burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Friction Belt

Write Your Review

3.9/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 44 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Friction Belt

3.9/5
Kinda Small
August 3, 2022

Clean, minimal, simple belt!

I like how this belt has a small footprint and is very simple and easy to use. It has stayed out of the way, held my pants up, and served me very well!

August 1, 2022

Awful product Thin flimsy short

Awful product Thin flimsy short Not worth $10.00 much less what I paid Its a joke

Response from Patagonia
August 4, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear about your disappointment in our Friction Belt. We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some help with your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

July 20, 2022

way too small

Nice product but this was a one size fits all for skinny people. Should have been much longer.

June 6, 2022

Keeps your pants/shorts up

So there I was, on top of a rodeo bull preparing for the longest 8 seconds of my life. I was also wondering if I should have had that last pint of ale from the friendly local brewery. You know what I wasnt worried about? Thats right, no concern if my friction belt could keep my pants up!

May 25, 2022

functional, good looking

Good looking, no nonsense belt. Easy to use and stays put.

May 23, 2022

Friction belt

I have had one of these belts for ages and trimmed it shorter when it was new. I bought a new one hoping to have that same longer length because my waist has increased, but the new one was actually shorter than the older one I had trimmed. The new belts need to be longer or have various sizes to select from.

Response from Patagonia
May 25, 2022

Thank you for this feedback on the sizing, Mark. We're sorry to hear the new belt didn't work for you! Our product designers read these reviews, so your notes are extremely helpful. Please let us know if we can be of any help with that return.

May 21, 2022

Wonderful

Excellent and very comfortable to wear, basically anywhere. Hiking, climbing, casual. Well made, shoud be 2 probably. Love it

May 12, 2022

Great belt!

I love the belt - I own four of them in different colors!

April 27, 2022

New friction belt 43 not 45

I have always loved the friction belts, but I can't wear the NEW ones due to the small cut. 43 instead of 45. What was the reason to cut to 43 instead of 45? So, now I will have to go to something else. The 45 or 45.5 works very well.

April 18, 2022

Cool belt

Belt is nice, but i just wish the buckle was a little better, sometimes it's a little tricky to feed the belt through.

April 12, 2022

Friction belt

These belts last forever. No way I know to improve them, maybe some more colors.

April 4, 2022

Constant companion

After maybe 30 yrs of DAILY use-- Pretty funny in that the webbing has actually worn down so much by now that it no longer grabs the buckle securely and it slips after activity (...or a big meal!) 'Not enough friction on the webbing to grab. I purchasing 2new ones TODAY. Great easy belt.

March 15, 2022

Compact

Kind of difficult to cinch tight but stays snug. I like the compact, lightweight design that is easily packable. Would not personally recommend for everyday use due to time/effort needed to cinch around waist

February 25, 2022

Solid belt

This is a super easy, no muss no fuss belt that keeps your pants up and looks sharp while doing it. I wear this on the trail and in the office.

January 31, 2022

Too Small

Belt barely fits a 36 waist - webbing is cheap - why not include a few extra inches ? I wear 36 x 30 pants.

January 1, 2022

simple and functional

This belt works as expected, but I wish it were a bit wider

December 29, 2021

Durable and functional

Belt holds tight and is durable and a little beefier than others. The cam holds very well.

November 13, 2021

Have had for over 30 years!!

This is a fantastic, simple, heavy duty but low profile belt! My dad bought it in 1990 and just gave it to me after regularly using it for years. It looks a little worn (as it should!) but works perfectly for what I need it for (school, hiking and climbing). Amazingly adjustable, works for my dad with a 36 inch waist and me with a 28 inch waist. Th... Read Moreank you Patagonia!!

October 23, 2021

Multiuse belt

Can double as a lashing strap, comfortable, dries quickly

October 4, 2021

Can Hoist a Piano!

I love this belt. It is extremely durable, has an awesome design, & will likely outlive me at the rate things are going. My only one complaint, is the belt is a bit stubby. & to be honest, its not a reason to return the belt. For now, no beer belly. Not yet at least.

October 1, 2021

Very nice lighter weight belt.

Very nice belts when you don't want something as heavy as the tech web belt. Great with lightweight nylon or poly pants and shorts in the summer. However, they will be too short if you wear larger than 36 pants. I wear 35 or 36 pants and I find them to be the perfect length without trimming. I have had absolutely no problems with the belts loo... Read Moresening or slipping. Got two of them.

September 21, 2021

Holds the pants up

Does it job with out failing.

September 14, 2021

Pretty Cool, but long

I like this belt a lot, It's cool and an all-around good friction belt. My only problem is being one-size-fits-all it's pretty long and I end up with a lot of slack. I know I can cut it but I'm afraid of messing it up. Anyway, word to the wise if you buy this belt it will probably need slight modification.

September 14, 2021

sharp edges

i hate to complain but the melted edges of the cut end are very hard and SHARP. i think i can sand it down or re-melt it but no way i could wear the belt the way it came. i guess i could use it as a knife. JK. My first complain of a patagonia product ever. thanks

September 6, 2021

A Practical Belt Period

I have worn the wider Patagonia nylon belts and loved them; however, I wanted a smaller belt profile. Patagonia delivered this and I love it. Wife shames me, but I tell her if its good enough for Yvon Chouinard (who I met when I was 18 decades ago), its good for me!!!

September 4, 2021

great belt

great belt, my only complaint is that the end is scratchy

September 4, 2021

just like the old one

I got one of these like 7 or 8 years ago, when I was very skinny, so I cut the extra slack at the end down. Then I gained weight and it was too short so I bought this one, and as far as I can tell, it's the same as the old one.

July 3, 2021

Reduced Quality

This my third Patagonia friction belt. All three were kind of pricey, but the first two were well made and are still giving me good service after many years. This one is not as well made. The buckle metal is thinner, and so is the webbing. I'll be surprised if it holds up as well as the first two.

Response from Patagonia
July 9, 2021

Hi Charles, thank you for taking the time to write a review on the quality of this belt. We are so sorry to hear this didn't hold up to your previous purchases. We welcome you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

July 2, 2021

Like the material but too long

Wish the belt came in a shorter length alternative. Problem with one length is this is too long for a shorter person. Reading other reviews looks like too short for a tall person. Material and buckle work well for my uses.

Response from Patagonia
July 9, 2021

Hello Stephen, thank you for sharing your feedback on the length of the belt. You can cut the length of the webbing to customize the fit of the belt. Here is a short [instructional video](https://www.google.com/search?q=how+to+cut+nylon+webbing&rlz=1C1GCEB_enUS916US917&oq=how+to+cut+nylon&aqs=chrome.2.69i57j0l9.9048j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8#kpvalbx=_DIfoYMr_N9Ke-gTHj5SADg55) on how to do so.

May 29, 2021

Shorter than advertised

Like some other reviewers, my belt was shorter than advertised: 43" long, less than the 45.5" in the specs and too short for my needs. I purchased this in a Patagonia store and will have to return it.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2021

Hi Julian, thanks for your review and we're truly sorry that this belt was shorter than described. We have passed your feedback along to our Quality Control team to look into. In the meantime, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty and let us know if you have any questions.

May 20, 2021

Perfect

Love the belt, a little hard to cinch but works well

May 5, 2021

Poorly executed

Had one of these a few years ago that was an excellent belt. Current version is unsatisfactory. Belt length is nowhere near product specs of 45 1/2 . Im a 36 for reference and there was approximately 2 remaining when fastened. I had purchased the black & grey versions of the belt. I returned the product. Additionally it didnt hold while fastene... Read Mored. Unsatisfactory product.

April 24, 2021

Solid color belts slip & woven patterned ones can unravel

I bought two of these belts: one in forge grey and one in a patterned weave. The forge grey is thinner webbing and slips, so I'm returning it. The patterned weave is thicker and doesn't slip at all, but the cut end wasn't finished (or heat sealed) properly and starts to unravel periodically. I've tried to heat seal it but this i... Read Moressue is endemic to the patterned weave due to its construction. I have an older solid color friction belt from the circa 2000 which I love and it's still going strong, except for some minor fraying due to the buckle & some paint splatter. Patagonia needs to change the thickness of the solid color webbing on these belts and needs to address quality control/finishing issues on the woven patterned ones. Otherwise, I'm a big fan of the friction belt!

Response from Patagonia
April 26, 2021

We're sorry to hear about the inconsistencies you've experienced with our Friction Belt. Please feel free to send them in for warranty evaluation, it could be that the patterned version you received is defective. To get started on a return, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 3, 2021

Keep your pants up

Does everything a belt needs to do. Simple design, with a small buckle, and narrow webbing, make this belt comfortable all day. It could be made a little longer if your belt line is larger than a 36

March 29, 2021

Bombproof Construction

I have a bunch of them in assorted colors. I have been wearing the first friction belt I purchased for 15+ years. They are lightweight, rugged and durable. My only gripe is that they rarely offer the belt in the color brown. A solid brown would be amazing.

March 3, 2021

Inaccurate Size

This belt is advertised as 45 1/2 inches, but I measured it and it is on 42 1/2. I am a size 36 in waist, so it does not work for me. This is not a 1 size fits all belt.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Hello William, we're sorry to hear your belt was shorter than advertised. This sounds like a quality control issue so we went ahead and emailed you to help with your return. Thanks so much for your feedback.

March 1, 2021

Not a fan

Not a fan. Not easy to tighten and not that easy to loosen. Wish I had not bought this

Response from Patagonia
March 13, 2021

We're sorry the belt isn't working for you. Feel free to return it.

February 14, 2021

Belt buckle slips and loosens with any type of movement

Belt does not stay tight. I have to keep re-tightening it as it slips in the buckle and my pants start riding low on my hip. Will be send calling for a return

January 24, 2021

Belts

Great belt love it had to do no trimming. Wear it with jeans for the most part. I would definitely say its a unisex belt thanks Patagonia.

December 14, 2020

Friction Belt

I'm a fan of this belt and have it in 3 colors. My only problem with it is that it tends to loosen frequently during the day? Any suggestions for keeping it in place?

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Marc. One way to keep those teeth from loosening is to double the belt back on it's self.

December 13, 2020

Belt Sizexruns small

Awesome belt just very small versus other belts

December 9, 2020

Does the Job.

Looks great. Works great. Does the job. It is a staple.

November 12, 2020

Excellent all-wear and all-seasons belt

Ive been wearing these belts for at least 15 years now and they are dynamic and bomb-proof. I wear them with jeans, slacks, shorts and have even worn them with a wool suit! They never release or slip and they look under-stated and unpretentious. I just wish they were offered in small, medium and large sizing for convenience sake.

November 8, 2020

Exceeded Expectations

I tried this belt and the Tech Web on in-store before purchasing. I liked everything about the Friction belt more than the Tech Web. The buckle is low-profile and does not impede movement or stand out. This belt is light weight, looks great with pants and shorts and is simple to use. I find it easy to release and replace for frequent bathroom visit... Read Mores. This will be my go-to belt for the rest of my life now! I plan to replace it if it ever wears out, so keep making it in cool colors and patterns like TGRG Patagonia! Thanks!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches