Back to Product

Patagonia Friction Belt

Write Your Review

4.15 /5

Filter Reviews

All 39 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Friction Belt

4.15
True To Size
November 11, 2020

Love this belt

I wear it all the time. It is easy to cut to size and just use a lighter to burn/seal the end to keep it from fraying. My bf also has one of these belts and he has had his for over 5 years and still looks and works great. I have tried many similar belts but this one is the best. The buckle actually lies pretty flat so it doesn't look bulky and... Read More doesn't get in the way.

September 16, 2020

I'm so happy I found this belt!

I get an allergic reaction to nickel in most belts. I wasn't sure if this product would suit me, but I've been wearing the belt for about a month now and this belt does not give me rashes.

September 13, 2020

Good belt

Substantial belt. Buckle keeps it tight. A little wider and a lot stiffer than the Simms belts Im used to but Im sure it will break in. Recommend.

September 12, 2020

Either too small or really bad quality control...or both?

Had to return belt as it was too small, shorter than specified, a problem exacerbated by slanted end that makes about an inch not really usable. Even if had been as specified with the slant probably still would have been smaller than one would like.

September 8, 2020

Cool patterns and versatile

I like the patterns a lot. The only reason I like the Tech belt more is because this belt isnt as wide or as thick as I like.

September 8, 2020

Does what its supposed to do

Infinitely adjustable and durable.

September 5, 2020

Simple and effective.

The lockup(for lack of a better term) on the belt is completely secure when cinched somewhat tight. Tightening the belt when it is all the way threaded required more finger strength than I thought have would, but wasn't problematic for me. One of my children who has reduced dexterity and hand strength couldn't reliably tighten it. Looseni... Read Moreng is easier, if you have threaded the "tab" side of the buckle first, because you can use the tab as leverage to more easily wrench some slack. It is quite light and comfortable. Colors were just as expected and the quality of all the materials seems impeccable.

August 19, 2020

Runs Small

Narrow and short. Plastic buckle. Doesnt stay tight- as it slips once fastened. Disappointed. Overpriced.

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2020

Hello Bill, thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry that the belt did not work out for you. Our products are covered by the Patagonia Ironclad Guarantee so you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty. As a side note, you may want to try rubbing the area where you would like the buckle to stay with a fine piece of sand paper, this helps to rough up the smooth nylon material and allow the plastic buckle to grab on and sit a bit more securely.

August 12, 2020

Great Belt!

Excellent quality. Simple and sturdy design with a strong secured buckle, the keeps everything in place when you are hiking. Got it in few colors.

August 10, 2020

Runs super small

Love the quality of the belt but they are two small. If you wear over size 34 , forget it its to small.

July 13, 2020

No slip, very stylish!

Love this belt! It really does work for all sizes! Very practical yet stylish :) Best belt buy ever! Stays in place and does what it was meant to do! Very comfortable as well!

July 10, 2020

no friction

Friction fit is weak. I am thin and this does not hold well. I will return and look into an old army brass buckle belt like one I owned in the past.

June 21, 2020

Stays put!

This belt is great, I've actually purchased two! One for work, one for play! Stays in place!

June 17, 2020

Stays put!

This belt is great, I've actually purchased two! One for work, one for play! Stays in place!

January 15, 2020

Great Belt

I now have two colors. Nice, simple belt. Easy to adjust.

January 1, 2020

Great styling

I bought this belt for my husband because the friction belt he has been wearing for years actually started to show wear. He really likes the style and colors.

December 25, 2019

My everyday belt

I wear this belt almost exclusively. They last forever.

November 27, 2019

Frition Belt Review:

Too long for me and I am afraid if I cut it, even if I melt it, the belt will begin to unravel.... eventually I will or I will return it...

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

We're sorry this belt ended up being too long! If you do wish to return it in the end, please click [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Return-Policy) for our return instructions and processing info.

November 16, 2019

Hard to tighten

Maybe I am doing something wrong. It I find this belt hard to tighten

November 4, 2019

Nice, simple, light belt

Nice, simple, light belt

October 31, 2019

Friction Belt

Good simple belt. It may be more thin than you are expecting, also it is fairly long and may need to be trimmed (I have 34in waist, and trimmed off 4in). My only issue with the belt is that it does have a tendency to slip a little bit.

October 14, 2019

Lightweight and effective

Its a belt. Does what it should without issue. Its lightweight and doesnt slip which is all I expect from it. Happy with the purchase!

October 13, 2019

Webb Nylon Belts

You guys make the best. The buckle doesn’t slip. I get my tailor to cut the length And sew up the end. Fraying on my old belt is sewn up too. I’m in and out of water in Jensen Beach.

September 9, 2019

I like it! This style

I like it! This style of belt is harder to find, so I was excited that Patagonia offered it. Good width and doesn't loosen. Snug fit. I like the color. It matches with more than I thought it would.

September 9, 2019

Who is the real hero?

Good, simple belt. Wish it was maybe 1/2" wider for slightly more comfort. To paraphrase Mitch Hedberg: This belt holds my pants up, but the belt loops hold the belt up. I don't really know what's happening down there. Who is the real hero?

August 26, 2019

Great!

Super high quality, buckle is not too big, stays tight all day whether hiking or wearing with jeans!

August 15, 2019

Awesome design and comfort

I love the design, pattern, and fit of my Pataloha shirt! It is light and airy, perfect for the steamy summer days.

August 12, 2019

Best web belt for the money

Although there are cheaper alternatives, this is the best hands down. I've had one for more that 20 years, and bought another cheaper brand. Last about 2 weeks before I went back an ordered this and don't regret. The old adage, you get what you pay for.

August 10, 2019

It’s a belt...

True to what it is. This is a belt... it performs like you’d expect. No surprises, but also no disappointments. It’s a one-size-fits-you so if you’re on the thinner side of things... you might want to cut it down some and re-melt the end (this is what I did as I hate long flaps of unusable belt). Note: if you do cut it down... this may reduce the b... Read Moreelts other uses as an emergency lash strap. Buy one... it’ll allow you eat that dessert and have that extra brew with adjustable grace. It’ll also still be there for you when you go walkabout... and fast in the desert. Just don’t auto erotica yourselves. ;)

August 10, 2019

Quality

Functional, comfortable, and quality.

August 10, 2019

FANTASTIC Friction Belt

This is number three for me, so you know I am a fan for certain.

May 8, 2019

The Friction Belt does just

The Friction Belt does just what a good belt should do- adjusts easily, does not slip/expand while wearing it, does not pinch or bind, and keeps your pants up. It can also double as an accessory strap in a pinch.

March 14, 2018

2000

I was given 2 of these belts about 12 years ago. I have worn them literally every day,so they have had about 2000 wears each. (12x365=4380 / 2 = 2190 minus guestimate number of days I accidentally forgot a belt.) I cut them on a bias and melted them with a match the day I got them,and have not redone it once since. I don't know how much more o... Read Morene could expect from a product. Seriously,these have been bomb proof.

February 27, 2018

Color Is OFF

Just got it today and the color of Andes blue is not the same as the picture on the website. An Over all good belt for the most part

September 17, 2017

Am I using this the wrong way?

This doesn't stay closed for me,and I don't know why. It seems too firm. Maybe it'll soften up with age....

August 29, 2017

Great all around activity belt

Ordered a M and it is true to size. Quick and easy to use. Holds the fitting you set. I use it for when I am active and works well. Dries relatively quickly when wet. Slight fuzzy fraying after a couple years of heavy use.

May 25, 2017

Everyday wear

easy on and off with a low profile so it is comfortable in any situation. No frills function at its best.

May 14, 2017

Really poor quality

I own a prior version of Patagonia's friction belt with a metal buckle. This belt is made from very cheap components with a plastic buckle and a pathetic strap. Buckle does not hold strap well and belt loosens.

April 8, 2017

Does the Job -

I bought this to replace the Patagonia friction belt that I have been wearing for years and still works well. But the new one,in blue,does the great,reliable job Patagonia can be relied upon. Thanks so much Patagonia -

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches