Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders

Write Your Review

4.53 /5

Filter Reviews

All 15 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders

4.53
True To Size
November 30, 2020

Stout!

These waders are super stout! They are definitely expedition weight. I spend a lot of time in my waders so I wanted something that was burley enough to withstand the daily abuse from guiding. I love the shoulder strap configuration; being able to pull them up and lower them down depending on the temp.

October 19, 2020

I love my Swiftcurrent waders!

Let me start with I love my Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders! I retired this past Dec (2019) and I got a bunch of fishing in, in them this year. I really put them through their paces. My only issue is the boot sizing. Im a size 11 shoe. When I tried the waders on at the fly show, they didnt have a pair of the L booties. The M se... Read Moreemed tight. The rep suggested going to L size. This was a mistake. I wish I had gone for the M. The L are huge on me and I get sore feet because they are bunched up in the boot. If you are in-between go with the smaller size. I bet they will stretch. I find getting in and out can be tight unless you lower the top on the sliders but in return they fit perfectly. The following are recommendations for improvements that I would love in future models. The inside waterproof pocket should be removable. Velcro in rather than welding in. The current design requires the pocket to be flipped out to access what is in the pocket. It is almost impossible to flip it unless you unzip and lower the waders. If you forget to position it correctly when you are getting ready you must unzip and redo otherwise it bunches up and is uncomfortable. If you solve this next issue it will be a great patent! The wader belt length adjustments are in the wrong spot on the belt(at least for me). They are a pain to get through the belt loop on the wader. What is worse, they dont seem to hold the belt from sliding back through the loop. I wear a wading stick on my belt on one side and a rod holder on the other. The weight pulls them back through the loop all the time. If you figure out a way to stop the belt from sliding back through the belt loops it would be awesome. I see people all the time struggling to get the belt end back through the loops. Maybe just make the loop wider, rather than a ¼ inch loop. I prefer D-rings rather than the flaps you have to hang tools. I dont trust safety pin zingers. I would add a D-ring where the suspender straps come together in the back. This will allow you to hang a net off the back of the suspenders. A small slot pouch and a D-ring on the inside front to store and clip leash for forceps/scissors right where you need them would be awesome. I currently use the zipper cover on the outside to hold forceps. I tuck the leash inside. The string zipper-pulls always seem to un-knot at the most inopportune time. These could be better. These enhancements are what I would consider make the perfect wader. I realize each enhancement ads cost and you need to balance. I do love my Swiftcurrent waders! Thanks

September 2, 2020

Tough waders

The Rio Gallegos line are the Toughest waders Ive owned. Highly recommend.

August 5, 2020

Good first impression, but too early to tell

These are the third pair of zip-front waders I've purchased - previously one Reddington & one Orvis. I like the trimmer fit compared to the non-zip variety and ability to open them up for ventilation. The zippers of the others never leaked. The previous pairs were each good for two years, then started to seep water along seams. I had no is... Read Moresues with punctures. This is not a major problem in the summer, but winter fishing while wet is a different story. I tried sealing the seams by painting with liquid Flex Seal, but they continue to seep. The Patagonia waders fit well, but so did the previous ones. They appear to be well constructed. I expect they will be ok when I put them to the test tomorrow. The key test will be how their durability compares with the others over time. If they hold up longer than the others, I might eventually re-visit my review raise my rating to 5 stars.

June 24, 2020

Too Tight

As others have mentioned, this is a well appointed wader. The features are impressive. However, going from the Rio Gallegos to the Swiftcurrent, the design failed to give adequate room in the crotch. I am not sure quite how this cleared the design process, but this issue makes the waders most undesirable. Ill unfortunately have to return these wade... Read Morers.

June 23, 2020

Function and Durable, Yet Difficult Fit

I dont think theres a more burly, seemingly durable wader than the swift current expeditions. I purchased these with super high expectations. My height is 63 and I have a 46 inch girth measurement and 34 inseam. I wear XL Jackets and Pants from Patagonia and have always found them to fit perfectly. With that being said I followed the size chart and... Read More purchased XLL. I immediately found the booties to be very large to accommodate a 12-14 foot rather than my 11.5 which I was expected but still a little disappointing that there isnt more customization in the bootie sizing. The legs were actually the only part of the waders that fit well. Trim yet easy to move in etc. There is very limited room in the crotch region and I found that the mid seam was uncomfortable and binding and the suspenders did not offer enough range of adjustment to give any relief in the nether regions of the waders. The uppers did have some range of adjustment with the draw cords etc. but are on the whole very large, so much to the point it felt like very baggy. I returned the waders and received the refund promptly (Thanks Patagonia Customer Service). I am a Patagonia fan and very much look forward to the next iteration of these waders with hopefully a much improved fit for us bigger/taller guys.

June 12, 2020

Excellent First Experience

Just purchased the waders and took a three day wade trip. Totally comfortable, felt solid, safe and secure even in fairly deep water and strong current. No complaints, and the quality seems superb. We'll see how they wear over time, but at this point I'm very happy.

June 1, 2020

Paid the bucks and glad I did

I'm 6'2'', 226 #, 45" largest girth(chest) and size 11 foot. I ordered LLM. I have owned several brands of waders over the past 30 years of fly fishing. My first time out this year both booties leaked in my go-to waders. Sent them in for repair (4-6 weeks). My back-up waders also leaked. They're old and I decided to r... Read Moreetire them. I was felt with a pair of hippers that are fine but limit access to the water I like to fish. I live in a rural area and don't have access to shops I can go and try waders on. So, after 2 days of intense online research, I ordered the Swiftcurrent zippered. Guides and friends who have zippered waders and love them. My style of fishing is to work a pool or stretch of water and leave my pack on the bank. I find this less tiring and easier to cast. To change flies, add tippet, land and release fish I need reasonal pockets and attachment points to carry some gear with my waders and stay on the fish. The Swiftcurrents seemed to fit the bill. As soon as they arrived I put them on and walked, sat, squatted, kneeled down, and got in and out of my truck. No problems. At first, I thought they might be a tad too long, but after all my gyrations they seemed to conform. I'm glad I ordered the L length (34"). My inseam from crotch to floor is 34. When I buy pants I get a 32" imseam. If I had ordered a M inseam for the waders they would definitely have been too short. The next day 6 hours on the water. These waders are awesome. Comfortable on the water, on land, and driving from spot to spot. Having the zipper is a fantastic feature for convenience, and easy on/off. I can see these becoming my Golden Retriever of waders.

April 24, 2020

Top-Notch Waders

I picked these up to add a warmer, but adaptable, chest-high option to complement my Gunnison wading pants. I was a little nervous about the fit after reading a previous review from someone with the same or at least very similar body dimensions. I'm 6'2", and my pant size is typically 32or33x34. Shoe size is 10.5. My wading pants are... Read More Medium Regular, but I opted to follow the current size chart and order up the MLM, which best matched up to my measurements. I don't like excess bulk in my clothing, particularly in waders, so I opted to trust the size chart and rely on Patagonia's proven willingness to make it right in the event that I had the same fit issues. Straight off I had no issues with the bootie sizing with a thin liner sock. But they would definitely be snug with a light wool hiking sock in there. I got the suspenders up over my shoulders, and they definitely crept up in the rear in a way that would be distracting, if not uncomfortable during a day of fishing. Everything else seemed perfect, so I took a closer look at the waders for adjustment options. Sure enough there were some adjustments on the front of the suspenders. I had to drop the hook to the lowest hole, but once I did, the fit was perfect for me. I could lift my knees, raise my arms, etc without any binding down below. I haven't had them out on the water, but the fit, and my simulated run-through of typical actions I might do to access pockets on the water were good. There is definitely adjustment available, but longer torsos, or that additional inch of height might tax that a bit. I definitely recommend these waders for quality and features. They happen to fit me very well, but you might have to try them on for yourself to make sure the adjustments accommodate your dimensions.

April 24, 2020

Great, with one caveat...

These are the nicest waders I've owned and I've had quite a few different ones over the past 30 years. I did find that the bootie/foot sizing on these is not inline with my actual foot size though. I have size 12 feet and ordered accordingly. When the waders arrived the booties were huge so I had to return/swap for the same size wader wit... Read Moreh smaller feet which must be made large to accommodate socks or something but the size 12/13 booties are far too big for my size 12 feet. Additionally, I think it takes walking around in these for 10-15 minutes to really gauge fit and sizing. When I initially put mine on they seemed too small as they are a bit more trim than the Rio Gallegos waders I previously had. However, once I'd walked around the house in them for ten minutes it was clear that while certainly a "trimmer" fit, I do in fact wear the same size in these as I did the Rio Gallegos, they just fit a little differently (probably better actually). These are my first zippered waders and while I had originally thought the zipper would make getting into them far easier, I think the real advantage with the zipper is getting out of them, and the noon moment behind the bushes. Overall, these are great, a big improvement over any waders I've previously owned, I'm very happy with them.

March 14, 2020

Saved My Pennies for a Lifetime Opportunity

Patagonia, I absolutely love you, your people, and your desire to protect and serve this place we call home. Your ascetic is very much that which best represent my own, in a brand. I choose to work with you regularly becuase of the quality, devotion to environmentalism, and overall organizational ethic you encompass. This is the reason that for all... Read More things, climbing, running and fishing I choose you. Alas, after much consternation, convincing of my wife, and hording of my pennies I decided to buy what I believed to be the perfect pair of waders, the Swifcurrent (and the front-zip at that)! On receipt I realized that the size chart must have been wrong and referenced back to the one provided on-line. I am 6'2" with a 33 inch waist and a 10.5 shoe size and when reading the guide I should be a MLM....beeeeeep... wrong answer, and in pulling them on I could barely sit, the booties were skin tight to my foot and the inseam pulling tight into my nether-region. Ok Ok, "I got this," I said to myself, "lets try the MLL." Returned, shipped and received later- and the waders fit perfet less one very uncomfortable thing- the nether-region. Wow, "am I going to tear myself or these waders first," I thought. So, this time I made an executive decision and I went into my local PDX Patagonia and with the help of the staff found an LRL (as they did not have the LLL) and tried that on. Eureka, the crotch was comfortable but the 44" girth made it feel like I was swimming in them. Alas, I kept the MLL and walked away with one of the staff metioning, "this was the 5th time he heard someone mention the issue in the crotch." I hope to not hike far, tuck myself tight and look for a future repair job that may add some room down below. Patagonia- I ain't normally fussy, nor do I ever write reviews but for the quality you put into your products it may make sense to add a little room below for us tall gents who are fit and not girthy. Your friend- Connor

March 1, 2020

Pricey, but....

With a busy work schedule I only get on the water for a couple of multi day trips each year. I had been looking for a new pair of waders for some time now as my current pair were approximately 10 years old. They were from another manufacturer and have served me incredibly well. But a lot has changed in the past decade and I was looking for somethin... Read Moreg with more features. I purchased the LSM Zip Front waders and the fit is perfect (Im 59, 210) from head to toe. The booties are amazing and finally I dont have material bunched at the front of my boot. The knee pads are a nice touch and the updated belt is very sturdy and comfortable. The articulation throughout the garment is awesome and will provide for a full range of motion on the water and over the trails. The top half of the waders are cut a little bigger which allows for plenty of layering options to match your weather conditions. All of the zippers are super sturdy and the various pockets give lots of options for gear. The internal waterproof pouch is perfectly sized for cell phones which is perfect as that is my go to for photos and videos. I was I little nervous about the shoulder straps just having one attachment point in the back, but they work great and there are many fine tuning options for a perfect fit. The quick release suspender system also works amazingly well and will be perfect for a quick conversion to hip waders as the weather heats up throughout the day. From the online pictures I wasnt sure how I would feel about the color but they look really sharp and its certainly different from the standard issue khaki of every other manufacturer. The only design element that I dont love is the boot lace hook at the front of the gravel guards. Im used to that extending all the way down to the front of my boot and hooking into the first crossing of the laces. However, the design on the waders only allows you to get about half way down your laces. Its not a big deal and overall the gravel guard design is much improved from the waders I had previously worn. These waders are certainly not cheap but are a huge upgrade from featureless waders of the past. Im looking forward to wearing these waders for a very long time and through many adventures!

March 1, 2020

These waders are next level

I didnt think these waders were a big upgrade from the Rio Gallegos but I was completely wrong. The fit alone is well worth getting these. Patagonia really did put in the effort on making sure the fit is right. So many little upgrades that make these perfect.

January 24, 2020

Dave H.

Waders fit great and are extremely comfortable. Quick-release suspenders are an improvement over old models.

December 23, 2019

The Best Waders I’ve Ever Owned!

I was fortunate to get to try these out a few months back and just recently got my very own pair. The fit is great. Love the colors. Apple the upgrades, like a bigger waterproof pocket and quick release suspenders. It’s wonderful they’ve found a way to use recycled materials to build these. Obviously can’t comment on the longevity, but they seem bu... Read Moreilt to last. The new construction should help with that. Ultimately I’m not worried, because Patagonia has the best warranty program on the planet. They truly stand behind their products, while helping steward the lands we love so much.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches