Back to Product

Patagonia Boys' Bivy Down Hoody

Write Your Review

3.0/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 14 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Boys' Bivy Down Hoody

3.0/5
November 11, 2021

Missing features

This jacket is warm and looks good but it needs a zipper and detachable hood

September 16, 2021

Very light but warm

Purchased for 12 year old son. He loves it. Very warm but light to easy to carry around school.

September 2, 2021

No zipper

Purchased this coat for my 8 year old. We love the look of this coatand it seems warm enough for winterbut it doesnt have a zipper, only snaps that he has trouble snapping himself. We are keeping itand hopefully he gets better at the snaps!

Response from Patagonia
September 10, 2021

Thanks for the call out on the snaps Shawna. We hope the snaps get easier with time.

May 9, 2021

Super warm

I really like it . I will purchase in another colour .

February 18, 2021

Not durable enough for active boys

The coat is very very warm but Ive been really disappointed that it hasnt kept up with my sons energy and active pace. Weve had it less than a year and it has tears from him playing outside. The down is now falling out. Hes 5 and is no different than any other active boy his age. Its sad because Patagonia is supposed to be for active people but it ... Read Moresure hasnt delivered for my son. Not worth it for the price.

Response from Patagonia
March 5, 2021

Hi Hilary, thank you for taking the time to write us with this feedback. We are bummed to hear that these were nor durable enough for your kids. Please note, we guarantee all our product so please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us.

February 14, 2021

needs zipper to be a great coat

We had this style in previous years and it was a favorite. It's warm and versatile. This year's style ended up without a zipper and that's virtually unusable in midwest winters. Will be looking for a different style and do not recommend this.

February 5, 2021

Needs a zipper!! But colors are gorgeous.

Needs a zipper!!! Kids 10-12yo do NOT have patience to snap each individual snap closed. My 11 yo son, had time to do 1st 2 snaps, then got frstrtated because his friends took off down the hill after zipping their jackets. The colors are fantastic. Zipper please!

January 20, 2021

BEWARE: NO ZIPPER!

My boys have worn this jacket for years; past versions were warm, weather resistant, sturdy, held up through all kinds of outdoor play. This one looks the same as past versions, except that there is no zipper! Only snaps. Clearly there are no parents on your design team, Patagonia. My son put it on and immediately took it off again. He's one o... Read Moref many tweens who isn't going to bother fumbling with snaps every time he goes outdoors. We don't get it. What used to be a fabulous winter jacket is rendered unusable without its zipper!

Response from Patagonia
February 25, 2021

Thank you for the feedback on our Boys' Bivy Down Hoody. We're always changing and improving and reviews like yours help our design team with future decisions, so thank you! If you're looking for a boys' down jacket with a zipper, check out the [Boys' Hi-Loft Down Sweater Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/boys-hi-loft-down-sweater-hoody/68207.html?dwvar_68207_color=NENA&cgid=kids-boys).

December 26, 2020

No zipper makes this less useful

I buy this jacket every year for my son and this year it has no zipper. Its been replaced with only buttons which the previous generations also had in addition the the zipper. The two issues I have is this: 1. Its much more difficult for a child with gloves to button up each one compared to a zipper. Its already difficult to be dexterous with ... Read Moregloves but the zipper made it fast to do. Just line up the zipper and boom done. Easy. 2. Having buttons alone allow air and wind to creep in between the gaps. Overall less warmth than previous generation.

December 14, 2020

Good for cold casual wear, not for snow

I bought this coat for my son. I was hoping that it would be a good ski coat. It does not have a zipper and only buttons, so it would not work well as a ski coat. My son love the style, but we could not trust snaps on the ski hill.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2021

Thanks for the review on our Bivy Down Hoody. You're correct, this jacket is not made with snow sports in mind. If you're interested in returning for a snow jacket, you're welcome to do so! You can find all the Boy's snow gear [here](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/boys-snow-gear). You could either go with the Snowshot or the Everyday Ready jacket depending on your needs. Feel free to reach out to customer service if you have any questions about this!

November 30, 2020

Super cute but...

Very stylish, but it needs a zipper in addition to the snaps. Depending on my little one's level of outdoor play (playground, climbing, etc), the snaps literally bust open as he's racing around. (He's five and active.) Would recommend for low-key outings only - but it doesn't stand up to real kid's play. Bummer!

November 17, 2020

Super cozy!

My son loves the jacket, and I know he is warm playing in the snow. The hood fits well and has elastic, so it stays on.

November 10, 2020

Super warm

Well made just wish the fit was more close to the waist and not as straight

October 15, 2020

Boys Bivey Jacket

Heads up. Cute style nice hood but there is not a zipper in this jacket! Why they wouldnt have put a zipper in it to keep it from gaping and the cold wind blowing in the gaps is beyond me

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches