Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Amber Dawn Dress

Write Your Review

4.31 /5

Filter Reviews

All 71 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Amber Dawn Dress

4.31
True To Size
September 25, 2020

Easy- breezy dress

Fabric is soft and light. Skirt is knee-length on me (5 1). No built-in bra, but good coverage and fits well.

September 7, 2020

fun print and flattering summer dress

I own this dress in multiple patterns and wear the Patagonia cross beta sports bra with for a little extra support. I have an athletic build- big lat's/small boobs: so, it fits me perfectly.

September 1, 2020

Cute and summery

I bought this for a vacation that I thought would take place in the heat of summer, but now it's going to happen in the fall (Covid). Anyway, this dress fit me well in the Medium (5'9" 170, long waisted) and is super comfy when it's crazy hot; looks like I tried when I didn't. The fabric is on the thinner side, but not so m... Read Moreuch that you can see thru. There is no padding in the bra area, but you could add them if you wanted, straps are comfortable, they don't dig in. It's very cute and flattering.

September 1, 2020

Amber Dawn Dress

Perfect summer dress!

August 29, 2020

Love it

Based on the other reviewers I was concerned whether the top would work for me and if the length would be OK. Glad I took the chance, because the fit is great. I love it so much, in fact, that I just bought it again in another color.

August 9, 2020

Very cute

Just received this dress in the mail couple days ago. And wore it to work the other day. Looked great! And received so many compliments on it! I got it in The Cotton Wild Big: New Navy. The colors are as pictured. And the print is perfect for Florida, where I live. Will definitely wear it often. I am 5'6", 115 lbs. Size XS is perfect.

August 7, 2020

Perfect Summer Dress

Wonderful, easy to wear summer dress. Packs up nice and can be worn every where, from hiking, to plein air painting, and out for dinner. Classic must have!

July 21, 2020

Really short - did I get a petite?

I love this dress, but it is super short. Im 5 7 and its halfway up my thigh and the skirt is more a-line so it could easily produce a Marilyn Monroe moment. I keep checking the tags to make sure its not marked wrong. I also ordered the Sundown Sally and that hit about 1-1 1/2 inches lower and it still above the knee. Wish they had a long.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

Thank you for your comments about the length and we are very sorry to hear that this ended up being too short for you. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us.

July 14, 2020

Nice dress, doesn't fit me well

This is a nice dress but just didn't fit me well. I waited too long deciding on it to be able to return it, however. I love the design and the shape of the dress but the way the straps sit on my small body make my boobs look weird and so I'm worried I won't wear it much.

Response from Patagonia
August 20, 2020

Hey there, if you're not totally sold on this, you're welcome to send this back to us. We always want to ensure you're totally satisfied so please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if you decide you don't want to hold onto it.

July 13, 2020

Summertime go-to

Loved this so much right out of the package that I ordered another one in a different color. I'm not busty so that helps with the fit, but I'm not slim, either. The bias cut fabric stretches and drapes in all the right places. Very happy.

July 9, 2020

Summertime go-to

Loved this so much right out of the package that I ordered another one in a different color. I'm not busty so that helps with the fit, but I'm not slim, either. The bias cut fabric stretches and drapes in all the right places. Very happy.

June 19, 2020

Great little dress!

I am fortunate to own a lot of really comfortable and cute Patagonia dresses that I've picked up over time. This one is one of my all-time favorites! It is comfortable and fits well. What's not to love?

June 17, 2020

Where's my boobs?

Living in Singapore, I yearn for life without a bra, but culturally it's still a bit sensitive. This is why I was so stoked to buy this dress! Don't get me wrong, it's a great fit for the most part, but my 32D chest falls a bit...flat instead of flatteringly. Probably perfect for those with smaller cup sizes, but I will try my luck w... Read Moreith other dress cuts in the future. Oh, another bit I'd be remiss to say - the yellow print is divine!

June 17, 2020

My new uniform

I love this dress. I live in Florida, where its super hot in the summertime. This dress is comfy and washed really well. I wear it everyday. I only wish it had pockets.

May 5, 2020

Cute sundress

I purchased the yellow dress and it is very fresh and summery. I am 5'5 and 125lbs with a very narrow back and the XS fits perfect. The dress is a thin cotton and it seems like it will wear well. Although I wear a 30/32 D, I didn't have any issue with bulging out (I am not a full D). I do wish they had put a pad or a space for a pad to so... Read Moreften the curve of my breast however, I plan on making small cuts in the inside to be able to slide my own padding in.

December 15, 2019

Cute but didn’t work for me

Really cute and flattering but it exposed more cleavage than I’m comfortable with. And the band that goes around to create the top support was a little itchy-not too bad though. I did ultimately return mostly bc the cleavage exposure (it looked great!)

November 27, 2019

5 Starts

Love the dress, comfortable, fits well, and I love the material, not too tight and yet fits well enough to feel comfortable with out any sagging...

November 19, 2019

Costa Rica wedding

Purchased the Amber Dawn dress for a wedding in Costa Rica, is was perfect for the event and comfortable to wear in the heat and humidity. Thanks

October 20, 2019

Material seemed cheap

Didn’t like the material

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, Rosalia! We're sorry to hear you were not a fan of the material used on this item. We went ahead and reached out to you privately to follow up on this.

September 19, 2019

This is a super cute

This is a super cute summer dress, comfortable and functional!! I love it!

September 19, 2019

Best dress ever!

Thank you Patagonia, for offering a dress that fits us curvy types. Wonderful support up top, flowy and that right balance of sporty and feminine. I took this dress on a road trip and it was perfect. Thanks again, I highly recommend this dress.

September 18, 2019

Like the color and soft

Like the color and soft fabric. Boyfriend likes it too.

September 15, 2019

Great fit for athletic figure

I’m 5’10” 145# 34b/c with an athletic figure. This dress fits perfectly on me. As I have a smaller chest and wide shoulders, my chest didn’t look over-exposed at all. Feminine, comfortable easy care, easy wear. The cross over top is supportive enough not to wear a bra. Will get a lot of use out of this dress.

September 15, 2019

Flattering dress

Very flattering pattern. Perfect summer dress--casual but also can be dressed-up. The only thing I would note is it seems designed for larger-busted women and the top gapes a bit. I solved the problem by adding a few stitches at the bust. I got size small and it fits well. I’m 5’7” 130lbs and small-busted.

September 13, 2019

summer dress

It is very nice dress, I bought L although I'm not a L, so it is a little roomy but not a lot. Patagonia dresses tend to run a little tight.

September 10, 2019

Love it!

It's a very flattering fit. We bought 3 of these for a wedding in Hawaii and looked great on each of us. I do have to agree with the other reviews, if you're busty at all it definitely accentuates the girls! I ended up just adding a few stitches to hold it closed a bit more.

September 10, 2019

Not suitable

The fit around the chest is strange. Not very flattering. One feels insecure having it on.

Response from Patagonia
September 21, 2019

I'm sorry to hear the dress isn't fitting the way you would like in the chest. Feel free to send the dress in for a return if it isn't working out. You can start your return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 9, 2019

Cute dress; didn't work for me

This dress, which I believe one is expected to wear without a bra, is made for women with fuller breasts than mine. If you are small breasted, then the gathers under the bust will make it appear that your breasts are very low, as they are what sticks out -- it's not a good look. The rest of the dress was cute, and fit well. But it was so unfla... Read Morettering for my body in the bust. Perhaps a built-in bra would help?

September 7, 2019

Nice flattering fit

I’m small chested and this dress is tight, but flattering.

September 7, 2019

Been eyeing this dress for

Been eyeing this dress for a while, but was waiting for it to go on sale to try out. The style is very flattering for my body type (slightly curvy, medium bust, average height), and the weight of the material is not too thin, super comfortable. Overall a very good dress investment.

September 6, 2019

fit, function, style

The Amber Dawn dress is perfect for summer wear. I have worn it several times already. The fabric is pretty and of good quality (I hate skimpy, cheap fabrics) - a perfect weight and the design is flattering. Thumbs up all around.

September 6, 2019

Love, love, love!

Absolutely love this dress - the fit, the pattern, the quality, and the comfort. I am 5'5", 130lb, and 'barely A' chest size. Awesome dress for slim, athletic, small- chested build!

September 5, 2019

weird fit

This dress is very cute in photos and in life, but not on a person. The chest is so small that even when I went up a size, my chest spilled out of the dress is a really inappropriate and uncomfortable way. I had to return the dress. No wonder it's on clearance and available in every size!

September 3, 2019

Dissapointed

I love the color, I love the style & I love the fabric. However the top portion of the dress is poorly sewn. The right side strap is wider and lays puckered. Expected higher quality manufacturing from Patagonia. Disappointed

September 3, 2019

simple, no frills sundress

soft, light fabric. no frills-no top padding. I did put a few stitches at the cleavage.

September 3, 2019

Great dress

I love this dress and wish I’d found it before the end of the summer. It’s flattering and I could even wear it without a bra. The skirt sits an inch or two above my knees (I’m 5’8) which is just what I was looking for. The material isn’t flimsy so it doesn’t cling to my fatty bits and it’s thick enough to give some support to my breasts without bei... Read Moreng hot. I can’t wait to wear it next summer!

August 31, 2019

All around go to dress...

Love this dress for traveling. It is a go to day or evening dress. It’s so nice it was worth purchasing twice (a new color)!!!

August 31, 2019

Nice quality but...

I love this dress and the way it fits me (in fact, this is the third one I’ve bought), but the hem always flips up at the bottom. This happens every time, which is irritating. It can be temporarily fixed by ironing it, but it doesn’t last. Seems like the flipped up hem is a bit of a design feature.

August 29, 2019

Multi-season, layerable sundress

I ordered this in the teal color as I've been looking for some time for a dress with these "specs" - a y-back with a high waist seam and close to knee length, in a solid color or otherwise acceptable pattern. The neckline is pretty low-cut for us short girls (I'm 5'2"), and the silhouette would be a bit more flattering... Read More if the seam were dropped lower on the ribcage rather than just below the bustline - hence the 4 stars. I also normally wouldn't go for the slubbed fabric, but the effect is subtle enough to get by with. I've worn this already with a button-down shirt underneath for church (which was sooo cute with a chunky necklace and earrings), and I can wear it into the fall with tights and a cardigan. Unlayered, the fabric is substantial enough to go braless (which is probably the idea given the design) but I'll probably use a halter top for insurance - and save those occasions for dinner out with my husband.

August 29, 2019

Functional and fashionable

I have been eyeing this dress for a while and finally decided to try it. I have zero complains. The dress fits great (even on a 5 foot 9 frame) and allows me to go from work to play with no outfit change. Can't ask for much more than that.

August 29, 2019

My new favorite dress!

Fits perfectly, comfy and an attractive pattern - I always love the Patagonia patterns!

August 26, 2019

Great, but must wear with tank

I bought this dress in a small and it fits me like a glove, but the top is just too revealing to wear without a tank or bandeau underneath (FYI, I'm 5'5" 140 lbs, 34DD). Otherwise, it's a great dress, perfect for casual summer days and for minimal wrinkle packing.

August 23, 2019

nice but not for her

Was not for the lady's body type. Will be returning and searching for another style more suited to her shape. thanks.

Response from Patagonia
September 4, 2019

Sorry to hear the dress has been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) it to a Patagonia-owned store or send it in for a refund or merchandise credit. Reach out to our Customer Service as we'll be happy to help!

August 21, 2019

Best Summer Dress EVER

I just got this dress on the incredible sale and I just don't want to take it off. I LOVE it. The material is so soft and yet durable. The fit is perfect. I am modest and I did not find the breast opening cut to be an issue at all but I agree with another reviewer that some may want to put a stitch in the middle. That would be easy peasy. This... Read More dress is beautifully cut, flattering, nice and cool for hot days and so feminine. Patagonia really nailed the cut and sizing on this little beauty. I am a size 6 and the small fits perfect right off the rack. Thank you Patagonia.

August 21, 2019

I just wish it had pockets

I love this dress, it's super comfortable and flattering. I can see how the fit of the bust wouldn't work for some people, it is pretty low and wide, but it's pretty great for me. I just wish it had some kind of slip pocket for a phone/cash/card.

August 15, 2019

Cute

This dress is cute. However, the bottle hem rolls up on this dress. Therefore, for travel, to want to make sure you iron it first. Other than that, it is comfortable and cute. I did sew the Breast cups together a little higher. I am a B cup so I don’t have to wear a bra but I do wear a strapless bra.

August 12, 2019

Great dress and bra for sporty physique

I'm broad across the shoulders from rock climbing, and struggle to find comfortable clothes with a fitted look (rather hanging off me like a shapeless tent). Patagonia clothes seem to be just right, for fit, comfort, and practically allowing a great range of movement.

August 10, 2019

Excellent summer dress

I love this dress. I am 5'6" 145 lb - muscular; I ordered a small. It fits my small chest nicely (if you are more endowed you might feel a bit exposed), but the fit is very flattering and comfortable. Has been my go to dress for this hot summer. Love patagonia's products - will be a lifetime customer :)

August 3, 2019

Love this dress...busy needs adjustment

This dress fits so nicely. It is so cool too. On a hot summer day—it’s the dress I will wear. The top part—I agree with many reviews about the bust exposure. I could not wear it the way it was sewn. I sew so I sewed up the center, creating a V-neckline. Easy and took a minute on my sewing machine. That did the trick. I would suggest Patagonia to do... Read More the same. It is a simple fix. I am 5’1” and weigh 113-115. I wear a 32 D bra. Fits exactly as description states otherwise.

July 3, 2019

Love the Form and Function, but the Fit...

I love the way the dress fits everywhere but the bust. As some of the other reviewers have mentioned, the bust is quite loose and I risk exposing myself every time I wear it. I have tried different bras to combat this issue, but the dress is cut in a way that only strapless really works which makes the function of the dress less active. Please fix ... Read Morethis issue in the future, so I can continue to enjoy this adorable Patagonia dress in all your stylish colors! :)

Response from Patagonia
July 5, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the fit at the bust. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us.

May 16, 2019

Perfect Dress for Summer

This dress is so flattering on! The fabric is not scratchy, but it's not silky (like a jersey knit). The only adjustment I will make is to sew the bust in a little. I don't have big boobs for a large size, so there is some gapping. I find this a minor issue!

May 8, 2019

Great dress and so comfortable!

Great dress and so comfortable!

February 11, 2019

My favorite dress ever

I just love this dress so much. I have it in every color...I just wish there were even more colors available.

February 11, 2019

Love this dress

I love this dress! It is perfect for the summer. It keeps you cool, but there material is still thick enough to not be see through. I’m 5’8”, 145 lbs with an athletic frame and the M fits perfect. The only con is that the top is kind of revealing. I’m small on top so I was happy to have a little cleavage for once, but I could larger chested women m... Read Moreay have an issue with it.

December 13, 2018

love the cotton and stretch but ...

Perfect weight cotton with 4% stretch and not see through. I love the soft slub cotton quality and color. I’m 5’4 34C waist 26 hips 32. size XS and S both fit awesome if I wish to exposing 80% of my chest. This is a constant problem with all of patagonia dresses. Please read these reviews. Who are your fit models ? Real people have curves and I hav... Read Moree to be able to be presentable in front of family, public and at work on dress down days. The Bandha dress has an extremely low cleavage as well which can be closed up higher with a few stiches. We want appealing yet tasteful, comfortable and sustainable dresses. Barely Bikini sized tops attached to skirts is not realistic. The Wildflower dress in XS was so low on me that I was exposing all of my chest even with the straps shortened. Morning glory, Kamala, Iliana dress styles are much better because they have better chest coverage and yet has sexy back exposure which is publicly acceptable. Tencel Cotton & Stretch with more vibrant hawaii tropical colors please. This Amber dawn dress is much too revealing & only appropriate with my significant other at an adults only non-family-beach resort . I can wear this while casually bike riding, strolling in a park or beach or under a buttoned up labcoat at work to stay covered up.

February 3, 2018

Great fit,itchy/rough material

I ordered this dress in a small in the Valley Floral/Classic Navy color. The fit was perfect. However,the material was somewhat itchy and uncomfortable. I can't imagine wearing that material on the beach or on a sunny day. I have this dress in brown from a prior season and the material was much more comfortable. Sadly,I will be returning this ... Read Moreitem.

August 5, 2017

Cut way too low

I bought this dress hoping it would be my "go to" after beach dress. Not possible with the low cut and somewhat wonky design of the bodice. Tried sewing and safety pinning to no avail. Unfortunately,will be returning.

June 3, 2017

Perfect casual summer dress

Purchased this dress (color: Exotic-Craft Pink) almost 2 months ago as my go to summer dress for after-hours/weekends. I live in Florida,so summer is bright,hot and humid...dress has been comfortable to wear and flattering in city and at beach side. Color,material and fit all hold up nicely after repeated wash (I air/line dry the dress). As other r... Read Moreeviewers have mentioned,it features an open/low neckline. For size reference - I ordered a Small,finding it a great fit,my measurements: 34B bra,5'7",athletic build,140 lb.

May 6, 2017

Super cute!

This dress is tts and very flattering. I don't think I could pull it off at work because the neckline is pretty low.

May 6, 2017

Perfect fit!

I've always had the gift of small-chestedness. While that is helpful in many athletic endeavors such as sprinting and splunking,it has always been a detriment in finding a cute dress that didn't have gaping holes under my armpits. This dress changes all that! It fits like a glove and I'll proudly wear it among my cleavage- boasting f... Read Moreriends knowing,secretly,that in most life or death situations,bra size will never matter as much as speed. :D

April 29, 2017

Love the fit,loose in bust

This dress is gorgeous and very well made,love the pattern (flowers in ink black) the fit is perfect except in the bust it is looser than I would like. It's not so bad that I have to return it,but I won't be able to wear it for very active pursuits. To help with fit,I bought a size small and I'm 34b,5'6 125 lbs.

April 16, 2017

Wanted to love it

This dress has such a cute style and I loved the blue print color (same print in sage greens or not-too-bright orange hues would have been great too!). But darn it all,it just didn't flatter. I'm 5'6",128lbs,and barely B 34" bust,with 37" hips and 25" waist. Ordered size S,and it fit well everywhere except in the ... Read Morebust. Too loose. Depending on how slim dresses are around the hips,I can wear XS or S. I was considering exchanging for XS,but after reading others comments regarding the looseness in the bust,I guess it's just not meant for me. Sadly,returning. Really wanted it to fit!

April 15, 2017

Disappointed,too much cleavage

I love everything about this dress,except for the fit on top. It is too loose,showing too much cleavage,with no option to tighten or tie. I bought this dress in my standard medium. I am not a small. The top is just not well made or proportioned. This dress would've been a favorite in my wardrobe otherwise.

April 13, 2017

Beautiful and Comfortable!

I bought this almost as soon as it came out and I could not be happier with it! I have multiple dresses from both Patagonia and Prana from over the years and this one has to be my favorite. The organic cotton is super soft and very stretchy,equaling an incredibly comfortable dress. I am 5'9,145 lbs,and typically wear a 6 in dresses and the sma... Read Morell fits me perfectly,maybe just a little roomy in the bust since I am not large-chested. I bought it in the Exotic Floral: Big Surge Blue and the colors are quite attractive and flattering,looking just the same as they do in the pictures. It's great to wear casually,out to dinner,to work,as a dress to throw on after a paddle in the lake or river,and so many more. Yet again Patagonia has made a fantastic item that will last me years. I absolutely love this dress and recommend it to everyone!

April 8, 2017

she loves it

I got this for my amazing Naomi. She was excited and looked great in it when she tried it on. Can't wait for warmer weather to see her wearing the beautiful dress

April 8, 2017

Great Dress

It is a very flattering style and I love that I don't need to wear a bra; especially because it gives me a lot of freedom when I wear it dancing. It's a tad long; would prefer to have it just above the knee. Got the grey initially (a pearl grey would have been better!),but it was too drab,so returning it for the blue. Medium fit well for ... Read Morethis 5'7",150lb,athletic,36C lady.

March 31, 2017

Another Great Dress!

Every year I get a new dress from Patagonia,and this year it is the Amber Dawn Dress. (I bought a Pataloha dress last year.) This is perfection on me. You know how sometimes you put on a dress and it is just amazing on you? The fit,the hang,the flare,the curve,the feel,everything? And you feel amazing,and like you are a million bucks,like you are t... Read Morehe most gorgeous,sexy woman in the world? That's how I feel when I wear this dress For the fit: I am 5'6",~130#,34/27/37 and I bought a size small. It's listed as a slim fit but I really think it's more of a regular fit. I am a size 6,not a 4,at my age I definitely have some junk in the trunk,and some size smalls are a bit form fitting and sometimes too tight on me in the waist/hips and I have to size up to a medium. This dress definitely skims the curves but is not actually tight anywhere on me. There's no shelf bra,but the way the top is designed,you don't need one,it's plenty supportive enough (unless I suppose you're trying to play tennis or something) I would imagine even if you're larger than a B it would still work. The v-neck is quite pronounced,but the straps stay firmly in place and I never feel like anything is falling out or moving somewhere it shouldn't. The hem hits right at the top of my knee. The material is really nice. I got the black color,and mind you,it's not a saturated jet black color,but rather a soft black that has a hint of brown in it. The cotton is really comfortable,soft but nicely textured. I have plenty of polyester blend dresses so it's really nice to have a cotton dress that doesn't wrinkle and moves nicely. Anyway,hopefully Patagonia won't cut off my long review like they did last time when I tried to post a review on another product last year. If you're still reading,obviously I highly recommend this dress and will probably get one in a print pattern.

January 5, 2017

great summer dress

I purchased the ink Black color,it's a nice dress. It shows some cleavage,like a bathing suit top. It fits gread. I love the back key hole detail. The dress is supportive in the bust area for those show don't want to wear a bra.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches