Back to Product

Patagonia Stealth Work Station - Fly Fishing Wader Bag

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 7 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Stealth Work Station - Fly Fishing Wader Bag

4.1/5
September 11, 2021

Perfect Balance of Size and Function

I'm relatively new to fly fishing and in an attempt to keep costs down I've been using a sling bag that was designed for other activities as my fly fishing bag. Eventually, it got too frustrating to keep adapting to equipment for designed for other uses (getting my phone out without dropping it in the stream was especially tricky). The St... Read Moreealth Work Station is such a big improvement in this regard because it allows me to keep my gear profile (and costs) low, but also really accessible. Because I'm trying to keep the gear to a minimum, the Work Station is a perfect size and allows me to pack both my tacky fly box and a smaller nymph box as well as my phone, leaders, and maybe some snacks, a small water purifier, or a flask. I also have my tippets and tools tied to the many anchor points on the outside and appreciate the mesh pocket on the front for less frequently used tools and my desiccant. I especially like the magnet on the front for holding my nipper from swinging around making noise. I've only secured the bag to my wader suspenders and haven't experimented with the belt option but so far I'm very satisfied with how low profile it stays in front of me. My main concern when I bought it was that my stripped line would tangle with the bag or the stuff hanging off of it, but so far I haven't had that problem. The only things I would like are a waterproof pocket and a place to secure a water bottle. I think I can figure out a way to secure a small nalgene with a carbiner, but it does seem possible to have a small sleeve on the bottom like the Stealth Sling bag. I know that would help me, because when I forgo water while fishing, I always regret it and sometimes find myself leaving the stream earlier than I'd like. My overall review of the Work Station is overwhelmingly positive. The first time I had it on the water was the best fishing day I've ever had. I'm not saying it was the bag that caught the fish, but I certainly had a fun time fishing and using it.

September 10, 2021

Convenient Go-Pack

I bought this as a waist-pack without an integrated belt. I clip it to my real belt, or my dog's leash handle, while hiking. I use this bag almost daily, and am overall extremely happy with the purchase. I wish that this had the bottle tube that the other stealth packs have. The fabric on the front pocket is nice, but stains very easily. Woul... Read Mored prefer if the stealth products were made from the Black Hole material. I think the inside back wall of the pack could be improved with elastic straps for horizontally securing pens / pocket knives / flash lights, as well as an interior loop at the top for clipping things inside the bag. The black plastic clips are hard to trust. When not in use, these straps are often in the way. I learned to clip them into the opposite ends in order to keep the straps laying flat.

Response from Patagonia
September 20, 2021

Thank you for the detailed feedback and the suggestions. We'll pass them along to our designers.

September 7, 2021

This is one of those things you dont think you really need until you have it.

I've always liked the front pouch of my waders for keeping things handy, but they are limited in their carrying capacity. The Stealth Work Station puts all the essentials front and center where you need them. Right now, I use it as a front pouch while wet wading. Better than pockets in my shorts or pants and more convenient then swinging my St... Read Moreealth Sling around for a quick fly change. I added a foam patch to my off-hand side to keep fly secure. The fact that I can easily attach it to my waders or sling makes it an essential piece of gear that I can transfer from kit to kit as needed. Yup, didn't know I needed it, but sure glad I have it.

September 4, 2021

Minimalist Approved

I own every possible piece of fly fishing product you make and have been teased by Mr. Chouinard for being overly equipped. Mr. Minimal is rubbing off on me and the new Wader Work Station is just the ticket and very well designed for someone who wants just the bare essentials or an extra pocket for your waders!

September 1, 2021

heavier than i thought!

i was going to retrofit this with a cross body strap as the shape is so perfect. shallow compartments so one isnt digging in their bag as so much just falls to the bottom. but i neglected to read the weight. and it was too heavy. really enlightened product, but all the structure makes it heavier. returned it.

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2021

Hi Ann, thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Stealth Work Station - Fly Fishing Wader Bag is a technical fishing bag and made to be more durable for its function making it heavier than other bags. Try taking a look a look at the Ultralight Black Hole® Sling 8L. It's slightly lighter and is made specifically for crossbody wear, https://www.patagonia.com/product/ultralight-black-hole-sling-backpack-8-liters/49020.html?dwvar_49020_color=BLK.

August 26, 2021

Does What's Expected

I use this small work station for fly fishing. It's attached to a FishPond belt. I prefer not to carry a lot of gear and this small pouch has enough space to hold backup flies and tippet and more. It's got plenty of space. Well made too. I may have to get another...

August 12, 2021

Some improvements, but...

I was a big fan of the older version of the Wader Work Station and was very intrigued to see what improvements have been made with the newer Stealth version. The Stealth Work Station is slightly larger than before, and more comfortably accommodates the double sided Tacky fly boxes I use most of the time when trout fishing. Fortunately it hasn&#x27... Read More;t swollen to the point where it starts to obscure your feet and is still significantly slimmer than the average chest pack. The stretchy front pocket is a nice replacement for the older style's two pockets, which as well as being less versatile, tended to look pretty goofy if they were remotely full. My main issue with the newer version is/are the fly patch(es). The foam patch on the older version was a key piece of the puzzle for me, the hook & loop replacement only works if you use barbed hooks, which no self respecting trout angler ought to. Barbless hooks fall off almost immediately. I was skeptical of this new feature but decided to give it a go, sure enough I lost every single fly I placed there throughout a half day of fishing. Part of the issue is the fact that they're located on the sides of the pack, any time you bring your arms in front of you and slightly to the side, whether to cast, or access the pack, your arms rub against the fly patch. This is an extremely poor choice of material and location and frankly makes the pack unusable for its intended purpose in my opinion. Of course, this can largely be remedied by using larger barbed hooks, but frankly I'd expected better from Patagonia than to design an item around something like that.

Response from Patagonia
August 12, 2021

Hi Rob, thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment that you've experienced with the bag. This is super helpful feedback and we'll pass it along to our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches