Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Wild Idea Workwear Boots

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 7
  • 7.5
  • 8
  • 8.5
  • 9
  • 9.5
  • 10
  • 10.5
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 27 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Wild Idea Workwear Boots

4.8/5
September 11, 2021

Great at first. But couldnt take the farm life

I bought these boots to keep me comfortable while working on an organic farm in southern California. I was farming 8 hours a day 5 days a week. These boots were great at first. Very comfortable, very rugged. And may I say quite beautiful looking boots. But within about 4 months the soles started deteriorating. Then the toe box started peeling from ... Read Morethe soul. I just thought I was working hard and if I needed to I could get them repaired. But then the whole toe area leather started to completely peel apart From the inside and at that point I had to repair them. This is at only 8 months of wear. When I brought them back to be possibly repaired the wait would have been a few months and they were not even sure it was possible to do. I was forced to return them. And I was sad to see them go.

April 28, 2021

Highest quality, most comfortable boot ever!

These boots are just the most amazing combination of heavy duty, comfort and quality. Im almost ashamed that a pair of boots can bring me this much joy! Whats wrong with me? (Lol!) a 60 year old man in love with a pair of boots? Important- I usually wear size 13 in dress shoes (Ecco) and 14 Nike sneakers. After reading the reviews about these runni... Read Moreng large I jumped on a size 12 that appeared and its absolutely perfect with a traditional dress sock or thin crew sock. No shoe bites or ankle break ins. They fit like a glove from the moment you put them on. Like they were custom made. Patagonia- please bring other shoes from this manufacturer! They are the best boots Ive ever owned and Ive had Frye, Timberlands, Ariats, Eccos and others - nothing even comes close! Beyond satisfied! Thanks for bringing them to market!

April 6, 2021

Amazing quality

Fantastic material. Sadly the boot was simply too heavy to wear comfortably and safely.

Response from Patagonia
April 9, 2021

We're sorry to hear that you felt like our Wild Idea Workwear Boots were too heavy! They are meant for heavy duty activity so that is one way we're able to ensure durability. Nonetheless, we thank you for the feedback and have taken note of your thoughts. If you haven't already, feel free to start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 29, 2021

Very comfortable from the start

This is an ideal boot for women good angle stability.

January 26, 2021

Truly Special

At first I was a bit hesitant due to the price tag, but every doubt was scrubbed clean when I first put them on. I will be wearing these for a very long time. The craftsmanship is remarkable, Ive never owned a boot that feels as lovingly made, and the story behind them is just the cherry on top. I normally wear a size 11, in these a 10.5 is just a ... Read Moresmidge big but not a problem. Please make a belt to match!

January 21, 2021

Great boot

Looks great, good construction. Comfortable, no break in time. Love this boot!

January 8, 2021

Comfortable and sustainable

These boots are the best Ive ever bought. They put timberlands to shame in every way. Purchase these every day boots and you wont look back.

January 6, 2021

Gorgeous, well-made boots

I loved the story behind these boots and am a Patagonia fan in general so I was excited to be able to order a pair before they sold out. The craftsmanship is excellent, you can tell that these are well made. I have shoes that I've re-soled multiple times and kept for decades and expect these will last just as long. The other thing that stands ... Read Moreout is the leather, which is soft and has a wonderful character. As other reviews have said, no break-in is required. The only design complaint I have is that the speed-lace eyelet grooves at the top are very shallow (about the depth of the lace itself) so the laces tend to slip out unless I tie the laces more tightly than I normally would. They look great, but something with a deeper groove would be far better so I may have a cobbler replace them for me. I ordered my usual shoe size (8.5) and they seem to run a little big. I wish I had ordered another pair a 1/2 size down to compare but these fit just fine with a pair of thick boot socks, although my feet get quite warm (a probable benefit in colder climates than California). All in all, a great purchase, and I expect many years of service from these boots. I hope that more Bison leather goods are forthcoming from Patagonia.

December 29, 2020

Best boot I've ever owned

Great boots Excellent craftsmanship, comfortable. I usually wear a size 9 1/2 went with a 9 fit perfect .Would highly recommend when they're available again.

December 27, 2020

Amazing craftsmanship

Super happy with the boots. I normally wear a size 9 but ended up in a 7.5 after purchasing and returning all the sizes in between! A little painful but worth the effort. Ive had them for about two weeks and they now fit like a glove. These boots seem like they will last a VERY long time.

December 18, 2020

Legit work boot

These boots are not pretenders! They are overbuilt, intended for work. I know what to expect from this company, been a customer for over 15 yrs, big investment big return!

December 8, 2020

Perfect from Moment One

These might be nirvana in a boot form. So comfortable and perfect fitting from the first time I put them. I have worn them everyday since they've arrived still with zero complaints. The boots are very handsome, the workpersonship is superb. They are constructed enough to wear well in my workshop, yet supple enough for casual wear. The tongue d... Read Moreoes not need to be any longer. The laces are the exact right size. Just a beautiful beautiful boot.

December 5, 2020

Exceptional work and wear boot!

I am really impressed by the boots! Thye really do fit comfortably out of the box! They have very nice thin laces with a unique lace configuration that makes tightening boot a breeze. Thye have a cork insole! They are very sturdy as well. The tip is enforced and the boot seems very durable and though not listed as waterproof, they do not seem vulne... Read Morerable to water damage to me. I have been wearing Danner boots for years and I must say these do seem a step up. I have never owned buffalo boots before but they feel like soft high quality leather. I would definitely buy these again. They don't seem to be sticking around long so if your one the fence, don't be, buy them!

December 3, 2020

Muito lindo!

Absolutely beautiful boots! I'm a shoe guy and I lusted after a bison-hide Frye boot when I was in my teens working in a shoe department, but never pulled the trigger because of the cost at that time. 40 years later I finally got my bison boots! I've sold shoes and boots, been a manager and buyer for a high-end shoe salon and in my second... Read More story of life been an archaeologist who depends on good boots for field work and in the past, wildland firefighting. These are without doubt, exceptionally well made boots, the leather is gorgeous and the fit out of the box is snug as they should be, but just right for a new boot. Only concerns: I wasn't paying attention to the lug design on the outsole, it is not a full lug, but instead designed to be able to ride a horse with it. Which is great since I need to ride about once a year for work, but it will not be a full-time work/hiking boot for me. Also the cork insole is an interesting choice, we'll see how it breaks in. I'll be glad to have these as an everyday around town boot though as they are belissimo, but will stick to my Lowa's for serious hiking. Congratulations on such a fine product, the design staff, bison ranch and shoe factory in Portugal should all be proud!

November 28, 2020

No Brainer

Excellent craftsmanship, comfortable, and are serving a greater purpose. I could not buy these fast enough. Highly recommend when theyre available again.

November 27, 2020

Simply a Solid Pair of Boots.

There is really no need to write a long winded review, the title of this review says it all. The quality put into these boots is unmatched with any other boot Ive had. Years and years of enjoyment will definitely be had with them.

November 23, 2020

General

Two things: 1.The laces should be longer to allow for double tie. Can't have laces untie when your out working or walking through the weeds 2. Should have something on basic care 3. Make a waterproof model Thanks

November 22, 2020

Awesome boot!

Excellent fit! Great to wear. Comfortable on first wearing. Mices boot Ive had in years!

November 20, 2020

Just one suggestion

Overall, love the boots. The only suggestion would make is that you make the tongue a bit (like 1/2 inch) longer. Right now it is so exact with the top hook that I have to leave the top hook undone so I have a bit of tongue to pull on. Otherwise it can interfere with the lacing and cause a rub blister.

November 17, 2020

Why no 11.5 ???

I don't own a pair of these boots. Sure would like to but they're not available in my size. There are half sizes up to 11 but not after that. Strange. Will ya'll be making an 11.5 eventually? Thanks

November 15, 2020

Bomber.

Built like a tank yet soft and supple. Break-in was was 1 day. Zero regrets.

November 14, 2020

Top quality

Great looking pair of boots that feels like will last for decades. And surprisingly comfortable from the first day. I am sure comfort will only get better.

November 11, 2020

Comfort that matches the Quality . . .

Hard to believe how comfortable and supple these boots are . . . right out of the box. Collar offers reassuring support and padded tongue ensures comfort. In less than a week, these boots feel like an old friend . . . I love 'em.

November 10, 2020

Farming-super boot

My husband claims they are as good as they get. He has been wearing them daily since arriving.

November 4, 2020

A boot above the rest

Amazing boot. Really soft leather but tough as nails. Padded tongue, removable insole (looks made with recycled material as well). No break-in necessary. Vibram outsoles. Speed hooks. Impressive workmanship. Given the quality and craftmanship, the boots are a bargain given they can be fully recrafted to last a lifetime

October 30, 2020

It's odd how the women's coming to pull on and the men's don't.

I would prefer a pull on. Don't know why I have to tie my boots and the women don't.

October 29, 2020

Excellent Multi-purpose Boot

This is a very well made boot with a perfect balance between roomy comfort and form fit. The cap toe is an excellent feature providing additional protection. I'm frankly amazed at the comfort and there was virtually no break-in period. I generally can't wear a new boot for the first time for one full day and this is a rare exception. The ... Read Morebuffalo hide is new for me. It looks sharp and enhances comfort. If you need a good work or multipurpose boot, don't hesitate - you'll be pleased. These also look great for casual wear with jeans and khakis. One word of caution... I wear size 11 in about 90% of the boots I buy from a variety of makers. I fit perfect in a size 10 in the Wild Idea Workwear boot.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches