Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Lights Shorts - 6 1/2"

Write Your Review

4.09 /5

Filter Reviews

All 47 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Lights Shorts - 6 1/2"

4.09
True To Size
September 2, 2020

A tad smaller than previous shorts

This pair of shorts seemed to be a wee bit smaller than my previous 3 pair.Other than that they are primo. We live on a sail boat in the French West Indies so they get hard use-but none of your shorts have displayed any wear.Love the colors. Steve

September 2, 2020

They good

These are much faster drying than the regular baggies. They have a slim fit which is good for me, thankfully. The regular baggies were kind of blousy, or whatever the shorts version of that is. I got a pair of pink, and navy blue. In the pink ones, the dark mesh colored pocket shows through when theyre wet. So thats less than optimal, but its all g... Read Moreood. I really like the navy ones.

September 1, 2020

Comfort and more

The fit is comfortable, the perfect work from home gear when spending so much time on my...!

July 13, 2020

Light and comfortable

Relaxed fit, great for everyday summer wear.

July 13, 2020

Great product by a greater company.

You can do anything in these shorts, swim, run, climb, the list goes on. Quality product, super cool that is made out of recycled ripstop material. 10/10

July 11, 2020

Great product by a greater company.

You can do anything in these shorts, swim, run, climb, the list goes on. Quality product, super cool that is made out of recycled ripstop material. 10/10

July 10, 2020

Light and comfortable

Relaxed fit, great for everyday summer wear.

June 21, 2020

Nice, loose fit baggie

Everything you expect from a baggie but a tad looser. Great pocket size.

June 17, 2020

Cozy Fit

They're a bit tight, I'd say they run a little small, and since the waistband is elastic you can definitely just get a size up and have a much better fit.

June 17, 2020

Nice, loose fit baggie

Everything you expect from a baggie but a tad looser. Great pocket size.

June 17, 2020

Doesnt fit right

Its not the size that bothered me, the size fit fine. I have a pair of the 5 baggies and they fit absolutely perfect, but I wanted a yellow pair of shorts so I bought these. My issue is that they always tend to slide down my waist exposing my crack and getting tight in weird places around my legs. They also stain constantly very easily which is qui... Read Morete annoying. I love the 5 but I would not recommend these.

June 17, 2020

Great fit!

Light weight and comfortable.

June 17, 2020

Do it all light weight short.

I love this product! I have tried different types of shorts and this by far is my favorite. Great regular fit and comfortable. I would only say one con is the netting, which I cut out but this was just my personal preference. I would also say that it's not stretchy but that's not why I bought it. Once it has broken in, it's very comf... Read Moreortable and feels good on skin.

June 17, 2020

Fits tight

Fits tight, but still are a high quality product

May 26, 2020

Just About Perfect

I have a slim build and these fit perfectly in an XS. No restriction in movement at the thigh, and nice and secure at at the waistline. I really like the material as well. I'm looking forward to breaking these in and owning them for years!

May 7, 2020

Almost, but not quite.

The fit is fine around the waist and I like the slimmer nature and lighter-weight fabric than some of the other Baggies. But they got the 6.5" inseam by lowering the point where the legs join - not by shortening the shorts overall. I have a 7" inseam pair of Baggies that are actually shorter on the leg than these. Kind of disappointing.

February 18, 2020

weird fit restricts full range of motion - try on in store or opt for 5 inch version instead

Received my baggie lights today as a gift and was really excited to try these out having read so many positive reviews regarding their versatility. Purchased the ink black version in men's size M (I'm about 5'9" 170-175 lbs, normally a 32 or 33" vanity size for reference) intending to use these as swim trunks for an upcomin... Read Moreg trip to the WI Dells. They look and feel great, and are super lightweight. Pockets are large although it's probably not practical to store much in them. The waist band is a little thin but comfortable enough. If you are between sizes, you'd probably want to size up due to the slim fit and narrow waist band. Although I was aiming for a more modest/contemporary look getting the slim fit with the 6.5" inseam, unfortunately the fit on these is a bit too restrictive and prevents full range of motion while moving (unless you are really super skinny I'm guessing). It's a big enough problem that I wish I had gotten the 5" version instead. I recommend trying these on first if that is an option for you or considering sizing up if intended for some active pursuit. I had received these as a gift (no receipt) so hoping I can still exchange them in a store for the 5" iteration since the tags are still attached. Unfortunately I don't think stores are carrying swimwear right now so I'm anticipating needing to order online/deliver to store/then exchange (i.e. not smooth). Personally I would probably opt for a more fun color as well (black look fine but are a little boring). Bummed that these didn't work out for me, but big big fan of Patagonia still.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2020

Hi there! We're sorry to hear these shorts ended up being too slim fitting. Please note that you're still welcome to return these even if they were a gift and you don't have the receipt. We've emailed you with all the necessary instructions. Thanks for your review!

December 27, 2019

Love baggies!!

Love baggies!!

October 30, 2019

Great all around shorts

I fell in love with normal baggies a few years ago. Picked up the lightweight version and love it even more. I live in these shorts. Extremely high quality and very comfortable.

September 9, 2019

Comfortable shorts

I miss the back pockets but they do the job. Good walking shorts and swimming shorts.

August 31, 2019

6.5 inch inseam measurement

The inseam measurement is accurate but because the design of the short has the the crotch at mid thigh the length of the short still sits just above the knee. Had to exchange for 5 inch inseam.

August 23, 2019

Yep

Welp, I haven’t stopped wearing my baggies in like a week. People, your life will change, as soon as I put them on, I grew a beard, Chacos appeared on my feet, and I had an never ending craving for granola. I think these are the best darn tootin shorts I’ve ever had! If you’re thinking about buy them then I would do it.

August 18, 2019

Love the idea, not a fan of the implementation

I have been wanted to get baggies shorts for myself for awhile now. They seemed great for casual yard work, hanging out at the lake etc. I also really like that the material doesn't seem to get very dirty. However it seems like the whole baggies line has a weird bunch of extra fabric in the front which looks weird. I've tried regular ba... Read Moreggies, the light baggies, but they all have bunched up material in the front. I really want shorts like these but without the odd extra material up front.

August 18, 2019

Mostly great. Needs a couple of tweeks.

Love Patagonia. Usually everything is well thought out, well made, lasts almost forever. I'm still using items purchased almost 30 years ago. The pockets on these shirts are too deep and located so far around the side of the shorts that they are awkward to put your hands in. They are also so deep, all the way to the bottom of the shorts, that... Read More anything put in the pocket rides uncomfortably on your thigh. Not higher up where you expect it to. The inseam is also much longer than the brief. So the shorts pull against you if you have a long stride. They aren't running shorts, I have those from Patagonia and they serve that purpose well. The baggies and baggie lights share these same problems. I bought baggie lights and cut out the liner because I wanted a lightweight pair of shorts, that had pockets and a draw string waist band, to use while backpacking. Except for the aforementioned reasons, these shorts are just about perfect.

August 16, 2019

shorts

Great pair of short. Good quality and fit well. Highly recommend

August 15, 2019

Run Smaller than Baggies

I pretty much live in standard Baggies and am a big fan. The fit for the Baggies Lights are quite a bit smaller, and I was expecting that, but didn't think they would be that much different. I wear a medium in standard Baggies. Fabric is lighter, no rear pocket - but that is the idea. Might try the next size up.

August 15, 2019

Love them!

For me, these are much improved over previous baggies. They are less awkwardly long or short compared to the other versions. I bought several pairs and have worn them at least one day a week this summer to coach ultimate, hike long distances, and run errands, and am super pleased that they are functional and even a little bit cute. I'm usually... Read More a small in Pata shorts and these fit true to size.

August 15, 2019

Solid Short

I picked this short up when another Patagonia Short disappointed. It's good, lightweight, but could use slightly deeper pockets, and a back pocket. Sizing is a little tight on me, but ok.

August 11, 2019

The Best Shorts I’ve Ever Owned

Once I put these shorts on I immediately knew I needed a second pair because I never wanted to take them off to wash them. They fit great (I’m tall and skinny), are light and dry fast, and the fabric is so soft and airy I forget I’m wearing anything. They are the perfect length. I hike, swim, and run in them. We’ll see about their durability after ... Read MoreI take them on the JMT. But if they get wrecked on the trail I’m just going to buy more pairs. They are that good.

July 31, 2019

Good but pockets are too deep.

Great short but the too long pockets don't make sense. If you carry a phone or car keys they can be felt on your thigh as you walk. This is the only pair of shorts I own that does this.

Response from Patagonia
August 1, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment with the pocket depth. Thanks for the helpful feedback on that. If you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) those, please feel free to do so. For help with this, reach out to our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) team!

July 9, 2019

The Best

I wear them everyday! I’m always water ready. They feel amazing.

June 21, 2019

Room for improvement

2 stars because the material is decent and the shorts are lightweight and breathable. However, the inner lining is too tight, the pockets are far too deep, and the rise is too low which limits mobility hiking and climbing.

Response from Patagonia
June 24, 2019

Thank you so much for the feedback on this and we are sorry that you are disappointed with some of the features on these. If you are unsatisfied, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us. We are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) if you need any assistance wit this process.

June 5, 2019

Awesome, but still on the fence

I have owned these shorts for a few months now and have used them for fishing, swimming and hanging out. They are super comfortable, seem durable and are quick drying. My only issue with these is the size. I bought them bc they are supposed to be slim fit and I wanted to compare them to the regular baggies. I’m a slim guy, and these lights flare ou... Read Moret just like the 5” baggies. They are super baggy, which is fine just not as advertised. Ordering a size down might be advised if you are slim person. Other than that, I love them.

May 8, 2019

Good enough to get another, yet...

...still thinking about it. I have three other regular 5" baggies, but decided to try these light ones because I liked how that sounded and also wanted to try a longer cut. Loved them. The mesh fabric feels a lot better than on the 5" ones (no idea if its the same material) and the pockets are deeper and more convenient. Still haven'... Read Moret figured out how they are "lighter" than the regulars, maybe when it gets warmer? The only drawbacks are the drawstrings and the "safe" pocket. The first are just too thin. Sometimes you tie them twice not being able to feel if they are already tied and that's a hassle. Then they are designed on the inside of the waistband, again. I'm still not sure about this standard, no matter how many Patagonia pants/shorts I have with that are string-inside, this thing has never convinced me, yet that's how these are. You tie them up and there you have that knot bulging there between the waistband and your skin. The other thing is the "secure" pocket inside the stash-away pocket (which I haven't used yet and can't think of a situation in which I'd use it–it's a short not a windbreaker or rain layer–you can't go like, "oh, lemme take off my pants here in the middle of nowhere and put on these other pants I have clipped on my whatever", you know?), the pocket sounds like a good idea, but it's just too difficult to finger into your keys inside of it without looking weird doing it. "Oh it has a string"–yes but I have nothing on my key chain to clip unto it. Does anyone does and if so, why would you need the second pocket? Dunno, these two things make took that star for me and keep me from getting another one. Try it tho. I like these shorts otherwise and have been using them quite a lot.

May 8, 2019

my favorite shorts

I wear them all the time anywhere I go, so comfy

March 8, 2019

Pocket stitching needs redesign

Like others, i’ve Had the stitching below the pockets tighten up causing a bubble above the front hem. I’ve ordered two pair, and both have done the same thing after getting wet. Otherwise a great short.

September 2, 2018

Stitching for pockets causes makes them look weird

Got the green baggies lights. Nice color but the stitching makes a wierd bubble in the fabric/compartment below the giant stitched pocket. This makes the shorts look wrinkly and strange. This issue was only visible after I wore them swimming aka got them wet. Also the material doesnt stretch much so they arent the best for mobility. These can never... Read More replace houdini board shorts I bought 7 years ago but lost recently. These baggies lights are simply poorly designed, I mean did anyone test these and wash them before they were mass produced?

August 1, 2018

Stitching issues

I love the fit and fabric of the Lights... I bought a pair used from the worn wear site and liked them a lot but came across a stitching issue that made them uncomfortable and look funny. The horizontal seam on the legs ( right above the Patagonia label on one side) kept bunching up as if the stitching was too tight for the length of fabric or some... Read Morething had shrunk in the copious washings they had probably been through. It looked pretty odd because the fabric was not sitting flat while I was standing. I ordered a second pair brand new expecting that to be an issue of used gear but the same thing happened after a month or so. Wishing I had stuck with the original baggies and wondering if this problem has happened to anyone else?

July 3, 2018

Great shorts terrible pockets

The shorts feel great other than the lining being too tight and the pockets being way too long and wide. Why take the simple design of the pocket and find a way to completely ruin it? Can't even walk with my phone with out it shifting completely sideways after a short walk. Not only looks a bit ridiculous but doesn't feel good either.

June 10, 2018

Great shorts

The first pair of Baggies that I ever bought was a pair of Baggies Lights and they are outstanding. They fit closer to the leg than the Baggies Longs and do not have the same amount of pocket room but they're perfect any activity. I cannot recommend these highly enough.

September 16, 2017

Best Ever

I've been wearing baggies since the late 80's. Best swim trunks ever made and they keep improving!

September 9, 2017

Love the turquoise color!

Bought this for a recent Cali trip. Found them to be versatile for swimming in the ocean,walking around town,lounging around the house. Didn't wear any of the other shorts I brought!

July 22, 2017

Great fit,quick drying

I bought these for my husband because they were shorter inseam than his board shorts. These shorts went well to the beach,into town and back. Same for hiking,river swimming,etc. comfortable and quick drying! Perfect fit

July 2, 2017

Comfortable. Flexible. Versatile.

Took my Baggie Lights to Tulum for 8 days and they were perfect. Wore them swim,walking the beach,and hiking the ruins. Love how flexible they are compared to traditional Baggies. The lining is very comfortable and breathable Perfect for yoga or just slacking around. Highly recommend.

June 22, 2017

Great in most ways,but inseam could be improved

These shorts were a real mixed bag for me. I ordered a Small pair to be a multi-purpose hiking/running/gym short. The Good: The materials are excellent,both durable and light. Plus the range of colors is always nice in the grey-black-blue world of men's clothing. I also really like these over the other baggies because they lack the snap pock... Read Moreet on the back. While that is a good design feature for walking around town,if you intent to use these shorts for running it is completely superfluous,and if you intent them for gym workouts it is uncomfortable. However,these shorts were designed without the unnecessary back pocket to their great advantage. The Bad: My only dissatisfaction with these shorts was unfortunately a big one: the inseam design. The inseam is very low,which gives these shorts almost know stretch for any motion other than walking. Again not an issue for regular day use,but if you intent these for anything that requires wide range of motion in the legs (climbing,running,squats,ect...) then it's probably best to try them on first. I have a short inseam (29"),but the lack of range of motion was enough for me to return them. The Verdict: These shorts are probably the best do-everything shorts I have ever tried. The inseam issue was significant for me,but if they fit you better (or Patagonia changes the design in the future) they have my recommendation.

June 14, 2017

Great Shorts

I was interested in the regular baggies,but they flared out too much and looked almost skirt-like (just not my style). These fit like a normal straight-leg short. I haven't worn them around much yet,but so far they are comfortable,lightweight,and stylish. No issues for me with this 'riding low' (from the other review). I'm 6&#x2... Read More7;0 170lbs,and a medium fits perfectly.

June 4, 2017

nice but fit is a bit off

I like the fabric wt of these shorts even better then the original baggies which I liked a lot. however something with the fit of these is a bit off as they seem to want to ride too low on my back half exposing more crack then anyone would ever want (which should be zero). This is especially the case when bending over. Really have to pull them up h... Read Moreigh to keep this from happening. Otherwise I like them.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches