Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Volley Shorts - 7"

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 39 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Volley Shorts - 7"

4.5/5
True To Size
September 15, 2021

Great weight, ultra simple, appropriately stylish

It's been a long journey to find the right pair of shorts that are simple enough to be worn in casual/social circumstances but technical enough to not just be a heavy cotton sweatfest when I get moving. I really like the weight of these to keep me cool. These don't look like shiny polyester material and the cut is stylish with no excess p... Read Moreocketing or zippering. Great for every day casual shorts.

September 12, 2021

A little large

This is my second pair of these shorts. My first pair was true to size. This pair runs a little large. Slight inconsistencies with the fit. Overall, great shorts though.

September 2, 2021

Great shorts for going out and about.

Easily able to dress up or down. Great shorts!

September 2, 2021

ok

Good for Dallas summer

August 14, 2021

Comfortable but

These shorts are super comfortable and I like how deep the pockets are. My only complaint is these shorts show off the plumbers crack when I bend over.

Response from Patagonia
August 16, 2021

Hey Jesse, thanks for the review. It sounds like a size down could potentially help with the plumbers crack issue you're facing. To begin an exchange, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 4, 2021

Super comfy

These shorts are awesome and super comfy!

July 2, 2021

Awesome design and quality!

I really like how the shorts are designed. The drawstring makes me feel more casual and comfortable. I wear both colors all the time and like that I can relax in them at home, go out for walks/hikes, but at the same time wear them out in slightly more formal settings.

June 20, 2021

Great shorts, small fits different

Seem like awesome shorts, but the size small fits different than every other size small Patagonia bottom I have. Far too tight around the hip/butt, and I'm a pretty skinny dude. Looks odd. Returning, best of luck for people of different size or shape!

June 18, 2021

Worth every Penny!!!

These are the most comfortable, most well made shorts I have ever worn. Worth every penny

June 12, 2021

Easy-to-wear, great fabric

I really like these shorts! The fabric is cool to the touch with a subtle texture, which is great for the heat. But they're also basic enough not to draw too much attention. I'm a medium in some brands and a large in others. I saw the slim fit, so I ordered these in a large, and I'm glad I did for the fit in the legs and seat, but th... Read Moree waist is definitely a touch loose. I bought the Baggies Naturals in a medium at the same time but ordered a medium in those due to the relaxed fit, and I like how they fit, too, in the legs and seat but those are a little tight in the waist.

June 6, 2021

Rip easily

I've bought two pairs of these shorts. The fit and feel is what I expected. However, *both* pairs ripped right up the back, completely ruined, after very moderate use. I've never had this happen on any shorts I've owned in my life. Having it happen twice in a row suggests it's "them," not "me" that's the... Read More problem. I've always found Patagonia's stuff to be very durable and high quality, so this is a complete surprise. I'm really disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
June 8, 2021

Hi Ben! We're so sorry to hear this happened. This is not the level of quality we expect from our gear. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team to get set up with a warranty return.

May 17, 2021

Perfect

The shorts are top notch. I needed a pair for work and I love them. I wear them all of the time. I love the elastic waste and button, plus the tie draw string which makes it a little more snug for when I lose a bit of weight over the summer. These shorts will be well worn and used in their lifetime! Thanks, Patagonia!

May 8, 2021

Great casual shorts, they are slim.

I was wary of these shorts given some of the reviews mentioning they're way too tight. While they are definitely slim fit, I would call the fit flattering rather than tight. I probably wouldn't be able to do a full split in these or kick an apple off someone's head, but I also don't expect to need to while wearing them.

April 22, 2021

Great light shorts

Love these for the spring and summer months. Light material and drys fast!

April 1, 2021

Great shorts

I now have 3 pair of these shorts because I love the fit. Im a bigger guy and finding shorts that are above the knee and fit my rear end is a hard combo but these do the trick!

March 28, 2021

Great Shorts

Wear them everywhere. Great casual shorts that feel comfortable and durable

September 1, 2020

Lightweight casual shorts

Very comfortable lightweight shorts, perfect for the summer!

August 21, 2020

Can't believe they even manufactured these

I have never put on a pair of shorts that fit worse. If any patagonia bottoms ever fit me, theyre size small. I have the baggies shorts in small that fit perfect. These are so tight around hips (not waist) that I could literally barely get them on and couldn't even fit my phone into the pocket theyre so tight. Comedically bad fit but a waste o... Read Moref emissions for how many people will order these and return them because theyre so different from all other size smalls. Maybe my pair was a defect but I doubt it - Patagonias sizing is all over the place recently

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on the fit of these shorts. As always your satisfaction is guaranteed and you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

July 13, 2020

Comfortable Shorts

Great casual shorts for around the house, walking, or doing yard work. They are lightweight and very breathable which is great for summers in Georgia.

July 13, 2020

Nice shorts!

Comfortable shorts that look pulled together and nice, win-win. These are super easy and comfy to wear.

July 13, 2020

Perfect comfortable summer short

Love the elastic waistband and the light, airy feel of the fabric. These are the perfect everyday summer shorts. The fabric does wrinkle easily, but I consider that part of the look.

July 10, 2020

Comfortable Shorts

Great casual shorts for around the house, walking, or doing yard work. They are lightweight and very breathable which is great for summers in Georgia.

July 10, 2020

Nice shorts!

Comfortable shorts that look pulled together and nice, win-win. These are super easy and comfy to wear.

July 9, 2020

Perfect comfortable summer short

Love the elastic waistband and the light, airy feel of the fabric. These are the perfect everyday summer shorts. The fabric does wrinkle easily, but I consider that part of the look.

June 26, 2020

Super comfy

A hybrid between the light feel of active shorts with breathable fabric and casual wear shorts. Really nice feel

June 23, 2020

A Bit Snug

Patagonia shorts have gotten snug over recent years. Small used to fit me but now they are a little tight and medium is too big. Oh well, nice shorts though.

June 19, 2020

Light and comfortable

Sometimes Patagonia shorts can run tight on my butt, these shorts have a great shape that is comfortable in all positions.

May 4, 2020

This year's cut is smaller than previous

These are great shorts. I have a pair from previous years and they are durable and comfortable. The quality of this model seems to be good too. However, these are cut much smaller than previous models. And going up to the L was too big. Too much variance from M to L in my opinion. Unfortunately, I returned them due to size.

August 23, 2019

Perfect shorts

A great combination of soft and sturdy. Plenty of pockets. Elastic and tie waistband give them real versatility. Sized appropriately in the waist and length.

August 15, 2019

Functional, But Could Fit Better

Fit is good on these - I'm 6' and have a 32 waist and they fit just fine (the elastic waistband with the added string pull help give you flexibility there). I really like the material these shorts are made from. The hemp/cotton blend makes them feel durable without feeling hot - which is good because I plan on trekking around Southeast As... Read Moreian in them. My only complaint with the shorts - and really my only complaint with Patagonia shorts and pants in general - is the fit. These are marked as a slim fit, but I would still call them pretty relaxed. I don't see a lot of slimming toward the knee and overall they are more baggy than tight. I've made my peace with that though, and since I looking for function over fashion these are going to work out great.

August 15, 2019

Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Volley Shorts

The shorts are cool and comfortable. I like the length and the 4 pockets and the draw string and the elastic waist. They just don't look that great, because they are always full of wrinkles. They come out of the drier that way and get worse as you wear them. I have 4 pair of the all cotton Shorts, style 86735 and they don't do that. They ... Read Morealways look better.

August 15, 2019

Great Everyday shorts

Strong build quality. Adjustable waist fit. Great color and material. Very comfortable. Will buy another.

August 13, 2019

Perfect Shorts

Unorganized thoughts: Lightweight, odor-resistant (unsure if by design), and perfect length. These shorts appear to also be stain resistant and the fit is great. I live in a supremely hot climate (regularly over 105F) and these shorts keep me cool and not stinky. My favorite feature might be how deep the pockets are. These are a must-have - don... Read More't hesitate... just buy them.

August 12, 2019

Great Shorts

Perfect shorts for everyday comfort, style and functionality. Fit is spot on (6’2” and a size 34 waist wearing large). Fabric softens nicely with wear but still holds shape. Waistband is comfy.

August 10, 2019

All-Wear Hemp Volley Shorts

Very comfortable and lightweight. They were just what I was looking for.

August 10, 2019

right length

great shorts, love the drawstring and appreciate the length as most shorts are way to long for me. Material very durable, easy to wash and iron

August 10, 2019

Great shorts

I’ve practically lived in these shorts since they arrived. Very soft, lightweight and dry quickly. Dressier than my baggies.

August 10, 2019

Comfortable

These shorts are true to size and very soft and comfortable. I love the waist band. Will be purchasing more.

August 10, 2019

They wrinkle too much. They

They wrinkle too much. They are too short.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches