Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Magnolia Spring Dress

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 52 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Magnolia Spring Dress

4.7/5
True To Size
September 29, 2021

Confortable and light

It is confortable and light. A bit tight in the chest, I usually fit on a small size, medium was perfect.

August 24, 2021

Casual dress

Absolutely love this dress. Great fabric and the fit isnt too tight. I get a lot of compliments on this dress.

August 14, 2021

Super cute dress

I ordered this dress as a casual summer dress. I went with the medium size first based on the reviews, and then I had to exchange it to a size small which is my usual size. I find the cut of the dress extremely flattering and comfortable. The cut at the neck and armpit (and back) hugs the upper body, and the lower part flowing gracefully. The mater... Read Moreial is soft and really nice. No bras needed! You can really dress it up, but also can be sporty and casual. I love this dress!

August 6, 2021

Perfect everything dress.

everything dress. Work, casual, active wear and nigh-out dress

August 6, 2021

Tight at ribcage

I would recommend if my friend had a tiny ribcage. The medium was very tight in the ribcage and the large was huge. Really cute back and wished one of them would have worked.

Response from Patagonia
August 6, 2021

Hey Kirsten, thank you for sharing your feedback with us on the Magnolia Spring Dress. We're sorry the fit didn't end up working out for you. If you ever need them, we're always happy to provide measurements when you're trying to decide on what size to purchase. It looks like this particular dress in the size M comes in at 15" across the bust seam, and the size L comes in at 16.5". Perhaps the [Women's Porch Song Dress](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-porch-song-dress/59130.html?dwvar_59130_color=HTMA&cgid=root) in a size S would work better for you since the same measurement comes in at 16.125".

August 6, 2021

Great casual dress

I get compliments each time I wear this. Ive purchased 2 different colors. The cut shows off my shoulders; the breast pads keep it modest and the a line cut of the skirt is forgiving. Would buy more colors.

August 5, 2021

Stylish yet comfortable

I really like the fit and look of this dress. It is simply but could be worn for many occasions because its easy to add accessories to dress it up or down. A great addition to my wardrobe.

August 4, 2021

Functional, durable, and flattering

I packed this dress for a multi-stop trip and it quickly earned its place as a favorite. Functional: I could run around after kids, bend over, haul gear without it gaping or pulling; also found the pads of the shelf bra were easy to re-align after handwashing. Durable: no pilling, sagging, etc, after some hard use. Flattering: I actually had someon... Read Moree call to me in public "I love your dress!" so that seems like a win! I'm 5'5 and 130lbs and the small fits well. This should probably be obvious from the design (and isn't a flaw, just an FYI): the high neck and built-in pads mean the top of the dress does get warm in humid or hot climates, but the flowy skirt keeps you cool.

July 28, 2021

Love this dress!!

This is an amazing all around dress! It can be dressed up or just stay casual. Definitely one to have in your closet line up!

July 28, 2021

Fits Well Looks Great

I think this dress is great! I know it's not for everyone, but I am 5'5 and weigh about 148 pounds. I have an athletic build so my abs are tone, but I do have a butt. This dress flattered my athletic body. The bra fit me perfect. My bust size is 38 C. I could hike with ease or just go walking. It's also doesn't wrinkle easily, s... Read Moreo it's great for travelers. I also love that you can dress it up or down based on your activities. My only regret that I didn't buy another. The Mediums sold out fast, so I only bought the black.

July 17, 2021

Very stylish & comfortable

I love the higher neckline paired with the flirty back. The shelf bra makes the dress very flattering and comfortable. Highly recommend!

July 14, 2021

Comfortable

I wish it came in petite. Im 52 and it is knee length and I wish it was shorter.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Hi Sharon, thank you for the review! We wanted to let you know that we are working on offering more extended sizing options, including petite sizes. We want to be sure we get it right, and it will take some time, but if you're signed up for our emails, you'll be the first to know. To subscribe, scroll to the very bottom of the home page on our website and enter your email in the bottom right hand corner field under "Subscribe". If the length on this dress is not working for you, feel free to begin the return process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 14, 2021

super comfy, fits perfectly

I have a hard time finding dresses where the top is not too loose, but this is fitted just perfectly and the built-in bra is great. For reference, I am a 30D, 5'5" and 115 lbs. The fabric feels smooth, soft, and clingy. I bet it will dry quickly, so it will be a good vacation dress. My kids and husband said, "wow! it's beautiful... Read More!" I bought the red dress.

July 9, 2021

Nice cut and fit; strange built in bra

I want to love this dress. It's cut is lovely and the back is cute. Length is also good. However, there is something weird about the built in bra. No matter how I tried to position it and my girls, there was a strange bunching of the fabric that caused accordion-like wrinkles to show through the front of the dress. It is almost as though the b... Read Morera is one size bigger than the dress.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Hey Lisa, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on the Women's Magnolia Spring Dress. We're sorry to hear you encountered some issues with the built in bra. It sounds like you could potentially benefit from a size down. To begin an exchange, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 7, 2021

Really comfortable - love the red

Love this dress. Id like to get it in more colors. The material is super comfortable. The only thing about it is that it is pretty fitted in the waist so I have to be mindful to not have a huge meal when I wear it otherwise it makes me look like a little pudgy. I am 5 foot nine and the dress is a lovely length for me, not short.

July 5, 2021

Great fit

I bought this for my gf. She loves it!!!

July 1, 2021

Super cute, weird boob stitching

Adorable dress! Comfy, nice neck line, great color. The dress does have visible boob outline stitching, I dont know why. Also where the shoulder straps attach to the dress in the back is a little uncomfortable.

June 29, 2021

Perfect Dress

I love this dress. It's comfy while still looking nice enough to wear casually at work, or around the town. Great fit too!

June 28, 2021

Simple Dress

The dress is great. Used a size up then usually. Just wish fabric was a little thicker. Missing a little of quality to the fabric.

Response from Patagonia
July 2, 2021

Thanks for your feedback on the fabric. This dress is one of our "slim" fit designs, which may explain sizing up. Please reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) if you have any questions!

June 24, 2021

Great!

I love this!!!

June 21, 2021

Dress Up or Dress Down

This dress can be dressed up or down, but is cute both ways. As soon as we got it into our retail shop I knew I had to have it.

June 21, 2021

Gorgeous Dress but slimfit

Awesome dress! It is breathable and nice for the hot Texas summers. My only complaint is that it is not he slimmer side. I missed that part in the item description. I am postpartum and not the biggest fan of how my belly looks right now, so when I wear this dress I usually wear a gauze button-up shirt over it. If you have a slim midsection then you... Read More will love it.

June 17, 2021

Comfortable and stylish

The dress is super comfortable with soft, stretchy fabric. There is plenty of support in the top and the length fell at/just below my knee. I am currently almost 6 months pregnant and I'm sure I can wear this dress for a few more months as it will stretch with me as my body changes. The criss-cross styling of the back received several complime... Read Morents and as a non-dress wearing person normally, I was really comfortable in this for an entire summer's day.

June 16, 2021

Sporty

This dress is super cute and sporty with a built in bra with removable pads. I ordered a large because of my curvy hips and it fits great on the bottom. The top is little more roomier for that reason but not terrible. Will be wearing this during any outdoor activities.

June 13, 2021

Very flattering!

This is my go to dress when I want to walk the dogs, run errands, out for lunch with friends. I can dress it down with flats or wear heels to dress up. The style is very flattering. and did I mention comfortable?!

May 22, 2021

Cut larger on top than on bottom

This is a fantastic dress. It's crazy comfortable and super flattering. I have two of the older Magnolia Spring dresses with the twist back from a few years ago and I wear them all summer long. This version is even more flattering with the high neck halter front. Only issue for me is this version seems to be cut for someone who is a little la... Read Morerger on top. I'm 5'3" 128lb, C cup, 35-29-35, and the M is perfect around the hips but the bra is a little looser than I would prefer, and I really hate tight bras (I only wear bralettes). I almost wonder if there is a manufacturing defect in the dress I got given how loose the bra is, and that nobody else mentioned this. Hence 4 stars instead of 5. Nonetheless I'm keeping it because it's great and a nonbinding bra isn't the end of the world. I would buy more if any of the other colors this year besides the red suited me; alas I look good in saturated jewel tones and awful in muted greens/browns so will wait around and see if any better colors for me show up next year.

May 15, 2021

Comfortable

I wanted a dress with a built in bra for hanging out at the beach. This fits the bill. I would have liked to have an adjustment available for the straps, but otherwise it fits nicely with a stretch fabric. I had to go up a size from my usual Medium as the bust was too tight. On the slimmer side through the mid-section.

May 9, 2021

Great fit

I love the fit of this dress. I like dresses that are made of exercise like fabric and this dress is perfect for that. It feels sporty but also fashionable. Additionally, I think the neck line is flattering.

April 20, 2021

Exactly what I thought it would be.

This is one of those dresses that you put on and just feel great about yourself and life. It fits great, its made of super comfy material, and looks bomb. The only thing wrong with it was that when it shipped one of the breast cups was upside down. Easy fix. I could not be happier with this purchase.

April 19, 2021

Perfect summer dress

I ordered a medium first and it was a bit snug through the chest (Im 34 C) and exchanged for a large and love the fit! Im 59 and around 145lbs.

March 19, 2021

Everything Dress

I just tried on this dress and immediately thought, I need another. I have never bought multiples of the same dress, but for the first time Im tempted. Im skeptical of built in bras, but this one is incredibly comfortable, supportive, and no show headlights. The dress is so comfortable and flattering - I could wear it in the garden or out to dinner... Read More. The material looks like it would be great for traveling which is still just a pandemic fantasy, but this dress keeps the dream alive.

March 17, 2021

Travel dress

As everyone says: that built in bra is great. I purchased a large just so the dress was a little less form fitting. Easy to wash and looks great!

March 2, 2021

Travel dress

Great fit. Purchased a large for more room. Love the built in bra and easy to wash and dry while on the road.

December 22, 2020

Perfect summer dress for play or work

This dress fits like a glove without feeling too snug. It gives shape and support in all the right places. I especially like the built-in bra that has good support, no-show fabric weight. The dress flares out from the waist, hides my wide hip and look pleasing. Floral print is absolutely striking, photo doesn't do justice. I wear this for play... Read More, but I also throw on a cardigan and perfectly elegant for work too.

November 16, 2020

Fantastic fit and fabric

Very comfortable with a built-in bra thank goodness. Perfect for casual wear, warm weather errands, and travel as it stays free of wrinkles. Easy wash & wear.

September 18, 2020

Fun wonderful dress!

I love the bright color. I love clothes that have a built in bra. Perfect for future summer travel.

September 4, 2020

Comfy and flattering

This dress could not be more comfy and flattering. I love the high neckline. The wider straps mean greater comfort and I barely notice they are there. The built in shelf bra adds just enough support. I want to buy one in every color.

September 3, 2020

Comfortable

Comfortable summer dress

September 1, 2020

Great summer dress

I really like the coverage and the fit of the built in bra, I also like the length and the red color and patters is beautiful.

September 1, 2020

Great dress

I love the pattern, style and fabric. It fit fine except that it is snug around the waist. I didn't feel comfortable with the tightness but others may.

August 21, 2020

Most perfect dress EVER

Okay, Im 115lbs for reference, a 30B-C and I've had 3 kids (so my breasts sag and my tummy will never be the same) but this dress makes me feel young again! It literally fits perfectly, supports the not so perky friends up top and allows for a not so perfect abdomen, as well. Its almost a princess cut so the hips are loose but the upper waist ... Read Moreis slightly tapered rather than flared out like a princess cut, giving me a nicer figure than what I really have. It hits me at the knee, is super lightweight and not tight in the straps like so many other dresses (which always end up giving me knots in my shoulders). If I couldve bought this dress in every color I would have done so! Alas, the red was sold out so I have the blue but really, I want this dress for every day of the week and I sincerely hope Patagonia makes more!

August 11, 2020

Show pictures of the back of the dress.

I havent decided if I want to buy this dress yet, because there are no views of the backside of the dress. Include these in your website if you want to sell the product.

July 26, 2020

Easy, Comfortable, Cute!

This dress is fantastic. I'm a 34DD, and this is the first dress I've found where I feel 100% comfortable and supported without having to wear a bra underneath. Even better, the high neckline is modest yet still flattering. I can't get over how wonderful it is to just throw on a dress without having to worry about the right bra with ... Read Morethe right straps and whether or not it's too revealing. The material is cool and comfortable as well. I love it so much I just bought two more. Two cautions - I waver between Small and Medium in Patagonia sizes. I first bought this in Medium, and while the fit was mostly good, the back sagged down a bit. I exchanged it for a Small and the fit is better in the back, but there is a little less forgiveness around the midsection so I have to watch my ice cream consumption. Second, while I love the Kale Green color, it definitely shows moisture spots where I am sweating on a hot day. Wear a pattern if you are going to be in the heat.

July 12, 2020

Sturdy, Stylish, A Steal!

Someone else said "buy it while you can" and they are right. Every 3-4 years, I buy a dress from Patagonia that ends up lasting me another 4+ years, and this dress is it for 2020 summer! The sturdy, slightly swishy fabric feels great against the skin. I bought the black color and just snagged the blue, both in M (I have bought M in other ... Read MorePatagonia dresses in the past). I am 5"5, slim hips, small chest, but broad shoulders kind of gal. The dress feels like wearing a mid-support sports bra, but as a chic dress! It feels a little snug to pull on and off, but once it's on you forget about. Style is perfect for pairing under a jean jacket or even a blazer for the WFH office, I've done a yoga flow in this dress and it moved well. Sleek, flattering and perfect for East and West coast summer days!

July 6, 2020

The perfect summer dress

This dress might be my favorite from Patagonia. The material is stretchy and comfortable yet flattering. The back details make it cute to wear to the office or just to throw on for the beach. I wish it came in more colors because I would absolutely own several colors.

July 1, 2020

My fav!

I love this dress. Super comfortable and very flattering. I have received several compliments. The length is great - not too short or too long. I purchased the black version which is more of a charcoal/soft black. I am considering getting one of the other colors given how much I love this.

June 11, 2020

Perfect Dress!

I bought this dress pacifically looking for something I could wear in the Florida heat without having to wear a bra! This dress is perfect the fit is flattering, the material is comfortable and the support in the built-in bra is exactly what I needed. I am going to buy theres another colors!

June 10, 2020

Perfect Everyday Dress

I am always on the lookout for a dress that I can wear comfortably in the city but also take camping - this one exceeded my expectations! The shelf bra is supportive with removable liners which is important to me, you can't even tell you're not wearing a bra! I wear a 32D so I'm pretty selective when it comes to outfits I can actuall... Read Morey pull off without a bra :) It is slim through the waist and slightly tapers at the hip for a really flattering fit. For reference, I am 5'5", 128lbs, muscular build and purchased a small.

May 15, 2020

Flimsy yet weighs a lot bathing suit material

Material is flimsy and unflattering bathing suit fabric. Oddly the dresss weight is a bit heavy if thinking of traveling. As in most patagonia womens items with built in bras ...it is poor support. Makes women with boobs look like blobs . No pockets - really???? Only positive is higher chest coverage and decent length.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

Hi Margot, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with dress. We appreciate the feedback as it helps us to improve products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 24, 2020

Perfect Summer Dress

I was looking for a casual dress and I got so much more. This is THE perfect summer dress. I live in SoCal where summers get in the 100s. This dress is so light and breezy. The neckline is modest but the back makes it a little sexy, and the built in bra ensures no bras traps get in the way. Im 57 and the medium hits right at my knee. Please make mo... Read Morere colors!!!

December 20, 2019

The perfect summer dress

I can almost never wear dresses with a built-in bra, but this is the exception. Woooo! This dress runs true to size. It's a little snug across the tummy, but the pattern offsets this if your stomach is less than flat. Since it's high quality and stylish, but not trendy, I can see myself owning this dress for a long, long, long time. Dress... Read Morees like this are hard to find -- you should buy it while you can.

December 19, 2019

Love my new Magnolia Dress!

It fits well (I ordered a Medium) and I really like the slightly halter top and the length. The print is great too. Really happy with it!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches