Back to Product

Patagonia Ultralight Wading Boots - Sticky

Write Your Review

2.58 /5

Filter Reviews

All 26 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Ultralight Wading Boots - Sticky

2.58
True To Size
September 14, 2019

Love this boot.

I've had many pairs of this boot over the years, and it remains the most comfortable and best wading boot on the market for me. That it is made in smaller sizes for women is what got me started on this boot. Please don't stop making it!!!

August 11, 2019

Bad Durability

Definitely not ultra light once the boots get wet. The laces broke on the 6th outting. After 3 months of fishing the stitching in the boots were coming undone and the soles are starting to fall off. And these boots are definitely not sticky.

Response from Patagonia
August 21, 2019

Sorry to hear that the boots have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send it in for a repair, refund or merchandise credit.

March 3, 2019

Bad Durability

While the fit is not bad Patagonia elected to use cloth eyelets on the boots which ruins the durability. My pair broke after the second wear. These will be going back.

January 6, 2019

Ultralight you say?

Pretty disappointed by this boot. Holds a ton of water and makes for HEAVY feet. Durability and size are great, as well as the lace up system, but overall I am going to need to order another pair of boots just because these boots are so incredibly heavy due to the amount of water they absorb and how long they take to dry. My feet yesterday were abs... Read Moreolutely freezing, while friends in boots that shed water and dried faster were completely fine.

November 19, 2018

Not safe for wading

These boots are anything but sticky.... they may be sticky on dry rock but put them in water and they turn into greased lightning. After nearly falling a thousand times on the Klamath River's slime rocks, I took them back (thanks Patagonia) and got their Foot Tractor boots..... now these are sticky.... they stick to anything wet or dry.... eve... Read Moren on ice..... they work better than my felt with cleats....

October 2, 2018

Good, but not perfect

I purchased the Ultralight wading boots to use with my Rio Gallegos waders. They seem to run a size big, so I had to reorder 1 size down. Boot is very supportive, and the rubber is ok for our Vermont conditions. But I will be needing to add the studs for a bit more traction. I noticed I was slipping some on the slimy rocks (the studs will help with... Read More this). The boots while labeled as ‘ultralight’ don’t seem any lighter than my older boots. I do wish the boots drained a bit better. The innersole and materials really seem to hold more water than they should. If your fishing several days in a row, don’t expect the boots to dry out overnight. After my last trip the boots took several days to dry before I could pack them up. I am overall satisfied with the purchase and my ankles really appreciate the added support compared to my last wading boots.

August 25, 2018

CAUTION!

These are not “sticky”. If you are used to felt it is very easy to fall and hurt yourself or worse using these boots. They are very slippery. Although they are well made they are useless and dangerous for wading rivers. I have a pair of the ultralight felt-sole boots and I love them. I got these “sticky” boots to fish in Yellowstone where felt has ... Read Morebeen banned and they are terrible.

June 13, 2018

Great Customer Service Saved these Boots!

So here is my story and why these will be my summer wading boots for 2018. I recently purchased both the Ultralight Wading boots and the new Middlefork travel wader (which I highly recommend) to replace some heavier wading gear for warmer weather. I initially purchased a size 11 in these boots. (The Patagonia size chart had me in a 13). I typically... Read More wear Salomon or Nike in a 10.5 or 11,so I followed some feedback from a few retailers and ordered the Size 11. When I took these out for their first trip,it felt like my foot was in a hotel ballroom. Way too much room,mostly due to the fact that the wading boot on the new Middle Fork wader is super thin and doesn't take up much room. I called Patagonia and explained what happened and they stood behind their product and offered me a replacement pair in a size smaller (Size 10). I received these boots last week and spent all weekend fishing in some swift water and they worked fantastic! Boots fit great and definitely worked as expected. The smaller size helped with the drainage issue that other reviewers have provided feedback. Still gave the boot 4 stars as there is some work to be done on the boot to drain water better. So just keep in mind that if you purchase the new Middle Fork Waders,you will need to size down on your boots. Thanks again to Patagonia for having great customer service. A customer for life!

March 4, 2018

Comfortable and durable

I've been using these boots while winter steelheading on the Wilson River and while salt water shoreline fishing here in Oregon. I found these boots to be very comfortable and durable. I haven't experienced any of the durability issues some claim to have had. This version of the boot is a big improvement over the previous model. I would r... Read Moreecommend these wading boots to a friend.

January 4, 2018

Don' buy if fishing fishing in saltwater

I fish the Upper Laguna Madre in South Texas. The lace guides quickly corroded even though I was religious about rinsing them after every use. I was given a credit only to be used for Patagonia merch. Very dissapointed and will not purchase again.

October 7, 2017

Very comfortable!

I bought these to fish in Wyoming and knew there would be several miles of hiking and fishing in cold water. They worked perfectly and were comfortable walking in for several miles and while fishing.

October 1, 2017

Great Boot!

I live in Idaho and fish the Island Park area around 200 hundred days a year and have used this boot for the last two seasons. This is one of the best boots I've ever owned. They fit well,wear well and best of all,their light. I own a pair of Simms guide boots and their a very good boot but Heavy!

October 1, 2017

Ultralight wading boot.

I love Patagonia products and the company reputation for being care of customers and product's guarantee. However,I did fished with this boot three times. In my opinion,unlike the previous one,this boot don't have the hole to drain water so that you feel heavy while hiking the trails,also the material doesn't dry fast,and the lace sy... Read Morestem is flimsy it doesn't work well,sand and small stones get inside the boot every time I fish.

August 29, 2017

Sole fell off

Have had these boots for about 8 months and usually go out once a week to one of the local streams with hikes of less than a mile. A couple weeks ago after a short hike from the car a sole separated from the boot. It was clear the adhesive used to glue the sole to the boot was poorly applied and of poor quality. I attempt a repair with RTV,but this... Read More failed today after short hike upriver. I cannot recommend this boot and Patagonia should be embarrassed by the workmanship.

July 1, 2017

High Top Boot for Better Ankles

I traded in my old boots from two years ago since the seams took a beating and split open. I opted for the same pair in men's again versus the women's since they seem to fit better. The new version has a much higher 'high top' which nice for ankle support,but fits more rigid than the old version. I prefer the old version. I wish... Read More there were more variations between the men's and women's boot since men and women have very different feet and ankles.

June 18, 2017

Low durablity

I was disappointed with this product in a few ways. They were so comfy and light. In that respect I loved them. I used them for a season as a guide in Alaska and they did not last long. The laces broke after about 3 weeks.The bottoms wore very quickly but not unreasonably. The sole did start to separate quickly though. Then I wore them in the salt ... Read Morea few times. Rinsed them off after every use but still the lace eyes rotted from the salt. Wish they were more durable is all.

May 23, 2017

Bye,bye wide-boots.

I've purchased Patagonia boots for years because they,and seemingly they. alone,made a truly wide boot. Bummer. No more. My last pair was the "Rock Grip Wading Boot," but after a few months of use the eyes started to pull out of the flexible,rubber-like top when I laced them. At least they fit. I returned these "Ultralight W... Read Moreading Boots" because they are too narrow. The SIze 12 fits in length,as always; but this time the boot is considerably narrower than they used to be. Bummer.

May 16, 2017

Comfortable,however

Fished in these about 8 times in salt water. They are comfortable and have good traction. They don't drain well though. When I take them off I can pour a pint of water out of them each time. I own a pair of readington boots as well and the water pours out when you walk,so they drain well. I also noticed today one of the lace grommets tore out.... Read More I will send them back. I am sure Patagonia will take care of it,that's why I keep coming back for more.

May 3, 2017

Terrible boot

Let's just say these only lasted me week. I fish the Colorado Rocky Mountain And got these hoping for a nice light weight boot. Well they fell apart with one trip to the Gunnison. They don't breath and drain very well. My feet didn't like being in them for 10 hours. The soles after one 3 day trip looked like I took a cheese grater to... Read More them. They just completely fell apart. The rivets for the shoe lace eye fell off. Would not buy Patagonia boots again

March 7, 2017

Boot fills with Sand

These boots may be light but they fill with sand or grit everytime I wear them..the inner soles need to be pulled out after each outing and small stones caught in the holes underneath of these soles need to be picked out..very time consuming..but if it isnt done the stones are damaging the boot and I am worried they will wear out the feet on my wa... Read Moreders. I think the sand/grit is getting in because the tongue is not fully sewn in leaving a gap at its base.They are teamed with Patagonia waders and used in rivers and lakes. I am very unhappy with them...they make me grumpy everytime I take them off and see a boot full of stones!

January 21, 2017

Super Durable Great Support

While these are not as light as the previous version,they do offer fantastic ankle support and protection. The sticky bottom is great for non felt destinations and the boot has outlasted the previous model already.

January 14, 2017

Great boot!

Have owned Patagonia wading boots in the past. This is another great and comfortable boot. Seems more durable than some of there older designs. Just used in New Zealand with great success. Very pleased!

August 29, 2016

Studs on sticky rubber ineffective

Bought these for their light weight rather than the heavier aluminum gridded versions. First trip out on California's Klamath last week had me slipping and sliding badly. While the boots were comfortable enough the sticky rubber with added studs was ineffective in cutting through algae and sticking to rocks. Where the bottom rocks were clean o... Read Moref algae the studs wer only marginally better. Whether this is because 10 studs per boot aren't enough,because the studs aren't hard enough or because they sit too low on the sole I've yet to determine. I'll be replacing the Patagonia studs with some kind of aluminum to see if things improve before I look for new boots.

August 18, 2016

Sticky,but not durable.

I'm just back from a nine day guide trip in Alaska. The river and gravel bars are of mixed size cobble. The soft soles are already beginning to flake and shed small pieces. I guess that's the trade off for sticky rubber. I would also echo the lack of draining comment in another review. In addition,I found that the boots lacked good ankle ... Read Moresupport.

July 26, 2016

Sand and small gravel problem...

I guide in AK and some rivers I am on have sand or small gravel area throughout. Where the tongue and the shoe connect there are two holes that allow a lot of material to get in. Some days I have to dump my boots mid day because it gets so annoying. Otherwise a good overall product and have lasted well through two months of guiding.

July 19, 2016

Could be improved

Used this boot in Alaska last week. My guide had the same boot and the soles were delaminating after one month. I liked mine except for the lack of drainage holes. The boots were filled with water at the end of the day.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches