Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Guidewater II Shorts - 10"

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 43 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Guidewater II Shorts - 10"

4.4/5
Kinda Large
September 15, 2021

Perfect weight to function balance.

Feels light on the body but has all the durability and pocket capacity for an afternoon of wading and drowning flys.

September 5, 2021

Perfect

Shorts fit perfectly!

August 31, 2021

Excellent

Perfect fit, comfortable and durable. And they look so good !!! After wearing the pair I bought last month, I ordered another pair.

August 31, 2021

Great!

Like all Patagonia products the quality and materials are great. Perfect for days on the river!

August 29, 2021

Perfect fit!

Far and away the most comfortable, best fitting shorts Ive ever owned. Bought 2 in both colors to replace my Kuhl shorts. 57 and 160. Wearing them now as I fish the Au Sable river in Michigan

August 21, 2021

OK

Would rather have a clasp like your older model instead of a button

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2021

Hi Michael, thanks for taking the time to write a product review. We really appreciate your feedback and have passed it on to our Design Team. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised and customer feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes.

August 1, 2021

Go TOO shorts...

zippered pockets and length of shorts are Great, dry quick,n lightweight,good colors,I also enjoy the full length Guidewater pants for travel etc. Had to pull out a Patagonia belt to help hold em up;they run large;it would be nice if You included a lite weight belt,they wash, wear,n feel like they'll last a very long time,,Thanx...

Response from Patagonia
August 3, 2021

Thanks for your thoughtful and detailed feedback on the fabric, features and function of these shorts, Timothy! Our designers will be happy to take your suggestions into consideration.

July 16, 2021

The best pair of shorts!

Very comfortable with ample pockets including one with a zipper that holds my wallet. Works in any type of weather from hot, rainy, to cool. Great fit as the waist has elastic in it so it can be worn without a belt.

July 16, 2021

Great all around summer sport shorts

I like them , good fit and versatile. Nice enough to wear around town but functional to wear at (outdoor) work and play.

May 17, 2021

Work Shorts

I have Multiple pairs of the Guide water 2 shorts. Very comfortable rowing shorts. Light and Cool great for the hot Idaho Summers.

May 5, 2021

Super comfortable Shorts!!

From May to October I live in shorts. If Im not guiding fishing customers Im fishing my self and shorts and sandals are the norm. The GuideWater II shorts are super comfy, highly functional and very durable. The zippered side pocket on the leg and the rear zippered pocket are ideal to keep belongings secure but accessible. They have held up fantast... Read Moreic to multiple washings and extreme uv exposure while rowing and still look great. In short, I Love them !!

May 4, 2021

Excellent product

Great fit and perfect for summer or fall!

May 3, 2021

Very Comfortable

These are the most comfortable shorts I've owned in many years. Was looking for something comfortable to wear to work or on the river and these are ideal. Look professional with the ability to get wet and dry quickly.

April 19, 2021

Bring back the original

The older version of these shorts were more versatile, better fitting and comfortable. Very disappointed they were discontinued.

March 29, 2021

Love the Guidewater II Short

This short fits true to size. I have a 32" waist and ordered a medium and the fit is spot on. I really appreciate the stretch fabric and flexibility found around the front quad area. I had to get wet sooner than I wanted on my float trip and the short dried quickly. The two zipper pockets are deep and provide ample room for storage. I love thi... Read Mores short and this will be my "go to" short when boating and wet wading! Well done, Patagonia!!

February 28, 2021

Very comfortable fit

These are great durable shorts. Quick drying and stain resistant.

January 24, 2021

Best Shorts I have ever warn

I typically where a 38 waist so I originally ordered my typical XL size. When the came they were too big. I exchanged them for a Large and they were perfect. I liked these shorts so much and I purchased the other color also. They are the nicest shorts I have ever warn. I cannot think of a single thing I would change. Great job! I was hesitant at fi... Read Morerst because of the price but now if they had additional colors I would buy more. My only complaint is that they only come in two colors.

October 29, 2020

Great for fishing!

These are great shorts but need two more belt loops. Just doesnt look right nor fit a belt suitably.

October 4, 2020

Great Shorts until I washed them a few times

Loved these shorts!!!! Until I washed them a few times. Articulated zip pocket on the side ends up drying bunched and wrinkled, hanging weird, almost like a thread got hung up. I have two pairs and both do this. Disappointed. Aside from that they are great for wet wading and dry fast. Just wish they looked better for everyday use. Price is steep to... Read More not be happy with them.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2020

Hey Ben! We are so sorry to hear about your experience with these shorts. If you don't already, we'd recommend washing these shorts in warm water and drying them in a machine on a low setting. If that doesn't help to fix the issue of them wrinkling and bunching, please contact our Customer Service Team either over the phone or via chat to send them back to us as a warranty return and we'll happily help you find something that works better for you.

September 10, 2020

Seams on both pair failed within a couple of weeks

So I purchased two pair of the Guidewear shorts (to replace my Praña Brion stretch shorts) for wet wading while fly fishing. Long story short the crotch seams on both pair of stretch shorts failed within two weeks. Im 5-10 170lbs, so its not my fat butt. The materials failed in the exact same place/way. You need to fix this. I tried to love these s... Read Morehorts! Otherwise the idea, fabric and layout suits the stated purpose of the shorts however all that is no good if there is a hole in the crotch after two weeks of use. Until that issue is addressed I can not recommend these shorts...until then Im back in my 5 year old Prañas..., with no holes in the crotch.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2020

Thanks for your review on our Men's Guidewater II Shorts - 10". We're so sorry to hear that you experienced this issue twice. Please call or chat with one of our [Customer Service Representatives](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can help you out and get you into a pair of shorts that will last.

September 4, 2020

Well-made and Comfortable

Like all Patagonia clothing, the detailing is great: 2 extra zippered pockets especially useful, comfy fit, sturdy fabric and construction.

September 3, 2020

Excellent

Great product! I just wish a belt was included.

July 13, 2020

Size and Fit

Very comfortable. I am 6'3" weigh 275 lbs. and wear a size 40 waste. I have to wear a belt with these which is fine. If i didn't like to wear a belt I might have went with an XL. Great shorts and dry quick too. Highly recommend these for the fisherperson, hiker, camper, or just to wear.

June 26, 2020

Guide Pants

Size was my normal size but was way too big in waist. Patagonia shorts tend to be very sporadic in the waist size. You really need to try these on in the store. For example I love the shorts I have from Patagonia. However, I can wear a Medium in some and Large in others. Some, Small works. If they fit they are great, but will not order shorts onlin... Read Moree again.

Response from Patagonia
July 28, 2020

Thanks for this feedback, Britney! We're sorry to hear the sizing has been inconsistent and disappointing. We're always happy to help you make the right purchase, as well as return or exchange, so please reach out to us [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

June 26, 2020

A bit long

Wish they were an inch shorter. Other than that, theyre perfect.

June 19, 2020

Great shorts !

Patagonia has LONG been my go to for clothing. I am devoted customer and have never been disappointed in the quality of construction, the fit, and the durability, and these shorts are no exception. I like them so much,I may get another pair.

June 17, 2020

Relaxed fit

Breathable and relaxed fit. Can wear in water and dries quickly

May 29, 2020

Well Wearing Shorts

Great shorts! These shirts look good, wear well, dry quickly and are cool. The stretch makes them comfortable in walking/hiking. Great sun protection. Have 3 pairs and going to get another.

May 24, 2020

They Are OK

The good : They look great, they whisk liquids away nicely. The fit is good. I like how they feel and the flow of the fabric. I like the zipper pocket. I think they could be less expensive. The bad: I am used to having two back pockets and constantly reach back for that missing pocket. They don't breathe very well. I was thinking I might wear... Read More them at work, in the kitchen, but there is no black color, and my baseball shorts breathe waay better. I will use these shorts every now and then, on my day off. I have a lot of other shorts that are waaay better for work and play. I wanted to give these shorts a shot. Glad I did. I am glad I have them, but they won't get used a whole lot. I will use them when I want to dress up a little, which are rare times, but they are good for that.

May 16, 2020

Good looking, functional, well-made short.

These shorts great; however, they run large. I normally wear a large (in Patagonia shorts); however, the medium of these shorts fit perfect.

April 25, 2020

Great Shorts But Runs Big

This shorts requires me to wear a belt as it runs a big. Everything else about the short is great.

December 3, 2019

Ms guide water II

Great shorts!! Good length great fit like the pockets all around good buy!!!

October 29, 2019

Perfect

Perfect

October 9, 2019

These shorts are all that

These shorts are all that I hoped they would be.

September 16, 2019

Best Shorts

The fit is perfect. Thanks for making shorts for this chubby outdoorsman

September 11, 2019

Good looking & well made shorts

I’m happy with the purchase and expect these shorts to last for many summers.

August 12, 2019

Guidewater 2 shorts

In the recent wake of the new slim fitting skinny shorts wave, It was a breath of fresh air to find a pair of shorts in the lineup that fit. I backpack, rock climb, climb mountains and fish. Out of 4 pair of shorts I ordered only this design fit. With outdoor extreme adventuring, there’s a premium on leg strength and endurance. Tends to build large... Read More quads and glutes that won’t fit in the new “slim” shorts. Maybe those are for urban adventures or maybe summiting a stool at the coffee shop. These shorts are great. Fit well, comfy, dry fast and standard Patagonia quality you expect. Getting another pair while I can.

August 10, 2019

Go-To Water Shorts

I have brutalized these shorts this summer. Hot humid South Carolina days at the local outfitter where I work I spend a lot of time outside washing and loading/unloading kayaks. Weekends find me paddling the local lakes and hiking in the mountains, adventures that often end with a dip in the water. They were also my go-to shorts on an Outer Banks a... Read Moredventure where hiking and swimming were the centerpiece. I hate traditional swim trunks and anything really with a liner and/or few pockets. These look good enough to wear around town without drawing attention to myself while having great technical chops. They are light and airy and hit right at the knee to provide plenty of sun protection. They have a little stretch that really helps when hiking, but not so much that they retain water. The pocket selection is great, but I wish they had a second back pocket and a loop in one of them to hold a key. That's really my only gripe with the design. They dry incredibly fast, especially the lower leg section which is made of a lighter material than the upper section. Still, I wear them as swim shorts with a belt and travel underwear and they dry faster than my boardshorts. I have worn them 2-5 days a week over the last several months and the only wear I notice is some pilling of the upper fabric in high wear areas, which seems to be an issue with most of Patagonia's current synthetic fabrics, but it's barely noticeable and not surprising with the abuse I have given them. I really couldn't be happier with this purchase.

August 10, 2019

Most comfortable wading boot ever.

As a fishing guide in Montana comfort is king. These boots are lightweight, shed water quickly and have a ton of support. Forget the days of having boat anchors tied around your feet. I bought these for wet wading and that’s what they are designed for. If you want a pair of boots for waders get the foot tractors. These are meant to fit your foot ... Read Morenot your wading boot sock. A size 14 really means a size 14, not enough room for a lot of extra bulk.

June 12, 2019

Changes not for the best

The old ones were like my landcruiser, works great anywhere with little fuss. Most irritating was the lack of a left side back pocket for stashing easily. The fit was almost a no deal but the new fabric is quite nice, stretchy fabric helps, but doesn't slide as easily as Nylon. The pockets loading sideways is a problem with stuff sliding out .... Read More Why not offer both, include classic for traditionalists. But really, only one back pocket. Construction is as usual spot on and superb.

May 8, 2019

These shorts are a headache

I was going to purchase another pair after I received this pair. However, that is no longer the case. The front pocket are worthless. They are shallow, when I sit, my phone, car keys, anything you put in them will fall out. I have to retrace my steps throughout the day where I sat, i.e., car, couch, restaurant, etc. To recover my belongings. I woul... Read Moredn't wear them hiking, fishing, etc. These shorts are a headache.

Response from Patagonia
May 23, 2019

Hey Ben! Sorry to hear that the pockets cause you a headache when you wear these shorts. We appreciate the feedback and we want to make sure that you are satisfied with your gear so please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

June 18, 2018

Not a positive upgrade from the previous version

I have worn the previous Guidewear shorts and pants 300 plus days a year for many years. I work as a professional guide in tropical climates. The new Guidewear 2 shorts do not breath as well as the previous version,overall they are much warmer. The length tends to get caught on your knee when seated. The stretchy fabric in the lower leg panel flops... Read More when you have items in your side leg pocket. The angled zipper is more difficult to zip closed than the previous version,miss the pull rope too. I like the new waistband as it stays on your hips better than the previous version. Overall the cut of the Guidewear 2 is larger than previous version and less streamlined. I ordered a pair of each color to try. Charcoal is not an option in full sun as it attracts mega heat buildup. New shade of tan is also on the darker side. Would be much better in a light grey and light tan to reflect more sunlight instead of absorbing heat. Would love to see above fixed going forward as we all need a great go to fishing short.

March 23, 2018

Fished in them in Belize this week.

Great fishing shorts. I wet wade all summer and use a hip pack instead of a vest. Given the elastic waist band these shorts do not require a regular belt to hold them up. I can thread the two ends of the hip pack straps through the front loops and still be able to slide the pack behind me to either side when I need to access it. All the pockets are... Read More perfect.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches