorts Ive ever worn. Love them!

July 13, 2020

Breathable and durable

These shorts are perfect for hot weather hikes and camping trips. The material is comfortable and flexible on long hikes. These shorts can be worn with or without a belt for casual wear using the draw string. However, for hikes a belt is needed as the draw string slips and the material expands. Overall, outstanding product.

July 13, 2020

GREAT short!

Super Versatile. Wear them for whatever and look great. Light weight, packable and quick dry. GREAT short!

July 13, 2020

Looks good for casual wear!

It will easily wrinkle, so it wont maintain the polished look. However, super comfortable and well made!

July 13, 2020

Great shorts, needs integrated belt

These are awesome, durable, and work for everything from bike commuting to climbing. 10" is right for a tall guy at 6'2. The inner drawstring is lame though. It pulled through and is impossible to rethread. Just add an integrated webbing belt like so many of your other pants and they'll be golden.

July 10, 2020

Great fit

Easy care, durable, and comfy. Didnt get the drawstring, but if worn in the water I can a use.

July 9, 2020

Great Shorts

One of the most comfortable shorts Ive ever worn. Love them!

July 9, 2020

Breathable and durable

These shorts are perfect for hot weather hikes and camping trips. The material is comfortable and flexible on long hikes. These shorts can be worn with or without a belt for casual wear using the draw string. However, for hikes a belt is needed as the draw string slips and the material expands. Overall, outstanding product.

July 9, 2020

GREAT short!

Super Versatile. Wear them for whatever and look great. Light weight, packable and quick dry. GREAT short!

July 9, 2020

Great shorts, needs integrated belt

These are awesome, durable, and work for everything from bike commuting to climbing. 10" is right for a tall guy at 6'2. The inner drawstring is lame though. It pulled through and is impossible to rethread. Just add an integrated webbing belt like so many of your other pants and they'll be golden.

July 6, 2020

Disappointed

I purchased a second pair of these shorts only to have the same issue as the first pair. The zipper flap bows the fabric at the top where the zipper meets the waistband so if you want to tuck in your shirt or remove your shirt it looks bad and/or poor quality. The lightweight fabric is perfect for comfort and quick drying.

Response from Patagonia
August 6, 2020

Hello Scott, we're really sorry about the disappointment with the zipper flap. If this becomes a bigger issue please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty. Your feedback has been forwarded to the appropriate team. Thanks for your review!

July 2, 2020

Light and comfortable in hot weather

Wore this in muggy east coast summer. The lightweight fabric was the most comfortable of any shorts I own. Sitting, moving, sleeping, anything works in these.

June 27, 2020

Very Nice Shorts

I purchased a pair of these last summer and bought a second pair this summer. When I purchased them last year I wasn't sure what I would think because a) the cut is more tailored than some other shorts and I favor ease of movement b) the internal drawstring was a question mark b/c it seemed like extra work. Now these are one of my 2 favorite p... Read Moreairs of shorts. What I've found is good: - Stretch is just right. These shorts aren't restrictive for me at all even though they are a more tailored cut. Also, they're not too stretchy. Very stretchy shorts are good too, it's just cool these aren't. - Cut is just right. I like that the appearance can be neater and still allow full mobility. - Drawstring is actually not bad. It allows me to have just the right amount of tension on the waist and not have a belt. You do have to work around it it a little. If you'd asked me before if I'd like it I'd have said no but now sort of do. - Pockets are perfect. Front pockets are good and deep, zip front pocket and then one rear pocket zipped and one open is the perfect design. I also like it when pants have small watch pockets within normal pockets which these do. Good for holding small pieces of hardware, etc. What I'd improve: - There is a design a competitor has for a cinching belt built in to the pants which I like better than the drawstring b/c it's easier, quicker, and one-handed. It's different though b/c it only pulls the front buckle area together versus wrapping around your waist like the string. With the Quandry shorts, when I have the string tied it causes the waist to bunch up a little in some places. Not a big deal but could be better. - Looking at them now and it's hard to say anything else. I've used them for hard outside work, hiking, biking, daily use, etc. and they've been great.

June 26, 2020

Functional fit.

Very versatile design . The stretch material provides flexibility for hiking shorts and great look for casual wear. I like the added draw string for waist in lieu of using a belt.

June 19, 2020

Best shorts ever

I bought a pair of these last year at an REI store and loved them. I am a fan of waterproof lightweight shorts in general and these are the best ones I've ever had. I liked them so much I ordered a lighter beige color from patagonia.com and I like them even better. They do run a little small, however--all my other shorts are 34" waist but... Read More for these I need a 36". But they fit perfectly and are very well made. I would love it if you made a blue color perhaps.

June 19, 2020

Great summer shorts

This is the 2nd one my wife bought for me. Great fit, very comfortable and most of all, looks good!

June 17, 2020

Perfect shorts

These shorts are ideal in every regard.

June 17, 2020

Sweet Shorts

These Quandary shorts hit the right note with stretch and comfort. They are great for all day wear and dry quickly. I have 2 pairs and shopping for a third. Get em, you will like them.

June 17, 2020

Mens shorts

If these are the one we just ordered online, they had an elastic in the waist.. My husband was not happy. They were thinner and didn't hold there shape. We are frequent customers with no past issues. But the the shorts we ordered in April 2020 were not of your calibur.

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2020

We are sorry to hear that these didn't work out for you and we appreciate your feedback on this. Please note, your satisfaction is always guaranteed and if you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us, we welcome you to.

May 1, 2020

Great shorts, But Bring Back The Dolomite Blue!!

These are great shorts, but I sure wish Patagonia would bring back the Dolomite Blue (or at least some blue) color in the Mens 10" Quandry shorts. Other colors are fine but we need a blue hue!

November 23, 2019

Super comfortable, stretchy, breathable shorts.

Super comfortable, stretchy, breathable shorts. I wear these everywhere from camping to going out to eat. I’m 6ft and the 10” come right above my knees.

November 22, 2019

Wicked light

These shorts are so light you'll almost not notice they are on. The back zipper pocket is perfect for even large phones.

November 6, 2019

Super design

This is my third pair of Quandary shorts. They are designed for active daily use, comfortable, wash easily, and look good. My oldest pair is about three years old and shows absolutely no signs of wear.

October 22, 2019

Good stuff

My second pair, I love them. They fit, they stretch when I do, and they stay unreasonably clean. My only complaint is the little shoe string tie, I find the useless and cut them off.

October 17, 2019

Great shorts

The fabrics is better than expected, as is the fit I like them so much, I bought the long pants too

September 6, 2019

Patagonia Scores Again

I love Patagonia products. The are quality, made well and fit to size. The delivery was fast. They might seem a little expensive to some but I expect these articles will last me a lifetime.

September 5, 2019

...but for another inch or two

I've owned Quandry shorts and pants for years and was happy to see that the latest version of their 10" shorts had been updated to fit most mobil phones in the cargo pocket. Unfortunately, for my XR, the actual pocket now hangs down below the leg seam, making it visible when the phone is stored there! The pocket needs to start up the leg ... Read Moreabout another inch or so! Otherwise another great pair of shorts. One more thing...how about a blue color like some of your other shorts?

September 4, 2019

Quandry Shorts

So far so good. Two long day hike, 3 rounds of golf and paddle boarding and the shorts are marvelous.

September 1, 2019

Great shorts

I just hiked 60 miles on the JMT with these. They are great shorts. They dry very quickly and look good. I ordered two different colors in size 33 and the waist fit slightly differently in each.

August 31, 2019

Great shorts

My new Ms Quandary Shorts - 10 are great! By selling them by waist size (33), I can get a great fit.

August 20, 2019

Lightweight & Super Comfy

These have become my new favorite shorts. Very light-weight fabric that’s soft to the touch and hardly wrinkles. The pockets are well placed and zippers seem durable so far. Definitely going to buy more in other colors.

August 18, 2019

Quandary shorts

These have become my go-to shorts and I’ve only had them a week or so. Fit perfect, slightly stretchy fabric is extremely comfortable, and the zipper side pocket is perfect for keys, wallet, anything. I’m congratulating myself on this purchase. Good job, self.

August 18, 2019

Michigan

I usually land on a size 33. These run a little tight. Had to step up to a 35. Great shorts! Used them fly fishing for smallmouth bass on the Muskegon. Awesome gear!

August 17, 2019

a little too sleek

They're okay. But the legs are a little to sleek, narrow. I'm not a 20-something anymore. Would have preferred them a little more loose in the legs.

August 16, 2019

Quandary shorts

My favorite shorts- comfortable, pretty durable and fast drying. I’ve gone from wet wading a trout stream to a decent restaurant in a matter of hours and they still look presentable. Great product.

August 15, 2019

Suuuuper Comfy

These shorts are really comfortable and so far have been very durable. They work for everything from the pavement to the peaks.

August 15, 2019

Perfect

Great hiking shorts. Tough, comfortble, good pockets and zippers.

August 13, 2019

Great Versatile Short

I love this short! It is a great summer hiking and work short that fits great. I like the less baggy fit around the legs and the length is just right. I will be buying a few more of these.

August 10, 2019

Great shorts, finally pockets that

Great shorts, finally pockets that hold things without falling out

August 10, 2019

Ms Quandry shorts

Excellent shorts. Quick drying. Zippered pockets among many great large pockets. It’s a sad day when I need long pants instead of these shorts.

August 2, 2019

The only short you need for summer

Took two pairs to Mexico, and basically lived in them for anything other than blazing hot days fishing (had to wear pants so I didn't burn like crazy while on a panga all day.) Comfortable, a bit of stretch and useful pockets make these a no brainer. Also, I really like the drawstring feature as well as a button and belt loops -- I wear a lig... Read Moreht belt usually, just so I can snug them up if I am wearing a pack, etc. These shorts pack down really small, so it is easy to travel with a pair or two and you hardly notice them. I wear them all the time.

July 30, 2019

Perfect Shorts

I bought these at the Lake Tahoe, CA short a few weeks ago and have worn them constantly ever since. You can swim in these shorts, hike in these shorts, wear them around town... whatever. I've definitely found my favorite pair of shorts. The waist tie is handy if you want them to be a bit more secure around the waist. I put these through the w... Read Moreringer and they never disappoint. Definitely grabbing another pair for when the other is in the wash!

July 18, 2019

Favorite shorts

I bought these from the Portland, OR store. My favorite shirt. I wish the drawstring was a bit heavier duty because it’s like an extra thin stretchy shoe string, but it does work. Love the pockets but it’s a little small for my iPhone XR so when I get in and out of my car i feel like it’s going to fall out. Super comfortable. highly recommend.

July 3, 2019

Love these shorts!

I love the quandry line of pants and shorts! Cool on a hot day, tough and they dry fast. The only shorts you'll ever need.

May 8, 2019

The perfect fit!

My husband loves anything Patagonia! They are always a great fit, and easy to wash and wear! He loves the fabric!

May 8, 2019

My Patagonia Shorts - 19

Great 👍 materials composition. Comfort fit is true to size. Excellent repellency. Wash and wear -ready to roll. Why the waistband tie?

May 8, 2019

My other shorts are lonely.

Since I got these shorts, my other shorts sit in the dresser, wanting to come out for spring, but being neglected. The Quandary 10 inch shorts are exactly the right length, just above the knees. The stretch fabric is feather light and comfortable, like being naked but with “security” and pockets. The pockets are just the right size. I have two quib... Read Morebles. The inner picket in the right front is just a smidge too small for my IPhone X and plastic case. And one more cargo pocket on the front left side might be helpful. Still, I liked these so much I bought another pair in another color, and I’m getting my old shorts ready to go to new homes, where they can live out the rest of their useful lives. Oh, and the curved waistband in front is genius!

May 8, 2019

Great

These shorts fit good wear them out hiking and around town. They look good. Very light

April 4, 2019

Stick to 100% nylon

Spandex is a lint and dirt magnet. Please return to making Patagonia shorts from 100% nylon.

Response from Patagonia
May 2, 2019

We are sorry to hear that those are attracting dirt and lint. Thanks so much for the feedback and please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us.

August 31, 2018

Casual, and commited

These shorts are some of my favorites! They allow me to have a casual look from my day to day, or they allow me to hike up a mountain! the side zipper "tater tot" pocket allows me to keep a map, a schedule, or fruit snacks with easy access. The stretch in the shorts are comfortable if I need to stretch out, the water resistance allows me ... Read Moreto spill water or any other things without worry about stains. I also love these shorts because i can use them for anything! I have on several occasions dove spontaneously into a river, or a lake without worrying about discomfort later on in the day. They dry quickly and are ready for the trail, the office, or even the pool!

July 3, 2018

Lightweight,quick drying,good fit

I bought these for a 2 month trip around SE Asia. I am 6'1',165. The 32's were a good fit,if a tiny bit loose. The drawstring,which is quite thin and seems fragile but has held up,solved that problem. They have enough stretch that I could have gotten away with a 31. The length is perfect,falling above the knee,but definitely not &#x2... Read More7;short-shorts'. The ash tan color did pick up some stains when hiking through the jungles in Vietnam,but after a wash in the sink with some Dr. Bronner's they came right out. I also wore them a few times for kayaking and impromptu swim sessions,and they dry nearly as quick as any board shorts I've owned. The do get a tad heavy when they are totally soaked,but that's not really what they are made for. Overall,I'm happy with these shorts and plan to get another color soon. They are lightweight,durable (so far),and can even be worn out to the bars or restaurants if it's a casual setting.

June 25, 2018

Start the adventure

Another great pair of summer hot weather shorts made by Patagonia. Can double as a swimsuit or de rigueur for boating,surfing,or other water sports requiring zipped pockets. Get rid of the elastic strap inside the pants. It is not very strong,too elastic,and redundant. - Sequoia

June 25, 2018

Love the Shorts

I have been a die hard Prana Stretch Zion Short wearer for years,but now that I have found the Quandary,I am never going back. These shorts are really nice. I bought the 10" and I am 6'5" 190 lbs,they are definitely right on the edge of too short. Not sure if the 12" existed when I bought them,but I will surely move up to the 12... Read More" for the next pair I order so I don't look like Lieutenant Dangle.

July 15, 2017

Great shorts!

Light weight,but well constructed. Great for hiking in warm weather. Dries fast. Love the fact they are offered in 35 in. inseam!

July 8, 2017

great fit but stains easily

bought these specifically for hiking.....came back from my first long hike with stains from dirt and gunk on the trail...have washed several times and a lot of the staining has yet to fully come out.

July 7, 2017

I've finally found the perfect shorts

Please make these shorts available in more colors! I own in the dark tan and the grey and would love to see these in a solid black,and maybe even a blue. Perfect fit,love the stretch,and style is perfect for hiking to street wear. They can even be dressed up if need be. These are now my go to shorts and I hope Patagonia keeps them around for good b... Read Moreecause I'll be a repeat customer if they make them in other colors.

June 21, 2017

Best shorts ever made

Instantly blown away by their comfort,fit,versatility,design....everything. Decided to order two more pairs and use all 3 as my go-to shorts anywhere,any time. Finally have found the perfect short,and I've worn lots of Patagonia over the years.

May 17, 2017

Very comfortable

I have 2 pair of Quandary trousers and decided to try the shorts. They fit equally well (5'9" & 152#) . The newer shorts have a bigger side pocket that accomodates a 6s iPhone. The left rear pocket has a nice pull string on the zipper closure. They are suitable for moderately active uses (golf,hiking) and look good enough for casual s... Read Moreummer wear at a restaurant. I would not wear these biking or running. They'd probably be fine for kayaking although I have not tried them for that.

May 1, 2017

Love Em!!!!

The Patagonia - Men's Quandary Shorts have been great. I hiked a lot in the McDowell Sonoran Preserve in the Quandary shorts and they exceeded my expectations. Felt like they were a second skin and took a lot of abuse and a few cacti spines.

April 9, 2017

great but fit runs a size big

love the shorts but they are a little to large- bought size 33 and they fit like 34's

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches