Back to Product

Patagonia Men's River Salt Fly Fishing Jacket

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 32 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's River Salt Fly Fishing Jacket

4.8/5
True To Size
May 5, 2022

Dry in the rain

The jacket keeps me dry plus is roomy enough for casting. I have worn it with a merino wool layer underneath and it works for me on a chilly day.

December 28, 2021

Perfect for wet conditions

This jacket delivers. The fit is spot on with the usual Patagonia sizing. The jacket is a little stiff but that's probably what makes it absolutely impenetrable to whatever nature throws at this jacket. Comfortable to wear with waders during Fall, Winter, and Spring for fly fishing. Hood is excellent with keeping elements out.

December 12, 2021

Great Functional Jacket

Functional jacket that fits well.

December 6, 2021

Wrist Cuffs not well designed - Warm and Waterproof

The jacket is very warm and waterproof and perfect for using as a shell, however there is too much material in the wrist section of the jacket and it bunches up and exposes the velcro to my wrists. I wore it for two days stripping streamers and my left wrist is rubbed raw.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2021

Hi Nick, we never want you to feel uncomfortable in your gear. Please feel free to begin a return or exchange here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

December 6, 2021

So far so good

I actually wanted an SST jacket but I need a drab color so Im trying this one out. I only wear it occasionally off season, but it seems great. Ill put it to the test next summer guiding one AK.

November 29, 2021

Abrasive Velcro Cuffs

The velcro straps on the cuffs are so abrasive on their edge that they cut into my wrists rather badly. The flap at the bottom of the chest pockets would hang up on the steering wheel of my boat. The previous model had a totally smooth front which I prefer.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2021

Hello Ernie, we appreciate you taking the time to share your findings. We are sorry the closure features did not meet your expectations. Please note that you can always send the jacket [back](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if you are not happy with it.

November 22, 2021

Great jacket

Better fit and style than the old River salt

November 14, 2021

Waterproof Wonder

Love this jacket, appreciate you making XL with proper long sleeve length!!

November 9, 2021

Waterproof for a long time

This is my cooler weather rain jacket because of the thickness of the material. With an extra layer, I never feel uncomfortable in a storm.

October 3, 2021

Waterproof/Bombproof!

Its a dandy. Highly recommended!

August 19, 2021

Tough and durable

Using this jacket on a backcountry fly fishing trip to Alaska next week. Excited to put it to the test. So far my fishing buddies are envious

April 3, 2021

Best jacket for Montauk weather

I guide out at Montauk and I have worn this jacket for at least five years straight. I fish an open boat and this jacket has kept me warm and dry through months of the worst weather Montauk can throw at you. It has the right pockets in the right place. The hood provides great protection even at speed. The cuffs keep my arms dry even when lipping fi... Read Moresh. This is the jacket to fish Montauk.

April 1, 2021

Adaptable, warm and dry jacket

I live in California and mostly fish Norcal. It can get chilly on the coast fly fishing the salt and since I hate waders in the ocean, I use wetsuit bottoms and booties. I am dry and warm with minimal layers underneath. Pockets are amazing and just where they should be in a wading jacket. I am a minimalist and so the pocket profile is great and I c... Read Morean easily store a large fly box if needed. Also the cuffs - awesome! I know Simms gets points for the shingled cuffs, but I love these - super easy and no snags or water leakage. Also this top notch jackets is a shade cheaper than the competition without sacrificing quality and is eco based which is a must for me. I got the XL in case I needed to put a down jacket underneath, and for a bit more movement, but at 6'3 230 (yeah thanks Covid for that weight increase) the XL is still big. I'd recommend going with the L if you are at 210 or less. I have also used this jacket in 70 degree sunny weather and I was perfect - it breathes well so a good range in temps without having to strip layers losing valuable fishing time. 5/5 for me and then some. Pair it with the waterproof Patagonia rolltop bag and you can walk the beach, fish and zen out after a tough day at work.

March 27, 2021

Great all around Rain Jacket

This rain jacket proved to be one of the most used items in our closet. It folds in on its self, making it a very portable option for hiking, rafting and fishing. I put it on over a Nano Puff mid-layer and it works as a great fall/winter combo when the wind is blowing. It doesn't wet out in 12+ hours on the river in the rain and is easily repa... Read Moreirable on the fly just like there waders. The only issue I have had is if you have larger forearms you can't quite get the sleeves pushed up all the way. Even with this I would buy them again. Over all, best of show in the rain jacket category!!

March 4, 2021

Superb Fishing Jacket

I had originally saw the River Salt jacket and thought that it's features were absolutely amazing. When I found the jacket in the Rock Camo, I immediately bought it, and I am ecstatic that I did. This thing is an absolute tank of a fishing jacket. It has 4 pockets: 2 for fly boxes and 2 hand warming stations. The hood fits perfectly over the b... Read Morerim of your hat. The wrist cuffs allow you to release your fish without getting wet. In my opinion, it can be used in any season. It's not ~too~ hot for the summer, and with additional baselayers it has been perfect for me this wintery season Steelheading. Not to mention it's the coolest looking jacket out there. I am 6'7" 260 and ordered the XXL and it fits me perfectly.

February 4, 2021

Great fishing jacket

I haven't got out fishing yet, so I can update later, but this jacket is extremely durable. There are a ton of features with pockets that will be perfect for fishing. Another great product.

September 6, 2020

Rugged Rain Protection

I have a lot of the Patagonia H20 gear but this Salt Water jacket is special compared to them. The material is definitely thicker and provides large chest pockets so I can store my most important items during some pretty consistent rain. Already looking at picking one up for the wife for fishing.

August 5, 2020

Great Foul Weather Fishing Jacket

This is the best Patagonia piece I've purchased in a long time. Everything from the fit to the detail in the cuffs is perfect. The hood is killer and fits well. And most importantly, after six hours in heavy Eastern Idaho rain while floating, I was still dry as could be under the jacket. I highly recommend.

July 13, 2020

Amphibious

New but delighted with first outing fishing in heavy rain and wind. Stayed dry and toasty.

July 10, 2020

Amphibious

New but delighted with first outing fishing in heavy rain and wind. Stayed dry and toasty.

June 17, 2020

Best of the Best

I would highly recommend this to anyone who has to be outside during rain, wind, sleet, or snow. The material mirrors my expedition waders and keeps me dry when everything else is wet. The perfect rain shell.

April 5, 2020

Amazing

This jacket is well worth the money. The camo is so cool in person and the neoprene wrist cuffs are awesome and keep water out when dunking fish. The jacket fits large but when layering is perfect size. Zippers and high class and the water shedding on this jacket is great. Pockets are high for wader accessibility witch takes a little getting use to... Read More but other than that its an amazing jacket

January 9, 2020

Great jacket fits great.

Great jacket fits great.

January 4, 2020

Superb performance in all-day drenching rain

Comfortable on a boat for several days in 45-degree all-day rain with the liner and a wool t-shirt and fleece and good rain pants and wool long johns. The hood is just right -- close to the face to keep the spray out and still moves when needed. Sleeves work well with gloves. Length in the back is just right -- not too long, so it doesn't get ... Read Morein the way on boat seats. Pockets are a great size with great zippers and are easy to access. I wear this jacket whenever it's wet -- sleek and minimal. Nothing but good things to say about this jacket. I have to hide it from my fisherman son. I'll have to break down and get him one when he's old enough to take care of it.

January 3, 2020

fantastic cold weather solution

several days of winter fishing in the snow. performed flawlessly - cuffs are great allowing fro brief dunking without wet selves. pockets seems prefect ally palaced. Nice solution I anticipate owning for years and years to come.

December 26, 2019

Very Nice!

I’ve had several flyfishing jackets and found that they have all been too busy. The River Salt jacket is simple and rugged. I’ll never leave home without it.

December 1, 2019

Great product

Great product

November 8, 2019

Fly fishing jacket

Elegant and comfortable jacket!

November 6, 2019

Protection at its finest

Stunning jacket great fit and features

October 24, 2019

WADING Jacket!!

Chris B.- there isn’t pockets lower because it’s a wading jacket, lower pockets can potentially get water in them. A quality wading jacket will always have pockets higher up. Unreal, tough as nail jackets. I found the jacket true to size with enough room to layer for Great Lakes Steelheading where temps can be chilly in the early spring and late f... Read Moreall. Love the pockets and the blend of camo. Great attention to the details with this jacket for a wading angler in mind. Another great quality Patagonia product.!!

October 9, 2019

Great fishing jacket. Runs slightly

Great fishing jacket. Runs slightly large but it's perfect for layering underneath

September 15, 2019

Almost perfect Steelhead jacket

I love this jacket but only give it 4 stars because it is so traditionally “fishing” with only high pockets and no lower handwarmer ones. Not everyone fishes in waders and this would be better with the handwarmer pockets.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches