Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Macro Puff® Hoody

Write Your Review

4.57 /5

Filter Reviews

All 47 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Macro Puff® Hoody

4.57
Kinda Large
September 14, 2020

Great Jacket for layering

In northern Minnesota we need to be able to wear more than just a base layer during the winter. This jacket actually allows that without restricting movement or feeling tight.

September 3, 2020

Super warm, puffy, different than other puff products

I owned a nano puff hoody. I want a thicker jacket for the deep winter days in the northeast. This jacket is definitely toasty. The style is not your slim, fitted style. It is a lot more puffy than the typical nano or micro puff so be clear on this particular style before you purchase.

August 10, 2020

Perfect For School

This jacket is perfectly sized and looks great! Will keep you warm during the cold months and provides a fashionable alternative to larger coat without sacrificing functionality

June 17, 2020

Fit Bad

The sleeves and shoulders were too small in a Medium (62.5 170lbs) but the torso was PLENTY big enough. I tried a Large and it was massive - I could easily fit 2 of me in it. I returned it at once. Hopefully they can dial in the fit with next seasons run. The 2019 MacroPuff is far beyond regular fit.

February 29, 2020

Best Patagonia winter coat I own

The macro puff hoody is true to size yet would have room if you need a mid layer. It is incredibly warm for its smaller size, has a tapered, longer look. It has twice the warmth of the Nano puff so it solves wearing two coats on a cold day. However, because the fabric allows air circulation, you can wear this on days in the 40s. Walked the dog in 1... Read More5 degrees and was warm with one coat. The jacket is a little longer, the drawstring is well done both in the pocket or on the interior, and this is a well made coat. I own the better sweater in XL, the Nano in XXL, and this is the best fitting and best looking in an XL. The sleeves are warm due to extra insulation. I tried a micro puff but it was an awkward fit as either too small in the XL or too big in XX L plus it was a shiny material. The macro puff is a more Matte fabric. The hood on the macro lays nicely and looks good unlike the way the nano puff hoody looks which was why I chose the nano without the hood. I think Patagonia nailed this design in styling, fit, size, breathable fabric, and overall warmth. This is my favorite Patagonia and would highly recommend it.

February 25, 2020

Screams Quality!

I owned the Micro-Puff which was great and used it often in the winter hiking in Austria. I was completely satisfied. However... they have somehow out done themselves! The quality of this jacket is amazing, micro felt a little fragil, like I had to be on the look out for sharp edges. But this seems more rugged and has great wind protection. Highly ... Read Morerecommend and worth the investment!

February 15, 2020

Lightweight, versatile, and warm

I wanted a jacket to replace a Patagonia Guide Parka that I had been wearing since 2006. I already have a Down Sweater and Nanopuff hoody, so I was looking for something warmer. I was also looking at the Fitz Roy Down Parka. I could not find any retailers in the area who carried the Macro Puff, so I was relying on reviews and information from Patag... Read Moreonia. I finally decided to try the Macro Puff and put it on my Christmas List. My wife forgot to order it, so I didn't actually receive it until mid January. When I took it out of the box, I was really disappointed at first. It didn't seem like it would be any warmer than my existing jackets and so I thought I had spent a lot of money to duplicate what I already had. I did like the appearance and the fit, however, so I thought I would try it for a few days before sending it back. I live in the Midwest and go out for daily walks with my Golden Retriever. So having a warm coat that could block the wind and do the job for 60 minutes walking outside was my top priority. Giving that this coat was going to be worn for more vigorous activity and in wetter conditions, another important consideration was getting a synthetic coat as opposed to a down parka. I have now worn the Macro Puff jacket for over 20 walks in varying conditions, and I like it better and better every time I wear it. The jacket is amazingly lightweight--it's hard to believe when you put it on that it will keep you warm. But it does. The cut fits me very well; I like the extra length. I really like the lack of bulk. Unlike my previous coat, the zipper works flawlessly and is easy to use. The design of the front zipper and hood provides wind protection for the neck, something that might be the most enjoyable feature of all. How does it work in the cold: Before, I would wear my Nano puff hoody until the temperature went below 35-40 degrees (depending on wind). With the Macro Puff, I can go down to mid-20s wearing only a polo shirt underneath and still be warm. In fact, anything more and I overheat while walking. Two days ago, we went out on a 13 degree day with light wind. I did add a 1/4 zip long-sleeve base layer and a nano puff vest--and was perfectly warm the entire time. So the Macro Puff hoody has become my go-to coat. I still wear the down sweater for more public occasions because I think it looks really nice and it is even more lightweight. The Nano Puff Hoody is now relegated to more backyard work and something to throw on on a slightly chilly day. On the few sub-zero days, I'll just go back to the old Guide Parka. But. overall, I think the Macro Puff jackets may be the best coats Patagonia has ever made. The only improvement I would suggest would be a waist cinch because it can get a little drafty. And the only slight criticism is that the adjustment toggles for the hem and the hood are not user-friendly and difficult to use, especially if wearing gloves.

February 13, 2020

Great Jacket, Design a bit misplaced

Looking at many of the reviews, people are being ridiculous. The fit is looser and longer? Yeah of course, it's a parka design meant to fit over other layers. Big hood? Fits over a helmet and likely a couple of over hoods. Heavy 2 way zipper? So it won't interfere with a harness. As a stand alone over a baselayer the jacket is about rig... Read Moreht for skiing in 5-20 degrees. For actual mountaineering/alpine climbing I would only use as a belay type parka (4th layer) unless it was <0 temps. I've also used as a throw over layer when backcountry skiing on the way down - just stay out of the trees! Excellent casual wear jacket, soft and comfy, but you'll want a shell if it's actually raining or snowing heavily. My main issue with the jacket is that it seems like it's trying to serve two masters. The light weight and 10D face fabric suggest mid-layer, while the rest of the design and fill volume suggest parka - but the light and low weather resistant face fabric reduces its capabilities as a belay-type parka. I would suggest that Patagonia either move to a heavier 15-20D fabric (although it would then likely be too similar to the upcoming 2020 DAS parka) or move to something more similar to what is on the nano air range. I would also flair out the bottom hem 1-2". Where are the macropuff zip-on pants for cold weather mountaineering?

February 13, 2020

Most Excellent!!!

You could stand naked on Hoth, wearing only this jacket, and be toasty! Its big, baggy, comfy, layers perfectly. I'm in the snow three or more days a week, for 8 hours at a stretch, at 10,500 feet. I wear an R2, the Macro Hoody and a shell, and I'm all good. I also sweat complete through the Macro many times and it dries out super fast. ... Read More Bravo Patagonia, well done!

January 21, 2020

Excellent Jacket

I agree overall the fit seems a little large. I have a down sweater jacket also which is a medium and fits perfect. This seemed large at first. Once I washed and dried it, it did seem to fit better. It is still a little bigger than I would like. Overall the warmth is noticeably better that the down sweater. I live in Wisconsin and my son plays hock... Read Moreey, so we are in the cold all the time. I am amazed how warm this jacket is for being as light as it is. It is also very easy to move in.

January 4, 2020

Macro Puff

I absolutely love this jacket! Exceptionally warm and cozy, light weight and convenient. My girlfriend and I had no complaints about any aspect of this jacket. Used it in cold conditions down to 28 degrees with a Patagonia fleece and wool shirt underneath 10/10

December 30, 2019

The Abominable Snowman

My MacroPuff jacket is spot on. It is light, well-made, and comfortable. In nasty weather it may be exceptionally cold outside...but I’m not. In other words; it is a Patagonia!

December 26, 2019

Macro Puff is Great

This jacket is superbly warm, and I love the piece of mind of not having to worry about it getting soaked in a drizzle. Obviously, a little puffier and not as slender fit as the micro puff, but a very essential product.

December 26, 2019

It's not warm as advertised.

With advertisement of 'wamrth and warmer' etc, I decided to purchase this jacket to wear in NYC. However, it's not warm at around 32 degree which contradicts to the ad. And it's not wind proof. It is chilly when cold wind blows. And wind is coming to my arms and back. Not sure if it's defect or exaggerated. I'm confuse... Read Mored that people in reviews said it's warm. Other than this, I like this jacket in general.

December 25, 2019

Great jacket

Great jacket

December 19, 2019

Great Puffy

This is a great puffy! The design and features are awesome, a full coverage hood, two way front zipper, pockets where I need them (including two internal drop-in pockets), user friendly elastic cuff, warm, light, and fairly low bulk. Patagonia nailed it with this one! Thanks for a great piece!

December 19, 2019

Perfect for Philly weather

Purchased the macro puff hoody because the micro sweater was not long enough nor warm enough. This new version keeps out the winds that have become much stronger this year. The extra length is exact what was needed. My favorite winter coat.

December 16, 2019

M macro puff hoody

Love it. Best coat I’ve ever had.

December 16, 2019

Not what was expected

The gray color of the Macro Puff Hoody is very dull and not the satin sheen with subtle fabric pattern as my Micro Puff Hoody. I ordered a size medium and found it fit across the shoulders but was very loose in other areas. The sleeves and coat were both too long for me and the amount of insulation was much thinner than expected (by comparison with... Read More my Micro Puff and advertising comments of double insulation in the Macro) especially in the sleeves. I returned it. Thank You.

December 10, 2019

Probably the best cold weather jacket Patagonia makes.

Probably the best cold weather ever made. It's incredibly light, yet keeps me warm below freezing if I'm moving. Standing still, layering is still recommended. It runs a bit larger than the Micro Puff Hoody(also another greatest hit) but as a cold weather jacket, it's fine because I can layer. The hem is definitely longer than usual ... Read Moreand the body is a bit more roomy. I thought the hood was too big, but I found the hidden drawstring and it fits perfectly when adjusted. The sleeve length is typical medium length from Patagonia sizing. It's windproof as well. But not waterproof, which would be this jacket's only downfall. Aesthetically, it looks great and not super puffy like other similar jackets. Easily wearable anywhere from the trails to the workplace without looking out of place. Well worth it. Better than down.

December 9, 2019

Macro Puff Hoody

It is hard to believe that such a light jacket can be so warm! I had difficulty deciding between a Large and X-Tra Large, so I ordered both and your sales people were extremely accomodating in returning the coat I didn't need. Thanks so much!!!

December 9, 2019

Perfect weight

This coat is prefect for the 10-25 degree weather range and performs well in the windy, cold Montana weather. I love that the hem is long for coverage. I am 5' 2" weighing 118lbs; I'm a bit disproportionate for my height, with a shorter torso and longer inseam, so this coat covers my rear completely (which I prefer) instead of mid-wa... Read Morey like the model. I purchased a women's small which is just right for my frame. I can comfortably layer underneath if I want.

December 3, 2019

Very lightweight

Disappointed, coat is way too lightweight for the cost. I just returned it for a refund.

Response from Patagonia
December 23, 2019

Hi Nicole! We're sorry to hear you had to return this. This jacket was actually designed with a minimalist intent, so it is one of our lightest, most packable jackets. If you're looking for a heavier jacket, we'd recommend the [Men's Jackson Glacier Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-jackson-glacier-down-jacket/27920.html).

November 30, 2019

Really Solid Jacket

This jacket is a great jacket. It's well manufactured and fairly comfortable. I ended up sending it back because it was larger than expected compared to other similar Patagonia Jackets. This jacket won't disappoint, but probably worth trying out in the store first for sizing.

November 24, 2019

Just what I was looking for

Nice and warm. Have had the micro puff for years. It’s great for everyday use but when it’s freezing this is now my go to.

November 20, 2019

Perfect coat

I needed a warm coat with a hood when I snow blow my driveway. I live in Montana & the East winds where I live are brutal - 20/30 MPH with temps in the teens and below. This coat with a sweater or down sweater are the perfect answer.

November 16, 2019

Fantastic jacket

The best lightweight warmth I have experienced. Great quality, fit and materials.

November 15, 2019

Macro puff hoody

What a great jacket for northern Mn winters. Cuts the wind light weight very warm when I’m out walking or cross country skiing

November 14, 2019

Macropuff hoodie

I love my jacket. It is very warm and light weight. Here in Iowa we have had some near zero days with plenty of wind and I had no trouble while wearing the jacket.

November 14, 2019

I LOVE this thing!

It's my new go-to, every day jacket. I have a Nano Air Hoody from a few years ago that can now take a rest on the bench, after years of great service. There's a new sheriff in town, and his name is Sheriff Macro Puff!

November 11, 2019

Very warm

Seems to be very warm but waiting for winter to really know A little bulky and longer than what I usually wear but will be using as a belay jacket for ice climbing and lunch/chill out jacket for ski touring.

November 7, 2019

Macro puff

It fits great under my ski jacket and my rain gear to keep me nice and cozy and warm

November 6, 2019

Fabulous Product

Another glorious product so much warmth Great addition to the lineup

November 3, 2019

Great jacket, updated fit

Really like the longer jacket and longer sleeves. Finally found a Patagonia jacket where a medium fits tall and lean body types. Neck is a little tight when zipped up and it’s sleeves are not as warm as I expected, but overall very happy with it.

November 1, 2019

WARM

Super warm for those -5* mornings.

October 31, 2019

My favorite new jacket to add to my line up

When I first put the jacket on it was like finding paradise. The jacket is so warm,light and fluffy. And fits like me like a glove. Money well spent.

October 30, 2019

Macro Puff

Great jacket. Still has room for layering. Great length too.

October 27, 2019

Great Jacket with Minor Flaws

Excellent jacket for walking around when it's moderately cold but not very cold. Plenty of warmth throughout, and when it gets colder the hood is very warm, fits well, and can be snugged tight so there's no air leakage. I had a tailor tighten the elastic cuffs because the sleeves were too long for me and the cuffs weren't snug enough... Read More to keep the sleeves from dropping over my hands. My only other problem is that the backing for the right side of the front zipper is maybe 2" wide and quite stiff. The problem is that when the jacket is zipped up 3/4 of the way the backing doesn't bend and so the base of the hood keeps rubbing against my chin instead of laying down like it should. Excellent jacket, but rated 4 stars instead of 5 because of the sleeve length/cuff tightness and the uncomfortably stiff zipper backing.

October 23, 2019

Macro puff too macro

Sizing way to big compared to every Patagonia jacket I own. Sitting in 45 degree, somewhat windy weather, I got super cold. This is not up to Patagonia standards. What happened guys?

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

Sorry to hear you were disappointed by this jacket. Your [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) has been processed but please reach out to us for any further product recommendations or sizing assistance!

October 23, 2019

Patagonia Marco- Puff Hoody

I bought the Patagonia Macro Puff Hoody and I love it. It is extremely warm and it fits very well. I am 5'11' and the medium size fits very well. It is light weight but there is still a ton of loft to the synthetic down. Overall it was a great purchase, I can't wait to use it in the mountains this winter.

October 17, 2019

Puff Goodness

I am 6'1" and a 185lbs and ordered a Large it feels a bit on the big size so I can fit a nice layer underneath. It still fits under my ski coat well too.

October 16, 2019

Lofty, Warm & Light

Awesome jacket! This has replaced both my Patagonia Down Hoody as well as my older Black Diamond Synthetic Belay Jacket. It is the perfect do-all jacket! It's warm, light, provides full coverage, and is full of thoughtful features. It fits a little bigger than the Down Hoody, which is nice for both layering as well as keeping your butt warm. T... Read Morehe inner drop pockets are great for storage, and the two way zipper is great. There is an awesome hood with a unique way it cinches (hugs) your head. Oh yeah, and it's super comfy.

October 6, 2019

Mens Macro Puff™ Hoody

I put it on in place of my similar Micro Puff(competitor) and oh my god it is so warm. As I walk at least two miles a day in Vermont winters I know that this winter I will be warm. There is plenty of room for wearing a sweater, and it hangs over my mid section well.

September 3, 2019

New Burly Synthetic

I took this jacket out while climbing in Toulomne last month. Wore it at night and early mornings when temps dropped. Superb warmth in a startlingly light package. I haven't put this through the real cold test yet. So far I'm very impressed with this piece. I typically wear medium and large in Patagonia products depending. I went for the ... Read Morelarge and glad I did. You can layer really nicely with this. Stoked on the fit.

August 29, 2019

Bring on Winter!

The hoody arrived quickly, no drama. I would love to try it out right away, but winter is more than a couple of weeks in the future. I was impressed that the package, when received, seemed impossibly light; that's a good sign. It is significantly longer than the Micro Puff, and the two-way zipper is a big plus. Now for some cold temps to reall... Read Morey make it prove its worth...

August 26, 2019

Excellent warmth to weight ratio

It’s hard to believe that a jacket that weighs so little can be so warm! Great fitting, longer in body than micro puff to keep cold out.. Plenty of room to layer underneath when temps drop. Highly recommend this jacket!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches