Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders - Extended Sizes

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • SSS
  • LLM
  • MLL
  • XSM
  • XRL
  • 3LL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 10 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Zip-Front Waders - Extended Sizes

4.6/5
November 2, 2021

Great waders & Awesome Customer Service

Ive been fishing in Patagonia waders for the last 15 years +/- and these are the best so far! They fit well, allow plenty of movement, are quiet while hiking (no she-she-she to disrupt the peace or cause a friction fire) and oh my my is that zipper ever a wonderful surprise. I never thought Id cough up the extra coin for that (no need and something... Read More extra to go wrong) but after working with Colin in Customer Service (A++,) I landed on these, figured Id give them a try and boy oh boy WOW! The indulgent zipper combined with the new style suspender straps make these extremely adaptable for those days with changing conditions. The only issue I have/had with getting my feet past the reinforced area around the legs where the gravel guards are attached. For whatever reason my size 12 feet have a hard time getting straight enough to easily pass through to or from the booties requiring more effort & stress on the materials in the surrounding areas than Im typically comfortable with (which makes me fear premature seam issues may be in my future). In addition to that, the gravel guards are a bit tight going over thick padded boot tops. However they do go over (with a bit of inchworming them in to place), do their job well and are somewhat sacrificial anyway. Thats it after one 4 day outing. Oh and just to reiterate, Colin in Customer Service is a real asset to your company. Between employees like him, the quality of your products and the way you stand behind them; youre always a first stop for any gear that matters. Oh yeah I almost forgot about the two bonus stretchy interior mesh type pockets located inside the waders. I didnt see them listed anywhere but theyre definitely a welcome surprise. I think theyre great for carrying those kibbles & bits you want to have along but out of the way and somewhat handy (tissues, hand warmers etc.). ️

October 6, 2021

Fit well! Nice features

I havent tested these thoroughly, but Im initially very impressed with the ability to wear these around the waist. I was concerned that the feet would be too big for me, but they are actually quite comfortable with no bunching- I wear a size 10 wading boot.

September 10, 2021

Excellent wader, yet too slim in the crotch

To quickly sum up my thoughts on the Swiftcurrents, Ill start by stating I tried on three separate sizes to try and find the best fit for my size. The SSS is what I ultimately kept. I should also note that my build is slim. While the wader is fantastically made, theres a couple of issues Im personally dealing with that cant be solved with different... Read More sizing and Ill just have to live with till a redesign occurs. The main issue is crotch space. Theres simply not enough room no matter how you adjust the wader. Its mildly more comfortable if you wear the bib quite low, however you then run into the issue of the belt sitting far too low on the hips. When the bib is at proper height, and the belt is sitting on the hips, the wader becomes nearly unwearable because of the crowding in the crotch. Ive managed to make mine work by finding a middle ground between bib height and crotch space, however, in doing so Im unable to comfortably use the front two belt loops. Consequently, I dont use the front two belt loops. If at all possible, Id like to have the front belt loops altered higher up on the wader so Im able to utilize them. I fear this may compromise the waterproofing if not done right though. Ive read other reviewers having the same issue with crotch space, hence Im not a standalone case. For me personally, the redesign would involve a longer torso to allow more freedom in bib height without compromising crotch space, slightly more room in the seat to further open up crotch space, and the front belt loops positioned higher on the wader. This is an excellent slim fitting wader that may work great for some, but for me personally Im hoping improvements to the fit will be made soon.

August 30, 2021

Great waders but need minor but important tweaks

Just got off a 10 day river trip on a western Alaska river. The waders performed great in typical Alaska weather. Practically lived in them 18 hours a day. Two small design change recommendations, though. If you have anything hanging on your wading belt like a staff or bear spray ( in our case) every time you unclip the buckle the belt slips out of... Read More the loops and the gear falls off. I fashioned a short keeper cord out of parachute cord and tied it to either side of the buckle so when I unbuckled the belt it would not fall through the loops. It would be a very easy change to make to this belt. Also, the belt has some stretch when you tighten it, which is generally nice from a comfort factor. However, we had a rafting accident and my waders filled partly with water because the stretch in the belt allowed water to come in. Scary moment. I may reluctantly go back to a non-stretch wading belt with a keeper cord.

May 1, 2021

Simply the Best

Designers thought of everything on these...Super comfortable all day. Worth the bucks. I'm 5'9, 135 and where the Foot Tractors in size 9 and the SRM fits pretty spot on with plenty of room to move in all the right places

April 30, 2021

Great Fit, Nice Improvements

I bought these to replace my old Patagonia waders (which I liked fine). Whatever was done to adjust/improve the fit worked great. The fit on these new waders is fantastic. Very comfortable. The fit in the legs and through the crotch is roomy, yet trim - I don't feel any excess bulk. The padded suspenders are brilliant and the mechanism for adj... Read Moreusting them is so much better than the old/standard sliding buckle style (which always slipped). The drawcord cinch is a great feature. Even the wading belt has been substantially improved - some stretch, but not too much. I don't find the waterproof flip-out pocket to be a useful feature and it takes away from the roomy drop-in pocket behind it - but this is nit-picking. Very happy with these waders.

February 26, 2021

perfect fit

love the waders! The person that designed these was on point. I am very pleased with them!

January 17, 2021

New favorites!

Love the fit, all the pockets, and the cushioned knees! My new favorite waders, if youre in the market for a new pair look no further!

November 18, 2020

Foot warmth

Perfect wader, will always buy for the rest of my god given days. Only thing is my feet get really cold. Im fishing Erie tribs in the cold

February 24, 2020

Tough waders!

I have about 35 days on the water in these waders so far and absolutely love them. I have definitely put these to the test. Ive been using them for actual wade fishing not just sitting in a boat wearing them. I have been walking along and climbing through thistles, brush and over jagged rocks without a problem. I can honesty say in the 20 years Ive... Read More been wearing waders these are the best waders Ive ever worn. I highly recommend them!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches