Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • SRM
  • MXM
  • MSM
  • MRM
  • MRL
  • MLM
  • LSM
  • LRM
  • LRL
  • LLL
  • XRM
  • XLL
  • 2RM
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 26 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders

4.7/5
True To Size
May 9, 2021

Great Quality

Although I havent taken to the water with them yet. The quality and the look of this product are everything I was hoping it would be.

May 8, 2021

These are the future

This is how every wader should be made. Read that again. They fit better, feel more durable and look better than any wader Ive ever seen or worn. When I first took them out of the box and tried them on, I was absolutely blown away, I didnt want to take them off. First day on the water I wore them all day long. Multiple spots and car rides in all my... Read More gear. Even though the material is thick and rugged, I never got too hot, and it was 86 degrees and dry here in southern Colorado. They breath very well during the hike, and even better in the water. As a previous reviewer said, the sizing of these is years ahead of the competition. I was trying the competitors waders but just couldnt find the right size, even with a custom fit. Its like theyre all made in proportion to the foot size. I am 510 ~180 lbs, 38 chest, 32 inseam, 33 waist, 34 hips and a size 12 shoe. I got the MRL size and I could not dream of a better fit. Obviously wader fit is very important to me, as it should be, it is pivotal to the longevity and comfort of the wader. I do a lot of hiking so I dont want to feel like Im wearing waders. I dont like the overly baggy fit. These are the answer. They fit like theyre tailored to my body, but yet I have all the room I need exactly where I need it, nothing more. They are very customizable with the ladder system on the suspenders and the cinch around the chest. Trust the sizing guide, because even if they dont feel like they fit out of the box, theres a lot you can do to find that perfect fit. These are pricey, obviously, and when I first saw them in a fly shop awhile back I was mesmerized, Id never seen anything like them. Every breathable wader Id ever seen was basically one of three colors. These waders really stood out to me. But alas, I thought no way, I could never justify spending that on a pair of waders. For me they are worth every penny. The Patagonia warranty alone is enough to justify the investment. So many great features on these waders. I love the convertible straps and the zipper is a game changer. I cannot stress that enough. If youre on the fence about this model and the non-zip model, do not hesitate to get these. The zipper makes it very convenient to get in and out of the waders without unhooking the straps, amongst other things. You know what I mean. The 12-14 stocking foot is perfect for my size 12 street shoe and leaves room for extra socks without being too big. I use the competitor Flyweight boot in a size 13 and its a perfect fit. I dont think theres a better combo on the market today for someone like me who enjoys the long backcountry hikes to the honey hole. This wader style should be and will be the future. I havent had these for very long, so I cant speak on the longevity or overall durability of these waders, but the feeling of the material alone gives me confidence that I will be using these for many years to come, even if I do have to repair them at some point. Speaking of repairs, they include the materials to do it yourself. How is this not standard across the board?! At this price point, I feel nitpicking is warranted. The only feature that could be added is some kind of dedicated net attachment on the back of the waders. I wear a chest pack for that reason alone, because otherwise they easily have enough storage to forego a pack or vest in most cases. You could, however, easily attach a carabiner and magnetic net release to the back strap to solve this problem. The included interior waterproof pocket is a very nice touch, I dont understand how thats not standard at this price point. It could be nice if it was removable, but thats extremely trivial at this point. I legitimately dont have any complaints about these waders. I am extremely happy with my purchase and cant wait to use these as long as I possibly can. I could go on and on about what I love about these waders, but I think Ive said enough. I really dont think you can go wrong with these. If you spend a lot of time in waders, or would like to, theres nothing better on the market today. I truly believe that.

May 8, 2021

Game changer

Finally making the switch to the zip front even with the convertible straps is life changing. The zipper pull is weird but Im sure that theres a reason its shaped like it is.

May 6, 2021

Superior Product

Ive been guiding in Alaska for a few years now and consistently had issues with the competitors products and their serious lack of customer support. Alas, I finally came to my senses and couldnt be happier now that I have the Patagonia Swiftcurrent Expedition waders as part of my daily kit. These waders are designed to take a beating and stave off... Read More the chill from our cold Alaskan waters. The sizing was spot on, no more saggy butt while still offering plenty of room for bending and squatting. The harness/shoulder straps system is flawless, easy to adjust and comfortable with no cutting into your shoulders. The many water tight pockets are roomy and secured by quality zippers that surely wont fail...and if they did you can be assured Patagonia will quickly remedy the issue like they do with all their products. In closing I would highly recommend the Swiftwater Expedition Waders, they look and feel great and most importantly are built to take the daily abuse of guide work. No Pebble Mine, Leave No Trace and Tight Lines to All

May 5, 2021

Perfect, So Far

The waders have a snug, but comfortable fit so they are comfortable when hiking and cut through the water better than more traditional baggy waders. An unexpected feature that I love are the knee pads. During a recent 3-day outing I spent a lot of time kneeling in the water to land and photograph fish; something I would never do with other waders.... Read More The pads are extremely soft and comfortable, but thin enough that I don't notice them when I walk. Kudos to whomever came up with them. This is my first zippered wader. I had my doubts when others assured me that the zipper would be "life changing," but they didn't lie. I just wish the wader's belt loops accommodated my wider wading belt with lumbar support. The fleeced booties keep my feet toasty, but I haven't had a chance to test them out in 33 degree water yet. But I am betting they'll make a meaningful difference. Accessing the cell phone/camera from the waterproof pocket is a bit of a hassle, but still is a nice feature. The inside "basket pockets" are perfect for a small bottle of water or a big fly box, it's a smart use of space. I appreciate all Patagonia does to save the planet and so far these waders are worth the investment. The real test will be longevity, but I have high hopes.

April 28, 2021

BEST waders out there

I purchased these waders when they first came out and have put them through the ringer. I am hard on waders; I've walked through thick brush, slid on my butt down large hills, and have walked miles in these, and they're incredibly durable. They're great while fishing in Michigan winters, as well as the summer. No complaints, I&#x27... Read More;ll have these forever.

April 22, 2021

(e.g. Super Warm)

I am a long time happy Patagonia customer and found your new sizing system for waders more than a bit challenging. A sign of the "covid times" resulted in me not being able to try on Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders before purchasing. Patagonia employees were most accommodating, but it did take me three times ... Read Moreto get the correct size. I'm a little longer in the tooth now, so it made a big difference for me getting in and out of the waders that had a zipper on the front! The Patagonia waders are simply the best on the market! Thank you to all Patagonians were so patient and facilitating in helping me make this successful acquisition!

March 13, 2021

Great features and durable feel

Just made the switch over from a competitors waders after too many issues with durability and quality. Im really glad I decided to purchase these waders. They are extremely comfortable; the fit chart said I ought to be a size medium, but I dislike tight fitting waders and opted to size up to a large. Theres ample room for layering underneath. Addit... Read Moreionally, theres enough space for my knee to flex and articulate while hiking or scrambling from spot to spot without stressing the welded seams. Speaking of knees, the integrated knee pads are an awesome addition. Cant say enough about the usefulness of the front zipper but It might make for some extra maintenance/ attentiveness to keep sand and grit out to avoid damaging the seals. Pocket design is well thought out and the grid-fleece lining is comfy to the touch. Boot-feet of the same material is great to wick sweat from the feet and seems to insulate really well, although my feet dont get cold as easily as others. Ive put a fair amount of time in these waders which included some hike-ins and bushwhacky moments as well as some time rowing a boat and they really feel like they are built to last. Obviously some care is necessary to maintain any wader that sees a fair amount of use but I cant imagine any serious leaks ( E.g the seams) occurring without some serious use or neglect. If youre looking for a quality wader that beats the price of competitors, offers more features, and is backed by one of the better warranties in the business then I wouldnt hesitate to purchase these.

February 24, 2021

Great waders!

This the first set of real waders I've owned. I have purchased really cheap waders and hip boots in the past and have lived the adage, "you get what you pay for". I'm impressed with the Swiftcurrent Expedition waders. It's obvious a lot of thought went into producing these waders. The front zipper is a great idea especially... Read More for someone like me with arthritic and torn up shoulders. It makes it quite easy to get the waders on and off. The hand warmer pockets are another option that has been very nice to have. They are handy this time of year when the air is usually colder than the river. The zippered pockets on the front are nice for carrying minimal gear so I can leave the supply pack in the car or on the bank. The neoprene booties have done a pretty good job of keep my feet warm too. I also bought a pair of the Dannner Foot Tractor wading boots which with the waders is a pretty awesome set up and gives me confidence to go places I would have shied away from in the past. Thanks for the great products. Keep up the good work!

January 30, 2021

More durable w/ relaxed fit

Really like the relaxed fit. Not a rigid wader. Worked incredibly well in ivy conditions. Love my new waders.

January 18, 2021

Solid construction

Only had these out on the River a few times but so far Im very happy. Im 5 10 and the fit for me is perfect. The booties are just the right size and theres plenty of room in the chest area for a heavy shirt and jacket. The zipper is robust and I really like the hefty zipper pull. The seams and sewing are real solid and should last. Would give 5 sta... Read Morers but need more time on these waders to see how they hold up.

November 30, 2020

Stout!

These waders are super stout! They are definitely expedition weight. I spend a lot of time in my waders so I wanted something that was burley enough to withstand the daily abuse from guiding. I love the shoulder strap configuration; being able to pull them up and lower them down depending on the temp.

October 19, 2020

I love my Swiftcurrent waders!

Let me start with I love my Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders! I retired this past Dec (2019) and I got a bunch of fishing in, in them this year. I really put them through their paces. My only issue is the boot sizing. Im a size 11 shoe. When I tried the waders on at the fly show, they didnt have a pair of the L booties. The M se... Read Moreemed tight. The rep suggested going to L size. This was a mistake. I wish I had gone for the M. The L are huge on me and I get sore feet because they are bunched up in the boot. If you are in-between go with the smaller size. I bet they will stretch. I find getting in and out can be tight unless you lower the top on the sliders but in return they fit perfectly. The following are recommendations for improvements that I would love in future models. The inside waterproof pocket should be removable. Velcro in rather than welding in. The current design requires the pocket to be flipped out to access what is in the pocket. It is almost impossible to flip it unless you unzip and lower the waders. If you forget to position it correctly when you are getting ready you must unzip and redo otherwise it bunches up and is uncomfortable. If you solve this next issue it will be a great patent! The wader belt length adjustments are in the wrong spot on the belt(at least for me). They are a pain to get through the belt loop on the wader. What is worse, they dont seem to hold the belt from sliding back through the loop. I wear a wading stick on my belt on one side and a rod holder on the other. The weight pulls them back through the loop all the time. If you figure out a way to stop the belt from sliding back through the belt loops it would be awesome. I see people all the time struggling to get the belt end back through the loops. Maybe just make the loop wider, rather than a ¼ inch loop. I prefer D-rings rather than the flaps you have to hang tools. I dont trust safety pin zingers. I would add a D-ring where the suspender straps come together in the back. This will allow you to hang a net off the back of the suspenders. A small slot pouch and a D-ring on the inside front to store and clip leash for forceps/scissors right where you need them would be awesome. I currently use the zipper cover on the outside to hold forceps. I tuck the leash inside. The string zipper-pulls always seem to un-knot at the most inopportune time. These could be better. These enhancements are what I would consider make the perfect wader. I realize each enhancement ads cost and you need to balance. I do love my Swiftcurrent waders! Thanks

September 2, 2020

Great waders with a full zipper front.

These waders are very well designed for long days on the water. The full zipper front allows easy access to strip layers as needed. They come with built in knee pads for stalking fish or just taking a break. The upper straps adjust with a plastic buckle and pull tab, allowing you to shed layers or even push the top down to wear them like pants. I l... Read Moreove them and will wear them till they wear out. At that time I will buy another set.

September 2, 2020

Tough waders

The Rio Gallegos line are the Toughest waders Ive owned. Highly recommend.

August 5, 2020

Good first impression, but too early to tell

These are the third pair of zip-front waders I've purchased - previously one Reddington & one Orvis. I like the trimmer fit compared to the non-zip variety and ability to open them up for ventilation. The zippers of the others never leaked. The previous pairs were each good for two years, then started to seep water along seams. I had no is... Read Moresues with punctures. This is not a major problem in the summer, but winter fishing while wet is a different story. I tried sealing the seams by painting with liquid Flex Seal, but they continue to seep. The Patagonia waders fit well, but so did the previous ones. They appear to be well constructed. I expect they will be ok when I put them to the test tomorrow. The key test will be how their durability compares with the others over time. If they hold up longer than the others, I might eventually re-visit my review raise my rating to 5 stars.

June 24, 2020

Too Tight

As others have mentioned, this is a well appointed wader. The features are impressive. However, going from the Rio Gallegos to the Swiftcurrent, the design failed to give adequate room in the crotch. I am not sure quite how this cleared the design process, but this issue makes the waders most undesirable. Ill unfortunately have to return these wade... Read Morers.

June 23, 2020

Function and Durable, Yet Difficult Fit

I dont think theres a more burly, seemingly durable wader than the swift current expeditions. I purchased these with super high expectations. My height is 63 and I have a 46 inch girth measurement and 34 inseam. I wear XL Jackets and Pants from Patagonia and have always found them to fit perfectly. With that being said I followed the size chart and... Read More purchased XLL. I immediately found the booties to be very large to accommodate a 12-14 foot rather than my 11.5 which I was expected but still a little disappointing that there isnt more customization in the bootie sizing. The legs were actually the only part of the waders that fit well. Trim yet easy to move in etc. There is very limited room in the crotch region and I found that the mid seam was uncomfortable and binding and the suspenders did not offer enough range of adjustment to give any relief in the nether regions of the waders. The uppers did have some range of adjustment with the draw cords etc. but are on the whole very large, so much to the point it felt like very baggy. I returned the waders and received the refund promptly (Thanks Patagonia Customer Service). I am a Patagonia fan and very much look forward to the next iteration of these waders with hopefully a much improved fit for us bigger/taller guys.

June 12, 2020

Excellent First Experience

Just purchased the waders and took a three day wade trip. Totally comfortable, felt solid, safe and secure even in fairly deep water and strong current. No complaints, and the quality seems superb. We'll see how they wear over time, but at this point I'm very happy.

June 1, 2020

Paid the bucks and glad I did

I'm 6'2'', 226 #, 45" largest girth(chest) and size 11 foot. I ordered LLM. I have owned several brands of waders over the past 30 years of fly fishing. My first time out this year both booties leaked in my go-to waders. Sent them in for repair (4-6 weeks). My back-up waders also leaked. They're old and I decided to r... Read Moreetire them. I was felt with a pair of hippers that are fine but limit access to the water I like to fish. I live in a rural area and don't have access to shops I can go and try waders on. So, after 2 days of intense online research, I ordered the Swiftcurrent zippered. Guides and friends who have zippered waders and love them. My style of fishing is to work a pool or stretch of water and leave my pack on the bank. I find this less tiring and easier to cast. To change flies, add tippet, land and release fish I need reasonal pockets and attachment points to carry some gear with my waders and stay on the fish. The Swiftcurrents seemed to fit the bill. As soon as they arrived I put them on and walked, sat, squatted, kneeled down, and got in and out of my truck. No problems. At first, I thought they might be a tad too long, but after all my gyrations they seemed to conform. I'm glad I ordered the L length (34"). My inseam from crotch to floor is 34. When I buy pants I get a 32" imseam. If I had ordered a M inseam for the waders they would definitely have been too short. The next day 6 hours on the water. These waders are awesome. Comfortable on the water, on land, and driving from spot to spot. Having the zipper is a fantastic feature for convenience, and easy on/off. I can see these becoming my Golden Retriever of waders.

April 24, 2020

Top-Notch Waders

I picked these up to add a warmer, but adaptable, chest-high option to complement my Gunnison wading pants. I was a little nervous about the fit after reading a previous review from someone with the same or at least very similar body dimensions. I'm 6'2", and my pant size is typically 32or33x34. Shoe size is 10.5. My wading pants are... Read More Medium Regular, but I opted to follow the current size chart and order up the MLM, which best matched up to my measurements. I don't like excess bulk in my clothing, particularly in waders, so I opted to trust the size chart and rely on Patagonia's proven willingness to make it right in the event that I had the same fit issues. Straight off I had no issues with the bootie sizing with a thin liner sock. But they would definitely be snug with a light wool hiking sock in there. I got the suspenders up over my shoulders, and they definitely crept up in the rear in a way that would be distracting, if not uncomfortable during a day of fishing. Everything else seemed perfect, so I took a closer look at the waders for adjustment options. Sure enough there were some adjustments on the front of the suspenders. I had to drop the hook to the lowest hole, but once I did, the fit was perfect for me. I could lift my knees, raise my arms, etc without any binding down below. I haven't had them out on the water, but the fit, and my simulated run-through of typical actions I might do to access pockets on the water were good. There is definitely adjustment available, but longer torsos, or that additional inch of height might tax that a bit. I definitely recommend these waders for quality and features. They happen to fit me very well, but you might have to try them on for yourself to make sure the adjustments accommodate your dimensions.

April 24, 2020

Great, with one caveat...

These are the nicest waders I've owned and I've had quite a few different ones over the past 30 years. I did find that the bootie/foot sizing on these is not inline with my actual foot size though. I have size 12 feet and ordered accordingly. When the waders arrived the booties were huge so I had to return/swap for the same size wader wit... Read Moreh smaller feet which must be made large to accommodate socks or something but the size 12/13 booties are far too big for my size 12 feet. Additionally, I think it takes walking around in these for 10-15 minutes to really gauge fit and sizing. When I initially put mine on they seemed too small as they are a bit more trim than the Rio Gallegos waders I previously had. However, once I'd walked around the house in them for ten minutes it was clear that while certainly a "trimmer" fit, I do in fact wear the same size in these as I did the Rio Gallegos, they just fit a little differently (probably better actually). These are my first zippered waders and while I had originally thought the zipper would make getting into them far easier, I think the real advantage with the zipper is getting out of them, and the noon moment behind the bushes. Overall, these are great, a big improvement over any waders I've previously owned, I'm very happy with them.

March 14, 2020

Saved My Pennies for a Lifetime Opportunity

Patagonia, I absolutely love you, your people, and your desire to protect and serve this place we call home. Your ascetic is very much that which best represent my own, in a brand. I choose to work with you regularly becuase of the quality, devotion to environmentalism, and overall organizational ethic you encompass. This is the reason that for all... Read More things, climbing, running and fishing I choose you. Alas, after much consternation, convincing of my wife, and hording of my pennies I decided to buy what I believed to be the perfect pair of waders, the Swifcurrent (and the front-zip at that)! On receipt I realized that the size chart must have been wrong and referenced back to the one provided on-line. I am 6'2" with a 33 inch waist and a 10.5 shoe size and when reading the guide I should be a MLM....beeeeeep... wrong answer, and in pulling them on I could barely sit, the booties were skin tight to my foot and the inseam pulling tight into my nether-region. Ok Ok, "I got this," I said to myself, "lets try the MLL." Returned, shipped and received later- and the waders fit perfet less one very uncomfortable thing- the nether-region. Wow, "am I going to tear myself or these waders first," I thought. So, this time I made an executive decision and I went into my local PDX Patagonia and with the help of the staff found an LRL (as they did not have the LLL) and tried that on. Eureka, the crotch was comfortable but the 44" girth made it feel like I was swimming in them. Alas, I kept the MLL and walked away with one of the staff metioning, "this was the 5th time he heard someone mention the issue in the crotch." I hope to not hike far, tuck myself tight and look for a future repair job that may add some room down below. Patagonia- I ain't normally fussy, nor do I ever write reviews but for the quality you put into your products it may make sense to add a little room below for us tall gents who are fit and not girthy. Your friend- Connor

March 1, 2020

Pricey, but....

With a busy work schedule I only get on the water for a couple of multi day trips each year. I had been looking for a new pair of waders for some time now as my current pair were approximately 10 years old. They were from another manufacturer and have served me incredibly well. But a lot has changed in the past decade and I was looking for somethin... Read Moreg with more features. I purchased the LSM Zip Front waders and the fit is perfect (Im 59, 210) from head to toe. The booties are amazing and finally I dont have material bunched at the front of my boot. The knee pads are a nice touch and the updated belt is very sturdy and comfortable. The articulation throughout the garment is awesome and will provide for a full range of motion on the water and over the trails. The top half of the waders are cut a little bigger which allows for plenty of layering options to match your weather conditions. All of the zippers are super sturdy and the various pockets give lots of options for gear. The internal waterproof pouch is perfectly sized for cell phones which is perfect as that is my go to for photos and videos. I was I little nervous about the shoulder straps just having one attachment point in the back, but they work great and there are many fine tuning options for a perfect fit. The quick release suspender system also works amazingly well and will be perfect for a quick conversion to hip waders as the weather heats up throughout the day. From the online pictures I wasnt sure how I would feel about the color but they look really sharp and its certainly different from the standard issue khaki of every other manufacturer. The only design element that I dont love is the boot lace hook at the front of the gravel guards. Im used to that extending all the way down to the front of my boot and hooking into the first crossing of the laces. However, the design on the waders only allows you to get about half way down your laces. Its not a big deal and overall the gravel guard design is much improved from the waders I had previously worn. These waders are certainly not cheap but are a huge upgrade from featureless waders of the past. Im looking forward to wearing these waders for a very long time and through many adventures!

March 1, 2020

These waders are next level

I didnt think these waders were a big upgrade from the Rio Gallegos but I was completely wrong. The fit alone is well worth getting these. Patagonia really did put in the effort on making sure the fit is right. So many little upgrades that make these perfect.

January 24, 2020

Dave H.

Waders fit great and are extremely comfortable. Quick-release suspenders are an improvement over old models.

December 23, 2019

The Best Waders I’ve Ever Owned!

I was fortunate to get to try these out a few months back and just recently got my very own pair. The fit is great. Love the colors. Apple the upgrades, like a bigger waterproof pocket and quick release suspenders. It’s wonderful they’ve found a way to use recycled materials to build these. Obviously can’t comment on the longevity, but they seem bu... Read Moreilt to last. The new construction should help with that. Ultimately I’m not worried, because Patagonia has the best warranty program on the planet. They truly stand behind their products, while helping steward the lands we love so much.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches