Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Quandary Hiking Shorts - 5"

Write Your Review

4.8 /5

Filter Reviews

All 54 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Quandary Hiking Shorts - 5"

4.8
True To Size
August 3, 2020

Great coverage

I'm 5'11" and 190lbs. This has a great athletic cut and coverage for a taller gal. Very pleased.

July 13, 2020

I may only wear these this summer

These are amazing. The fit was perfect, they are not too short (I am 510 so everything looks too short), they are flattering for normal life and also perfect for biking/biking/running. Also, they have amazing pockets!! The pockets easily fit my gigantic iPhone 8 Plus and I can bike with it in my pocket and not worry about it falling out. I will pro... Read Morebably end up buying more pairs because I hate when these are in the laundry and I cant wear them.

July 9, 2020

I may only wear these this summer

These are amazing. The fit was perfect, they are not too short (I am 510 so everything looks too short), they are flattering for normal life and also perfect for biking/biking/running. Also, they have amazing pockets!! The pockets easily fit my gigantic iPhone 8 Plus and I can bike with it in my pocket and not worry about it falling out. I will pro... Read Morebably end up buying more pairs because I hate when these are in the laundry and I cant wear them.

July 2, 2020

Light & Comfortable

These shorts are my favorite! They're light, comfortable and the perfect length!

June 26, 2020

LOVE

Absolutely LOVE these shorts!! Very cool, light, dries fast!

June 19, 2020

Very Comfortable Shorts

I love the stretchy fabric of these shorts. The length is perfect and the style is current. No complaints. They can be used for almost any activity and they seem super well made and durable.

June 19, 2020

Perfect!

These shorts are amazing! I love the deep pockets and How easily they move!

June 17, 2020

Stretchy and comfy

I've gone through 3 pairs of these shorts in the last 8 years of outdoor adventures. I'm bummed they don't come in bright colors anymore cause I love them! They looks cute around town and function great in the back country. Thick enough to feel like I'm covered but not so bulky they suck to wear under pants when the temperature ... Read Moredrops. Took them on a 10 day trip and didn't feel filthy at the end.

June 17, 2020

Very comfortable

Exchanged the 5 inch for 7 inch, 5 inch was a little too short for my age

June 17, 2020

Love these shorts

These shorts are great. I have at least five pairs. I love them for hiking, because of all the pockets. Before I discovered these, I wore workout shorts to hike and wished I had pockets. They do ride up some when sitting, but nothing too bad or uncomfortable.

June 17, 2020

Flattering, comfortable, and practical

Love these shorts!! Have used hiking and kayaking. Lots of pockets, comfortable, and flattering. Great length, nice amount of stretch to the fabric.

June 9, 2020

My favorite shorts

These work great for me. The back pockets could be deeper (as I imagine the men's are) but the front pockets are nice and deep. These are the best shorts, I bought them in a few different colors.

June 6, 2020

The best shorts

These are probably my favorite shorts. They're super lightweight, comfortable and perfect for hot summer days. They're easily dressed up or down and it's nice to have some comfy shorts for nicer occasions. I'm 5'6"ish and weigh around 155-160. I carry my weight in my butt/thighs and the 8 fits quite well. Just a bit bi... Read Moreg in the waist but there's a little waist tightener and they look nice with a belt. I maybe could even size down to a 6. The 5" is a really nice length, not too short or too long.

June 5, 2020

Favorite Shorts!

These are the best shorts! I am 5'5" and weigh 110. I bought them in a 2 and the fit is perfect. The fabric is lightweight, dries quickly, and is stretchy. The only regret I have is that I only bought two of them!

June 3, 2020

great short!

Overall, this is an excellent purchase. I love this short as it is light weight and extremely comfortable. The fabric allows for stretching and movement. I was in-between purchasing a size 6 or 8 and after reading most of the reviews, purchased a size 8. I think they definitely run a tad small so if you are in-between, the higher size is worth it. ... Read MoreThese are great shorts for an active summer!

May 30, 2020

love these shorts

I bought these shorts to replace an older version of them. The funny part is that the old shorts were a size 6 and had become too tight, but the new shorts in size 6 fit just right... not too tight, not too loose. I'm 5'7, 140 lbs. Anyway, I love these shorts... great for hot, summer hiking.

May 4, 2020

Perfect "khaki" shorts!

Absolutely love these. They look nice enough to pass as khakis, but are stretchy and comfy enough to wear all day! Lots of pockets, and dirt brushes off them (rather than soaking in like khakis might).

November 26, 2019

Material and size

Didn't like the material and the size was smaller than the other shorts and pants I purchased. Otherwise, they seemed pretty good.

November 11, 2019

Perfect fit and lightweight for

Perfect fit and lightweight for traveling.

September 15, 2019

Go to shorts

These shorts have become my go to. The zipper pocket is great for peace of mind. They’re nice enough to wear around town, and can take a beating on the trail. Perfect for humid and rainy climates.

September 15, 2019

Can't get enough of this pants

I love Quandary and decided to try its shorts. Yes!! It is lightweight, comfortable and looking good. I will definitely get more colors next summer.

September 6, 2019

5 Stars for Quality, 4 Stars for Sizing

Excellent fabric, super comfy. Way to small. I never wear the size I bought, not in any other brand.

September 3, 2019

Great shorts which I can

Great shorts which I can use for several of my activities !

August 30, 2019

Great shorts!

The length and material of these shorts is outstanding! I’m 5’6” and about 135 pounds...size 4 fit perfectly. No constant hiking up or adjusting, just amazing shorts. Didn’t know these even existed anymore. Thank you Patagonia!

August 29, 2019

Perfect summer and adventure shorts

I love these shorts! For a tall, curvy lady - they fit perfectly. I take them backpacking, wear them to work, around town, and of course - traveling. Lightweight, quick dry, and the perfect stretch.

August 24, 2019

Great for Sport Climbing

A perfect length for climbing - keeps everything G rated and sits under a harness perfect. Had some serious sizing issues, had to order three sizes to finally end up with something that fit. I am 5'3, 118 lbs, and a size 2 fits perfect. The leg openings are pretty wide for good mobility. They did stretch out after a couple hours of climbing, b... Read Moreut I was able to tie the inside draw cord to tighten them up a bit. I like the material, very stretchy and doesn't show sweat.

August 22, 2019

Great experience on line and in store upper west side nyc

Love the clothes. All worked on my hiking trip. I like that some of the fabric is recycled.

August 19, 2019

Quandary Shorts

Just got these last week and LOVE the fit. Very comfortable, quick dry. Perfect length. I'm 5'5 and 120. I have the navy and will be getting the khaki too.

August 16, 2019

Amazing Sunshade Hoody!

I wasn’t completely sold on the fit of the sleeves because they seemed a little loose compared to the slim fit of my yoga tops, but I decided it was comfortable and would work. That said, I absolutely love it. I wore it to the beach the other day and it was perfect to cover up from too much sun but not too hot to wear. It has become my “go to” layi... Read Moreng piece when I need a little cover up without bulk. I love the pocket too. I will get a lot of use out of this. I’m petite, 5’ tall, 100 lbs and the XS is perfect for me.

August 15, 2019

Love these!

5’9, 160lbs, pear shaped. So many shorts have such a snug fit through the thigh, and as someone with both muscular thighs and more recently a little extra weight in the thighs, yet a smaller waist, these shorts and their stretchy fabric—and draw string waist--are perfect. Have worn them mostly casually, but also for hiking. Very comfortable. Dries ... Read Morequickly. Bought two pair.

August 13, 2019

Quandary Shorts-Love them!

I purchased these a few months ago-I live in them! Very comfortable. Dries quickly. Inside drawstring to fine tune the fit. Pockets are deep enough-one on the back is zippered. I purchased the khaki and navy. I am 59 years old, 5’0” tall, 102 pounds.

August 12, 2019

Women’s Quandary shorts

They are my favorite shorts. I bought my first pairs a few years back and just wanted some more neutral colors. I purchased the navy and gray. I am 5’4 and 117lbs I ordered a size 6 and I think they fit perfectly.

August 12, 2019

shorts

I wear these everyday for work (I'm the trails director for SBTS) and LOVE them. Then I wear them every afternoon for work/play. They are the best!

August 12, 2019

Excellent fit and comfort! Easily

Excellent fit and comfort! Easily my favorite hiking shorts!

August 12, 2019

Favorite pair of shorts I've ever owned

The Quandary Shorts are my go to for almost any activity. From around the house, to work, and the trail. They are comfortable, functional, and look good - the trifecta. The stretchy material allows you to bend with out pinching, the pockets are large enough to actually be used and the water-resistant finish means summer showers don't mean sogg... Read Morey shorts. I can't say enough good things about them.

August 12, 2019

Great flexible, breathable fabric

The light, stretchy fabric on these shorts is super comfortable. The only downside is that these ran bigger than other size 6 items. I'm 5'10, 145-150lbs, and normally wear a 6 or an 8, so I went for a 6 - but find them to be just a bit too baggy and have to use the draw string to cinch them down so that they don't feel like they&#x2... Read More7;re going to fall off after they stretch out a bit. They fit OK fresh out of the drier, but stretch out a bit with use. The fabric is nice and stretchy, allowing for great mobility when hiking or doing any other outdoor activities. I decided to keep the size 6 instead of risking the size 4 being too small, but next time I may try them on in the store instead of ordering online.

August 11, 2019

Great shorts

Now my very fav shorts. Fit great, wash well! Will b fabulous for traveling.

August 11, 2019

Comfortable, great length

I typically run size 6-8 and the size 8 is perfectly comfortable and relaxed. Plus, I can tighten with the inside drawstring. Awesome to have a zipper on the back pocket so shit doesn't fall out.

August 10, 2019

Perfect shorts

Bought two pairs of these shorts for a 150 day cruise to the tropics. They were perfect and the ship's laundry did not harm the color or fabric. When we returned, we purchased 2 more pair for another trip. They are comfortable, tidy and dry quickly.

August 10, 2019

Great Fit

My sister had purchased these shorts and loaned them to me on a trip together. Since then I purchased a pair and bought another pair for my sister for her birthday in another color. She was thrilled and I love them too!

August 10, 2019

Great!!!

I’ve been in search of some more light hiking shorts that aren’t too long and can still be versatile and cute. These are perfect! Lightweight not too short not too long! I got a size 6 and initially was worried because the model is wearing a 6 and I’m 5’ 145lbs (not exactly built like a model) these are awesome! The 6 was perfect.

August 10, 2019

Quandary Shorts - 5

Love them! Perfect mid length shorts.

August 10, 2019

Love these shorts!

These are my absolute favorite shorts. They are comfortable, light weight, and just a joy to wear.

August 6, 2019

Most comfortable shorts ever worn!

Bought these after trying them on in the store. They are genuinely the most comfortable shorts I have ever worn! I don't like tight or clingy clothes and the design of these ensures they fit and don't sag but aren't uncomfortable. The fabric is stretchy without being obviously stretchy so it moves subtly when you move and the hidden ... Read Moreinternal drawstring cord helps gently cinch the waist. Planning to invest in other colors. Can't recommend these enough!

July 22, 2019

Perfect shorts!

I am loving these shorts! I usually wear a little shorter shorts than this, but the length is perfect and doesn't feel too long. They dry so quickly and are comfortable even when I get sweaty. They feel like I'm not wearing anything. One thing I hate is when shorts get wrinkly and bunch up/ride up on your thighs and these don't do th... Read Moreat- they hold their shape and drape well over your legs. I wear a 14 in most shorts and these are perfect. I don't agree that they run small like other reviews said. I like the fact that there is a zip and slide pocket in the back. I don't totally get the drawstring on the inside of the button closure, but I bet if you are pretty skinny then you might need to snug them up more, I just don't have that problem! Overall, I will probably order another pair of these shorts because they are so versatile and can be worn for pretty much anything.

July 2, 2019

Great looking shorts, true to size

These look and fit great. I am 5'2" and 106 lbs. and the 5" inseam and the waist fit perfectly. I bought these in a size 0 and the waist and length are great. In most brands, size 0 can be too small, and sometimes it can run big, so I was pleasantly surprised that this pair of shorts fit true to my size. I am a bit short-waisted and ... Read Morelonger legs so the 5" inseam didn't feel long to me given my shorter stature. I bought the grey and will be buying another pair in Navy if/when they restock my size.

June 6, 2019

Great shorts

The fit looks great. Very comfortable. Hold up well without giving you a muffin top.

April 11, 2019

So comfortable

These shorts are so comfortable! Can't wait to put them to use, will forsure be getting another pair.

March 26, 2019

Finally shorts that fit and look good!

I have found attractive looking shorts harder to find than any pant or jean style. These work for me, yay! I bought two colors, the gray and the fatigue green (which is more of the actual sort of fatigue green color than it appeared on my browser). The green fits a little more snugly than the gray, but these will stretch a bit. The 5" inseam i... Read Mores perfect for me, anything longer tends to make my legs look shorter and I like 4" inseams, but needed something more versatile. My leg length measured from crotch to a smidge below the bottom of the ankle bone is 31". I am 5'6" with 35.5" hips, 27" waist, and 20" thighs, I purchased a size 2. I've found height and weight and age just don't cut it for me when trying to determine size via reviews, so I like to include specifics to help others make their choice. On me, the shorts are fitted, but not at all tight, if you prefer a looser fit (and a 4 would fall off me) I'd suggest going up a size, I know these will stretch a bit. I am a lean and fit 63 year old, it is nice to find something I feel good in (I usually opt for skorts) and know I can wear about town or on the trail.

June 5, 2018

What's up with the sizing!?

I have a pair of these from last season (size 8) and was looking forward to picking up a couple new colors. I read that the sizing was a bit snug this season so I sized up to a size 10. Even those were too small! It's such a bummer to ruin a great short with the new fit. These were a 5 star short before they changed the fit...lightweight, soft... Read More, stretchy, dried fast, great for travel and around town, have even taken a spontaneous trail run in them and they held up well. For reference, the tan ones are the size 8's from last season and the blue ones are size 10 from this season. I tried the Dolomite Blue, Pesto Green, and the Forge Grey...all 3 colors were this same size 10, all 3 colors were too small. If you drop in on these, size up at least one size from your normal size.

May 10, 2018

Great shorts

I am 5'5',113 and I bought a size 2. I didn't want them pulling snug across the front like the pic on the model and these fit me perfect. I live in Houston and really appreciate the soft,breathable fabric. They have a little stretch to them which is awesome. As long as they hold up,I will continue buying more of this style.

April 11, 2018

Fit was off for me

I'm 5'3" tall,weigh 125 lbs. and have an athletic build. I usually wear a size 4 in Pati gear/clothes. These shorts were too tight all over in size 4. I didn't like the fact that there was no side notch in the shorts for leg movement either. With athletic legs,did not look good on me and too restricting. I tried the size 6 in a ... Read Morenearby store. They fit better in the legs and butt,however the waist was too large. With too many strikes against me on the fit,I returned. Couldn't imagine being comfy in these for active wear.

April 25, 2017

Finally found shorts that I can be an outdoor mom

I haven't gotten to put them to use yet,but at first trying on they are a winner. They fit really well,I'm 5' 6" 140 lbs with a little bit of junk in my trunk and I'm happy with a size 6. The stretch in them makes them easy to move around in and get down on the ground with my daughters. The waist doesn't gap on me eith... Read Moreer,which is a huge plus. I'm excited to get these outside this summer!

February 13, 2017

Perfect for work

I first wore these three or four years ago and they are still my go-to for working outside as a gardener. Even wearing a holster for my pruners day in and day out there is minimal pilling on the side of that first pair. I'm 5'6" 125lbs average build- wear a size 4 for work,and size 2 for going out with friends. The size 2 is just a l... Read Moreittle too snug to be bending over in someone else's backyard but perfect for tubing down a river on a day off!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches