Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Macro Puff® Hoody

Write Your Review

4.36 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 22 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Macro Puff® Hoody

4.36
Kinda Large
March 10, 2020

LOVE this coat; hate the color

I'll get the color issue out of the way. "Light Balsamic" is straight up purple. There's noting "Light" or "Balsamic" about it. If that's your thing, you're good. I got mine on Worn Wear for half the sticker price so had to go with what I found. Despite absolutely hating this color, I LOVE this coat... Read More! The cut does not discriminate against those of us who love Patagonia products and are shaped like actual women, not giraffe tall and built like a walking stick. It's exceptionally warm, dare I say warmer than my Down Sweater Hoody? This has no cold spots like the Down Sweater gets in a driving wind. The 2-way zipper is like a gift from the goddess, offering functionality while sitting on the bus or high-stepping it up a steep, rocky trail. The hood cinches well and is also fully insulated so offers great warmth and wind protection. The chest pocket fits my iPhoneX with room to spare, the hand pockets are large enough for gloved hands to fit comfortably inside. I'm not crazy about the inside drop-in pockets as they are against the outside of the coat so anything you put in them is actually sitting against the back of your hands if your hands are in the hand pockets. It's tough to explain but I refer to them as inside-out pockets and I'm not a fan. I do wish the top of the storm flap has a soft fleece lining of some sort at the chin. Because the zipper comes up quite high to accommodate the hood, I find the fabric sticks to my skin...not at all cozy or comfy. I also own the Micro Puff jacket and use it for cold weather bike commuting, but I have never loved that coat as it is cut for those resembling the aforementioned giraffe-like walking stick. That coat in a regular cut with a 2-way zipper like this Macro Puff would be a total game changer in my book. All in all, I could not be happier with this Macro Puff, despite the hideous color. And just one last thing...Hey Patagonia, enough with the slim cut on everything geared towards active and athletic females. Some of us are actually shaped like women.

February 27, 2020

Jacket Style Parka Length

For the weight, this jacket is very warm. But I the design is flawed. The xs on my 5/'3"100lb frame fits long and narrow, almost a parka length, while the width of this jacket stays the same towards the bottom. This design restricts my movement. It should be at least two to four inches shorter to work as a jacket. If you have hips and wid... Read Moreer hip bone, go up a size at least.

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2020

Thank you for the comments here on the fit and we are sorry to hear that there were some sizing troubles. We created the waist to fit more snug in order to trap in as much heat as possible, but we totally understand that this can cause some troubles. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back for a return or exchange.

February 18, 2020

Good, but too long and no way to adjust hood

Patagonia desperately needs petite sizes. For my chest and hips I need a M. When I went up from a S, it did get a little wider, but mainly it got way longer. In some ways I appreciate the length for the warmth, but it's a no-go since the pockets go to the bottom of the coat and so my phone awkwardly digs into me when I walk. The hood sinks ove... Read Morer my eyes, with no way to adjust it. That said - I found it to be pretty warm for it's size. It was great in 50 degree weather with not much on underneath. There are tall people who are skinny, and short people who are wide. Please address this! For this price, it needs to fit well, so I will return it.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2020

Hi there, thanks so much for sharing your thoughts regarding the addition of petite sizing with us! Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that hoody once we're back up and running if you were looking to do so and haven't already.

February 1, 2020

Great winter jacket

I was looking for a lightweight packable jacket for a winter trip to Japan. I live in California and run cold all the time, so I wanted something warm as Japan can get cold in December, but I also needed something that wouldn't make me overheat walking in and out of stores, and also be packable enough to shove in a bag when I didn't need ... Read Moreit. This jacket was perfect! It is windproof and warm, so I was warm and comfortable even though it was super windy one day. I just zipped it up and didn't feel the wind at all! When it got warmer I just unzipped it to let air in, and it was very easy to take it off and shove it in my bag when I went into a store, and since it was very light I didn't mind carrying it around. I appreciate the deep hood and the zippers on the deep pockets. All in all, it is the perfect urban jacket, even though it is designed and marketed as an outdoors, active jacket. For sizing, I usually wear a medium in everything, but I find the fit on Patagonia women's jackets a bit odd. Sometimes they are too snug on the hips, sometimes too tight in the chest, sometimes too big all over. This one was a comfortable medium, it was flattering but also left room for a sweater. It is not tight in the hip which is important as it runs a little longer than other jackets.

January 6, 2020

So far, so good

This is a new purchase for me so I haven't gotten to test it over the long haul or in weather below 40 degrees. As far as looks and fit, I love the hood and collar. When it is zipped up just like in the video, it feels very protected from the cold, even more so than the nano that I had previously. It's also more attractive than I thought ... Read Moreit would be. I am 5'4" and currently a little up in my weight, around 130. All my previous purchases with Patagonia have been size small and x-small. I purchased the small as usual and the fit is perfect in the shoulders and top though slightly snug in the hips. See more on that below. The zipper also functions nicely. Sometimes two-ways can be finicky. I don't think there will be a problem with this one as it is nice and smooth Prior to this purchase I tried the fiona parka and could not stand how tight the shoulders were. I thought it might have something to do with the slim fit so I returned it and only started looking at coats that were regular fit. There are not as many options as there are in slim - which is a total bummer! I want function, movement and comfort and the ability to layer. I'm not sure you can get all that in a slim fit. One might be thinking you can size up, but then you risk the length and seams being off and there will still be the same amount of tapering. That said, my next purchase was the nano parka because it is a regular fit and b/c I liked my other nano (not in parka length). Alas, I also felt it was too snug to layer underneath and not warm enough, especially b/c the parka does not come with a hood and the collar is too short to offer enough neck protection in the winter months for me. After much searching and a VERY accommodating return and exchange policy (and excellent customer service) I went with this Macro jacket b/c it has a hood and it is a regular fit and should offer more warmth. Although it is not a parka like I wanted, it is longer in the waste. That said, as another reviewer mentioned it is snug in the waste area and I am sure that if I sized up the shoulders and top portion would be far too large. Luckily, it's not too bad and there is a two way zipper if needed when wearing bulkier pants, etc. Currently I wear a size 6-8 pant. Usually I'm closer to a 4-6 and I imagine that should make a small difference. There are cinches at the bottom as well, for what purpose I don't know b/c even the model in the pictures and video don't need them. You can also sort of see how the jacket tapers on the models. Hope that helps! I don't live near a local store so some of these details in online reviews are nice to have!

December 31, 2019

Warmth without the Weight

I have the micro puff and have liked it for not so chilly weather ... love the macro puff ... toasty warm and is so comfortable to wear ... best cold weather jacket I have ever owned

December 31, 2019

Women's Macro Puff® Hoody

A highly recommended, terrific winter coat to keep you warm on cold winter walks in Pittsburgh, PA, or skiing in Park City, Utah, In fact, I took a hard spill on the slopes, careened down the hill, and luckily was stopped by a tree stump. My ribs bruised, yet the coat remained unscathed.

December 30, 2019

Great coat

I ordered this coat for a trip we were taking to CO not knowing how cold it was there! Loved everything about this coat but for me it fit a little snug in the hip area so I should have sized up. Was going to return it for a different size but my daughter bought it from me since she’s taller and thinner fit her perfectly with enough room to layer un... Read Morederneath.

December 19, 2019

Very nice product

Very nice product

December 18, 2019

Holy Moly, It’s Toasty!

It doesn’t get Arctic cold in Tennessee, but it can definitely get chilly enough to warrant a jacket as warm as the Macro Puff. I absolutely LOVE it and am stoked to take it up north this February. I know it’s gonna keep me nice and toasty in cold/snowy weather. Everyone at work is jealous as they can be (Ha Ha) They didn’t realize the Macro existe... Read Mored! Can’t wait to pick out the perfect companion GORE TEX shell. I’ll be ready to go! Thank y’all so much! Highly HIGHLY recommend this jacket!

December 15, 2019

Not warm

After spending 45 minutes on the phone with Patagonia I decided on this jacket over the hi loft options. Total disappointment. the external pocket, drop in pockets, and the cord at the bottom are great. However it is not warm at all. Especially for a jacket of this cost it should be a lot warmer. Complete disappointment.

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

Hi Michelle, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the level of warmth the hoody provides. If you're not happy with it you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Overall, the Macro Puff isn't the warmest hoody we offer, if you're looking for a step up in warmth we'd suggest the [Hi-Loft Down Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-hi-loft-down-sweater-hoody/84907.html?dwvar_84907_color=LIT&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=womens%2Bhi%2Bloft%2Bdown%2Bhoody&lang=en_US&start=1).

December 12, 2019

Completely underwhelmed, not warm

After spending about 45 minutes on the phone with Patagonia I identified this jacket as the best for my knees. It is nowhere near as warm as it should be given the cost. I like the elastic at the wrists, drawcord at bottom, and the copious pockets. But for a jacket this expensive it should be a lot warmer.

December 10, 2019

Wonderful!

I received my Macro Puff Hoody just before a recent trip to ski in Yellowstone. It was snowing sideways so the hood provided soft protection from wind and snow. Two way zipper is a great feature as longer length can be modified by opening zipper at the bottom. Works well for touring. Additional insulation in body gives this jacket 5 stars when worn... Read More under a shell in stormy conditions

December 9, 2019

Beautiful light jacket

I love how light the coat is and the warmth is great!

December 8, 2019

So warm

Love how warm this coat is! In below freezing temps I have had only a long sleeve shirt on underneath and it has kept me cozy. My only complaint is for how much this coat is, it would be nice if it wasn't so plain jane. It is all one color; nothing different inside from the outside.

December 1, 2019

Ready for any weather

I got the Macro Puff Hoody as an early Christmas present for my daughter. It replaces a down jacket that she wore for many years. She opted for the synthetic fill this time because she is outside in all kinds of snow and rain. She is a lacrosse coach in New Hampshire, and the season starts in February! When I asked if she liked the new Micro Puff H... Read Moreoody, she responded, “LOVE!”

November 30, 2019

it works

This jacket was a delight in the Grand Canyon with temperatures in the low 40's. Looking forward to colder temps with it.

November 25, 2019

Not that warm

This jacket is lightweight and well made, but it's not a winter jacket. It's more like a fall hoodie. Not worth the price at all.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Ariane! Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you did not find the Macro Puff Hoody to be warm enough. We recommend using it as a midlayer under a [shell](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-hard-shell-jackets-vests?start=0&sz=24#tile-3) for frigid conditions. Of course, if you are unsatisfied with this item, you are always welcome to [return it](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 24, 2019

This jacket is absolutely amazing

This jacket is absolutely amazing in every way possible!!!

November 16, 2019

Macro Puff Womens

Having both a micro puff and a macro puff jacket, I can attest to the differences. Both are light & warm with layers in cold weather. The macro puff provides extended hip and neck coverage with a substantially thicker neck and hood. I recently wore the macro puff on a trip to Sedona in November. It provided perfect warmth with one capilene laye... Read Morer while relaxing outside at night on a patio.

October 27, 2019

great

Very warm. I will be wearing this all fall until I have to transition to my Canada goose. Looks great. One piece of feedback is that the jacket is long for my torso.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches