Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R1® Fleece Pants

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 97 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R1® Fleece Pants

4.3/5
True To Size
March 8, 2021

Worst Patagonia product I have ever owned

I have a lot of Patagonia stuff and this is the only product that I hate but wish I could love. Within 2 months, the fabric is beaten to death. Im not doing anything strenuous with these pants, in fact these past two months I was recovering from neurosurgery. Yet it looks like I rubbed them against a cheese grater. I dont get it. My R1 and R2 techf... Read Moreace dont look like this after years of wear. Yeah, I get that we are rougher on our pants but the worst wear is on my thighs and the only thing that consistently touches my thighs with these pants is my laptop or sheets. Please fix this Patagonia and Ill buy 5 of them. This will be my third return of the R1 bottoms. Its even more frustrating because Patagonia has no similar product for me to replace these with. Also Im 61.5 tall and the mediums are 1-2 too short: Anklet socks expose my ankles. They are not windproof however if you wear them with the capilene air baselayers they are virtually windproof and incredibly warm! Also, my girlfriend would love a female version of this because according to her both the XS and S doesnt flatter her bum so she never wears it. le sigh

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Thank for providing feedback on the Men’s R1 we are certainly sorry to hear that they did not meet your expectations. We are certainly happy to hear you are ok with the return process though. Outside of that you can always contact us directly at 800-638-6464 if you would like to have a discussion about what products might work better for you.

March 1, 2021

Wear every day, Love them!

I've been buying these fleece pants for over 20 years and they are great. Very comfortable and functional. My only wish is that they offer more colors other than grey.

February 25, 2021

Comfort Plus

These are the most comfortable and long lasting pants made. Perfect for campfires, camping on the river and cool evenings. Lounging and apres ski wear at home after a day on the slopes. I cant live with out them.

February 5, 2021

Sooooo comfy, not bulky

Super comfortable, not bulky, warm. Please offer more colors because i'd like about three more pair. :) Plan to wear them WFH, hiking, and as underwader layer.

February 4, 2021

warm

very comfortable and perfect for winter indoors

January 30, 2021

Very comfy

First I have been a Patagonia customer for 25 + years, and way to much Patagonia gear. This purchase was to replace a pair of fleece pants which I had worn for many years. This new product is very comfy and fits well. The pockets are deep which I like. The legs are straight which I also like. Thank you for your great products and your social and... Read More environmental work.

January 27, 2021

Great R1 Material, Bad Cut...

Like these pants but they are cut way big and def fit on baggy side. These should be re-cut to fit more like a jogger but would still recommend .

January 27, 2021

Best pants ever/ but they are not perfect.

I love these pants. They are comfortable, warm, and versatile. They can be used like sweat pants, in terms of what you would wear them for. They are not dress pants. But they are athletic and comfortable. They have to pockets and a draw string in front. I use them to hike and to go around in a casual way. They can be worn underneath as a base layer... Read More or a mid-layer. I use them under my snow shot pants as insulation. If it gets really cold (New England), I will wear a base layer, these pants as mid-layer and a shell over them. They are great. The run loose fitting and relaxed. For the tapered look size up. The only draw back, as some reviews state, they did start pilling fairly fast. I did return them and got a new pair. I put them to use right away. If they pile, I will use a fabric shaver because they are that good. Hope this helps.

January 27, 2021

Warm and Comfortable

Great pair of pants! Was looking for something warm but casual for winter. These pants are perfect

January 22, 2021

Warm and comfortable

Nice and warm while skiing and fishing Fit well under both waders and ski pants . Soft and comfortable I like the pockets for after active chill just remove waders

January 21, 2021

Real warm, but not exactly what I want

These pants are extremely warm and super comfortable! They pack down surprisingly well and are pretty light. However, dont get these pants with the idea that they are anywhere near technical. They are kinda baggy, they dont have a synch string at the bottom, and they pill real quick. They look great out of box, but I am disappointed by the quicknes... Read Mores at which they pilled. Wish they would have used the same exterior material style as the R2 jacket.

January 20, 2021

Really comfortable

This is my second pair of these pants. I bought them because my first pair is showing signs of wear after many years and started to stretch. I was a little apprehensive about buying another size small, but to my delight they fit great. Perfect length for my 33 inseam, 32 waist, 147 lb, 5-11 frame. Super soft and great to sleep in on colder nights, ... Read Moreand my first pair is still going strong albeit a bit looser now. No issues with pilling either. Lovem!

January 19, 2021

Quick to pill

First, these are extremely comfortable and fairly warm. However, they started pilling after just 8 weeks of around-the -house wear and not even in a high friction area. I've started to wash inside-out to see if that will show down further pilling.

January 19, 2021

So Comfortable

I bought these for platform tennis for which they are perfect. And, so comfortable I find myself wearing them almost too often. Great product.

January 15, 2021

Warm and cozy

A little long had to hemmed , but worth it . Nice to wear on cold mornings walking the dog

January 11, 2021

The comfiest!

I'm 5'10, 185 and have kind of thicker legs and a medium pair of these for pretty snug! Exactly what I was looking for as far a sweatpants go, warm for the winter, and perfect for casual wear to running or anything in between. For those still deciding on whether to get this or not, do it. I love them and am going to get another pair (Larg... Read Moree). Only complaint I have, if I had to give one, would be that if you plan on carrying stuff in your pocket it will be very obvious. But that's fine. In 45° degree weather, it's perfect. Can't wait to take them for a spin on the trails!

January 11, 2021

Men's R1 - Great pants.

I got these pants for my husband for a casual wear at home and running errands on cold days - he loves them. The pants are well made of thick fleece material, warm, and comfortable. Front pockets are a big plus. Please, can you make a women's version of the pants?

January 8, 2021

Good underlayer

Use as an under layer when skiing and on their own for my evening walk with dog. Perfect for both.

January 3, 2021

Sailing

Use pants under foul weather gear when racing sailboat on SF Bay. Great for both foul weather and sweeting during competitive work.

January 3, 2021

Love them!

I wear these all the time, very comfortable and the perfect weight for everything but the hottest days. My second pair, and a long as they make them, I'll buy more.

January 2, 2021

Best pants ever

I bought these for lying around the house and occasional base layer for a cold days. It turns out I just wear them every day, all day. When I put them on, I literally say out loud every time, these are the most comfortable pants in the world.

December 28, 2020

Good for purpose

I'm 6'0" athletic build. They fit great at the waist but are long. Same great R1 fleece as my other pieces. A bottom cuff would help with length. Would recommend a fly. Tough to do what you need to when layered under other pants/shell.

December 26, 2020

Favorite lounge pants

These are my favorite lounge pants. Super comfortable, warm and breathable. I primarily wear them around the house during winter, but have also worn them on cold runs and theyre tailored enough for quick trips to the store. The fit is perfect for me (not too trim, nor to relaxed) and they wash perfectly. The only negative is that they only come in ... Read Moreone color - PLEASE make them in more colors. Other than that, I cant recommend these enough.

December 22, 2020

Perfect pants! GladI purchased

Great marerial. Very Comfortable

December 20, 2020

an everyday product for me

I really like these pants. I own three pairs and rotate them as my lounge and active wear. I also wear them under waders. I do also wish more colors were available! That would be amazing! I get them hemmed a few inches and they are still tapered well in the leg. I like the pull string which doesn't require a full knot to fasten. The wash very ... Read Morewell! I have one pair the is starting to wear around the front pockets. I wear these almost daily and they are one my favorite Patagonia items!

December 19, 2020

Not a fan

Bought these for husband last Christmas, a little long for him 5'7". After only a few months of wear, became super pilly. Not expecting this from Patagonia. My suggestion...try a different type.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2021

Thank you for the feedback on the fit. Pilling occurs on all fleece when it meets friction. Fortunately it's very easy to fix! Check out our [video](https://youtu.be/2aFbPb6Rn8o) on how to do just that.

December 15, 2020

Very comfortable and warm when walking oitside

My boyfriend loves them and hates to take them off except toi launder and sleep

December 14, 2020

My second pair

Bought a pair when they they were first introduced. They have the fly fishing line integrated in the logo. My go to pants for lounging around the house. Soft and warm. Highly recommended

December 8, 2020

I love the pants!

I love the pants. I wish they came in other colors. Specifically black.

November 28, 2020

Warm.

The leg length needed shortening due to they only come in 33 inch inseam. It was a gift to my husband for his birthday.

November 19, 2020

Pilling

Comfortable pants but pilling is an issue and reason I wont buy second pair.

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2020

Thanks for your feedback! Pilling can be common on high friction areas of fleece. Check out our [repairs](https://www.patagonia.com/repairs/) page to easily remove those pills.

November 16, 2020

Nice active wear pants that are fleece-lined, only negative is that they are too long

Nice active wear pants that are fleece-lined, only negative is that they are too long

November 12, 2020

Super comfortable and versatile

Similar to the R1 pullover and hoodie, the pants are comfortable, durable, and have great versatility. My only regret is that I didn't purchase them sooner.

November 8, 2020

Perfect fit and feel

The mens clothing line sizing is very consistent. I am 59 and 140 pounds, small has fit perfect in several products; shirts, coats, sweaters, pants. The feel of these sweat pants is exactly what I was looking for with great pockets- Just enough for iPhone around the house

October 31, 2020

Easily... my favorite overall pant!!!

I have owned this pant for 1.5yrs. There is not a single item of clothing I own that I wear more often. They are absurdly comfy. Fit great... i am 5'9 185lb, sticks for legs, typical 32" inseam. Md is literally perfect for me. As long as they make this pant I will buy it. IF ONLY Iit was available in more colors!!!!!

October 29, 2020

Warm. Lounging.

These are relatively warm for late fall. Probably not warm enough outside for winter as cold air will come up loose pant legs. Would be better with at least one zipper pocket. Overall, love them and would buy another pair.

September 24, 2020

Not perfect, but pretty dang good

Im 510, 168lbs and the Medium fits me great. Its not trim like a standard baselayer, but not super baggy either. I find most Patagonia pants are cut way too big. I was worried they would be too warm because Im in NC, but they breathe quite nicely. I was disappointed to see how quickly the material pilled up, especially at this price. They are super... Read More comfortable, but are lacking a back pocket and zippers on the side pockets. Cant say theyre perfect at this price, but theyre pretty dang good.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2020

Hi Jeff, thank you for taking the time to write a review! Sorry about the pilling that's begun to show on the Men's R1® Fleece Pants. Fleece garments are prone to pilling, and removing pills can help lengthen the life of your Patagonia gear, plus it’s easy to do with a sweater stone. You can learn about removing pills at wornwear.com.

September 20, 2020

Warm, comfortable and cozy!

As the title for this review implies, this is a very functional piece of kit! With the crisp early am / late pm temps we are starting to get here in the NE, the R1 fleece pants are absolutely wonderful. Im 6 175 lbs, fit not skinny and the M size fits perfectly. These are my go to pants in the evenings and on weekends regardless of what Im doing be... Read Morecause they are that comfortable - so much so that I try to find every excuse to wear them. I hope Patagonia offers more colors in the future so I can add to the collection.

July 18, 2020

I wish they were better

It could improve some zippered pockets and tapered legs. Other than that some sweatpants can do the job.

June 17, 2020

Great layer

Comfortable and warm. I wear them over a capilene base under my waders. Only complaint is they started to pill after a few outings.

June 17, 2020

My multi purpose R1 pants

This may be my fifth or sixth pair of R1 pants. I do exercise and fish in them and have to admit, ware them casually. They are light and stretchy enough to hike in them, warm enough and trapping enough air inside of wades and look great enough to go in them to the shop or bar (in Montana). I like them so much, that I have multiple pairs of them, so... Read More Im never in danger of being without them. One of the best products I have ever purchased. Keep them going!

April 11, 2020

Super comfortable

I love these pants. They are an athletic fit, slim enough not to billow out in the wind when walking, but not too tight that they restrict movement, and they have some stretch to them to help them move really well with you. They are warm, the wind can blow through them though, but that helps them breath well. I have worn them on casual walks and th... Read Moreey look nice and hang low enough to cover my ankles but not drag on the ground. I have not hiked in them but I did take them and wear them around my camping site; they add a nice warmth when sitting around a campfire and dirt doesnt seem to cling to them. Honestly, these are very comfortable, warm pants that I love wearing around the house and will buy more pairs now that I have had them for a month to test out. My only complaint is the pocket is made from a mesh material, probably for breath ability, that is very slick and everything falls out of my pockets if I sit down or squat (I stopped to pet my neighbors dog and my phone slid out of my pocket and fell on the ground along with my keys). Other then the small slipper pocket issue, these pants are amazing.

March 30, 2020

pretty good, with caveats

So, I had a pair of these and they pilled like crazy. I returned them. The second pair pills a bit, as would be expected with this type of fabric (though the r1/r2 techface jackets don't pill nearly as much), but you can touch it up easily enough with a sweater stone. I've A/B tested washing them inside out versus not and I find inside ou... Read Moret makes them hold up better. My one request would be for next year's model that you add some type of loop near the tag so that I can easily throw them on my towel/jacket rack, without causing the fabric to protrude over time.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Christopher! Thank you for the feedback! We have passed this information along to our Product Design Team. Thanks again!

March 8, 2020

Super quality pants

Excellent product,I use for all activities and daily life.As previously noted ,you neeed to include zippers for pockets and offer additional colors.I have three pairs and Love these pants.

February 26, 2020

Awesome, but very disappointed

Just bought these sweatpants and they are very comfortable and keep you very warm. Really like the grid thermal pattern and they fit great, not baggy, but not too tight either. The big issue here is that just wearing these a couple times and didnt even wash them. The outside started pilling and now it is everywhere. For how much I paid for these, I... Read More wish they wouldnt pill after a couple uses.

Response from Patagonia
March 27, 2020

Hi Andrew, we apologize for the irritation with the pilling, knitted garments are prone to pilling, and this style is no exception. Removing pills can help lengthen the life of your R1 Fleece Pants, plus it’s easy to do with a sweater stone. Learn about removing pills at wornwear.com

January 23, 2020

Love these pants

They are great winter sweats that look a little nicer - I work from home and wear them during the day, and they're warm enough to wear outside walking the dog in winter (whereas with normal sweat pants I need to put on long johns under them). The only thing is I would love more colors (blue, black, dark gray, whatever) - I would definitely buy... Read More another pair or two.

January 8, 2020

Great for around the house but. . . .

after just a wash or two the fabric shows fraying dimples along the grid pattern -- most prominently on the upper legs. So much for sustainability . . . .

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Sam, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the way the pants are showing wear after only a few uses. That is certainly not typical quality of ours so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) under warranty.

January 2, 2020

Love ‘em but they’re big

Love ‘em but they’re big for a size small

December 25, 2019

Had high hopes

I own several pairs of older R1 that I wear quite a bit in the winter. They’re more like lose tights, or snug joggers with no side pockets or draw string & a zip back pocket. I was happy to find these had a draw string & side pockets! I’m 6’4” & 185 and have the XL in the old style from 5-6 years ago, fit great & still super soft ... Read Moreand warm. To not look I was wearing 1992 baggy skates pants, I got a small in the new style. They’re really comfy, but they pilled to really bad after only 2 washes. My 6 year pairs don’t look that. They’re smooth, soft and amazing abs it looks like I’m going to send them in for new elastic because they fall off

Response from Patagonia
January 18, 2020

Hi Jimmy! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the pants pilled after only two washes. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 13, 2019

My trusty R1 top....as a bottom.

Been wearing the R1 quarter zip and R1 hoody for years and years, and finally was able to add the R1 pants to my collection. They function exactly as expected: awesomely. Comfortable, nice cut and nice deep pockets. The legs are maybe a touch wider than they need to be, but no big deal. The drawcord on the waist is a bit short though and can be a l... Read Moreittle bit of a pain to tie because of that. Also worth noting that they're starting to pill pretty quickly, but I expected that as the R1 fabric has a tendency to do that. This is a performance piece though first (I've used it snowboarding & fly fishing thus far, as well as just wearing them around the house) so I'm not too concerned about a little pilling as long as it stands the test of time, which I fully expect it to do as my R1 tops have.

December 10, 2019

cool weather pants

look great on. slim fit and true to size. great for 40 degree weather here in florida winter. out door tai chi practice and indoor yoga in a cool room. light weight and will be great for travel to cool climates. a bit expensive, even for patagonia.

December 4, 2019

Great

Just what I was looking for, very comfortable pair of warm pants. Breathable enough to be active in too.

December 2, 2019

Perform as expected

I’ve been mostly wearing these around the house as sweatpants, and a few times under shell pants on especially cold days. They work as fleece sweatpants should. The pockets are a nice addition. No fly makes them less than ideal as a base layer, but it’s not a real problem unless I’m wearing a harness. I’ve experienced the pilling that some others h... Read Moreave mentioned, which doesn’t matter to me. But it is baffling because they are made from the same stuff as my trusty R1 shirt that I’ve worn for years on many expeditions and rock climbing trips (including offwidthing and chimneys) with almost no pilling at all. But after a few weeks of casual wearing these pants around the house I started to see noticeable pilling. But it hasn’t gotten much worse since it appeared, and like I said it doesn’t affect the use of the pants at all for me.

December 2, 2019

My favorite pants

These pants get more use than any Patagonia product I have. I've worn them as house pants almost every day for over 5 years. Bought another pair a year ago just in case they discontinue at some point. Have yet to wear the new ones but they seem identical in every way. I really can't tell that my originals have worn very much but as stated... Read More...they're primarily my inside pants. Having said that I've never hesitated to head out to the store cause they do look better than your average sweatpants.

November 28, 2019

Excellent pants

Comfy, great fit, and can tell they will last

November 22, 2019

Fitted casual pants that are surprisingly warm

Lots of positive reviews here, and I concur. I can’t speak yet to how well they’ll hold up, but with Patagonia’s lifetime warranty, that’s not really a concern. Wear them and see what they do. What do they do? They fit well and are warm. They are billed as a base layer, but you can definitely wear them around casually and not get cold in the Fahren... Read Moreheit 20s or 30s. Great at home, running errands, even at work if you are wearing a t-shirt or something of similar formality. Would be a spectacular yoga pant for many men or women (not bulky, good movement, not stretch pants). Good for travel in that they don’t take up loads of room and are easy to wash and quick to dry.

November 20, 2019

Best down time pants for winter

Fit is perfect, super comfy.

November 16, 2019

R1

Perfect for layering or running

November 12, 2019

These are a hit, but could use some additional development to further refine

These pants are so close to being perfect for a variety of mild, casual conditions and situations. Extremely comfortable, warm without being too hot, and fit well. My only gripe after two months with them is that they started significantly pilling right in the immediate crotch area very soon after purchase and wear. I bought two pair to alternate b... Read Moreetween, and wear them often, but in thinking about the comparable R! fleece jacket I own, I didn't notice similar pilling in the analogous armpit area where fabric constantly folds and rubs against itself. So I worry that they will wear out in the crotch area far sooner than I would expect.

November 11, 2019

Bought these to lounge around.

Bought these to lounge around. I have some R1 pullover tops too, so love the feel of the material. Keeps me warm in and around the house.

November 11, 2019

Great pant layer

Great pant layer

November 10, 2019

The start of a great pant

Very good pant, waist could be great if they want back to the early Talus pant inside the waist with waist cinch - the best I have seen anywhere ever - I still have some that were made by Fastex (#192) just for that pant.

November 4, 2019

Length is great for my

Length is great for my 6’5 height

October 30, 2019

AMAZING!!!

These pants are sweeeeet! Ultra warm and so so comfortable! I've been waiting a long time to get these, bummed I waited this long! Been wearing them around the house, but purchased to wear under my waders for cold weather fishing. Fit is fantastic, but as a shorter man(5 foot 8 inches), the inseam is a bit long for me. Still, amazing product... Read More!

October 29, 2019

Love them!

I am a woman who fits better in men's pants usually because the hips aren't as big. So these men's pants in med. fit perfectly. 5'7", 150, athletic with long legs. The only gripe is that I wish the front pockets were zippered. They flare out when you bend and things fall out.

September 22, 2019

These are awesome

A friend recommended these to me a year ago and I didn't listen. Big mistake. These are my new go-to pants.

September 22, 2019

Mens R1 pants

I love that they are recycled, but would have preferred a selection of colors.. the R1 texture is not my favorite, something smoother would also fit my taste also

September 16, 2019

Super Cozy

I'm a sailboat dweller / alpinist, so these are clutch on those crisp cold mornings. The weight & pack-ability is just about right. The cut is almost perfect for me, although I wish there was a long option. I'm rather leggy, and these are the high-water side. 160lbs 6'3"

September 13, 2019

Good old favorites

Whether you are layering for the cold or slipping into them for an evening of couch surfing, you can’t go wrong

September 9, 2019

Mens sizing too big for a petite woman

Love the style and R1 materials. I wish you made the R1 pant in women's specific sizes for the length and hips! The mens XS is still too big for me at 5'3" 130 lbs. Would love if they had the option of the R1 pants in the women's sizes with a shorter inseam but the same loose relaxed cut. These are great especially for under s... Read Moreplash pants when whitewater rafting or to throw on after a day skiing or snowboarding. I'm jealous of all the guys I know who own these pants and love them. If you're a guy or a woman over 5'8" then these are great. The guys have way better pant options compared to most of the women's are tights or slim cut tighter versions of the guys (i.e. woman snap-t pants are not overly realxed and ankles are tight instead of looser/straight legs and relaxed).

September 6, 2019

Zippers!!

I've had a pair of these for a very long time and they have zippers on the side pockets. Please make them that way again and I'll buy multiple pairs. They are my go to hang around pant/layer under hunting/fishing pants/waders etc.etc. and have been on many trips. Please add the zippers back!!

August 26, 2019

R-1 Pants

They fit so well and are so comfortable, I wear them all of the time. They are sufficiently presentable to even wear to some meetings and at night. I have multiple pairs of R-1's and would like to see them offered in different colors.

December 23, 2018

Great update of very versatjle warm layer

Replaced an 12 year old pair of r1 pants. R1 fabric is great for a wide variety of cool and cold weather activities. Warm, wicks moisture, functions well when damp, easy to 'wear dry' when wet. If soaked, wring them out, put them back in, and go. Not remotely windproof, but Very warm under shell pants. I use them alone on cooler walks ... Read Moreand cold weather hiking, nordic skiing, and under a shell for winter hiking and climbing. could sub as a pair of sweatpants for cool weather running. Looser than the older ones, and 2 side pockets (same location as a pair of khakis). Older model had one small rear zippered pocket and were sized like a base layer, tighter cuffs, less fabric around legs. If you want that base layer fit, Patagonia thermal capilene bottoms give you that, though with a lighter/not S warm grid fabric. Live the drawstring on these.

December 21, 2018

Best Pants out there -- But Need zippers

I have 3 pairs of these pants. I wear them everyday. To work, everyday things, skiing, hiking, climbing. They're incredible, but the pockets are awful. Everything falls out of them. If you're driving with keys in your pockets, they will fall out, guaranteed. I can't use the pockets while climbing for obvious reasons or for skiing. I ... Read Morewould buy 3 more of these pants instantly if zipper pockets were added. I would also like to see some more colors. Definitely can't go wrong with these amazing pants though. Just please add zipper pockets.

December 20, 2018

The greatest pants i own

The R1 Pants are simply the greatest pants I own. So comfortable and fit me so, so well. They are slimmer than other fleece pants, so you can take some liberties with wearing them in public and still maintain some decency. They are unmatched in comfort. There's nothing I would rather wear around my cold house in the winter. They're great ... Read Moreunder snow pants too!

November 19, 2018

Pilling far too soon

I will start by telling you that I LOVE everything I have every owned by Patagonia. In October 2018 I purchased the R1 pants and new full zip R1 with hood, one week after I received the pants, they started pilling. I contacted the Customer Service and made a report. I had not worn them under Blue Jeans and had not washed them yet. They started pill... Read Moreing pretty bad, in my opinion, for something that costs as much as they do. I have now had my new R1 pants that CS sent, and now two weeks of having them, they are pilling again. I do believe if I were to wear these as a base layer, they would totally look un-presentable. I am a little disappointed, because they are so comfortable...

November 16, 2018

Great Lounge Pants!

I love these pants! They definitely have a slim cut and the inseam for the Medium is probably closer to 33" (which works great for me!) These pants use the smaller grid pattern and stitched logo similar to the old R1 jackets. Please bring back the stitched logo for all R1 products. Extremely happy with this purchase!

October 2, 2018

Best cool to cold weather pants

I’ve worn these pants in every type of weather in Colorado for a little over a year . I wear them for camping all year combined with an r1 hoody and can be toasty warm below freezing all the way down to near zero or mild temps to just stay warm . My favorite pants to wear anywhere for any reason!

September 10, 2018

Go To Pants when the weather gets cool

These are my favorite casual pants once the weather gets cool. Wear them around the house, around the campsite, walking the dog, on car trips, to the grocery & under my waders when it really gets cold. Too baggy to wear as any sort of insulating layer though. I've read complaints about pilling but haven't experienced any for myself in... Read More the past year of owning them. I was 150lbs when I bought them and down to about 142lbs now and the mediums have always been too big. But since I'm 6'2" the Smalls would be too short I am afraid. Very comfortable.

August 4, 2018

Be careful on your purchase

The pants look great out of the box. After one wear and not one wash the pants began to fray and look like they are years old. For the price you expect a much better material. Beware before you purchase.

March 20, 2018

Perfect lounging pants

Bought these in October and I've worn them at least once weekly since. A little bit of pilling on the front which is disappointing,but the pants are great for cool weather casual wear and an outer layer to ditch once I get into the gym. I love them and may get the top. They almost mimic a military waffle bottom except with loose ankles.

December 26, 2017

Great material. Very Durable. Way too long

It would be nice to have an 30 inch inseam as an option. even the XS start at 31 inches.

November 19, 2017

6 Month Review

I have had these for six months now and been in the about 30 times.I use these as a base/mid layer under my waders.For summer to late summer early fall in upstate ny they worked well.As the water temps dropped below 45 Degrees the pants really didn't cut the mustard. I had to go to my nano puff pants for steelhead season with the R1 as a base.... Read More That's not really a knock against the pants but for winter wading A thermal base layer in these pants don't cut the mustard. The fit of the pants is great although the draw cord is a little bit tricky to cinch down tight.I wish that they also had a back pocket for a wallet.After about six months there is quite a bit of piling.In another six months I can see them wearing thin. I would hesitate to recommend them.

November 1, 2017

Warm and comfortable

I first got R1 pants back in 2003 and really liked them but the elastic finally wore out several years ago. I replaced them,but that version was almost like tights,and I am skinny. I don't like tight pants so the 2010s have been challenging for buying men's pants,especially stylish ones from places like patagonia. These new R1s are way ba... Read Moreggier,more like the old ones I liked. Loose fitting without a cuff at the bottom is what I wanted. They do run long,even the extra smalls start at 31 inch inseam which is odd to me. I would prefer a 30. But you can get them altered or do it yourself,they are fine otherwise. I am 5'7" male,140 lbs and got a medium,anything bigger would have been too big. While expensive,these will last for ages,I still have my 2003 ones but just need to fix the elastic and there are a few holes,its wearing thin after 14 years and a hundred washes. Now I just need to put my too-tight ones on the worn wear site!

October 21, 2017

Make them for Women!

My second pair of R1 Women's pants finally are biting the dust and there is no choice for women in this weight. Patagonia,please go back to making an R1 choice for women in pants. The men's version is not unisex enough and the color is so drab. Thank you.

October 2, 2017

Not the old one

I had an older model with zippered pockets. I like that

August 28, 2017

Nice pants,comfortable

Bought these before a trip to Alaska. Served me well,but they did come with a fraying seam. Patagonia replaced them within three days of my request!

June 27, 2017

Bring back the old style

I had an old pair of R1 pants,lost them on trip recently. They were the greatest. I would love to replace them,but these are more like sweat pants than a base layer. Patagonia,plz help.

June 4, 2017

Wish they had elasticized cuffs

These are awesome but I wish they had elasticized cuffs in addition to the waist band. Would be the perfect layer or lounge pants

April 16, 2017

Base 4 Fish/Ski

I use them as a base layer under my waiters and ski pants...perfect !

March 13, 2017

Great Fit...more colors!

I've had these for over a year. Turned in to my go-to base layer for skiing. Great for traveling to and from the slopes and then throw on your ski pants. They also have turned in to my sweatpants in the summer. Year-round weekly washings and still look great. Biggest gripe...MORE colors. This is the end of the second season of the same.

February 28, 2017

You need these,now!

I bought a pair of these for layering and warmth outside...and now wear almost nothing else inside! Great fit. Warm yet breathable--and so comfortable I just bought two more pairs. An excellent,lasting value.

January 9, 2017

Nice fleece pants

They are comfortable and warm. I wear these in my waders over a baselayer during winter months. My feedback on these pants would be deeper front pockets and add a rear zippered pocket.

January 6, 2017

Love R1 pants

Love these--great for hanging around the house on a chilly morning/evening. Wear these with an R1 top,and you can leave the thermostat down low. Great as a layer under waders,great as a base layer for skiing. Good for everything. Can't get enough of them.

December 4, 2016

Add a Zippered Fly and Velcro Cuffs!

I wear them under my shell pants and also under waders. I love the fit and feel of these pants,however they're in dire need of a zippered fly! When fishing by boat or hunting with a shell over them,there is no fly to match the fly in the shells I wear. That makes things a bit difficult and aggravating for me. Another thing that's badly n... Read Moreeeded is elastic velcro ankle cuffs- like adjustable jacket wrist cuffs. Every time I wear these pants under a shell or waders I have to stuff the ankle cuffs in my socks and that's another inconvenience. If you want to improve these pants make these changes,then add more colors.

November 27, 2016

Comfortable

Some piling over time,but very nice good quality. Worth it.

October 27, 2016

great but run small

Great pants,comfortable,mid warmth; not quite the warmth of fleece but I don't yet need that. Tried a pair a few years ago and they fit "snug" and I bought them true to size. This year I sized up one size from L to XL,(I'm 6'0 200,lbs 34" waist) and they fit great. slightly loose and comfortable for lounging around the... Read More house and I easily wear outside if needed..

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches