Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Sandy Cay Shorts - 8"

Write Your Review

4.28 /5

Filter Reviews

All 18 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Sandy Cay Shorts - 8"

4.28
Kinda Large
September 11, 2020

Fantastic shorts

Absolutely love these shorts. Enough elastic to be perfectly comfortable and not slide up or down. Super light weight, love the zippered cargo pocket for my cell phone. Pockets are deep enough that money or things dont fall out when seated. I bought 2 pair of the grey colored shorts and one pair of the kakki. Both are light colored and go well with... Read More almost any colored shirt. I wear a 34-35 waist size short normally and the large size fits perfectly. I hope in the future when I need more of these I will be able to still buy them

September 1, 2020

comfortable and perfect for light wading or fishing out of a drift boat.

quality product that holds up very well.

September 1, 2020

Lightweight, comfortable

I have a hit/miss relationship with Patagonia and 34 waists. These happened to be a little large, with the added help from the elastic. I still called it true to size, as 34 is the bottom end of the large size spec. Zippered pockets are handy. Love the weight (feather) and comfort (soft) of the material.

July 13, 2020

Light Weight Shorts

Great for hot summer wear. Very light weight. I'd prefer a little shorter length. The elastic whist is great.

July 8, 2020

My favorite shorts

I am OBSESSED with these shorts. I bought a pair at Dick's and immediately went online to order another pair. I hope patagonia never stops making these, because I place to wear these for life!

June 29, 2020

love these shorts

I'm on my 5th pair of these shorts - really love them. great fit, the material is easy to clean, quick to dry, and durable. very versatile too - can dress up or down as needed.

June 17, 2020

Durable summer wear

I was looking for a go to 24/7 short and found what I was looking for -

February 3, 2020

good shorts

These are very lightweight, but well-made shorts. I use them when interpreting birds for the public at a Nat. Wildlife Refuge. They look good, but are tough too. Big belt loops, strong zippers. There is one thing I miss....there was a time when Patagonia bottoms for men had the back pocket on the hip- you could sit down without the big wallet lump ... Read Morescrewing up your posture. Please bring that back.

January 2, 2020

Ms Sandy Cay Shorts - 8

Great, functional shorts. the two zip pockets are key as I use the shorts in the water and can easily lose things if they are not secured. My only ongoing and endless concern with Patagonia shorts and pants is the front and back rise. I've contacted customer service and gotten the lamest of all replies. I am 5'7". My front and back ... Read Morerise is NOT the same as a person 6' tall. Yet all Patagonia shorts and pants have a standard front and back rise for any size person. I beg you to consider not just offering a shorter pant leg but a shorter front and back rise. My short's/pant's crotch from Patagonia sit 4 or more inches below where they should because of this. If I hike them up then they come up to our over my navel and I look like a complete Dork.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2020

Hi Andrew, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the trouble you've experienced with our front and back rise. We normally offer a graduated front and back rise that gets longer as the waist size increases. Feel free to [contact us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/#searchterm=contact%20us) if you'd ever like the specific rise measurement for a particular pair of shorts. With that said, we truly appreciate this feedback and we'll pass it along to our design crew!

November 30, 2019

All good stuff

All good stuff

August 12, 2019

Great Shorts, Little large

I love Patagonia but sometimes their sizing is just too boxy. A better proportion of waist size to inseam would be nice. I ordered a medium(I'm typically a size 32) and will be forced to wear a belt of some kind to help keep them up.

August 11, 2019

New go-to shorts for array of uses

I needed to replace a pair of quick drying shorts with a fly that had fallen apart after six years of use. It was another brand I relied on for only shorts. I rely on Patagonia for everything else. I decided to look at Patagonia's offering in shorts for the first time. This pair fit the bill. The sizing was different (I'm usually a Patago... Read Morenia small but took a medium in this piece). I've since bought two more pairs, putting one away. Zippered pockets are great add, since my original shorts made by other brand didn't have them. Only downside in my opinion is not a lot of color options. But the fit, material and design can't be beat. I wish there at had been a built in belt like the more expensive short. At first I thought wearing my leather belt with these shorts would be weird, but it's turned out not to be an issue.

August 11, 2019

No Back Left Pocket; Cost $5 to Return

They took away the back left pocket that had been on the shorts for years. Had to pay $5 to return given this surprise

Response from Patagonia
August 21, 2019

We're sorry to hear these didn't work out. Please feel free to [reach out to us](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions regarding your return.

August 10, 2019

Love it!

Comfortable, good fit, Durable, Love them!

November 2, 2018

Great shorts, it's a bummer the sizing is way off

These are great shorts but the sizing is way off. I have 8 pairs of various shorts in size medium from patagonia that fit great. The Sandy Cay shorts mediums are way too big and smalls are too tight in the waist. I wish they would've stuck to their standard sizing on these shorts.

June 9, 2018

Disappointed with sizing of this garment

After reading many of the reviews on the Sandy Cay Shorts I was convinced they were written by the usual crew of people that simply can't be satisfied and love writing negative stuff. I have a mannequin body and wear medium in everything PATAGONIA,The North Face,Pearl Izumi,etc. so I wasn't going to order these in any other size than med... Read Moreium. Wow,was I mistaken. The length was way too long and the waist was too big as well. After contacting customer service,which was excellent and addressed my needs nicely,they promptly sent out a replacement size small. These shorts are way too tight in the waist and I'm not even convinced the length is right. Own two pairs of smalls and don't think I will be satisfied with this purchase. A FIRST for me in what has been a 20+ years relationship with PATAGONIA.

April 17, 2018

Best tropical shorts ever.

Bought these for a fly fishing trip in the Yucatan. Don't think I changed out of them for the entire stay. Very light and comfortable,especially when out on the hot flats chasing Permit. Great zip close pockets. My new favorite shorts.

June 21, 2017

Excellent

These shorts are great for hot days on the water. The belt loops allow me to wear my pliers and the thigh pocket comes in handy.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches