Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Tough Puff Pants for Fly Fishing

Write Your Review

4.83 /5

Filter Reviews

All 12 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Tough Puff Pants for Fly Fishing

4.83
March 2, 2021

Great Product

Back from a week on the Olympic Rainforest hunting winter Steelhead. All kinds of conditions from low 30s to high 50s and chilly waters. Absolutely perfect under waders. Not to warm not to hot. Very comfortable. Another home run guys.

February 24, 2021

lightweight and warm

Although the fit wasnt very appealing to the eye, once you wear it, it is super lightweight as well as warm. perfect for the chilly weather. It is also true to size and doesnt run down your legs.

February 20, 2021

super tough puff

Tough puff pants are incredibly toasty warm and comfortable. I wear them for winter fishing and XC skiing. Today I wore them under my Swiftwater waders, air temp 26 degrees, north breeze, water temp 36 degrees with floating icebergs. I fish from my knees which allows me to get close to trout rising to midges in Montana's Madison River. A pant ... Read Morethat can keep me warm for an hour and longer as 36 degree water flows at waist level is certainly doing its job. The pant is so comfortable I wear it around the house, chopping and splitting firewood, going to the store, and XC skiing as well. I've put the pants to the test and they have lived up to their title of "Tough Puff" as well as proving warmth and comfort.

February 17, 2021

Never taking them off

I haven't had a chance to wear these under my waders yet, but I'm already wearing them constantly around the house and out walking the dog. I can tell they'll be my go-to pants for camping as well. They're just so light and comfortable. I only have two nitpicks: I wish there was a long size, but I'm skinny with long legs so... Read More I'm used to that struggle. I also wish the front pockets were the "slant" style rather than the jeans style. Maybe items would fall out more often, but I think it would make the pockets much more usable overall. Neither of these issues are worth bumping it down to 4 stars though.

February 12, 2021

Perfect fit

These pants are very true to size. Im 6,2 with a 31 inseam. If I had ordered the xxl they would have been to baggy. Super warm under waders. Fished all day in the cold in Western NY with daytime highs in the 20,s.

February 7, 2021

Great wader liner, two design faults

What a revelation in wading comfort! I am a winter steelhead flyfisher and can get by with breathables (vs. neoprene) even in deep winter. You can use with different base layers to suit or none on warmer days. The belt and zip wallet pocket are great. These look great and can be worn anywhere straight out of the waders. Two problems that I wish the... Read Morey would correct: 1) Active gear with layering usage should have an elastic wasitline. Bending down to tie boot laces, accomodating layering, it's just common sense. Even jeans provide that extra comfort nowadays. 2) Fly zipper is too short. The deployable opening does not extend far enough down you can even see it in the picture above. This forces you to unbuckle and unbutton the pants to get the clearance you need especially in zipper waders. I get the sense these pants weren't heavily field tested because these issues stuck out immediately for me.

February 6, 2021

Not just for wearing under your waders.

I know these pants are supposed to go under my waders, but I doubt they will stay there. Here in Virginia, we are fortunate to fish and guide year-round. Last year my go-to winter jacket was the Tough Puff hoodie. When I saw these Tough Puff Pants pop up on the radar screen, I figure they would be just the ticket for wearing under my waders. And, ... Read Moreof course, they are. But, as soon as I put them on, I knew they were likely to see more daylight than the inside of my waders. Here's the deal. Winter weather here in the Shenandoah Valley is changeable. One day it's 19 degrees at 6 a.m., and the next day it's 30 degrees. Each morning, usually before sun up, I take my dog out for a stroll as the first cup of coffee is brewing. We go regardless of the weather. Not having to do more than pull on warm, weather-resistant pants (thanks DWR finish) is a joy. Truth be told, most of the time, I keep them on all day. They are not only comfortable, but they are also good looking, so I don't mind running errands in them. The stretchy fabric means it moves when I do inside or outside of waders, enhanced by the gusset crotch and articulated knees. The durable face fabric resists snags and tears from working around the house or yard. The deep from pockets are one of my favorite features. Deep front pockets mean things stay put and don't go missing when you climb in and out of your vehicle or sit and stand up. If you have waders on, you will appreciate the opening's angle; it makes access to whatever is in them when you do the contortionist thing when you have your waders on. If you know, you know. A few other things I like are the zippered back pocket to keep my wallet secure, the built-in belt to snug them up when loaded with stuff in the pockets, a zipper fly for when nature calls and tapered ankles, so they slip into the waders or boots without bunching. Can't think of anything I'd change. They work as advertised.

February 5, 2021

Versatile, wicked comfy

For around the house, around town, around camp, under waders, and cold-weather climbing and skiing days - these are great. The pockets and durable face fabric make these more burly and versatile than the nano-air pant. Functionally, these are very similar to the nano-puff pant but more fine tuned for under wader wear. I'm 5'9, 155 lb, 30&... Read Morequot; waist and the Small fits perfectly.

January 28, 2021

Superb Pants

Soft, comfortable, air tight, ...love its hug. If it is anything like all my other Patagonia stuff, it will last for decades... Doc Adams

December 26, 2020

Runs small.

The fit is definitely like a sweat pant. The pants feel warm, and really soft. Wonder how waterproof these would be. Bought a pair for my fly fishing son who wears a 36x33 . These are a tad too tight.

December 22, 2020

Warm and flexible

I bought these to wear mostly for Great Lakes steelhead fly fishing. These are very warm for how light weight they are. One really great thing I noticed is how flexible the fabric is. Which is important when layered under stiff waders. Hiking in and out of spots I feel free range of movement. They keep me relatively warm in extremely cold rivers.

November 5, 2020

Very light

This is the best underwear pants that I have ever head. They are very light and extremely warm. I have ordered another pair for my brother in low.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches