burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Stretch Hydropeak Boardshorts - 8"

Write Your Review

4.0/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 0
  • 2
  • 4
  • 6
  • 8
  • 10
  • 12
  • 14
  • 16
  • 18
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 24 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Stretch Hydropeak Boardshorts - 8"

4.0/5
Kinda Small
July 19, 2022

Shorts were too short in

Shorts were too short in the rise for a 6 footer

July 15, 2022

Very odd fit

I bought a size 6 (my regular Patagonia size is 4-6) and it was too small. Ordered the 8 and it was also too small. The fit is just strange with this short. Bummer because I love the pattern and material.

June 20, 2022

Inconsistent Sizing

The length is the best feature. The material is not as flexible as the material used in last years board shorts.

June 4, 2022

Excellent board shorts

Ive owned the 10 board shorts and loved them to death! Finally time for a new pair, disappointed they no longer make them. But cant really complain because in the time of short shorts at least Patagonia makes an 8! Very comfortable, love the snap closure instead of Velcro and the pocket size seems bigger too. The fabric is thinner but still great q... Read Moreuality and quick drying. Highly recommend!

May 31, 2022

Cute, But Thin

Really cute patternhowever, the material is extremely thin

Response from Patagonia
July 7, 2022

Hi Stephanie! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that you found the boardshorts to be so thin. We truly appreciate this feedback and we'll share it with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 29, 2022

Bull's eye on fabric

I've been river working and buying the board shorts for 10 years. In the past the fabric was too thick, took a long time to dry and was smelly. Some changes were made but the fabric was too thin, tore easily but dried quickly. I hope the chosen fabric for these shorts stays in rotation for awhile. The fabric is silky smooth, thick enough to pr... Read Moreevents tears from sliding over rocks and dries quickly. Thank you for the new patterns too!

May 14, 2022

Poor fit and color

These run small and theyre not black. They are a dark gray. I wear a size 8 in the same shorts from years ago and needed a 12 in these. Also, I ordered 2 pairs of a size 12 and one pair was too small. The other pair fit.

April 14, 2022

Versatile shorts

I have had similar Patagonia shorts that Ive worn for several years. I really liked it but unfortunately with age and pandemic (?), it does not fit me anymore. I went with this shorts and they fit perfectly albeit at a larger size ( sigh!). I like the longer length too. The only thing is I wish it was a true black instead of charcoal brownish color... Read More.

April 2, 2022

Stand up paddle

These run very small and are transparent. I prefer the fabric of the board shorts or baggies.

March 24, 2022

different patterns fit differently

i am 5'3" and have 5 pairs of these boardshorts from another season and size 6 fits me well (I like a roomy fit) this black also fits well, but i purchased the 2 patterns in same style and they are too small...I will return for the next size and hope they work as I love these shorts...great for around the house and can dress up for casual... Read More outings!

March 18, 2022

My favorite shorts

These surf shorts are totally comfortable with stretch in every direction. They are very lightweight and dry fast. The side pocket with zipper is great because it doesnt get in the way. My go to shorts for every day. Ive worn them so much I was afraid I would wear them out so I looked to buy another pair. I was so sad that they were discontinued. T... Read Morehank you so much for bringing these back, I will definitely be buying another pair or two.

March 12, 2022

Design Team Got It Right

As a river guide and a kayaking photographer I live in board shorts during the spring and summer. I've purchased board shorts from Patagonia for 7+ years and I think the team finally figured it out. The material from the past two years has been thinner, quicker to dry out but also easier to rip. The material from this year's board shorts ... Read Morefeels more durable and stretchy but also capable of drying out pretty quick. I plan to buy a few more for the upcoming season. I hope we get fun patterns and colors in the future.

July 1, 2021

I'm super picky and these are awesome!

I'm 5'3" 125 and was hesitant to get the size 4 as most reviews said these run small. Size 4 fit me great (I ended up buying a second pair)! I use these for swimming and being out on the water--they're rather form fitting, not loose or baggy, and have good stretchiness to them where I don't feel like motion is limited. The ... Read More8" length is perfect--I'm SUPER PICKY on swimwear but these are fantastic. I'm always a fan of the flying fish line of items, so having that in the waistband is a nice touch :)

June 19, 2021

Love them!

This is a classic medium-length women's board short. The "Tropical Fusion" color is a fun pattern that works well with both royal blue and navy tops. I'm 5'7" 112 lbs and wear a 2 or 4 in women's pants and a 26 in jeans, and the size 4 in these shorts fit me perfectly. I looked high and low for a fun patterned wom... Read Moreen's board short that wasn't super short, and this is the only pair I could find. Patagonia - please make these in more colors / patterns! My only wish is that they were a 10" inseam instead of 8".

June 12, 2021

Great shorts!

They definitely run small, but I was able to find the larger size and now theyre great. I like the length and fit of the leg, plus theyre super stretchy and they dry very quickly. I would buy another color but they dont seem to make this length anymore.

April 1, 2021

Love these

Really comfy- I will be wearing these a lot this summer. Yes, runs small- usually a 2 but went with 4 for some wiggle room.

March 27, 2021

Please bring back!!!

This is the best board short please bring it back in the line! I love the comfort and fabric. They do tend to run small. I listened to others and sized up, glad I did. It's the best and I would recommend it to everyone! LOVE THIS SHORT!!!

September 17, 2020

Great for aging, and plumping bodies.....

As I age, and my body is changing. But, I am active and want nice looking PATAGONIA shorts that look good and feel good. I am totally satisfied. A thankful senior.

September 7, 2020

Order Small

These board shorts are fit well, and are super-comfortable. A size 10 is usually perfect for my Patagonia shorts and pants. The size 10 board shorts don't stay on well in the surf. The size 8's work perfectly for me. (Size 8 is a super-small size for my build.)

September 5, 2020

paddleboard shorts

Thesr are comfy for swimming, paddleboarding and surfing. Cool color too.

August 22, 2020

Very comfortable

I usually take a size 4 in Patagonia shorts. I ordered a size 4 and 6 as the other reviews stated they run small. The size 6 was huge on me and size 4 ran a little large. I returned and ordered size 2, hoping this will fit.

August 10, 2020

Actually pretty good!

I almost didn't order these because the reviews were so bad, so just wanted to chime in here and say that these shorts are actually pretty great. I found them to only run a little small. I'm normally a pretty solid 4/27 across brands, and I ordered a 6 and an 8 because the previous reviews scared me. The 8 was huge, and the 6 was nice wit... Read Moreh some breathing room. I probably could have squeezed into a 4 but I have athletic legs, so I prefer the longer shorts to have more breathing room. These are also mid-rise (hit at belly button) on me; I'm 5'7". The ones on the model look pretty low rise which I don't love after two c-sections. These are perfect and measure 10".

June 2, 2020

So So Small!

I was so disappointed in how small these shorts run. I would say they run about 3 sizes small. The material is very thin also. Returned.

March 4, 2020

Nice shorts

I like these board shorts but they run small I bought another pair of shorts that were the same size and those fit perfectly. Will be returning.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches