burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Swiftcurrent™ Wading Pants Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • SRM
  • MXM
  • MSM
  • MRM
  • MRL
  • MLM
  • LSM
  • LRM
  • LRL
  • LLL
  • XRM
  • XLL
  • 2RM
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 47 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Wading Pants

4.7/5
True To Size
January 11, 2023

pantalones de pesca perfectos

Swiftcurrent Wading Pant are the perfect waders for 3 season Colorado fishing... unless you are in the deep water this is all you need.. easy on, easy off ... no struggling getting into the gear for a day of fishing and when nature calls easy to take care of business. Thank you Patagonia .

December 16, 2022

So nice

Its hard to believe that waders can fit so well. For my size I usually have a waist that is way too big. These actually fit!

December 3, 2022

Great Fit! Just like wearing

Great Fit! Just like wearing pants. For someone who swings flies, I'm not wading deep and just want to be comfortable casting for hours.

November 17, 2022

I cant really say much

I cant really say much , I really love using these for fun and work . I have worn out 2 or 3 other pair ! The last pair lasted over 2 years before the fabric started delaminating in the crotch and thighs ! Close to 250 days !

November 13, 2022

These are great for cold

These are great for cold days in the raft or drift boat. I also wear them fishing creeks. Why I like them is there is no pressure pulling on my shoulders so no back pain after a long day on the water.

October 31, 2022

True fit, elastic belt is

True fit, elastic belt is a great feature that prevents sagging, front pockets hold your phone and miscellaneous. I wish the pockets had a waterproof zipper and more depth. Highly recommend

October 30, 2022

Great construction, odd sizing.

Superb materials and construction! Incredible customer support! But really odd fit. I owned the previous version of these pant waders and the current version. For some inexplicable reason Patagonia change the fit. They fit like old fashioned riding pants, billowing out at the hips and thighs. I guess it helps with range of motion or to make them u... Read Morenisex? Small gripe since who cares how you look in your waders! They keep you dry and comfortable.

Response from Patagonia
November 3, 2022

Hi Mark! Thank you for writing us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. We appreciate the call out on how the pants billow out in the hip area. We'll share this with our design team to keep in mind for future seasons.

October 18, 2022

Great product a little baggie

I had the original version and loved them, simple and perfect for my spring creek fish'n I enjoy in the Driftless area. Sent my original in for repair and they could not be so they sent me these. I'm guessing I'm a typical male and think Im bigger, taller, smarter, better looking than I am. The pants are very big in the mid-section, ... Read Morekind of like the old mc hammer pants, since no local stores to try different sizes Ill keep these. P.S. I really like Patagonia, I often wear one or more of your products every day. One gripe that have is you guys design great products but often dont point out all the design features that are so cool ie hidden pockets, loops, etc but you stuff has saved my butt more than once (made thats why those pants dont fit)

October 1, 2022

Functional and comfortable. A+ rating.

Functional and comfortable. A+ rating.

September 30, 2022

Perfect fit

Im 510 165 size 9 shoe 10 wading boots. The waders are perfect for all seasons. I like a little extra room for layers. I normally only wear waders in the fall, winter and spring. My second pair couldnt be happier.

July 31, 2022

Perfect compliment to the Expedition Bib Waders

I've been using my Swiftcurrent Expedition Bibs for a few years now, but they were overkill during warm spring/summer months, prior to wet wading weather. The pant bridges that gap... cooler than bibs, more comfortable to hike in, but every bit as burly as their big cousins. Could not be happier with these in the fly fishing quiver of gear.

July 27, 2022

Just what I was looking for

I will be using these waders with my Simm Wader Boots. They work great together. I'm a landscape photographer and I'm often standing in water. They will be super useful for me ~ a good alternative to the more bulky bib style ones I have used. I've been asked for this review, but I haven't been out in the water yet with them. I c... Read Morean do another review once that occurs.

July 22, 2022

AWESOME!

I am a female angler who was in need of pant waders for tjose warmer days or skinnier water. I used to own a pair of Redingtons that fit me well but they changed their sizing and they no longer fit me. I am a smiggen under 5'8", 137lbs with size 9.5womens (8 mens foot). The Small/Regular fits me fantadtically. Its a little long in legs an... Read Mored boots are a bit big but not uncomfortably so. The waist, crotch, hips and thighs fit great. I was hesitant when ordered but thought Id try them. Perfect enough for me. I wear the women's Small/Regular in the female waders (also fits me perfectly since you made the boot a tiny bit bigger - thank you Patagonia). Final word, would love a security pocket in the pants - doesnt have to be watertight...just secure. Beyond that I love them. Dear Patagonia this wader pants worked great for me but please consider making wader pants for women. We need them too (and one company has already beat you to it). I love that you made the noot bigger in the small size. Previously I had to choose between too nig of waders or too small of a boot. Yeah - no more. Sitting in airport now going to AK to fish in your gear.

July 18, 2022

great for summer

Fits well, and way more comfy to wear in summer than full waders.

June 30, 2022

Comfortable Wadwr

I use wading pants during the transition from cool Montana spring temps and the heat of summer. So far, these pants have performed well. Fit is about on par for me.

June 28, 2022

Wear on seams

The comfort and convenience of these wading pants are excellent. I fish three or four times a weeks and probably walk 5 miles each day. The seams on the inner thigh wore through and began to leak at the end of the first season. They're terrific when not leaking. but I expect more than a season of wear from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
June 29, 2022

We are sorry to hear our Men's Swiftcurrent Wading Pants did not meet your expectations. Those 15-20 miles a week of walking can add up pretty quickly on gear. But luckily, we do have our free [wader repair program](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). If looking for a speedier turnaround time, check with local fly shops near you and see if they have any recommendations for repairing such as kits or repair shops. We have passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

June 7, 2022

Fit very well

At first I thought they were a little short but then I adjusted the belt and they feel almost perfect. Seem like great quality, I can't wait to get in the water and try them out.

May 24, 2022

Great for Float Tube

I most often fish from a Super Fat Cat Float Tube. These wading pants are perfect for the tube and more comfortable in the warm summer months than full waders. The LLL size is close to perfect for my size: 6 5, 240, 13 shoe. Pants could be an inch longer, but still work. Stocking foot fit is really good. Highly recommend.

May 23, 2022

comfortable

These are my first wading pants after years of chest waders. I can't believe how comfortable they are.

April 30, 2022

Great performance

First time out last weekend with my new wading pants and I am impresses. The fit was good except for the booties. I have small feet for my size and this is always a problem. Otherwise they performed well in tough conditions. We spent a day on a trout stream that was part mud and part clay. Very hard going. The waders felt light on my legs with room... Read More for movement. I am very pleased with their performance.

April 19, 2022

Quality, fit, and comfort

Ive always wanted wading pant for those hot afternoon on the mighty Deschutes river in Oregon. I loathe the afternoon of baking no matter how good the fishing. These it the bill perfectly!

April 2, 2022

Extremely comfortable and light.

Waders why put on chest waders ? Hum ,no reason after I purchased pant waders. Comfortable, easy on/ off, getting out of Drift boats and rafts. Front pockets are great for fly boxes.

March 19, 2022

Comfortable, seem durable and solid design

Ive always worn chest waders, but thought Id give these a try since they seemed like they'd be lighter, more user friendly and comfortable than chest waders. I used them once and they seem to have validated these three thoughts! The waders are definitely well designed and seem like they will be durable, but time will tell. I am not a hard-core... Read More fly fisherman, but seem to be hard on waders and only get three or so years before they start leaking at the knee seams. Id love to get five seasons out of these and Ill be sure to provide an update after one season. Tight lines.

February 8, 2022

dry and casting

these waders are nice and high through the waist it's as if I have waders with a bib. Love them

November 29, 2021

Just what I was looking for.

These coupled with the Expedition Waders I've been running for the past two years makes the perfect gear set up. Expeditions for deep and/ or cold water, the Pants for lower flow rivers or warmer summer days. Could not be more stoked have these. *Added benefit... easier to use than full bibs when nature calls.

November 13, 2021

Most comfortable wader pants.

These are by far the most comfortable wader pants i have owned. They seem well constructed and durable. I am pleased so far.

November 12, 2021

Most comfortable

If the conditions require you to wear waders, and you are rowing a boat, pants waders are the way to go. The range of motion and the lack of getting overheated makes waist high waders more comfortable than chest highs. Only occasionally is the water you have to wade in deeper than your waist and that leaves you vulnerable to swimming.

November 10, 2021

Super Comfortable

I used these waders while I was working on a film on the rivers and bays of Alaska. I was always at a comfortable temperature but never sweaty in them. They have pretty much replaced my chest waders for almost any situation. Highly recommend.

September 9, 2021

Nice waders. Very long

I assumed after measuring and being 6'2" that I would be in the LLL. Wrong. I was LRL.

August 28, 2021

Super Fit

Perfect fit waist high pant waders. Flexible and comfortable to wear.

August 21, 2021

Perfect for warmer days

More comfortable than full waders on warmer days.

August 11, 2021

Good tough light weight wader

Good tough light weight waders. Stands up to year round wear.

July 20, 2021

Feet Stick

Hello - the waders fit well and the foot fits well but it is very very very hard to pull the foot off. My foot is completely dry so that is not the issue. Is there any help for this?

Response from Patagonia
July 20, 2021

Hello there! Thank you for the feedback on the Switcurrent Wading Pants. For some assistance with the feet, you can book a virtual chat with one of our Fly-fishing Pros through our [Guide Line](https://www.patagonia.com/the-guide-line/)

June 26, 2021

Perfect fit for me!!

These waders fit me exactly right. The description is for a smaller waist (40-42") and foot size (12-14) than I actually wear. I have a 44" waist, a 32" clothing inseam (crotch to my shoe laces), and 15D shoes size.They are a little tough to slip my feet in and out of, but a GREAT FIT once my feet are in the bootie. This is literally... Read More the only wader manufacturer I have found that fits my shoe size. Well built and good looking. Before ordering I called Patagonia Customer Service. I let my rep know that I was larger than the on-line description. He told me that they still may fit me but I would have to try them on. I asked him if I would have to pay return shipping if they did not fit. He told me to call in if return was necessary and Patagonia would cover return shipping. You cannot beat that for service. This is a superior company, and this is why I am four time repeat customer. Many thanks.

May 22, 2021

Stupid sizes, get it together Patagonia.

For nearly $400 I shouldn't have to order four different a pairs to find a size that fits me, and I'm apparently not the only customer with this issue. Figure it out, this is ridiculous. I will post a better review if I eventually get a pair that fits well. (6'2", skinny guy.)

May 15, 2021

Very great....except

This pant is of the highest quality in design and materials. ( Much like the chest wader ) Two (2) comments 1. There is several inches +/- too much material in the length; they fit like clown pants. I understand the need for bending, stooping squatting etc BUT never the less the legs are just to long. Very wearable and functional but just to long ... Read Morefor my 32" inseam. And 2. Exactly the same design short coming as the chest wader in that the gator cuff is to small. I would venture a bet they do not fit comfortably over the Danner boot you now offer. (Good product) The design fix seems pretty simple; make the cuff larger in circumference and perhaps add a velcro strap for tightening. ( or similar. ) BUT...like my Expedition chest waders, this waist high is truly bullet proof.

May 12, 2021

Good wader, but baggy

I am 5-9, 175lbs, and according to a Google, that makes me right about average for an American male. Ive tried two sizes of these waders so far. The MSM was almost right, but a bit snug when I wear them over pants - which I often do in winter. The LRM is just way too baggy and long. Im going to try the LSM when they become available, and judging by... Read More how quickly they sell out, I guess its probably a good size for many average guys.

May 10, 2021

Large Long not quite long enough for 6'4"

These are excellent waders. I had the previous version which were also excellent. I like the new improved single-seam pattern and additional material thickness which should help durability. And the new wading belt is much improved. I just wish the "Long" size was another inch longer. I guess I'll send them in for an alteration to add... Read More a bit more length. Patagonia customer service is the best!

April 30, 2021

Perfect for small steams

Much better than lugging full size chest waders to small mountain streams, great construction, comfortable. Love em.

April 15, 2021

Long legs.

I have long legs. 34 to 35" inseam. These fit and are long enough. The belt on these is also better than the last version. Less stretchy.

January 3, 2021

Good Quality poor sizing

Quality was great. Waders seemed robust and light weight. As a full time fly fishing guide on the water over 100 days a season I need good quality. Patagonia always delivers. I was bummed out when I tried these on and I was swimming them. I am 510 190 lbs and usually wear a 34 x 30 pant. The LSM should have been perfect. They were way to big and ba... Read Moreggy. I returned them and will try the Next size down. Thanks Patagonia for The ironclad guarantee I will continue to use your products!

December 8, 2020

Perfect pair of waders

I just want you to know how awesome it is that you build clothes for tall and fit people. The LLL in waders is so important that you have a great fit to be nimble!!! I love them so much I bought (3) pairs one for me and two for my sons, I then had my friend purchase 2 pairs in LLL. Thank you!!

October 30, 2020

Great wader pants

These wader pants are great, very comfortable and easy to move around in. The only knock I have is the sizes seem to be a bit off since it took 3 pairs to find my size

September 16, 2020

Great wading pants

Not sure why there's a couple of lukewarm reviews on these, as they've been nothing but good to me for surf fishing off the Northern California coast. High quality stitching (including where the booties meet the legs) and overall quality construction all around. Weight is minimal and it's night and day compared to boot-fit style wade... Read Morers from a fit perspective. It's basically like wearing a pair of pants. In fact when I go out, I usually just wear my waders on the drive there and back as breathability is good and movement isn't terribly restricted. Only downside is lack of a zipper, but to be honest, in the environments I fish (salt-water), it's probably best they don't come with one. I'm a tall lanky guy (6'1, 32x34 pants usually) and the MRM size fit me perfectly, although I always wear a pair of chinos/khakis or something underneath (sometimes with long underwear). Mobility is good, but you can't go full Asian-style squat in them all day (you can still squat down though), as they're waders, not sweat pants. Belt is decent enough, and it helps keep them snug, but if you surf fish and wade past the knees I recommend you get a real surf-belt for safety purposes. I usually keep it below the knees at all times, just due to the nature of our waters here.

September 3, 2020

Stout wasties

Small stream fishing is most of my focus. In late summer, chest waders can get a bit warm, especially if your covering a lot of water on foot. After more than 36 hours of fishing in these waders, I can report back that they can keep you cool and stand up to some harsh conditions--miles of thorny vegetation, climbing in and out of streams, and kneel... Read Moreing on rocks and dirt. High points--build, comfort, front pockets are big enough to hold a 12 oz can (to free up your other hand for a moment). The only thing I would change is a bit more room in the the inseam and a bit more give with the elastic waist belt (or better yet a suspenders option).

May 21, 2020

Sizing/Fit

I'm 36" waist. Sizing chart shows I need SRM but fit was ridiculously small. My wife is 28" and they were a perfect fit for her--I could not get them above my knees!!! Ordered L, we'll see how they fit when they arrive--otherwise, looks like a good quality product but SIZING IS TERRIBLE!!!

January 14, 2020

Not Quite

Had to return mine after just trying on. Quality, construction seemed top-notch, but smaller in waist than chart indicated. I'm 5-7", 163 lbs. Ordered MSM (Short/Medium- 40", 30", 9-11). I wear 36" pants and these were way too tight in the waist to wear comfortably. If I went to a larger waist I know the legs would have bee... Read Moren extremely baggy, as they were baggy enough. The booties are nicely designed, but my luck 9-11 is just a tad shorter than I need. Also, and a main issue, I was disappointed in the fabric itself. I was hoping for a pant like my Ultralight Middle Fork waders, but the fabric on these is much heavier, with a baggy fit.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches