Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Nano Puff® Pants for Fly Fishing

Write Your Review

4.47 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 53 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Nano Puff® Pants for Fly Fishing

4.47
True To Size
April 21, 2020

Good pants but insulation is poking through

I wade fish through the winter months so these pants were on my radar for a long time. I read reviews posted everywhere, not just Patagonia's site, before deciding to purchase a pair on sale from Platte River Fly Shop last November. I have used them for one winter season on roughly 22 trips. The fit is fine for me. I have about a 34" wais... Read Moret and 32" inseam. They are a bit loose in the waist but this allows for layering underneath with one, or more often two layers (base layer plus sweatpants), which is necessary in the heart of winter. Base layer plus Nano Puffs was not sufficient for me during the coldest months if I spent time in knee to thigh deep water. When I needed a snug up the waist I just used a belt off a pair of quick-dry pants I already own. I like the pants for the intended application of insulation under fly fishing waders. The DWR coating on the pants is helpful if your waders spring a pinhole leak. There are few good thermal sweatpants on the market with a DWR finish so the Nano Puff pants help fill that gap. So why the 3-star rating you may ask? I carefully read all the negative comments posted anywhere about these pants. I think many are classified as personal preference (i.e. poor fit for a given person's body shape) or insufficient performance in unintended applications (e.g. use as the exterior layer for hiking). The one comment I do concur with was a guy who reported a problem with the insulation poking through the seat reinforcement material on the buttocks area (https://www.trailspace.com/gear/patagonia/nano-puff-pants/). This Trailspace review was posted 5 years ago so this problem is not new. On my pants this began to happen after the very first use and has become progressively worse over time. It is also strangely more severe on the left side than the right, which also suggests to me that this is not normal. The problem has not seemed to progress on the right side. I have a Nano Puff Jacket and there are a couple isolated spots where one strand of insulation is poking through, nothing compared to what I'm seeing on the pants. I have not yet washed the pants so who knows whether this will get worse after doing so. Overall, I like the pants. They have provided good insulation under my waders without the bulk of ski pants, which I have used in the past. Whether the problems I'm seeing are just cosmetic or might actually reduce the overall life and function of the pants is as yet unknown. Nevertheless, for a high-end product with a premium price I expect better quality. Hence, I was forced to give this product a lower rating.

Response from Patagonia
April 21, 2020

Hi Gerald, we're so sorry to hear about the leak and we'd be happy to help out with a repair. You can begin your wader repair here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

December 25, 2019

Nano puff pants

The fit is great they can easily be worn as an insulating later or an outer layer.

December 25, 2019

M's Puffed Pants

Thrilled, thus far. Great fit, Patagonia quality of construction, evident. "Dry run" around the house; comfy, not baggie, good "stretch" in key spots. Can't wait to break 'em in on the water. Will follow-up. Great stuff, as always. Thanks. Ed

December 20, 2019

Not Made for Ladies

These are very expensive to not fit a woman’s body as well as their other winter clothing. They are slim and not bulky BUT I found them quite uncomfortable and for the price I would rather send them back and continue packing my capilene long underwear under sweatpants and then pull my waders on over top. I don’t need room in the crotch area I need ... Read Moreroom over my hips! Post created 12/20/2019 so if they make a new version disregard my review I’m confident they will remedy all issues!

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2020

We're sorry to hear that the Men's Nano Puff Pant didn't work for you, Ariadne! If you haven't seen them yet, we recommend the Women's [Nano-Air Pant](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-nano-air-pants/85110.html?isSearch=true&dwvar_85110_color=BLK), which are a "slim" fit. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you with any product questions, orders or [returns](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges).

December 18, 2019

My new favorite pants

These gems aren’t just for cold winter days on the river. They’re perfect under waders but the same holds true for anytime comfort and warmth matters. I’ve found myself turning down the heater just so I can keep them on while lounging around the house. At just under 5’8”, 155 lbs., and a 31” waist, the small fit perfectly.

November 20, 2019

I love these pants. They

I love these pants. They fit perfectly under my waders and keep me warm even in the coldest waters

November 13, 2019

Nano Puff Pants Great Under Waders

These Nano Pants are great under my Rio Galkegos waders. I am ready for some winter fishing in Montana!

November 6, 2019

New Live Ins

Just spent to weeks in Colorado and Upstate NY. Hardly took these of. Equally as good for under waders or lounging.

November 3, 2019

Everyone needs these pants

I bought the Nano Puff pants earlier in the month. We had a cold snap in Colorado late October and temperatures were in the low single digits. I wore the pants under my ski pants and was not cold at all.

November 1, 2019

Perfect

I live in the Pacific Northwest, and bought these to wear under my waders as the weather gets cooler. They are warm and comfortable!! Very happy.

October 26, 2019

Warm pants!

Great, lightweight product to wear under waders while fly fishing. Very warm without the bulk. Great for this application. I’m 6’4”.i wish they were longer, but terrific overall.

September 29, 2019

Women need Puff pants too!!

I love the way these pants feel. I got them to wear under my waders for Winter fishing. I have not actually used them for their intended use.. I would make these with a women's cut. I ordered a small. And they will work but the fit could be better.

September 15, 2019

Great layering piece

Ordered this for under my bibs during the late Steelhead season. They fit great and will work perfectly!

September 7, 2019

Great piece, functional and warm

Great piece, functional and warm

August 13, 2019

Plush Puff

I’ve been returning to the Brooks Range to packraft and flyfish for big Dolly Varden the last few years and these have been absolute lifesavers! My Arctic coldwater fishing set-up includes the RiverSalt 3:1, jacket, Rio Gallegos Wader, R1 ninja hoodie, and the Nano-Puff Pant. It’s a full featured, full on integrated system that locks out the cold a... Read Morend bone chilling Arctic weather. I basically live in the pants, preferring them to lounge around in camp, start early mornings in, and add a super plush layer of warmth on days dedicated to floating. I won’t cross the Arctic Circle without them! (I would like to see a flat elastic foot ‘keeper’ strap to aid in getting them into the bottom of the wader without having to tuck them down. Think baseball pants stirrup type?)

August 10, 2019

These are my new favorite

These are my new favorite pants... ever.

May 8, 2019

Nano Puff Pants

These pants are amazing. I wear them under my waders for fishing in ice cold water. Or sitting on the boat all day in the cooler temps. They are warm and function very well. I would have given a 5 star review but the sizing was a bit off for me. I am 6 feet tall and have a 34 inch waist. the large was big in the waist and super long, I have to rol... Read Morel them up. I ordered a Size M and they were better in length but too tight around my waist. So I kept the size Large and roll them up a little bit. Overall these pants are amazing. Do yourself a favor and get a pair.

May 8, 2019

LOVE THEM

I do love the puff pant but I had to order a mens and wish you made them in womens as well

May 8, 2019

nano puff pants

NEED to make a womans version of these pants. They are amazing.

May 8, 2019

Great pants!

These are warm, light, comfortable, and very versatile. I’ve worn these for winter hiking and snowshoe trips, and also under my waders while fly fishing. A great piece of gear for anyone who spends time outside when it is cold.

May 8, 2019

Great cold weather pants

I purchased these pants to wear at night around the fire and in a cold tent so I wouldn't need to huddle in my bag in sub freezing weather. They have a great feel, they are very warm and meet all my needs. Great job Patagonia!

April 5, 2019

Winter steelhead flyfishing can be luxurious

It was a particularly cold winter, but I wore these under goretex over a base layer and felt toasty even when standing in the glacier melt for hours. Really the next level of comfort for winter wading.

March 14, 2019

puffuy pants

LOVE THEM! other colors coming??

March 2, 2019

I Dream of an Ankle Zipper

These pants are the cat's knees. Wow I love them. They have replaced my sweatpants around the house, and are perfect to wear over my dress pants on the way into work. The waist is a probably right (I got a Large, have a 33" waist) however length is spot on (6'1). I got the Large as I read that they run a bit short and I would say tha... Read Moret is accurate as I usually wear a medium in pants given my waist size. The pockets are deep as well, which is a nice plus. Like I said in the title, these pants would be the best pants ever if they just had an ankle zipper! Having to take my shoes off to put them on/take them off is a minor inconvenience but it would really be worthwhile, especially for those of us who aren't using them for fly fishing.

December 1, 2018

wanna-be pants

these are the (very) distant relative of ultralight down pants with full side zips Patagonia carried Ages ago. Unlike the original, these are stiff; the legs narrow - alot - all the way down so they bind, at the knee, ride up when you sit or bend; & cannot be put on over boots; the waist and bottom are disproportionately gigantic. And no cut fo... Read Morer women./ size runs 'weird' too small in some places and too large in others

November 5, 2018

Puffy pants -- woo hoo! But a little too short in the small sizes, even for ladies!

I really wanted a pair of puffy pants for belaying and hanging around cold camps. They are just really hard to find fit for women! So I got these in an XS, and they really are almost perfect for me. I am 5'4" with a 27" waist, 35" hips, and a "curvy" derriere. These are a little too long in the rise and also too short ... Read Morein the legs, but otherwise they fit! So I would echo other comments (by men!) that these are too short in the smaller sizes. Otherwise they are dreamy warm and really don't look too bad on (as long as I don't look in the mirror, ha ha!). So all of you ladies out there might want to give them a try. Warm legs make a HUGE difference. You will not feel stupid once you are wearing these things.

September 10, 2018

Husband loves them

My husband wears these all the time in winter; as casual around the house pants and when we go camping. Why not make them for women?

January 26, 2018

Nano Puff Pants are top Notch!!

The Patagonia Nano puff Pants are the real deal! Perfect complement to the Nano Puff jacket. Warm,light and comfortable. Wore these for 2 weeks on a expedition. Retains their warmth when wet. Great pants for wearing under waders when out fishing.

December 4, 2017

Lucky Hubby! Need some warmth for women too!

I just ordered these for my husband.... I have a pair of Montbell down pants that have worn out. I was so excited to see these nanopuff pants and was ready to order some as a replacement for my worn out pants BUT only for my husband (sad face). If you made them for women,I would definitely buy a pair! I wear them in the winter over my scrubs while ... Read Moregoing to/from work,hiking,to yoga class,camping,under my ski bibs and they are amazing. I'd love to see a few color options and a woman's fit because I'll definitely buy some. I think Patagonia makes quality products but I'd love to see some options for this product. ps. One of your employees suggested writing a review to provide this feedback...I'll be not so patiently waiting!

December 3, 2017

Winter Wading Must

These pants are a must have in your arsenal for winter wading. I was out the other day the air temp was 29' degrees in the water temp was 36'.I had my R1 pants as a base over these and was toasty all day. The features are great they have a back zip pocket for your wallet (Feature the R1 pants lack).The elastic waist band is a plus giv... Read Moreing a little extra room to tuck Layers in so they don't ride up when you're wading. I had small pin hole leak in my right leg nothing major the DWR coating prevented by base layers from getting wet.The fact they stay warm when wet is a life saver in winter conditions. If your a winter steelheader or just chasing fish cold conditions these pants are a must have !

September 27, 2017

Would love to see side zips!

These pants would be awesome if they had side zippers that ran along the entire pantleg - this way they could be put on without taking off ski boots and crampons. Will definitely purchase a pair when this happens!!

June 18, 2017

The bomb

These pants are so comfy. Weather at home watching TV or out at the bars in the winter or in my waders in the winter and spring. They are designed like a normal pare of pants and I would advise any buyer to wear them like one. You will always be comfortable they are like a fancy pair of sweat pants.

May 15, 2017

Too short!!

I've had them for a few months now. I'm 5'11" and weight 165. The small fits my waist perfectly 31 inch waist. The length is too short though. When I sit down they turn into capris and I have seven inches of exposed leg..... brrrrr!

March 26, 2017

Great design.

Wore them and stood in thigh deep 40 degree water for over three hours. Total comfort. After fishing can slip off waders and go to the store without looking like an idiot.

February 19, 2017

Comfy & Warm

You feel like you are wearing your PJ's as your are dressed for another cold weather adventure. Great for lounging around after playing out doors at minus 30.

February 18, 2017

Warm all day and night

I got these a few weeks ago . I have not had them on under my waders . But I worn the doing medical support for the loppet here in Minnesota. Wore them all day and also from 4 pm to 10 pm at the luminary on a frozen lake and was warm and toasty all day and night

January 29, 2017

Total comfort

My husband would wear these 24/7 if he could. Bought them for skiing but he would have worn them this weekend in Chicago!

January 21, 2017

toasty

I like the color,fit,pockets and belt loops. I am usually an xs in men's pants but the waist was very small. The small fits great-room for layers. Have worn them in 5-45 degree weather doing outside chores. I wish for a zipper at the ankles as this would make them even more useful to be able to pull over my running shoes.

January 21, 2017

Super comfortable and warm!

I bought the puff pants to use as a mid-layer under my Gore-tex shell pants. I tested them in single digit temps and they kept me very warm even while riding the chair lift. They are also great for lounging around the house too.

January 11, 2017

Nano Win!

I use these under my waders to insulate from harsh cold while fly fishing. Staying warm and comfortable allows me to fish longer and in nasty conditions.

January 11, 2017

Fly fishing

My husband is an avid fly fisherman. Fishing the toilet bowl below Ruedi Resorvior can be really cold in winter. He has been very pleased.

January 11, 2017

Warm and light weight

I bought this a couple months ago for my husband and he has used already in several winter camping trips. It was a great purchase,lightweight,warm and packs small. He really likes the reinforced button and the tigh and bum reinforcement,wished it had also knee reinforcement and a stuff sack though.

January 11, 2017

Warm :)

I'm on the ski patrol for a hill in Wisconsin. I have only needed to use a base layer and these pants under my lower shell to keep warm while patrolling this year. So far the weather has gotten down to about 0 degrees F while wearing these. Below that I have to add a different layer to sit on the chair lift comfortably. If I could have anythin... Read Moreg added it would be a zip at the bottom of the pants so it would be more comfortable when wearing ski boots.

January 10, 2017

They work but shift

In recent days I've been able to truly see what these pants are made of. Temps have been in the low 20's and they have kept the lower body warm. Only complaint,the legs ride up and down. Would love to see something to keep the leg cuffs from sliding up.

December 11, 2016

Very Impressed

Wore these under waders in low single digit temps . . . very effective at keeping me warm,yet very light.,and super comfy. I'm 5'11" and they're just a tad long on me.

November 23, 2016

Good,One Suggestion

If they only had reinforced knees they would be perfect for alpinism. I wish they came in black color.

April 12, 2016

Perfect for chasing steelhead in BC

I purchased these for a four day trip chasing steelhead on the Squamish and Skeena in BC in April. They were perfect. My legs stayed warm all day while wading in water around ~40-44 F. Worn under a pair of lightweight waders (unfortunately not Patagonia) and over a Patagonia mid-weight merino base layer. One of the days was rather warm (~20 C) but ... Read Moreafter shedding a few top layers felt comfortable. I can't recommend these highly enough.

March 8, 2016

Warm mid-layer for skiing

I bought these pants to add a warm mid-layer when skiing. I prefer to wear shell pants with no insulation and choose the right level of insulation based on the conditions. This winter in southern Ontario has been fairly mild,so I have had a limited ability to test the warmth of these pants; however,on the few cold days we've had,these pants ha... Read Moreve kept my legs toasty with a pair of long underwear beneath. They're quite comfortable and the inner shell makes them a cinch to slip on and off. I know these pants were designed for wearing under waders,but from a skiing mid-layer perspective,I would suggest the following changes for future iterations: - Elastic waist: I'm pretty lazy,so I just want to pull up my pants instead of fiddling with a second button and fly (in addition to my ski pants). - Cuffs: If find the pants are too bulky to stuff inside my ski boots,but the cuffs are a little small to push up and over my calves easily while I do up my boots. I find it's a bit of a fiddle to get the pants readjusted at the top of my boot after my boots are done up. I would either widen the cuff a bit or add a zipper to make the pants more adjustable and get them out of the way of my boots - Women's version: The fist thing my wife said when she saw me in these pants is "I need a pair of those. I'm the one who is always cold". She went looking at a couple of retailers before we figured out they were only available for men and the stores near us only had size S ,which were all too big for her. This was very surprising for me because she NEVER gets excited about new gear,so if these pants can get her enthused about clothing,I'm sure there is a market out there. All in all,I would recommend these pants for anyone who needs a warm lower mid-layer.

January 25, 2016

Warm in cold conditions

I purchased the Nano Puff pants to use while ice fishing at Lake of the Woods in Baudette,Minnesota. I used them as a base layer under my cold weather bibs. The first morning it was 21 below zero when we headed out on the ice to fish. The second morning it was 20 below zero. Wind chill both days was more than 30 below zero. These pants helped to ke... Read Moreep me warm and comfortable in cold conditions. They are comfortable,light weight and they fit well. I like the fact that there are belt loops. I was a little concerned that there were no foot straps. However,like someone shared in an earlier review there was no issue with the legs riding up.

November 12, 2015

Toasty thighs

I was so excited to see that Patagiona finally made Nano Puff pants. I've been dreaming of these for years. I have put more than ten days of wading in cold waste deep water and hiked miles to my favorite swing water with them on. Just like my Nanopuff jacket my legs were always the perfect temperature. I have to admit that I was also conserned... Read More at first with the trousers cut of the legs and the lack of foot straps. But I've have zero issues with the pants being to bulky or riding up my ankles. Big thanks to my wife and son for getting these pants for my birthday!!!

March 30, 2015

Another Great Patagonia Product!

As with all Patagonia products, the quality is superior. They give you the ability to buy an non insulated pant and layer it without the bulk for colder weather. I have worn these pants in extreme cold ski conditions (-10 f) and stayed very warm and comfortable without looking and feeling like the Stay-Puffed Marshmallow Man.

March 7, 2015

Strike one

It seemed like I was waiting forever for Patagonia to finally release a pant version of their awesome nano puff insulation. However, after trying a pair, I have to call into question the design choices made on this first attempt. My primary intended use was insulation under my waders when fly fishing in colder temps, but the chino-esque design of t... Read Morehe pant makes them too bulky. Why design an insulation layer like a pair of casual wear pants?? The side pockets create too much flair in the hips and the button and zip closure are, in my opinion, the wrong choice as well. When considering my secondary intended use, replacing the fleece tights in my pack for nights at camp in the backcountry, the same questionable design choices resonate again. Why do I want a chino when relaxing in camp? Wouldn't it serve me better for my purposes of fishing and lounging, or other endeavors like climbing or snow sports insulation to have a more streamlined pocketless design (maybe a back zip pocket into which the pants can be stuffed, a feature that's a staple with the whole of the nano puff line) and a simpler waistband (perhaps elastic and drawstring or elastic cord and cord lock). Ideally I'd like to see this product rethought and reworked into something that lines up significantly better with the nano puff collection.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches