Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Longs - 7"

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 336 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Longs - 7"

4.4/5
True To Size
October 12, 2021

Last forever

These shorts almost never wear out. Just follow the washer and dryer instructions. I have worn these shorts for years and never purchase anything else.

October 10, 2021

Great value

I have worked in the outdoor industry for over 45 years teaching and guiding white water kayaking and fly fishing. I have spent more hours wearing baggies than probably anything else. Nothing is more comfortable no mater what your age. If your hobby or job includes water or you just want comfortable short, then baggies are definitely the best.

October 8, 2021

Best Shorts I Own

I originally ordered an XL, since that is my standard size. However, had to return for the Large and they fit perfectly. They are definitely a great short for everyday where (WFH approved!). These shorts can handle everything I throw at them, from running, lifting, hiking, and swimming. They do it all! Would recommend getting a couple pairs to rota... Read Morete throughout the week! Thanks Patagonia for making such a great product.

September 30, 2021

Long lasting

I have been purchasing and wearing this style of shorts for two decades now. I still own one of those old pairs and it still looks and fits great. Hope this new pair lasts as long as the older ones. Durable, seemingly indestructible!

September 13, 2021

Nylon Makes the Best Shorts

For years I had two pair of Nike Nylon shorts that were my go shorts for everything. They are old and worn out and current Nike shorts are poly propylene or some wicking slinky material. I am so glad to find Patagonia's nylon baggies and being made from recycled materials is another plus. Thanks Patagonia.

September 7, 2021

Built solid

Have known Patagonia's reputation for years, but never purchased product before. These shorts do not disappoint and have quickly become my "go-to" shorts for running, hiking, and just knocking around.

September 6, 2021

Not what I expected

I bought a blue pair of shorts and took them in the pool. After one day of them being in the pool the color completely faded from the shorts. Now they are gray. They said they were able to get wet and unless I missed something where it specifically says dont take them in the pool I figured the color should not fade away after one day. Also the line... Read Morer in the shorts were very uncomfortable.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2021

Hi Trent, thank you for your feedback! We're sorry to hear the color did not hold up as expected. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under our Ironclad Guarantee.

September 4, 2021

Great shorts . . . But make them without the liner

These are extremely comfortable shorts . . . after I cut the liner out of them. Maybe they could be made with or without said liner!

September 4, 2021

Super comfortable swim trunks

I am 61 and these fit me just right. Other swim trunks I have to order an XL but these fit me in a Large. Keep that in mind. I weigh 223 and am 5'8".

September 3, 2021

7" Baggies

I've worn Patagonia baggies for many years. They are extremely comfortable, durable, and packable. I like having the mesh on the inside as well. Mine actually fit a little large but I prefer that over too tight. Very well made shorts.

September 2, 2021

Great Staple

These Baggies are awesome, cool color and dependable Patagonia features.

September 2, 2021

Almost Great

I own a half dozen pair of 7" Baggies that I've purchased through the years. I appreciate their longevity, simplicity, quick dry feature and wide array of colors and patterns. I wear these for summer casual and working outside in the TX heat. I'm not wearing these for swimming, so not a big fan of the built in mesh liner. My biggest ... Read Morecomplaint is the depth of the side pockets which terminate next to the bottom hemline. Car keys, wallet, change, phone, tools, etc uncomfortably bang against my thigh while I move and are difficult to reach (which has nothing to do with my arm length). I wish Patagonia would revert to an earlier design where the side pockets end 4-5" above the bottom hemline. This keeps pocket contents close to the body and readily accessible. I'd then give them a five star rating.

Response from Patagonia
September 9, 2021

Hi Kent, thank you for taking the time to write feedback on the Baggies- 7". We're sorry to hear you're not a fan of the pocket depth. We've passed this feedback along to our Design Team who are constantly improving and revising our styles. If you're looking for a comfortable, quick-dry short, you could consider looking into the [Quandary Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/search/?q=men%27s%20quandary%20shorts&prefn1=gender&prefv1=mens). Though they were designed for hiking, they are also great for casual summer days and working outside.

September 2, 2021

Awesome Shorts

I have been wearing 'baggies' exclusively for the last 10 + years. I use them, for running, hiking, work - outs & work. The fit is GREAT. They are comfortable (no chafing), & durable.

September 2, 2021

Super Comfy and Versatile

Ive worn baggies for about 6 years now and love them for wearing around the house or in the water (primarily around the house). I like most things about the current generation, but the white tag on the inside is much stiffer and less comfortable than previous versions. If they switched to the previous tag material they would be perfect!

September 1, 2021

Long wearing, consistent high quality and fit

Ive been wearing baggies longs for decades. Versatile shorts for paddle boarding and fishing the flats and back country. They wear like iron and size medium fits me well at 510 and 180 lbs.

August 29, 2021

Versatile, but lackluster fit.

The medium is a bit snug, while the large is almost too roomy.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2021

Hey Jeremy! Thank you so much for the feedback on the fit. The Baggies may not be the right style for you. You might like our [Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-lightweight-all-wear-hemp-shorts-8-inch/57805.html). They come in a variety of inseams and have a more uniform fit through the thigh. You're always welcome to return the gear that doesn't work for you.

August 27, 2021

Baggies,long

I think I have had over a dozen pair of baggies. I use them three day a week for My water exercise class, kayaking on the salt here on San Juan Islands, body surfing in Mexico every winter, and when ever shorts are appropriate. They wont wear out, they do fade after 6 years of three washings a week. I Recycle them by sending/ dropping them off at... Read More your facilities. I have been a loyal supporter of Patagonia products since the company started. Patagonia has equipped me for downhill, cross country and powder skiing, river rafting, kayaking, hiking, mountain and road biking and camping, plus fresh and salt water fly fishing. Thank you David Finholm

August 26, 2021

Cool and comfortable!

Great fit and quality, I wear these commando in really hot weather to outdoor events and yard work. Cool and comfortable!

August 26, 2021

Good if it was 1994

I wore a pair of 5 baggies in the 90s as a rafting guide and loved them. The design has not changed much, but that is the problem. Short technology has improved since then and now these shorts just seem like relics. They have no stretch and the liner is stiff. IMO they are overpriced and uncomfortable.

Response from Patagonia
August 31, 2021

Hey TK, thanks for leaving us a review on the Baggies Longs - 7". We'll be sure to pass your thoughts along to the design team. We feel that some things are good from the jump, which is why you haven't seen many edits on this design. There is a reason people have consistently been buying them for decades! But nonetheless, we hear your concerns. We recommend checking out the [Men's Quandary Shorts - 10"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-quandary-hiking-shorts-10-inch/57826.html?dwvar_57826_color=FGE&cgid=root) as they'll provide that slight added stretch you're looking for.

August 26, 2021

Casual comfort baggie shorts

These shorts are great! I have several pairs of the 5 baggies for the beach, pool and surf. I needed a longer version and the 7 baggie fit the bill. I worn them for 10 days in Hawaii. Super comfortable, still wore them swimming, cliff diving, hiking and out and about town. Great construction, easy fit. Thanks Patagonia!

August 23, 2021

Comfortable, fast drying, but a bit too baggy for me

Very happy with these overall - they are comfortable and dry quickly so you can go from the beach to the bar. From a quality/comfort standpoint I give these a 5. My only issue, which is on me, is that I bought the 7" when I should have gone with the 5". The 7" hang just on my knees, and since these are a little baggy (hence the name)... Read More I end up looking like an 80s cartoon character with these on. I returned these and got the 5" version which I will review as soon as I get them.

August 22, 2021

Fit Strange

Outer short fit but material heavier than hoped or; inner brief was baggy and useless. Just an oddly out of sorts product from Patagonia from my perspective.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2021

Hi Bill, thank you for taking to the time to write a review. We're so sorry to hear that the fit didn't work out for you. Please feel free to return or exchange the Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Longs - 7". You can begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

August 20, 2021

Cannot be used for water sports

Water collects in the pockets and does not drain due to thickness of materials. Thus useless in any form of water sports. Essentially can only be used as a pair of shorts that never sees water.

Response from Patagonia
August 20, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the shorts and the water that collects in the pockets when you've worn them in the water. Although many of our customers have found these to be a good short for both in and out of the water they aren't designed to be a swim trunk. If you'd like to take a look at a pair of shorts better suited for the water we'd suggest checking out our [Board Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-board-swim-shorts).

August 18, 2021

Very comfortable!

Go 2 shorts to comfortable & relax! Hiking, swimming or just grilling it my choice to wear..

August 12, 2021

Perfect all around shorts

Best shorts. True to size.

August 10, 2021

Super versatile

I love these shorts you can wear them while doing anything whether it be going on a hike or swimming or both. The pockets are super deep and awesome for storage and the back pocket comes with a button to keep more valuable items. All around great shorts

August 6, 2021

Tennis.

I love the shorts but after a few years the elastic waist band loses its elasticity.

August 6, 2021

I use for swimming, beach wear and kayaking

The perfect warm weather shorts that I can wear all season long.

August 5, 2021

much larger than before

I have 2 pairs of these, in medium, same exact style... one from several years ago and one ordered last year. I wear them all the time. I ordered another pair recently and the waist is a full inch larger than the 2 previous pairs and did not fit at all. I haven't changed, and the other 2 pairs still fit fine. I don't understand, but this ... Read Moreis a little frustrating...waiting for the exchange to a small and hoping it fits.

July 31, 2021

Baggy shorts

Im quite happy with the shorts. I do have one recommendation though; maybe have them be less baggy in the thighs or have two sizes for the legs. One baggy and one not so much

July 30, 2021

Great Shorts

I like these shorts (4 pair) in the 7" length. Love the not too tight elastic and baggie room in the legs and body. Perfect for any activity and daily wear here in Florida. Glad they are not of a stretch material!! Look good and feel good. The 7" length is perfect for a little more coverage.

July 27, 2021

Great baggies!

Always great! This is my 3rd pair: the first 2 were borrowed (permanently) by my son who wears nothing else for all his outdoor adventures (like me!) Theyre perfect for anything!

July 27, 2021

Great Product but...

Like anyone nowadays I like to provide feedback regardless if anyone would see it. We all have a voice thanks to the internet. That being said , these are a great product and I will buy again. I would love to see an inside the waistband pocket for one card, or a key fob, or something like that. I know they have an in pocket elastic loop and a snap ... Read Morepocket on back but some folks like carrying items they don't use frequently when engaging in outdoor activities tucked away.

July 26, 2021

Perfect all day every day short

5" baggies were my go to for years, and I'm surprised by how much I prefer the 7" length. It's better coverage. They're great for all day, everyday, especially when going in and out of water. Comfortable for backpack and climbing harnesses. Quite durable, though after 3-4 years the elastic and liner finally give way.

Response from Patagonia
July 28, 2021

Hey there Ben, feel free to send in your old baggies to us for a credit you can put towards a new pair. You can either [send back to us](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html), or return in store, which ever is easier for you! We're so glad to hear that you've gotten so much wear out of them.

July 26, 2021

Shorts that just work

I have had a pair of baggies, longs, for years. They have been buried in my shorts "rotation" for a while, so when they surfaced, I forgot they were Patagonia. Until I put them on. Wow. The fit and feel were both so good, compared to the other brands I'd been wearing, that I just had to check the tag ... yep. Patagonia. I ordered an... Read Moreother pair on the spot. I have no idea as to how many years I've had my originals ... no question in my mind I'll have both pair long into the future.

July 23, 2021

Love

Love these shorts. Im 61 and 220lbs with a 34 waist and biker/skier thighs and the L fit perfect. Love the relaxed fit in Patagonia gear and also love the pink color I got-neighbor complimented me today on them when I got the mail!

July 23, 2021

Baggy - large - as named. A bit stiff.

I was between sizes and ordered up, which was the right decision. Pros: Deep, sewn-in pockets Comfortable, brief-style liner High percentage of recycled materials used in manufacture Cons: Recycled, synthetic outer fabric takes a few washings to soften up. Oversized, baggy as the name implies Expensive

July 22, 2021

Love these shorts, but, as usual, sizing is weird.

I have about a 30 to 31 inch waste, and I ordered the mediums. I am finding that in order to make these shorts fit snugly I have to tighten the draw string to its max, which is fine. I really liked the fit and the material so I ordered a second pair, but in small this time. The small fit great around the waste, no draw string action required, but w... Read Moreere super tight in the butt; think Nacho Libré wearing Chancho's sweats. I find these kinds of sizing grey areas to be very common with Patagonia. Still love 'em though!

Response from Patagonia
July 26, 2021

We appreciate your feedback, Christian! These Baggies are our most generous "relaxed" fit and it sounds like you may prefer our "regular" or "slim" fitting styles like our Strider Shorts, Nine Trails Shorts or [Baggies Lights](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-shorts?prefn1=fit&prefv1=regular%7Cslim).

July 21, 2021

An old friend

Baggies are baggies. And that's a good thing. I've worn Baggies for the past 30+ years and highly recommend them for all sorts of wear besides casual. Fit is generous no matter what size is ordered. Basic short fabric is sturdy to the touch and assures the purchaser many years of carefree wear. Brief style inner liner isn't restricti... Read Moreve and can be worn comfortably with undergarments. One wonders why Patagonia don't offer a liner less version at a reduced cost...HMMMMM.

July 17, 2021

Great for travel.

Great shorts that you can do anything in. Hold up well. Perfect for us minimalist travelers. Size runs large, I normally am on the cusp of medium or large, bought the mediums and have plenty of room for expansion.

July 13, 2021

Wow

Great durable shorts - just be careful on size you order - run a little large. Luv their durability & look

July 13, 2021

Comfortable and cool

Great looks and well made. Love the material used and how comfortable they are. Not disappointed.

July 10, 2021

Summer comfy

Light weight, unobtrusive and great fit. Like being a little kid again. Completely unfussy and cool enough for these brutal, record breaking summer days

July 9, 2021

tight pockets,bunching

needs stretch,easier pocket openings

July 9, 2021

Great shorts!

I really like the shorts. They are super comfy. I did have to modify them as Im not a fan of the mesh diaper and ended up cutting it out. Now they are perfect!

July 9, 2021

nice and open, the inner mesh is a bit tight

even though the mesh is a little tight, the overall shorts are easily a 10/10. they're very comfortable and I recommend them.

July 9, 2021

Another great product

Well, simply put I live the brand tried these out and wore them multiple times poolside on vacation got multiple compliments more importantly I love them.

July 4, 2021

A classic that never disappoints.

The 7 Baggies are the ultimate do-it-all shorts. Swimming, kayaking, SUPing, or just hanging around the campsite; these shorts are great! Durable and quick-drying, these are my favorite shorts for most outdoor activities.

July 3, 2021

Super cozy

The length on these hit me above the knee to still show some thigh and the waist fits perfectly

July 3, 2021

Best shorts I own

These are easily the best and most versatile shorts Ive ever owned, I havent worn anything else since I bought them.

June 28, 2021

Perfect for a picky big kid

These shorts are perfect for my 13-year-old man-child who likes to wear soft shorts. He can wear them for any outdoor summer activity and stay cool and comfy.

June 28, 2021

Very comfortable

Excellent fit, very comfortable and obviously a quality product. Grateful to have a company like Patagonia to purchase clothing from.

June 26, 2021

Icon

What can one say about baggies? Classic item, you can live in them for the summer, iconic.

June 25, 2021

Great fit

This is my 5th pair of these and seem to be holding up. Perfect fit and super durable, highly recommend.

June 20, 2021

Great shorts

First pair of baggies shorts and they fit wonderfully.

June 20, 2021

Terrific Shorts

First pair of baggies and they fit wonderfully.

June 19, 2021

Great shorts for just about anything

Perfect river shorts. I could never decide if I liked the original length better or the longs. Since they fixed the pockets on the longs (cut them a little shorter - thanks guys!) they're my go-to shorts. When rowing all day I find they keep most of my thigh covered and out of the sun. They wash easy, repair easy, and seem to last forever.

June 14, 2021

Baggies Rule

These shorts are iconic, and for a good reason. They are comfortable, utilitarian, well made and long lasting. I use them for a range of activities, including hiking, running and swimming. And, of course, just for hanging around. Get yourself a pair ... or two ....

June 13, 2021

The Do Everything Shorts

These shorts are amazing. I fish for a living in SWFL and wear these 7 days a week. Theyre light, dry fast, super deep pockets & perfect length. Also wear them swimming and around the house casually. They do everything you could ask for in a pair of shorts. Dont ever change them!

June 11, 2021

Way too large

Yes these shorts are called baggies, but they should Atleast fit in size. I also tried a medium and it was too small. The fit is way too loose and even with a drawstring they slip off. I dont have a flat butt and I dont have a large butt, but my wife who has a thick butt didnt fit either. Sad because I love Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2021

We're so sorry the fit didn't work for you on these. You're welcome to return them.

June 10, 2021

Poor Support

This is my fourth pair of baggies. The two I have now dont offer a lot of support, so I thought maybe if I bought a new pair Id luck out. I am into packrafting now, so 7 inch baggies seemed like a good idea. You have a choice with them: hike the baggies up high like Stan Laurel, wear briefs or live with no support. Amazingly, I still like the short... Read Mores. The Patagonia mystique has carried me along for many years and lots of clothing.

June 1, 2021

Old school shorts

Bought two pairs back in the early eighties, couldn't find them anywhere in the house (x wife must have comshawed them!) Bought a new pair (May 2021) Love affair renewed! The "brief liner" is ok (I could do without it tho) Don't like to go "commando" so I wear them for "knockin about" casual. Fit is "roo... Read Moremy" hence, "baggies" duh! Substantial weight to the fabric is comfortable, yet not stiff or "boardy". Looking for the "go to casual" shorts? give them a whirl, they won't disappoint. Wish they came in that beautiful Patagonia "cobalt" blue, otherwise, go for it! Gonna give the 5 inchers a go in pink... I feel lucky! :)

May 20, 2021

really good-looking shorts

This particular color and pattern is very good-looking. Baggies are extremely comfortable and last a long time. Great shorts.

May 18, 2021

Great fit

Great fit until mid thigh then its super wide. I was hoping for it to taper a little. I like it a little tight but the shape seems to be off a bit.

May 18, 2021

men's baggies 7 inch

Great fit and long lasting wear I wear baggies over 200 days a year

May 17, 2021

Pickleball

Liked them so well I wanted more pairs. Not available in my size xXL. Then realized there was a store here in NashviIIe. Went to the store and no shorts in my size. BUT salesman said let me check our other stores. He got 3 pair from three cities on their way to my house two day air no extra charge. I love my baggie shorts!

May 17, 2021

Exactly what I was looking for

Well I ordered a medium 7" when I meant to order a small 5", but they're still exactly what I was looking for. Comfortable and durable shorts with massive pockets make it easy to bring things with hiking or running. There's a little loop, almost like a hair tie, in the pocket and it gives you something secure to attach your keys... Read More to while your out. As well as, a button on the back pocket to keep your wallet in place. Really makes my running experience much easier without having to worry about my keys falling out. Overall 10/10 would recommend. Full disclosure: I bought the correct size shorts later and somehow they're even better.

May 16, 2021

Waist & leg bands

My governing issue is that the elastic properties of the product exhaust, over time. I now machine wash cold and LINE DRY the product, which I hope will increase its wear life. If Patagonia Inc. concurs, I would suggest that you adjust the product's washing and drying care instructions.

May 14, 2021

will purchase more

really like them comfortable

May 12, 2021

Extremely comfortable

Literally the best pair of shorts. Ever.

May 11, 2021

Inseam weird & super long

Inseam / Groin area is off and I'm not a fan of the netted liner.

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2021

Hi Sam, we're sorry these shorts aren't what you expected. If the inseam is off or crooked, please reach out to our [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team so we're sure you didn't receive a defective item and to help you return it.

May 9, 2021

Quite good

Simple and comfortable but expensive in my opinion, although a staple in my causal wardrobe now. Will buy another pair.

May 7, 2021

Comfy and practical

Needed some new swimwear and these were the practical choice. Comfy, multiple uses and affordable.

April 30, 2021

Love them

I have multiple pairs of the Patagonia Men's baggies. I have them in the 5 and 7 length. I went with the XXL in the 7in pink I just purchased. I wanted them oversized. Love them

April 26, 2021

Very comfy

Super comfy and light, very water resistant to small spills and splashes

April 26, 2021

Not the best overall quality

If you recall how these shorts fit before the last corporate revision, you will recall that the elastic was very good. Today's version reminds me of what shorts most have been like before elastic materials. That is, the waste is nearly totally reliant on the pull tie and the leg elastic is pretty much none existent. If you put a phone and your... Read More keys in a 3 month old pair of the new shorts and head out be sure to tie them up or they will be on your ankles? However, if you have any 10 year old Men's Baggies, I bet they are still good to go.

Response from Patagonia
April 27, 2021

Hi Jake, thanks for the comparison on this newer model compared to older designs. We are sorry to hear there have been some revisions that are causing some troubles. We thank you for the feedback and welcome you to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us.

April 15, 2021

Best shorts ever

Love the brown ones.

April 12, 2021

The perfect travel short

I already owned a pair of these and bought another while I was living in Hawaii for 2 months during the pandemic. Wore my baggies every single day. They are so versatile and perfect for hiking and surfing and chilling! If you're traveling get these!

April 12, 2021

Can wear them for anything

Best shorts I've ever had. Not crazy about the liner but still extremely comfortable.

April 11, 2021

This is a staple

If you dont have a pair, get to. Baggies are staple for everyone. They apply to every single check box, last forever, and while they not be the most fashionable short available, they are far and away the most universally applicable. It doesnt hurt that they are made by a company who cares about the planet.

April 9, 2021

Classic

Classic shorts, everything you need, nothing you dont.

April 9, 2021

The BEST!

I bought these for my husband and he loves them! Says theyre the most comfortable shorts, and hes super picky. Ill be getting more colors!

April 2, 2021

Keep Up The Great Work

Mens Baggies 7 Inch are exactly as described and what we come to expect from Patagonia - Quality, Service and Performance !!!

April 2, 2021

The Best Shorts

I wear these everywhere. They are great!

March 31, 2021

Best Swimsuit Ever

This is my 3rd pair of baggies in the past 20 years. My first pair (5" before they started making the 7") is still rocking and in great shape. When I went to the 7" longs, I had to go from a medium to a small to find the fit that I wanted (5'10" & 145lbs). My wife and I both work in schools, and I am around the water ev... Read Moreeryday in the summer with summer camp, so a good swimsuit is a must. We have 4 daughters, so when they saw the baggies in pink they made me get them. I can't wait to take a dip in them, and I love that y'all made the front pockets not as deep. Nice upgrade.

March 27, 2021

Multi use

I live in Florida, hot almost year round. I wear these for almost everything. I live on a lake and fish, go to beach, boat on ocean, swim, I even wear these taking kids to Disney / theme parks (I wear tight briefs with them on those trips). The netting I like as during the summer, I can go without wearing underwear with them so less sweat (near 100... Read More% humidity is rough on cotton!). I have almost all the solid colors, and love em!

March 26, 2021

Baggies

Been wearing them for 30 years

March 24, 2021

Weird fit

I am about 190 lbs and 6'2". I would say these shorts are larger than your average size large athletic shorts (which are usually a good fit for me). The waist ties are nice, but by the time they're tight enough, the fabric is bunched up in the front. On top of that, the inseam is such that when I sit down, almost my entire inner thig... Read Moreh is showing.

March 22, 2021

Great Fit !!

Honestly they fit really well and are super comfortable with a soft netting on the inside which makes them great for hiking or swimming.

March 22, 2021

Comfortable shorts

Purchased for grandson and he loves them.

March 21, 2021

Very comfortable

I have had Baggies for years. Give them a 10

March 11, 2021

Superb All Around Shorts

Baggies are a long time staple for me, both in the 7 and 5 versions, depending on the activity. The fit is great, they wear well, and the pockets are useful. I look forward to the color changes!

March 7, 2021

SHORTS

Its been a lot back and forth .... Emails and phone calls.... very nice people .... it all worked out at the end buying 2 shorts, getting only one w E mail saying 2 has arrived! Calls and Emails ..... finally got my 2. short and a 3. !!! Returned the 3. short as I promised. Jenni has been on top of it - thank you. My boys like these shorts A LOT.

February 27, 2021

the best

these are the all around shorts, i tend to wear them for whatever. hiking skateboarding climbing working, all around great. These are my second pair! somehow I lost the others

February 27, 2021

Still the Best

I have been wearing Baggies since they were first made and I like them just as much as the originals, although now I prefer the longer length. Im glad they are still baggy. Among the best of Patagonias clothing.

February 24, 2021

Quality shorts

I usually wear a large in Patagonia shorts but these were too big. Returned for a medium, hoping they fit better. Love the style and quality though.

February 19, 2021

Sizing inconsistent

Tried a large in these and they were the size of a small tent - medium was much too small - need a medium and a half !! Quality looked great -try to support Patagonia but finding it difficult as sizing varies so much product to product.

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

We're sorry to hear these didn't work for you, Richard! The Baggies are our most generous "relaxed" fit so we recommend you look at the size large in our ["regular" fit shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-shorts?prefn1=fit&prefv1=regular). Please don't hesitate to reach out to us for help to return or exchange your order!

February 8, 2021

They are the best!

From the first time I saw these shorts, I knew they were for me. I wear them all of the time in all parts of the year. They are tough, light, and super comfy. Now, if they would just make the red pair in the 7" again. That is the one color that I want but don't have. Keep up the good work guys!!

January 5, 2021

Best shorts

Only got XS because pockets are large

January 3, 2021

alligators

I bought these for my son, he really liked them and wears them all the time!!

December 9, 2020

Elastic fit

Fits really good but elastic could be made tighter. If you put wallet and cell phone in pockets, it tends to pull down the shorts..needing to pull shorts up all the time.

December 6, 2020

Resilient

Pretty much have my baggies on daily, whether building and maintaining trails, working out, or getting in the water. Theyre comfortable, durable and resilient. They are actually worn year round, just under long pants in winter hoping for a sunny day.

November 25, 2020

Great Shorts

Patagonia Baggies with the 5 inch legs have been my favorite shorts for many years but that is no longer the case. The Baggies with the 7 inch legs have now become my favorites. I plan to buy another pair soon.

November 17, 2020

Traditional Baggie

Fits fine for Casual wear. Been wearing these all over the world for 25 years since I saw a TA at UCSB wearing them.

November 17, 2020

Perfect for fun-hogging

Been wearing baggies for two decades now. It is the go-to shorts for just about everything. Pretentious, tried, and true. So here is my review; 1.) love that it came back with the bottom hem line for the pockets. Baggies a few years ago started losing this hem line. This caused articles inside the pocket to slap your thigh crazy when you are in str... Read Moreide. This problem is now gone. 2.) baggies I just purchased are still fairly new but it feels like the newer recycled material feel more durable than previous ones. I will continue to give feedback as time progress. 3.) the only gripe I have with these shorts is that the rear pocket flap rolls up or folds up on the edges over time. Maybe another snap closure button might solve this issue. The stitching around the crotch area is starting to show some wear quite early but my bum is constantly on a bicycle saddle so no fault on Patagonia for this. 4.)nevertheless, baggies are designed well, fits great, and keeps going. 7inch inseam is just the right length for most tasks.

Response from Patagonia
December 16, 2020

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback!

November 6, 2020

Decent and durable

The material is very durable and can withstand anything, the only downside for this product is the mesh liner that is very uncomfortable.

November 4, 2020

Best Baggies

Had purchased two pairs of the Patagonia baggies about 8 years ago and the elastic had given out a while back. I wanted the same, and got the same. Patagonia baggies rock!

November 4, 2020

Super Functional

Wonderful all purpose shorts. I use them for everything, from swimming to yoga, hiking to tennis.

September 23, 2020

Can't beat baggies, but the fit has gone downhill over the years!

Baggies are absolutely the best and most versatile shorts around. BUT... somewhere over the past couple of years Patagonia decided to change the fit. My previous smalls (5+ pairs) that fit perfectly, now appear to be somewhere in between today's smalls and mediums. Today's small is too tight for me, but the medium is almost too baggy. B... Read Morering back the old fit! Don't change a namesake!

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Jackson! In Spring 2018 we revised the Baggies to 100% recycled material, but it was only a fabric change, and not a modified design. Please [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us if we can assist with any questions, returns or exchanges!

September 18, 2020

Multipurpose Short

I started wearing these this past summer and used them for anything from lounging around, to trail running, to swimming, to hiking. They are comfortable and my go-to's for nearly everything. My only critique is that when squatting/bending over they become rather tight/slide down a bit. That being said, I have several pairs and use them happily... Read More for just about everything except weight lifting.

September 17, 2020

5th pair

great shorts this is my 5th pair great color

September 17, 2020

sizing

the shorts are great the only small problem was the waist is a bit on the loose side and it takes a while to tighten them up other than that they are amazing

September 13, 2020

Simply the best!

Comfortable, everyday short. Patagonia delivers perfection!

September 10, 2020

Long time baggie man

Great as always. Workers get a fair wage, material is from recycled nylon, Patagonia supports the planet. Finally they look good and have a great guarantee. A win for everyone.

September 10, 2020

Comfort

Best and most comfortable shorts. Bought 4!

September 10, 2020

Jim

I normally wear a 33 waist and these are a little loose without pulling the drawstring, they are baggies. Other than that I love that I can wear them biking and and when I get done done I can jump in the water or go for a bite to eat/drink without changing.

September 10, 2020

Super shorts

My husband has 3 pairs of these and he loves them, after he cut out the liner. He uses them for swimming and all water activity.

September 8, 2020

New favorite shorts

These are the most comfortable casual shorts Ive had. Perfect longer length avoids the 70s b-ball look, and the liner is not too restrictive, like a lot of workout short liners tend to be. Large front pockets and back snap one are convenient; only drawback is that heavier items like a larger phone tend to pull down a bit.

September 7, 2020

Very nice design and comfortable

Very nice design and comfortable

September 7, 2020

Great pair of shorts.

Ordered Men's Small and love them. The leg is longer than on womens shorts and I like that. Feel very comfortable for hanging out and versatile look, and good quality shorts. This is my 2nd pair. Love them .

September 6, 2020

Underwhelming

These shorts are probably some of the worst shorts I've ever bought, honestly. I thought they would be great after reading the reviews but they don't allow for much movement in them at all. They're really tight in the worst places and the lining is awful. I had to cut mine out just to even bear wearing these at all. Really bad shorts... Read More

September 6, 2020

Awesome shorts there should be a 6 inch option that is not slim fit

I love Patagonia baggies I own three pair and will buy more but I do have a couple problems with them one I think the Longs a bit to long but the shorts are a bit to short I think there should be a 6 inch baggies to that are not slim fit because not slim Also I I like thee 2020 ones better because the material is thicker and holds better also Mabey... Read More there should be one belt loop on the right side for keys

September 5, 2020

Short pant

I bought this one for my husbands birthday gift. He likes it very much.

September 5, 2020

Great shorts

This is my husbands fort pair of baggies. He loves them! Ill be ordering a few more pairs for him as well. Patagonia is his go to brand for all his clothes so hes thrilled.

September 4, 2020

Baggies - a friend from the past

I haven't bought a pair of baggies in a long time. My last pair was holding together by threads after 15 years of hard use. It was time to get a new pair. What can you say? Baggies work well in a wet environment, drying fast and letting you slip into a restaurant, in pre-Covid days, for something to eat after a sail, paddle, or swim.

September 4, 2020

Go to boat shorts.

Functional and comfortable in or out of the water, on and off the boat as we are. Quick drying. Secure, open pockets are well designed.

September 2, 2020

Still love these

I've had Baggies since they first came out and I think they have only gotten better. I've tried other alternatives to these and nothing comes close.

September 2, 2020

A little large

Purchased 2 pairs of these Baggies 7in shorts. I think I'm somewhere in the nebulous region between size M and L, so I went with the Large just to be safe. The shorts are a little more loose than I'd prefer in some spots, but they're also kind of tight in others. The netting inside is interesting...as a result I prefer to wear them w... Read Moreithout anything underneath; it's actually more uncomfortable to wear them with boxers (they bunch up). The pockets are deep, but the opening is angled in a sort of way that makes it difficult to reach into them unless you're standing. The right-hand pocket has an elastic just inside the opening which can be very handy -- however I wish this loop was available on both sides. Overall these are good shorts. Decent amount of mobility when doing yoga, but can occasionally be constricting. I may be an outlier but I feel they also run a little large so if you're between sizes I would opt for the size down. I can't personally say I would buy them again. If I did, I would either go for a size Medium or get the 5in version.

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a valuable review on our Patagonia Men's Baggies Longs - 7". We appreciate the feedback and comments on some design issues you ran into, and have passed this information on to the appropriate teams. If you are unhappy with your purchase, please feel free to make a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Please also check out our [Men's Baggies Naturals - 6 1/2"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-baggies-naturals-shorts-6-half-inch/58056.html?dwvar_58056_color=CHFG&cgid=mens-shorts-casual).

September 2, 2020

Can't miss.

Being tall I got off the regular Baggies once the Longs came to be. I have several pair and these or the board shorts are go-to summer fare. Love 'em.

September 1, 2020

look great

they fit to size and look good on the water.

September 1, 2020

Cxxxxxx

Big old guys want to be cool also! I wear shorts as much as someone half my age (76) cmon man . Get with it.

September 1, 2020

Nice, but fade

I like them. They are great in hot weather. Having the inside brief cuts down on wash. They Fade after repeated use. Chlorine is not their friend.

September 1, 2020

Baggies are the way to go

These lightweight shorts are simple, minimal, well-made and super-practical for summer in the northeast. Great pockets and inner mesh.

September 1, 2020

Very comfortable

Great fit. Nice having a back pocket. Very light and quick drying. I recommend these without reservation.

September 1, 2020

Great material but loose on me

Excellent material and cut, but the waist is much too large. I have noticed this beforeand only with Black.

September 1, 2020

True to Size

Fit perfectly, I'm a slim 6'2, wearing a size 32x34. The mediums are absolutely the right size. I also have larger than average legs and it's been no problem.

August 31, 2020

Awesome shorts for hiking or relaxing!

I picked these shorts up from the website a few months back and finally wore them this past weekend. I wore them on a 15 mile hike in moderately warm weather and they were amazing! Theyre so comfortable but are also very rugged and durable. I received many compliments on them as well!

August 28, 2020

A Short Whose Time Has Passed

Just purchased my first pair of 7" baggy shorts for hiking and casual wear. My wife thought they looked awful - way too baggy. Kind of old fashioned (I'm 70 years old) and not attractive. I kept them anyway, despite her criticism. They fit fine, and are comfy for my use. However, I normally listen to podcasts during my walks/runs, and the... Read More pocket is awful for my iPhone. Phone falls in sideways and is difficult to get out to change settings.

August 19, 2020

Very comfy and great to keep you dry

The mens baggies are very comfortable but when I first got them I got them in a XXL because I thought I would get extra room but there is not as much as I thought thee shorts are awesome I use them for hiking biking swimming lunge wear at times

August 17, 2020

Weird Liner/Limited Mobility

My main draw to these shorts was their durability and versatility, both of which I think are valid. I'm not a fan of the mesh liner. I was open to the idea, but the execution is just weird. There is so much excess material and the elastic on them is super tight. Quite uncomfortable. I know many people remove the liner, but I don't want t... Read Moreo need to modify the shorts I just bought. I found range of motion in these shorts quite poor. As others have mentioned, this may be improved with the shorter version of the shorts.

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2020

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate this and see it as an opportunity to improve and tweak design based on customer needs. We have passed your message about the liner along to our design team. If you're interested in a comparable pair of shorts minus the liner, please check out our [Men's Baggies Naturals - 6 1/2"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-baggies-naturals-shorts-6-half-inch/58056.html?dwvar_58056_color=CHFG&cgid=mens-shorts).

August 9, 2020

Not for Thick Legs

If you have a thick lower body, they probably aren't for you. I cut out the mesh lining. That helped, but they still squeeze the thighs up high. I have 27-inch circumference thighs at the thickest point for reference. Positives: These are good looking and fine quality.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2020

Hello Garrett, we're sorry to hear these were too tight in the thigh area. We went ahead and passed your feedback along to the appropriate team. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes.Thanks for your review!

July 31, 2020

Not what I expected

The shorts are okay, I bought these baggies and the hybrid mic shorts. The hybrid had more of a softer feel I was expecting but so long I'm thinking of cutting them or hemming about 2" minimum shorter. As far as these baggies their perfect for open squatting my board, maybe it's the recycled material or something but they feel dry, p... Read Moreaper like. I am expecting them to tear after two summers wear but hope they last 20 years. Almost perfect, sold out of initial color I wanted as well so disappointing..just hope they last, like better than moc just wish they were soft as the mics which keep catching on my knees in squats and stands

July 22, 2020

Excellent products

Lightweight and durable, from decent people. win, win

July 15, 2020

Too long and baggy

Too long and baggy, it went down to my knees, which I didnt expect from the pictures.

July 14, 2020

Nice shorts

First time to buy these shorts. Love the fit and they have become my new favorites pair. I do not like liners in my shorts so I simple cut it out and they are perfect. Will be buying more.

July 13, 2020

Best of the best

The baggie shorts are superior to any other comparable brand.

July 13, 2020

Super cool

It is perfect short pants for wearing at home for me.

July 13, 2020

Great product

Absolutely love my purchase. Fit is great and they dry quickly

July 13, 2020

Great fit and style

These shorts are perfect for casual wear, and all outdoor activities. I have been walking and hiking in them since I purchased. Quality and fit is perfect.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

I love these shorts! Great for swimming! For hiking! Theyre super breathable and just so comfortable! Great for any outdoor exercise

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches