Back to Product

Patagonia Friction Belt

Write Your Review

3.2/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 17 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Friction Belt

3.2/5
July 3, 2021

Reduced Quality

This my third Patagonia friction belt. All three were kind of pricey, but the first two were well made and are still giving me good service after many years. This one is not as well made. The buckle metal is thinner, and so is the webbing. I'll be surprised if it holds up as well as the first two.

Response from Patagonia
July 9, 2021

Hi Charles, thank you for taking the time to write a review on the quality of this belt. We are so sorry to hear this didn't hold up to your previous purchases. We welcome you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

July 2, 2021

Like the material but too long

Wish the belt came in a shorter length alternative. Problem with one length is this is too long for a shorter person. Reading other reviews looks like too short for a tall person. Material and buckle work well for my uses.

Response from Patagonia
July 9, 2021

Hello Stephen, thank you for sharing your feedback on the length of the belt. You can cut the length of the webbing to customize the fit of the belt. Here is a short [instructional video](https://www.google.com/search?q=how+to+cut+nylon+webbing&rlz=1C1GCEB_enUS916US917&oq=how+to+cut+nylon&aqs=chrome.2.69i57j0l9.9048j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8#kpvalbx=_DIfoYMr_N9Ke-gTHj5SADg55) on how to do so.

May 29, 2021

Shorter than advertised

Like some other reviewers, my belt was shorter than advertised: 43" long, less than the 45.5" in the specs and too short for my needs. I purchased this in a Patagonia store and will have to return it.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2021

Hi Julian, thanks for your review and we're truly sorry that this belt was shorter than described. We have passed your feedback along to our Quality Control team to look into. In the meantime, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty and let us know if you have any questions.

May 20, 2021

Perfect

Love the belt, a little hard to cinch but works well

May 5, 2021

Poorly executed

Had one of these a few years ago that was an excellent belt. Current version is unsatisfactory. Belt length is nowhere near product specs of 45 1/2 . Im a 36 for reference and there was approximately 2 remaining when fastened. I had purchased the black & grey versions of the belt. I returned the product. Additionally it didnt hold while fastene... Read Mored. Unsatisfactory product.

April 24, 2021

Solid color belts slip & woven patterned ones can unravel

I bought two of these belts: one in forge grey and one in a patterned weave. The forge grey is thinner webbing and slips, so I'm returning it. The patterned weave is thicker and doesn't slip at all, but the cut end wasn't finished (or heat sealed) properly and starts to unravel periodically. I've tried to heat seal it but this i... Read Moressue is endemic to the patterned weave due to its construction. I have an older solid color friction belt from the circa 2000 which I love and it's still going strong, except for some minor fraying due to the buckle & some paint splatter. Patagonia needs to change the thickness of the solid color webbing on these belts and needs to address quality control/finishing issues on the woven patterned ones. Otherwise, I'm a big fan of the friction belt!

Response from Patagonia
April 26, 2021

We're sorry to hear about the inconsistencies you've experienced with our Friction Belt. Please feel free to send them in for warranty evaluation, it could be that the patterned version you received is defective. To get started on a return, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 3, 2021

Keep your pants up

Does everything a belt needs to do. Simple design, with a small buckle, and narrow webbing, make this belt comfortable all day. It could be made a little longer if your belt line is larger than a 36

March 29, 2021

Bombproof Construction

I have a bunch of them in assorted colors. I have been wearing the first friction belt I purchased for 15+ years. They are lightweight, rugged and durable. My only gripe is that they rarely offer the belt in the color brown. A solid brown would be amazing.

March 3, 2021

Inaccurate Size

This belt is advertised as 45 1/2 inches, but I measured it and it is on 42 1/2. I am a size 36 in waist, so it does not work for me. This is not a 1 size fits all belt.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Hello William, we're sorry to hear your belt was shorter than advertised. This sounds like a quality control issue so we went ahead and emailed you to help with your return. Thanks so much for your feedback.

March 1, 2021

Not a fan

Not a fan. Not easy to tighten and not that easy to loosen. Wish I had not bought this

Response from Patagonia
March 13, 2021

We're sorry the belt isn't working for you. Feel free to return it.

February 14, 2021

Belt buckle slips and loosens with any type of movement

Belt does not stay tight. I have to keep re-tightening it as it slips in the buckle and my pants start riding low on my hip. Will be send calling for a return

January 24, 2021

Belts

Great belt love it had to do no trimming. Wear it with jeans for the most part. I would definitely say its a unisex belt thanks Patagonia.

December 14, 2020

Friction Belt

I'm a fan of this belt and have it in 3 colors. My only problem with it is that it tends to loosen frequently during the day? Any suggestions for keeping it in place?

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Marc. One way to keep those teeth from loosening is to double the belt back on it's self.

December 13, 2020

Belt Sizexruns small

Awesome belt just very small versus other belts

December 9, 2020

Does the Job.

Looks great. Works great. Does the job. It is a staple.

November 12, 2020

Excellent all-wear and all-seasons belt

Ive been wearing these belts for at least 15 years now and they are dynamic and bomb-proof. I wear them with jeans, slacks, shorts and have even worn them with a wool suit! They never release or slip and they look under-stated and unpretentious. I just wish they were offered in small, medium and large sizing for convenience sake.

November 8, 2020

Exceeded Expectations

I tried this belt and the Tech Web on in-store before purchasing. I liked everything about the Friction belt more than the Tech Web. The buckle is low-profile and does not impede movement or stand out. This belt is light weight, looks great with pants and shorts and is simple to use. I find it easy to release and replace for frequent bathroom visit... Read Mores. This will be my go-to belt for the rest of my life now! I plan to replace it if it ever wears out, so keep making it in cool colors and patterns like TGRG Patagonia! Thanks!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches