Back to Product

R1® Gloves

Write Your Review

3.9/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 16 Reviews

Clear All

R1® Gloves

3.9/5
True To Size
January 6, 2020

Great winter fishing glove!

I have been using these gloves for winter fishing and they’ve been a game changer. They keep my hands warm and dry and still allow me to manage my line appropriately.

January 4, 2020

Great gloves for cold weather

Great gloves for cold weather

December 26, 2019

R1 Gloves don't fit

I measured my hand as instructed and the gloves arrived way too small. Forget your measurements around the knuckles etc and go back to small, medium, large and extra large. As I originally suspected I am likely a large, and not the "M" you send me! Btw the "M" is tight on my wife's small hand. You really blew it.

December 16, 2019

Fly fishing gloves

Nicely made. Smooth with no seams. I wear an XL and these are just a bit tight. Makes wearing for long periods of time a bit uncomfortable.

December 9, 2019

FANTASTIC GLOVES!

I TOTALLY LOVE THESE GLOVES! I have a 500 gallon water feature with 20 ft. stream in my backyard that I run year round in Toledo, and so it fills with lots of leaves during fall. The water temperature is now 38 degrees and cleaning the leaves out is painfully cold for my hands, and so I thought I would give these gloves a try. Yesterday I spent an ... Read Morehour with my hands in the water , temp. outside 40 degrees, and incredibly my hands stayed warm and dry. AMAZING! And so after finishing that project, I washed all my house windows for 3 hours, wearing these gloves, with my hands comfortable warm and dry the entire time. I bought the size M after measuring my hands and they are a good fit although probably kinda small, although I believe a large could be to big for me. So I do think that if you want fairly loose gloves that you need to wear for several hours, I would suggest you order a size up from your measurement. Reviews of other similar gloves on other online sites (mostly fishing sites) are generally negative because the gloves leak---but not these gloves. Thank you Pantagonia for offering such a fantastic, reasonable priced product for keeping hands warm and dry when immersed in cold water during cold / wintering weather. I AM SO HAPPY WITH THESE GLOVES : ))

December 8, 2019

Working well so far

I picked up a pair of these to wear during inclement weather duck hunting in hopes of keeping my hands warm and dry. So far they have been great! They keep my hand dry when in the rain, putting out decoys or picking up ducks. They are warm most of the time but I have had my hands get cold when just sitting completely still before dawn. Dexterity is... Read More great and I can fully operate my pump action, disengage the safety, pull the trigger and reload with them on. My only complaint is that they are extremely loud when sitting in dead silence. Other then that great glove and I look forward to testing them out fly fishing later this year. I usually wear a L in gloves but got these in an XL and the fit is perfect.

December 2, 2019

R1 Gloves

These are the best gloves for cold temps and anything around the water. Dexterity is as good as it gets for this type of glove. I use them for fishing, kayaking, and duck hunting. Great product.

October 25, 2019

R1 glove

This seems to be a well-made product, but in what world these could be considered an extra-large, I cannot say. A lost island of possessed, marionettes with tiny little doll hands? An alternate dimension peopled entirely by a sub-race of Donald Trump clones? It’s a mystery. Regardless, my hands are still recovering from the 30 seconds they spent in... Read Moreside these pressure chambers. Do not buy these if you possess adult hands,.

Response from Patagonia
November 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear these were too small! Please (reach out)[https://help.patagonia.com/s/] to us if you would like to (return)[https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html] them and need some help with that.

September 17, 2019

Hands down

Fishing in Iceland again this year but without frozen hands! The R1 gloves Insulate and allow plenty of dexterity.... except when tying knots... very pleased.

May 8, 2019

R1 gloves

I bought these gloves to replace another pair of R1s bought 3 years earlier and was disappointed to receive a thinner version of the gloves I love so much. I'm all for saving the planet and recycling plastic bottles but in this case I'd rather see a priority placed on making warm gloves. Guess I’ll go back to gluing the seams on the old o... Read Morenes.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you are unsatisfied with these. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) those back to us for a warranty evaluation. [Contact](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) us if you have any questions!

December 27, 2018

Second time's a charm - buy bigger if you have fat fingers or thicker hands

I wrote a review earlier but it looks like it didnt make the cut. Anyway, I was grumbling about paying shipping twice to get the XL since the L was too tight and constricted blood flow, causing the digits to get colder. Now that the XL have arrived, I am pretty psyched about using them while winter steelhead fishing. I did follow the size guide, me... Read Moreasured and normally take a L not an XL. Because of the compression this material imposes on the hands, buy big if you have fat fingers or thicker hands.

December 18, 2018

Excellent in the field

Much of my work occurs in the field - in cold-water trout streams. I wore these on a recent survey on a snowy, chilly November day. After four hours in the field, I was still warm. My hands did not get wet while working and I love that I still have decent dexterity with the gloves on. I was able to operate the GPS and all other equipment without re... Read Moremoving my gloves. These are great!

October 16, 2018

Best option for winter fishing

I used these all through last winter in Montana and once so far this fall. In my opinion they are the best option available for fishing below 40°F. Pros: They're thin enough to tie on streamers and large dries/nymphs with 3x tippet (I can manage 4x but it takes a minute or two), and they provide just enough feel to strip line without wonderin... Read Moreg whether or not your grabbing line or thin air. Completely wind/water proof and the smooth exterior is excellent for handling fish without removing their slimey exterior. Pretty durable - I've lightly hooked them a few times while tying on streamers/flies and haven't come close to piercing through the glove. Cons: Because the gloves are thin, there really isn't any insulation in them. Basically your hands stay warm by not being wet and not being in the wind. I've used them comfortably to about 30°F, but once you get down into the 20's you really need some thin ski liner gloves in addition to the R1's (but is it really worth fishing when your guides completely freeze over every 45 seconds?)

August 2, 2018

Bob G.

Used them for the first time fly fishing Pyramid Lake NV in full-on 35 degree winter conditions. They have enough dexterity to allow you to keep them on for casting and stripping. Won't go on my next winter steelhead trip without 'em.

January 11, 2017

R1 gloves

They do the job,wish there could be an R skin that was half the thickness. I always end up resorting to Nitril gloves because I want to feel more with my fingers

October 26, 2015

They fit and they work

I've tried a lot of gloves for fall fishing and these are the first pair that deliver a comfortable fit, keep the hands warm and dry, and seem durable enough to last more than a couple of outings.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches