Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Snap-Dry Fishing Hoody

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 46 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Snap-Dry Fishing Hoody

4.7/5
True To Size
April 23, 2021

Great Performance, with the correct size

Took a few tries to get the correct size/color but once found this is my go to jacket for post winter weather. Comfortable in a wide range of temperatures and weather conditions. Material is stretchy and weather proof making this a staple jacket.

March 15, 2021

Light weight/Warm

I haven't a chance to wear this much living in FL. The couple times I've worn the hoodie it's quite warm for it's weight and very comfortable. I am 6'3" and 195 the fit is perfect.

March 8, 2021

Comfortable jacket

My husband received this jacket as a gift and after one day of wearing, he came home from work and said it was so comfortable he didnt want to take this jacket off. Perfect for activity and pockets in all great locations.

March 6, 2021

So far so good

I have only had this out on the river once so far and it was great. It was the last day of the RI freshwater fishing season (28 February 2021) on the Wood River and it was hovering around 38 degrees. This on top of an R1 fleece and a zip top shirt under my RG waders kept me nice and comfortable while I waded the river searching for uncooperative fi... Read Moresh. I am 6 4 and a Large fit me very comfortably with layers. Well done.

March 6, 2021

Wrong product description

This item is advertised as a fishing jacket. The fit was okay, but it lacked key finishing details, such as an elastic or draw-string waist band or water tight zippered pockets. It probably does not belong in your fishing product line.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Hi Roberto, thanks for taking the time to write this review and we are sorry you weren't satisfied with the Men's Snap-Dry Fishing Hoody. At first glance, we can definitely see how this may not appear to be a great option for fishing. The key features that allow this Hoody earn a spot in our fishing line are the lightweight, quick drying material with stretch for articulation, fast-wicking insulation for warmth and comfort on cooler days, and zippered fly-box pocket on left chest. Of course, if you're not satisfied, feel free to return it and find a [Fly Fishing Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-fly-fishing-jackets-vests) that is right for you. We're happy to help with this if you want to give us a call or chat in!

March 5, 2021

Wonderful

Wonderful jacket for a crisp day!

March 4, 2021

Excellent Light Weight Fishing Hoody

I purchased this light weight hoody for spring/summer fishing, and boy am I glad that I did. I am 6'7" 260, and the XXL fits perfectly for me. The jacket has a pocket for your fly box, and two lower hand/item pockets. The interior material is able to keep you warm, but also not overbearing. The hood is also a fitted hood, which fits perfe... Read Morectly over the brim of your hat and helps with the rain. Last but not least, it's a very stylish hoody.

March 3, 2021

Great hoody

I like the mobility in the shoulders. Fits me well. Warm but not too warm. Went fishing the morning after a snow storm, was warm enough with a mid weight merino base layer and this hoody. Breathes well, doesnt get too warm either. I would and have recommended to friends. Only suggestion would be to consider zippered hand warmer pockets.

March 3, 2021

Just Right...

Its a very affordable and comfortable jacket.

March 1, 2021

Great Fit

Love the jacket

February 28, 2021

super comfortable

stretches as needed, great as a windbreaker. So perfect when Im active outside, not too hot. replace fleece hoodies for me

February 27, 2021

Great fit

The material is very comfortable, waterproof is fine and breathes well. My only slight concern is behind the left breast is what looks like an interior pocket...NOT. It is open on the bottom - not sure why. Still, this is a GREAT mid range jacket.

February 26, 2021

Great in the wind

I needed something that was mid-weight and could keep the wind from cutting through me on the water. This shell is great for not only blocking the wind but it's waterproof too so I can pull the hood up when the rain comes.

February 26, 2021

Perfect Fit

I love this jacket, not too heavy but keeps you warm and dry

February 26, 2021

It's what I was looking for

Sheds light drizzle well large enough for layering

February 25, 2021

Great, almost perfect, Hoodie

Very comfortable, light weight with excellent warmth. Theres been some comments on fit but it seems like they are looking for more of the slim fit. This is a regular fit and the fit matches my other Patagonia gear I have in regular fit. The sleeves are a bit long but dont seem to get in the way. About the only complaint is the outer shell seems thi... Read Moren and Im not sure how itll hold up against brushing up trees and shrubs when Im hiking into my favorite fishing hole or collecting wood when camping. Feels like it might snag or tear easily. Other than that, its comfortable and has quickly become my go to when its chilly but not jacket weather. Im 56 and broad shouldered and dont feel restricted in this or sloppy fit. Fits kinda like a traditional pullover hoodie you might wear on the beach or camping.

February 25, 2021

Warm

The style was great for me. Use it for the outdoors, hiking and is warm and comfortable.

February 25, 2021

Great Fishing Jacket

Super comfortable and the stretchy. Allows you to move without feeling restricted while casting. Rain beads off finish. Hood is comfortable and not intrusive when off. Works great as outer layer and very warm over base layer, like fleece or wool sweater. Would have given 5 stars if it came with draw string around waist.

February 24, 2021

Layering

Purchased primarily for layering under a lightweight waterproof wading jacket and for use on it's own. Like it a lot.

February 24, 2021

Best Hoodie Ever!

-One of the best purchases Ive ever made was this particular hoodie. Releasing fish, especially in the wintertime, takes extra effort and most of the time your cuffs get wet and ruin your day. This hoodie, though, dries fast, keep you warm, stylish and gives you full motion while you're casting your fly. If you're looking for a hoodie, es... Read Morepecially for fishing, this is a must-have item from Patagonia!

February 24, 2021

New favorite

I was looking for something I could use for NOCAL beach, hiking and the occasional sprint in the rain. Something warm that would not require layering but that could wrap around waist when it warms up. Ive been buying gear for P-Gear for past 2 decades and this is my new favorite. The only improvement I recommend, sealed pockets, even if Velcro or o... Read Morether non zipper. I use thes for more than my hands. If you keep these open than give me one more internal pocket.

February 23, 2021

Love This Hoody/outer Layer

This hoody is perfect and I have barely taken it off since I got it. Its great for just a sweatshirt type around the house, A light coat outside when the temp is a little chilly, and while I have yet to fish with it yet I think it would be a great mid layer in the winter. As mentioned it does run a little large on me but Im only 5 foot 6 inches so ... Read MoreI get it. I purchased a medium but the Patagonia coats typically run too small on me. Im sure this hoody is more true to size and I shouldve gotten a small. Love this hoody though and I cant wait til my next Patagonia jacket.

February 15, 2021

I see many use-cases

Disclaimer, I havent been able to put this to use yet, due to CoViD! Will update when I do. The first thing I unpacked when the UPS pkg from Patagonia arrived! Well, I haven't used this yet but I can see many use-cases for it. I wanted a jacket for air-travel, it can get chilly in the cabin for long night flights, and I don't want to ca... Read Morerry my heavier winter gear on board. It must have sufficient pocket space for passport, boarding-pass, smart-phone etc... This fits the bill, almost perfectly*! Plus it also works when you sometimes have to disembark/embark on the tarmac while exposed to fall/winter conditions... it should shed wind and rain, and dry fast. The seemingly tough, stretch fabric is good too. (but have yet to be tested against thorn bushes)! Alas, my travels now are mostly for work in urban environs, so I wanted a casual jacket that can be thrown over a shirt or polo for walking around spring/fall conditions and look good enough to wear to a casual dinner. I also wanted a versatile jacket that can shed rain and have some insulation, for fishing in deep-jungle rivers. Although these are tropical forest, they're at elevations of above 400-600m (1200-1800ft) and temperatures can drop to 20 degree Centigrade (low 70s Fahrenheit) at night; and can drop to 15C (60s F) after a rain-storm. This is also relatively packable. I have a Nano Air which is great, but not terribly windproof. I have Nano Puffs which I like, and they're more wind-proof and water resistant, but I'm always worried that it's so delicate and will rip easily, if used by itself, as a shell, especially in the tropical jungle and the Australian bush, where there are many thorny plants! Cant wait for the CoViD craziness to be over, when air-travel is open again, to try this on. * pockets: this jacket has a decent zipped external chest pocket. The hand-warmers pockets are not zipped and too shallow. High risk of losing passport and smartphone when rushing around the airport -I wouldn't use them. I will wear a Patagonia fishing shirt under this jacket, that will provide the extra pockets I need, solves the problem. And it can also pass as a work/dress shirt. I have Asian build, tall and skinny, 175cm 70kg (5'11", 153lb) and the S gives me space to layer a thin insulation underneath, a Nano Puff or thin fleece, especially when not under aerobic activity.

January 28, 2021

Most versatile/comfortable jacket I own

So I got this as a fly fishing jacket and let me tell you this is the most amazing thing I own. I knew it wasnt a shell for rain but wow does it dry fast. I went with the XL for more freedom fly casting but the L fit as well. I ended up bringing this jacket on my JMT through hike and my partner and I agreed it was the best item we brought. Not only... Read More is it amazingly comfortable because of the fleece lining but we would go swimming, not having a towel, and just put this on afterward; it would dry me, then dry itself simultaneously keeping me warm. It is extremely functional and comfortable. 10/10 am buying another.

December 14, 2020

Absolutely A Must If You're Going Fishing!

I went fishing wearing this Snap-Dry Hoody and it was just perfect. You will have to wear some extra layer if you're fishing during winter though but overall it's comfortable, fast drying and lightweight.

November 29, 2020

All around awesome

Comfy and warm, plenty of flexibility when casting flies

November 4, 2020

Bridges the gap between casual wear and specialized gear

This thing heats up quick when you need it, but dissipates extra body heat quickly without sticking to you.

September 19, 2020

Stillwater Jacket

Its a great mid layer for the Sierra spring and Fall Stillwater season in Northern Cali. The pockets are deep and comfortable, no zippers to impede. The hood is a perfect fit if youre wearing a ball cap. The hook and loop cuffs are a clear flaw however I simply fold the cuff over once and there is no problem, the ample arm length accommodates. Comf... Read Moreortable at most temperatures below 65 here. Its certainly not a cold weather jacket as its wind resistance is moderate at best here in the dry Sierra and if its raining I layer with a SST. Quite simply it fits well and the hand pockets and hood fit excel. Love this jacket, L 195 6

September 1, 2020

Great Jacket for Spring/Fall

This midweight jacket is ideal for those rainy spring/fall days when a heavier jacket would be too warm but a windbreaker would be too cold.

March 26, 2020

Near Perfect

Lots of things to like about this jacket. Those things have already been said. It is near perfect. However, Since it is designed as a "fishing jacket," imagine a world where there are zippers on the pockets and neoprene cuffs. Then it would be perfect.

December 30, 2019

Perfect

I'm not a terribly big fan of the way the hood looks, but that is the only negative that I see with the snap-dry hoody. I love wearing this whenever it is windy out or when it is raining as it blocks both so well.

December 27, 2019

LOVE my Snaphoody!

Another Patagonia piece that just hangs fits wears well. I knew I was going to enjoy the Snaphoody the moment I put it on. It has that perfect heft to it that provides warmth without being too hot, it repels light rain and keeps the wind off of you really well. The velcro on the cuffs is pretty low-profile and I rarely find it getting in the way. I... Read More would prefer that the pockets have the ability to close, but this is an excellent piece regardless.

October 27, 2019

Function and fasion

Jacket looks good and functions in a variety of conditions. Light weight but good wind resistance, used for fishing but I will ski tour in this jacket. I am 5'10", 165 and the medium was too small for any layering, so I returned and got the large with is a much better fit. I am reviewing the large so will give it a true to size fit, but t... Read Morehe represented model is 6' and thin build.

October 27, 2019

Awesome new product!

Couldn't be happier with this garment, one of the better Patagonia products in years! I wear my constantly, fishing, hiking, hunting, running, skiing, etc.

October 18, 2019

Great wet weather and wind hoody

Perfect spring/fall outer layer, easy to move in. 2 things I would add, zippers for the hand pockets and elastic or adjustable cinch at the waist.

October 10, 2019

Great with caveats

This is a great jacket for fishing and other high output activities - I am thinking about it as a backcountry hiking jacket as well - the water repellency is amazing sheds it like a duck - hood is a great feature and the fleece lining does help with warmth - but I think that without a warmth layer underneath you will get cold standing in a river - ... Read Moreit blocks wind pretty good but I am not sure about the warmth without other layers - otherwise a great jacket

October 2, 2019

Hoody Selfie

Kept me cooler than normal. I also like the elastic on the wrist, keeps the sleeve from flapping around. Also dry's quick after dipping my hands in water releasing the fish. super light weight on the skin as well.

September 29, 2019

Windbreaker hoodie

Lite weight ,windproof, will be used as a tech layer for any outdoor activity

September 19, 2019

Nice lightweight jacket.

Good lightweight jacket for windy days.

September 5, 2019

Awesome quality and build

This hoody has a lining which is warm, hood fits great and cuffs are adjustable. I am 5'9" and 160 pounds, this 'small' fits me exactly like I want - form fitting but not tight or short.

September 3, 2019

Nice layer

Fit is a little larger than most Patagonia pieces I own. Nice layer. Insulation is not down the arms so that’s a detail I feel that wasn’t mentioned or I overlooked. The fit is a little long and makes it a better outer layer than an under layer.

August 19, 2019

Great layer for the water

This jacket is a little weird in a good way. The snap-dry material is real stretchy and like some amphibian skin. The insulation wears like a vest, which I think is the real reason this jacket is brilliant. The sleeves are light, thin, and a single layer that sheds a lot of water and dries quickly but your core is toasty with the torso and hood hav... Read Moreing the insulation. It's warm when wet too, which seems to be a trend with Patagonia fishing stuff these days. I like the way it looks but this thing really makes sense when chasing steelhead or spring bass during a downpour. Love it. Does great going to work as a fish biologist also. Well done Patagonia

May 8, 2019

Great piece of gear. Fit

Great piece of gear. Fit is true, sometimes products run a bit shorter than I prefer, however no such issues here. This jacket has the right amount of stretch and flex to ensure unrestricted movement. Perfect outer layer for three seasons in coastal Maine. Love the velcro wrist feature and the water resistant quality is superb.

May 8, 2019

A perfect light weight jacket

I love this new jacket, it's light, warm, yet breathable and a great fall or spring addition to the layering system. Great for hiking or ski touring too.

April 17, 2019

Great Stretch

Pros: Great stretch, good looks, simplicity, sheds water, packable, awesome logo. Cons: No arm insulation, Velcro cuffs.

November 4, 2018

Awesome Jacket for on the water or around town.

Love this jacket. I use it fishing but it’s not too technical where you would look like a dork wearing it around town. The weight is great for layering or for fall or spring weather. The hood does a great job of sealing in. I really like how they designed the side pockets. Has enough stretch in the arms and shoulders for range of motion. I do have ... Read Morelonger arms but my one gripe is I wish the sleeves and and hem were about an inch longer.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches