Back to Product

Patagonia Tech Web Belt

Write Your Review

4.18 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 79 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Tech Web Belt

4.18
True To Size
April 28, 2020

Works Great, slips some

Glad they went back to the thicker belt. It makes a difference. I own six of these and thicker versions are superior. They do slip slightly over time but I dont mind adjusting on occasion and I like that I am not beholden to holes. I do wish they had (would bring back) more traditional colors such as red and kelly green. A brightly colored pattern ... Read Morewould be good too.

April 19, 2020

Great belt, easy to cut to length

Nothing to add to all the great reviews, except the cut to length part. Some reviewers complain that the belt only comes in one size, this isn't an issue. All you have to do after deciding the desired length is to heat a pair of (metal...) scissors and cut/singe at the same time. If the scissors are hot enough, they'll cut through the be... Read Morelt like butter. Keep the end of the belt on the scissors for a few seconds more makes a nicer end. Voilà!

April 6, 2020

Warning! Dont Buy this Belt!

Ive spent more than I should on Pats over the years, never thought a belt was the very best investment among them all. Yes Dont buy this Belt cos its the ultimate BELT KILLER! I was supposed to use this on my climbing trip (probably once a year, ive got kids now). Now my trusty leather belt just sits around collecting dust. I wear this to work and ... Read Morecasual non stop!

March 2, 2020

Great all around belt

Best "web" belt I have ever worn. Sturdy and stretch-free making it feel like it will stand the test of time. Really great buckle that does the job as well as expected. This belt exceeded my expectations as I have struggled to find a great web belt. I expect this one to last many years. Definitely worth the $.

February 6, 2020

This belt replace my leather belt.

I convinced my wife into buying this belt specifically for outdoors ventures namely climbing and hiking. The next day I wear em to work. Its comfortable, easy to adjust, feels premium and doesnt feel bulky. I

February 3, 2020

Nice belt, but difficult to get snug

I really wanted to like this belt. It looks smart. The thick, wide webbing is sturdy and comparable to the leather belts I'm used to wearing. And I liked the minimalistic design of the buckle. However it was the buckle that just didn't work for me. After tightening the belt, the buckle would always loosen as I fed the end of the belt out ... Read Morethrough the other side. The teeth in the buckle just weren't enough to hold it in place. I finally gave up on it and passed it on to the local thrift store.

December 27, 2019

I only own one belt and this is it.

Wow, a belt that has more use that to just keep my pants up. I love it, period. The bottle opener buckle is genius.

December 26, 2019

Crew

Well made, and appreciated by my son.

December 25, 2019

Got this jacket as an

Got this jacket as an exchange, on their awesome return policy, from another item. Needed a light duty puffy that could insulate under wet conditions. When warn correctly in layers it matches their temp rating perfectly. I usually run a lil cold. Size ran about what most companies offer. Areas of improvement: thread on the quilt pattern could be a... Read More bit stronger and offering tall sizes all the way down to size small would be an amazing addition in this industry. I’m 6’3” tall, 6’6” arm span, and a 32” waist. Medium chest and Large arm length would be gold. Great quality product overall.

December 23, 2019

Belted

Awesome belt, comfortable and can be adjusted for single or multiple layers of clothing with ease.

December 21, 2019

Well made. Nicebelt

Well made. Nicebelt

December 18, 2019

Love this belt!

I've never had an adjustable belt that actually stayed tight before. They always end up sliding looser throughout the day, but not this one. And it really is one size fits all...my kids all love to borrow it. We all love it so much, I got another one in a different color! I like variety, so I really never do that! Wholeheartedly recommend this... Read More belt!

December 9, 2019

excellent

i will not need another web belt for years. easy to cinch buckle and quality, unique bar tack wrks great.

December 2, 2019

Tim M

Great belt. My second one. Considered another belts the was 30% more, but the colors were very limited. PS. Patagonia, like the more subtle branding. Should consider it for other items.

November 25, 2019

It's a cinch.

I've purchased 6 of these because family members keep stealing them.

November 22, 2019

Great all around everyday belt.

Great all around everyday belt. Perfect for when I don’t want my leather belt and perfect length

November 15, 2019

Versatile and fashionable

I love these belts. Can dress them up or down, rugged and great to wear.

November 7, 2019

Good Gracious; My Belt Fits

Very Fine, Very Fine...

November 5, 2019

Better than expected

It's wide and at the buckle it's not flat, but it's getting more rotation than I expected.

October 12, 2019

Best belt I have

I usually buy a belt a year as much as I use them for work and personal use. This year I bought 2 of the Tech Web Belts and they are my favorite so far. When you insert the webbing into the buckle it locks in place, there is no need to turn it back and run it through 2x. I wont need another belt for a long time.

October 9, 2019

Great belt for everyday wear.

These belts are great for everyday wear. I have two of them now and my son has one. They fit his 30" waist and my bigger waist. They adjust easily and stay tight all day long. They don't look out of place on the trail or in the office with dress pants.

October 7, 2019

Great belt

High quality, like the wood brown color, fastens well and reliably, no idea what the problem other users had. Solid webbing, perfect width for jeans etc belt loops. And light. I need that for hiking and travel.

October 6, 2019

Great belt I have 3

Great belt I have 3 now, Only wish it came in a shorter length

September 21, 2019

Hold your pants on !

Great belt, well made just the right amount of flexibility and stiffness for a fabric belt. Buckle is is stylish and looks great w shorts, khakis or jeans. Love the color.

September 17, 2019

Great belt

I originally bought black and added blue, anthracite and brown. Well made and stays cinched. I really like the 1.5” width. As a bigger guy, skinny belts tend to promote “fold over”. Maybe I should try some sit ups, but these belts are great in the mean time. The navy colored belt is really a lighter shade.

September 8, 2019

Great belt

I wanted something easy and durable - this is a great belt and I received a compliment by TSA on it :)

September 3, 2019

Great Belt / Odd Color

I have the old version of this belt, so the new buckle orientation took a bit to get used to. Now I think that this an improved design. I didn't expect the color. On the website, "Carbon" looks dark gray, almost black. In reality, it is dark green.

September 3, 2019

Pretty Large

Bought this belt as a gift for my girlfriend. I thought it would be similar in size to the Tech Web Belt, but it was quite a bit larger. Totally functional, just wish it was a little smaller.

September 2, 2019

Excellent sun shirt

Love the thumb holes for fishing in the sun. It gives that extra couple inches of protection. Worth every penny

August 31, 2019

Tech belt

The belt is made of good quality material, but as you wear it throughout the day, it loosens out of adjustment. Very disappointed!

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

We are sorry to hear this loosens up throughout the day. Thanks for the feedback on that! If you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this, please feel free to do so. We are happy to offer some [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) if you need it.

August 29, 2019

Great belt!

I have had one of these belts for over ten years and my boyfriend started stealing it. They were on sale so I bought him his own and he loves it.

August 23, 2019

This belt rocks!

Great belt! I have a few of them and would recommend them to any who is looking for a versatile belt that can be worn anywhere.

August 23, 2019

Colorful and secure

The belt is simple to snug down and colorful which is a bonus.

August 22, 2019

Buckle loop size increase doesn’t make sense

I’ve purchased a couple of these in past years and they’ve been great. I get in and out of machinery for work all day, and the past belts would loosen effortlessly when I wanted to get more comfortable. The new 2019 belts have slightly larger loops around the buckle which causes the belt to clump up unless you loosen it with two hands. I also like ... Read Moreto loosen my belt a little bit when I ride in the car or am sitting anywhere for a long time. I can’t stand a belt digging into my hips, maybe I just have a weird body shape, but the past belts were my go to and now I have to shop around. I’ve gifted these belts and was planning on buying a few different colors for myself seeing as my 2017 belt has been going strong to this day, pretty bummed.

August 21, 2019

The Tech Web Belt is great!

This belt is durable and strong without being heavy. I would recommend this belt to a friend.

August 15, 2019

TEch web belt with Grip!

The belt is the best I've owned. Once threaded, it holds in place, no slippage. I would certainly recommend this belt to anyone looking.

August 11, 2019

Tech Web Belt

This belt is as I hoped it would be. The webbing is just stiff enough to support, but not so stiff as to be uncomfortable . The buckle is great quality and holds very well . Great product.

July 6, 2019

Best Belt Period

I'm a big fan of keeping it simple and this belt does. A one piece buckle and burly strap are all you need and nothing you don't. It just works. This pairs great with anything Patagonia that has belt loops especially if you have stuff in your pockets.

May 12, 2019

tech web belt

quality fit n finish no issues

May 8, 2019

Tech Web Belt

One of my favorite belts. It's always the perfect fit. I'd love to see more colors from Patagonia in these Tech Web Belts.

May 8, 2019

Perfect

Lovely color, heavy webbing, sturdy buckle, lovely color, perfect.

May 8, 2019

This is the belt I needed

It goes perfectly with the prana draw string pants I wear daily, it’s soft and flexible so I don’t feel it all day yet strong enough to support my carry without unweighting / being off balance. At a size 12 it was the right length, too!

April 2, 2019

I love my Patagonia items.

Good quality, responsible and thorough research by the company- socially and environmentally. A company I respect.

March 2, 2019

No bueno

Went to buy another Friction Belt (because I lost mine) and this is all they had. Nowhere as good of a product. It just doesn’t slide well at all, making it very hard to tighten. Also, and this a big one, it can’t get through airport metal detectors without going off. The Friction Belt could.

February 11, 2019

Great belt

this belt feels nice and doesn't bother me like most belts, worth it!

October 29, 2018

Great Belt, Boring Color Selection

Great Belt, Boring Color Selection

October 4, 2018

Peat Brown Web Tech Belt

I have been wearing my peat brown web tech belt just about every day for at least 8 years. I would love to see the color come back. I have other colors but they’re pretty much unworn. Please bring back the Peat Brown!

August 25, 2018

need 51"

Any chance that the Patagonia Tech Web Belt could be obtained in a a 51" length? At 1.5 in width it is perfect for pants, but we are not all the same shape that we were when we were 29. Grey forge in a 51" length could be the official belt of retired world travelers.

May 29, 2018

Best Belt I've Ever Owner,Period.

I've been wearing this belt for the past two years,and I must say I've never worn any type of clothing that I've loved so much. The buckle is hefty,and will stay tight all through the day. The webbing is a tough thick material,that will fit in virtually any pair of pants or shorts! 10/10 recommend

May 24, 2018

Excellent belt!

Durable,thick and wide belt. Perfect with Performance Jeans,with same width.

April 13, 2018

Good Strong Belt

I've had 2 of these and they have really improved the material since the original. It's thicker than the old one and seems more robust. Great simple belt for hiking or everyday use.

November 4, 2017

Great belt for about 3 months...

I loved this belt after I first got it,however,the big and I mean BIG down side to this belt is it will stop working as soon as the fibers in the belt material wear in and loosen up. After about 3 months the belt just wouldn't work anymore. The polyester fibers lost their integrity quick and once that happens the buckle teeth lose their grip r... Read Moreesulting in a belt that just doesn't work anymore. If the belt had durability it would be my favorite belt of all time...

October 22, 2017

Not a great belt

Probably the only Patagonia product that I have purchased that is head-scratchingly bad. Really difficult to get tight enough and doesn't lay flat / feels and looks bulky.

August 26, 2017

Well done!

I had bought the flawed version of this belt and returned it. I have since purchased the new version and it is great! Good job fixing the problem! The only thought I would add is that it would have been a good idea to email any negative reviewers that the problem had been fixed.

June 27, 2017

Last belt I'll ever need to buy

Material is great easy to adjust and it's great for backpacking

June 16, 2017

Quite odd.

I bought this a few years ago,and never wore it much,because it kept slipping. Today I read some reviews of the belt here,and was made aware that some iterations of this belt need to be worn,not to put too fine a point on it,BACKWARDS. I've been wearing friction belts since I started using two rappel rings with 1" webbing in the early 70s... Read More,but it never even occurred to me to put it on upside down. However,it now holds fine,and I have no further complaints,although I don't recommend using it as a bottle opener if you're really baked . ;^}

May 6, 2017

Simple and Perfect

Make sure you wear this belt the correct side out or the belt buckle doesnt work,But aside from using your brain this belt is simple and rugged

April 25, 2017

Tech Web Belt

I have started buying Patagonia clothing since listening to podcast Planet Money when they interviewed the owner of Patagonia. I never knew they stood behind their product as much as they do. So I don't have a problem paying the money for the product knowing I can get it fixed if I break it.

April 21, 2017

Thicker belt is back! Thank you Patagonia!!!

I wrote the other review entitled "disappointed" on here... I am no longer disappointed! It appears Patagonia has heard our feedback and gone back to the thicker material! I had one of these... it was my favorite belt but like a knucklehead I left it in a hotel room. Ordered another one and they had gone to a thinner material. After read... Read Moreing recent reviews,I decided to try another one hoping the reviews were right and they'd gone back to the thicker material. They have! The folks at Patagonia have gone back to the original stout fabric that made this belt such a solid piece of gear. Nice work people! Thank you for hearing the feedback on this product and heeding the input. Very pleased!

April 17, 2017

Great comfortable belt

I bought this belt to replace a flimsy web belt that came free with a pair of shorts (not Patagonia) many years back. This belt performed as expected. Buckle appears large,but is rounded and comfortable. The belt held firmly with no slippage,so the issue reported in earlier reviews is gone. The belt is long in the sense that there is a lot left ove... Read Morer,but not long enough to make it to the side loop of my jeans (I'm a 32" waist if that helps others). It's not really an issue,just pointing it out.

April 8, 2017

Love it!

Just what I needed for a bright splash of color for my riding pants :)

February 11, 2017

Had it on backwards,but now seems okay

I kept wearing the belt incorrectly such that the Patagonia tag was facing outward,and while the belt somewhat maintained its hold in that position it kept slipping,so I just flipped it around as shown in the video and it's much better but still slips just a bit. Kind of a funny mistake that I see other reviewers have experienced as well,but a... Read Moreltogether it's a pretty good belt. I think the grooving texture on the belt itself could be more pronounced as to be better gripped by the buckle teeth -- perhaps introduce a heavier Tech Web Belt,and then keep this current product as a lighter version.

January 20, 2017

Good belt,if you use it correctly

I thought this belt was messed up because it slipped so easily. But once I read the reviews about the buckle being on backwards and watched the video I realized I'd been wearing it incorrectly. If I wear it so that it appears to be outside out,it will not stay put. I can easily pull the belt through the buckle. But if I wear the belt so that i... Read Moret appears to be inside out,with the little floppy tag on the outside,I can buckle the belt as shown in the video and it will not slip. Seems like an odd way to make a belt,but it works.

January 13, 2017

Great belt,but comes loose sometimes

I love this belt. It has a simple design that functions well with a variety of clothes. Looks great on the trail or on the town. The only downside is that if you are looking for something to hold tight,the friction buckle will slip sometimes. Its not bad,but just something to consider.

January 8, 2017

New Version Thicker and Stays Put!

If you liked the older thicker version of the belt better. It's back. And the buckle was switched back to the old way so that it stays put.

December 27, 2016

Major Fail!

I own several of the original Tech Web Belts. They WERE the best! These new belts are NOT the same; in fact,they're inferior. I love the new colors,but the webbing material is thinner,and the belt does not stay put in the desired position. It constantly slips and loosens. Unacceptable. Patagonia,I hope you're reading these reviews. Please... Read More bring back the OLD Tech Web Belts!!!

November 26, 2016

It is kind of back to it's original

I bought a new belt a month ago "patagonia.eu" thinking that the thinkness was gonna be like the old version and the buckle was gonna be backwards. to my surprise the bucle was the way it used to be!! i have one of each versi'n of the belt and the truth is that second one sucos big time.. well thanks for puting everything back to way... Read More it used to be!! looking forward to buy the red one "the one i bought when the second versi'n was on the market"..

November 14, 2016

Disappointed

I bought a Tech Web Belt years ago and have been nothing but satisfied. Recently,I bought a second one. I am very disappointed. The webbing is thinner than my previous belt and slides though the buckle. After tightening my belt,it loosens in no time.

November 9, 2016

Sick Belt!

Solid Belt. Bought it to replace an older one. Me gusto mucho!

October 13, 2016

Back to Original!!!

I am ecstatic to say the Tech Web Belt has returned to its original awesomeness! The fabric is thicker and the buckle is turned around. The belt functions and looks perfect.

October 3, 2016

Belt that cannot be used as a belt ...

Looks nice,but... Unfortunately,this belt will not stay tight on anyone with any lack of flatness (belly) at all,where the buckle is. If you have any roundness at all to your belly,the geometry of the buckle is such that it lets the webbing slip past the buckle. Solutions for a belt that works: 1) Tighten the belt to the point of extreme discomfort... Read More 2) Lose weight 3) Buy a belt with a positive clasp. On its way back.

September 23, 2016

Maybe not the original but best one out there!

First thing I need to say is that this is a great belt. It merits the "burly" in the description (just the right stiffness in the belt loops),it holds together well with minimal slippage for a belt of this type (which is to say it keeps my pants up),and it looks damned nice with that thick silver buckle. I don't use the bottle opener... Read More,but don't mind it at all either. If this belt didn't have a history I think we'd all be raving about it. But,of course,it does have a history so we compare it to its own earlier incarnations (there were two previous that I'm aware of) and forget to compare it across the line. I'm giving this a five star rating because that's what I would give it if I didn't know about the first of the 3 iterations -- I have all three & will conitnue to wear them all,each depending on my mood. This belt goes a long way toward repairing the thinner webbing introduced into the 2nd iteration -- nice and thick & as far as I can tell every bit the quality of the legendary 1st version. Although I must say,I wore the puny second iteration all summer long & got to where I could appreciate it for certain venues,I am super delighted to have the heft back here. It doesn't slip so easily as the thin one & it just feels better,much more able to handle the kind of badass hiking I intend to do with it (and did with the first iteration). The buckle is still reversed on this,an innovation introduced with that thin number two version that people just loved to hate. And while it's true that it seems to mean that the buckle doesn't lie as flat as it did in that first run,that's not something that concerns me much (if somebody really wants that beer opener to be more handy & this is how they do it,then fine by me). To be honest (I've been wearing this around for a week now),I'm of the still early opinion that this new belt slips less than the first one did -- now this may not be true over time,but the teeth on the buckle seem to get a better bite on the webbing than I experienced with sainted version number one. I think that may come from the reversal that folks aren't settled with. Bottom line for me: I love this belt. It works. It's rugged. Patagonia responded really gracefully to the discontent (which I shared) with that whimpy second run. I'm going to make sure to buy a few extras of this new version just to make sure I have back-up.

September 9, 2016

Better before

I liked my first belt,but not the latest version. The new version has flipped the buckle and the webbing isn't coated the same. Seems like it will get dirtier easier. Why change something that was already working?

August 23, 2016

Great Belt. Stays Tight

At first the new style belt ( thinner material & reversed buckle) was awkward but after using it for awhile I prefer the new style. The belt buckle doesn't slip and has easier access to the bottle opener. It just takes a little getting used to if you have the old style belt.

August 15, 2016

Why Change?

I bought this new belt not knowing that the buckle has been reversed. I currently own 2 older models that I love but they new change is not good. Bring back the old design please.

August 14, 2016

If it wasn't broken - why fix it?

The new version of this belt has the buckle reversed - to better enable the bottle opener function. It's made of thinner webbing material and just doesn't work as well as the belt I have come to rely upon for years. Patagonia - please bring back the classic. Just carry a bottle opener with you on your outdoor expeditions.

August 11, 2016

Bad buckle

I really like the overall design of the belt,but something needs to be done about the buckle. The teeth are not sharp/pointed enough to maintain a good grip on the belt. I'm constantly have to pull on the belt to tighten. I own 2 but have taken the buckle off 1 and use the belt with an UA buckle.

August 7, 2016

almost there.

I really wish they would have followed through and produced this belt fully back to the original design. I'll give it two stars because I love the fact that the thicker material is back which over time wears in like a good leather belt. The buckle on the other hand does not lay as flat reversed and while I understand they did this to make the ... Read More"bottle opener" easier to use,I'm buying this to use as a belt,not a bottle opener. Looking forward to buying more of these belts if they ever change the design back,but until then I'll keep using the old one I've had for 6 plus years.

August 4, 2016

I have to agree with the others,change not good

Reversing the buckle so the beer opener can be used without undoing the belt results in a worse functioning buckle. It is harder to tighten the belt,the buckle sticks out more and it is really a silly reason to change. I love a good beer now & then,but not at the expense of a poorly designed buckle. Please consider changing it back.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches