burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipses50th logo50th logo50th logo50th logopro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary profilenavigation primary profilenavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Product Safety Recall

Due to safety concerns about the snaps on the Infant Capilene® Midweight Set, we are implementing a recall of units purchased between August 1, 2021, and January 12, 2023. For more information, including how to identify this product, how to return it and how to get a full refund, please click the link below.

Learn More

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Free Shipping on Orders Over $99

Orders are shipped within 1-2 business days and arrive within 3-10 business days. Need it sooner? Concerned about the environmental impact? Flexible shipping options are available.

More Details

Back to Product

Women's Stretch Hydropeak Surf Shorts - 3½" Reviews

Write Your Review

4.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 26 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Stretch Hydropeak Surf Shorts - 3½

4.2/5
True To Size
February 9, 2023

Weird fit

The scallop cut of the legs was really weird and not flattering. Returned.

October 27, 2022

Comfy and Versatile

These are really comfy and I wear them for many things: running, hiking, for casual wear and over swim bottoms for paddle boarding. I've gotten a lot of compliments on them. I was afraid they'd be too short, for my age, but they're just right. They're light, airy and breathable for running. I'm 5'4-1/2 124# and 58 y-o.... Read More

October 27, 2022

Dynamic Comfort

My daughter loves these shorts. She is a busy 14yo kid bouncing between water polo practices, surfs, and skates, and just being a kid. The shorts are comfortable for casual wear and great in the water for an unscripted swim or surf.

October 8, 2022

Bad Fit

I was so excited about these shorts: quick-dry, ultralight and very cute and unique scalloped split. Unfortunately, they are cut strangely. The problem? When wearing them, they ride up my girl parts. This is exacerbated by a seam right up the direct center of the shorts. Really? As you can imagine this is an absolute no go. I got these for trail ru... Read Morenning because sometimes I get chafed by liners and wanted something I could also take to the beach or lake. Will just keep my fingers crossed for a fit update next year.

Response from Patagonia
October 10, 2022

Hi Liz, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit and the discomfort the shorts created. We truly rely on feedback like this to improve products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 5, 2022

Unflattering fit in the crotch area...

I really like Patagonia's stretch planing board shorts and 5" baggies shorts so decided to try these out as well. Unfortunately, the shorts were really unflattering in the crotch area. Otherwise the material is great and the pattern is cute!

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Heather. We will share it with our design team. We're sorry the fit of the shorts wasn't good for you, and glad to see you've been able to return them. Please let us know if we can be of any further help!

August 20, 2022

Versatile

Perfect for beach, paddle boarding @ hiking! Lightweight & comfortable. Fit is good, waist is adjustable!

July 8, 2022

Nice Surf Short

I was looking for a swim short I could wear for my morning walk on the beach, which includes wading in the water, and lots of exploring of stuff along the beach. I'm 64, 126 pounds, and got a size M. I wanted something that would cover me up, but still be attractive looking. This short worked perfect for me! It does not have a inner liner but ... Read MoreI usually wear a swim suit bottom under it. I also did not have the problem of the sides winging out as a few other reviewers did. It dried quickly, was light weight and very comfortable when bending over and swimming. All in all it was the perfect surf short for an older, lady like me who still wants to look good and not stuffy. I also purchased the matching swim top, to the short!

March 31, 2022

Best boardshorts ever

These are the most comfortable, functional, and stylish women's boardshort I have ever tried. The stretchy material makes them easy to get on and off, but the slick hidden belt makes it so they stay on in big surf. The slit in the legs makes them absolutely resistance free when I'm getting to my feet on my board. And I end up reaching for... Read More them as a go to for daily wear because the waistband is so comfortable I hardly feel them. Epic creation, go Patagonia!

March 11, 2021

Great quality swimwear!

I am thrilled with my purchase!

January 31, 2021

Pleeease make more!!

I love these. Bought for saltwater fishing trip that got cancelled so currently use them at home for hanging or working out. Material and fit are fantastic. Im 5 ft tall, 125 lb and small waist with muscular thighs and a booty. Usually 4-6 in pants, but tend to size up in shorts bc I really hate a tight fit around my thighs. Opted for a medium and ... Read Morethey are perfect. Theyre comfortably loose around the thighs bc of the slit, they dont ride up at all!!, and the adjustable waist lets me pull them snug and avoid the dreaded gape in the back. I think the front slit placement is why they are so much more comfortable and flattering around my hips than other athletic shorts - boyfriend was especially complimentary!! Cant wait to wear them fishing/hiking once it warms up. Please make more Patagonia!

January 29, 2021

Perfect fit

Super comfy and true to size.

January 8, 2021

Live in these shorts

I'm 5'8 ,140 lbs and live in Hawai'i. I live in these shorts...working from home, at the beach, surfing, working out. They are light weight, so comfy and very flattering. I bought a pair for my sister and she loves them too! I don't think they need a liner and am fine wearing swimsuit bottoms or underwear underneath. Please brin... Read Moreg these back next season Patagonia! I might consider getting a small next time.

December 10, 2020

Not for girls with curves

These are great shorts. I love the material and the hidden drawing feature in the back pocket. I would love to add them to my shorts drawer but the side slit is in a funky spot. Because of this and the fact that my thighs are bigger than the model, the slits buckle open and kinda turn into wings. Im 5 foot 10 inches and 150 lbs for reference. Its g... Read Moreoing to be different for everyone but these just didnt work out for me :)

September 17, 2020

Excellent quality/performance

So happy with my purchase. Fit as I hoped. Im 56 . 140 lbs & the fit is as they should be . coverage with modesty & fashionable.

September 6, 2020

Super comfortable

These shorts are perfect for that trail run that turns into a swim. No chafing even when wet. Fit great. Dry quickly and look great

September 2, 2020

Lightweight shorts

I love these shorts! I needed something without a lining for running, hiking, and general outdoor adventures and these fit the bill. They are super lightweight with a little stretch for added mobility and have a fully capable drawstring for fine-tuning. The only thing I would say is that there isn't a lot of "give" so they are tight ... Read Moreto pull over wider hips, but once they're on they fit great. Make more colors!

September 1, 2020

Sadly, not made for surfing

These shorts fit perfectly! If you're standing still or wearing a liner! But, as a surfer there is no way I'd be able to wear these surfing. They are so short I'd be showing my ladybits if the wind or waves picked up. I'd say it was a great design if you didn't mind a little airing out . . . bonus points for the zippered po... Read Moreuch & elastic key leash!

August 27, 2020

Liners?

Really wished these had liners so I don't need to wear another bottom underneath. Otherwise, it's lovely. Lightweight and great fit.

July 24, 2020

No liner on the one short i'd want a liner

Cute shorts. I was excited to get them to match my swim top from patagonia...so I assumed there would be an underwear liner to use this in a swim/water application. But there isn't! So you'd have to get a swim bottom to wear inside underneath, which is more wet layers than I wanted. It's too bad.

Response from Patagonia
July 24, 2020

Hi there, thanks so much for your review and we're sorry these aren't up to your satisfaction due to the lack of a liner. Your feedback has been passed along to our Design Team! Please feel free to return these if you were looking to do so but haven't already. https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html

July 14, 2020

Best Active Shorts

These are the best active shorts. They are incredibly lightweight, the design is so accommodating to movement and the waistband is so comfortable and flattering I cannot recommend these enough. Although designed for surfing Ill be wearing these on walks, etc. They are a slightly snug fit so I bought a size S, Im 57 and about 128 and typically wear ... Read Morea size 4 in Patagonia.

July 1, 2020

Best board shorts

These shorts are as breezy and effortless as it gets! I love the lightweight, stretchy fabric, the welded hems, the off-center front slits for range of motion, and the figure flattering waist band. Of note is that the waist has a hidden adjustment feature instead of a draw string. It is located inside the back zippered pocket. Your shorts will arri... Read Moreve with this grosgrain adjustment tab already cinched up slightly, so if your shorts don't pull on easily and you encounter resistance pulling over your hips, open the back pocket and let out a lil more room. I wear these for surfing and SUP and the dry time is soo much faster than my baggies or waverfarers (although my waverfarers are my other favs). I'm 5'9", 128lb, usually a size 4, sometimes 6 and the small fits perfectly.

May 19, 2020

Excellent short!

I just have been wearing this short for the past few weeks. It has a great fit and a very lightweight fabric quick dry. This short works for many adventures including trail running and running rivers. I am ordering my second pair!

May 17, 2020

Excellent short!

I just have been wearing this short for the past few weeks. It has a great fit and a very lightweight fabric quick dry. This short works for many adventures including trail running and running rivers. I am ordering my second pair!

April 29, 2020

Great fit!

Super stoked on this design, the fit is great for strong athletic thick legs and curvy bottoms. These shorts allow for movement and coverage without any constriction. Great job Patagonia!

April 27, 2020

Love these!

These shorts are awesome! Super lightweight, soft yet durable fabric, great cut with the soft waistband and the slits in the legs give so much freedom of movement. They're also well-placed-slightly in front--so the shorts are also really flattering. I don't wear these in the water--I'm not a shorts person for water purposes--but runn... Read Moreing, hiking, etc. definitely.

March 11, 2020

Bummer

I wear the Patagonia happy hiker short in size xs as well as joggers. I ordered these in xs (55 110-115lbs) and could barely get them over my hips. Once on, The leg was fitted to my thigh which I actually liked, but there was an unfortunate thong effect happening. I ordered a few other items as well, none of which fit me well in a small (Too big) o... Read Morer xsmall (bit too small or weird) and had to be returned. Ive read a lot of reviews about Patagonia sizing being odd and I have to agree.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches