Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Wild Idea Work Boots

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 6
  • 6.5
  • 7
  • 7.5
  • 8
  • 8.5
  • 9
  • 9.5
  • 10
  • 11
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 29 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Wild Idea Work Boots

4.5/5
June 4, 2021

Not for use in the field

I love the idea of these boots, but the reality was a disappointment for me. I have worn these as work boots out in the field for about 6 months and they are not holding up. The leather in the toe area is wearing thin (leather is literally abrading off) and the toe of one of the boots is collapsing. They look terrible too. If you're buying the... Read Morese for fashion, then I think they will work well. They fit nicely, are comfortable and look good out of the box. If you're buying them to hike or use outdoors regularly, they don't last.

Response from Patagonia
June 7, 2021

Thank you for your review on our Wild Idea Work Boots. We're so sorry to hear that these are not holding up for you, they were definitely built to last and meant to be used out in the field. We would like to gather some more information from you to see what kind of conditions you've been using the boots in, and to figure out if you'd be eligible for warranty evaluation. Please reach out to our [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team for assistance.

May 16, 2021

So happy I bought them, took a while to get there

Bought them in Nov 2020 as a Christmas present to myself. Ordered a 6 as I typically wear a 5.5-6. They needed a pretty lengthy break in period. I had several blisters and painful weeks in them. During that process I wondered if I should've sized up to 6.5 or if this was going to be one of my more expensive and regrettable purchases. Now th... Read Moreey are so comfy and so sturdy, and they go with everything and they stand out. Love them.

March 29, 2021

Best. Boots. Ever.

These boots are absolutely beautiful and practical. I use them when I work on my familys farm...and I cannot properly say how wonderful they are. They do take a little bit to break in, but its worth it. Im tempted to buy a second pair just to have a back up.

March 20, 2021

SUPERB!!

i was more than a bit hesitant to purchase these boots ~ in part due to the price and because i have terribly difficult feet to fit. my arches and instep are extraordinarily high and i have a genetic blessing of some extra bones in my feet. i measure a size 6.5 but ALWAYS purchase a larger size to (hopefully) accommodate my unique feet. these did n... Read Moreot disappoint! the leather is thick but pliable and molds well to a foot. i have worn them for three days in a row since i received them and the heel slips a tad but nothing huge. there are a few sharp pokey pieces of stitching around the top of the boot but i think those will wear off/smooth out with time. right now to solve the issue...i just wear tall enough socks to keep the boot away from bare skin. they are loud when you walk and they can squeak on the right type of floor but they are gorgeous and a great design. these will be replacing my 20 year old blundstones that are truly worn out. thanks for a terrific product!

March 19, 2021

Very versatile and cool looking

I love these boots. Unfortunately I thought I had to size up and they were too big. Im usually a Size 7 or 7 1/2 and the 8 were too big. But I immediately order my 7 1/2 and Im hoping they will fit me. The boots feel heavy but not in a bad way. And the leather feels smooth and thick. I cant wait to get the right size so I can use them to death.

March 14, 2021

Undecided at this time

I purchased the womens Wild Idea work boots. According to the reviews, I decided to purchase a size 8 (I am either size 71/2 or 8, 39 EU). The boots seem a bit large and I am waiting for Patagonia to get in a size 71/2 to try...I will keep one of the two because I really like the construction and am a fan of Buffalo hide.

March 3, 2021

Great quality.. requires break-in period

Quality of the boots is awesome and the overall fit is good too. I did need to break in the boots a bit (blisters on the heels) even though the material is soft and would I thought I wouldn't need to. Looking forward to many, many, many years of wear.

February 26, 2021

Perfect boots

These boots are divine. I was prepared to have to send them back before I even received them, given many reviewers' issues with size and fit. I am a true size 10 (US), and a Euro 41 or 41.5. These fit me like a dream. I have been wearing them around the house and they have already softened and begun to mold to my foot. They are sharp enough to... Read More wear to work, but also comfortable enough to wear for long walks on more rugged terrain. I also like that they are a bit snug around the ankle, which makes for a trim silhouette and keeps gravel/dirt from creeping in the back. I ordered the 10 and it is a perfect fit. Note that the European size on the 10 is a 41.5, and not a 41, which is the more common conversion.

January 27, 2021

Most Amazing

By far the best boots I have ever worn. The detail in the leather, cork insole and Vibram soles make these worth the money. I have worn them every day for the last month and they are already breaking in perfectly. Highly recommended!

December 30, 2020

Beautiful boot, runs small, really hard to get

These are well made, heavy, last-forever, beautiful looking and functional boots. Unfortunately, though I took the trouble to call about sizing and was told they run true to size, they actually seem to run small, enough that they give me new scabs every time I wear them. After a few days of trying to convince my feet that they are wrong and I am wr... Read Moreite, I've surrendered. Sadly, there is now nothing larger than a 6! Next time, I'll be wasteful and order three different sizes. But for now, if anyone out there has a 7.5 I'll trade my 7.0....

December 27, 2020

Perfect work boot

I love these work boots! At first, I thought they were a little weird fit wise, very tight on foot and ankle despite ordering up a size, however with more wear they have loosened quite a bit and don't look as new which I want. I usually wear an 8 or 8.5 but decided to go up to a 9 and I'm so glad I did. I wear these for everyday casual us... Read Moree and working in or my farm.

December 24, 2020

Great quality

These boots look lovely and are durable. They need to be broken in which takes time. I still can't wear mine all day long without getting blisters on the heel, but I'm working on it. They fit well and the bottoms have strong grip. I've been wearing them in snow/ice and don't slip. Overall, great boots! Hoping they will last for ... Read Moremany many years.

December 19, 2020

Beautiful design

These are beautifully designed and clearly well crafted. They do, however, run a bit narrow. I am wearing them in the house to see if they might stretch out a bit. I hope so, because I want to wear them for good. I was surprised at the narrowness. If they doe stretch out then I could easily imagine increasing my star rating. Well see.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2021

Thanks for the review on our Wild Idea Boots! These are definitely intended to mold to your foot with time and use. Wearing them around the house is a great idea to help speed up this process. If you do this for awhile and still find them to be uncomfortable, you can begin a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 18, 2020

style beyond sneakers; comfort surprisingly great for a substantial leather boot;

initially i needed a shoe horn; with some practice i can get them on easily; they are supportive and comfortable. i am very happy with my boots.

December 17, 2020

Back in stock?

These look like such beautiful boots. I have been waiting for these to come back in stock for months. Last month, I noticed on the website there was note below the boots stating that they would be "in stock Dec 14", so I set the date in my calendar. When Dec 14 rolled around, turns out they were available earlier and were sold out by the ... Read Moretime I tried to buy them. Why list a date if you're not going to stick to it? Also, would be nice if there was a "notify me when back in stock" option on the website. I am not someone who is constantly on the website browsing to make purchases, would be nice to know that I don't have to be constantly checking the website.

December 12, 2020

boots built to last

No hesitation in my purchase. Made from bison leather. Comfortable classic slip on style and built to last a lifetime! Love them!

November 21, 2020

Too Narrow

Beautiful boots and well made. Way too narrow.

November 21, 2020

Super Practical and Stylish

I had been wanting buffalo hide boots since I first saw a pair on Dan O'Brien, founder of Wild Idea Buffalo in South Dakota. I am in love with this company's mission to restore the buffalo to the plains, grazing them on open range in their natural environment and humanely harvesting them in the field, providing healthy and delicious meat.... Read More I love the Wild Idea Buffalo/Patagonia partnership to find a use for the hides. The boots are comfortable, practical, durable, stylish, and earth friendly. I like the lace-up design of the men's boots and the pull-on paddock-boot design of the women's. They are perfect for daily work around my barn and ranchette and stylish enough to wear into town. They look great with my Patagonia overalls. Thank you Patagonia and Wild Idea Buffalo.

November 18, 2020

Love These. Hate My Finicky Feet. Buy Them!

I bought these and LOVED them. However, my finicky feet did not. I returned them, but am here to tell you if you don't have weird foot issues, this shoe is amazing. So well made. Beautiful to look at. I wish, wish, wish I could have kept them. I have wide feet and a high arch and am prone to plantar fasciitis. These boots didn't feel tig... Read Moreht or constricting, but I knew after a five-minute try on that they were not meant for me. But I still really dig them. If you have normal feet, run, don't walk, to buy these bad boys. Basically, I'm writing to say if you have normal feet

November 18, 2020

great fit

This boot fits perfectly and I love the buffalo leather.

November 13, 2020

Kinda Narrow

I've always worn a size 6 medium shoe until I got older (63) and now wear from 6 to 6.5, depending on the shoe. I am so glad I ordered size 6.5 in these boots, as they are still narrow and tight in my forefoot, and I am wearing thin socks. I believe they will stretch, but meanwhile, I have removed the lovely cork-lined insoles and exchanged th... Read Moreem for 3/4 length insoles I use in my hiking boots for arch support. Now there is plenty of room! They are also narrow in the opening and take a bit of effort to get into, but I think that will also soften up with time. They have substantial Vibram soles, not just a veneer like you see in other boots and they are beautifully stitched and obviously will last a long while (yay Patagonia!) I think these are gonna work for me!

November 11, 2020

Beautiful boots

I couldn't believe how beautiful and well-made the boots were when I took them out of the box. One fit a little tighter than the other and I'm using a half-orthotic in both to increase the arch support. With that said, I comfortably did a six mile hike the second time out, which made me a huge fan!

November 4, 2020

work boots

Overall, I really like them. I was VERY glad to have them on when I dropped a double pallet on my toe this morning! I'm not yet sold on the pull on design rather than the tie ups, so I'll wait to see on that feature. I like their sturdiness and some-but -not-deep-cleats on the soles. I'm curious why you decided not to make tie ups fo... Read Morer women. I'm planning to use them for a long time. so, all in all, well done!

November 2, 2020

Beautiful boots

Love these boots! Took them out for a spin already and love them. Like any great leather boot, they are quite fitted at first. I wore them in the house with an extra pair of socks to get them stretched a little, and now they are great. The leather and sole are substantial--well made, built to last and look good too!

October 31, 2020

Beautiful Quality

Just received not yet worn. Well made, but for price & work boots expected better arch support & more substantial footbed -has a flimsy looks like cork footbed. A truly supportive substantial cork footbed would have been the best. Boots run small. I am just a 10 but ordered 11 because often need to add orthotics- which sadly it looks like t... Read Morehese boots will need. These JUST fit my foot with light weight wool hiking socks and may not have good room for an orthotic. I was afraid they would be clunky but they are not and sole is more of a mini Vibram which is nice for my use (more multitasking go anywhere lifestyle including horse riding) but would not be my choice for serious muck/mud work or hiking.

October 31, 2020

Men want these boots, too

Bummed that you didnt make this style of boot for men. Im not a fan of lace up boots.

October 30, 2020

Great looking boots... but why only for women?

These look amazing, but unfortunately aren't made in men's sizes. I wear boots like these all the time (love my Dr. Martens). Great idea on using the buffalo leather, Patagonia, but please make the style available to men if you don't plan to already!

October 30, 2020

Ethical Leather

I have not actually purchased these (yet) but am just SO excited to see a brand care about sustainability in such a thorough way. I will feel a million times better purchasing shoes made out of an effort to use the entire animal.

October 30, 2020

Are these for hard work?

Hoping people who bought can answer this: they feature a woman in a skirt and these dont have a reinforced toe (like the mens). Are these really for hard work? Like, for working in construction, etc? I want a boot that isnt slippry when Im on a ladder in the rain, and that can take my stepping on nails and dropping beams, etc - is this product what... Read More Im looking for or is it for people who are working walking around town in skirts?

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches