burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Swiftcurrent Packable Waders Reviews

Write Your Review

4.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • SRM
  • MXM
  • MSM
  • MRM
  • MRL
  • MLM
  • LSM
  • LRM
  • LRL
  • LLL
  • XRM
  • XLL
  • 2RM
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 13 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Packable Waders

4.2/5
True To Size
December 16, 2022

Excellent Waders, Game Changer

These waters are excellent! The perfect lightweight barrier for minimalist High-Altitude backcountry fishing. For the past few years, I had to hike 5-10 miles in my wading boots (Patagonia River Salts), then swap out my wool socks for wading socks. After a day of fishing, I would have to hike back in wet boots and wading socks. This did a number on... Read More my feet to say the least, and the added weight was fatiguing. These waders were a game changer and let me tell you why. They pack down to the size of a 1.5L bottle in the included bag, and the bootie part is a translucent rubber (1/16" thick), not neoprene. Neoprene booties, like those on the Swiftcurrent Expedition line hold and retain water and are thicker for warmth. Thus, making them extremely difficult to pack and deteriorating their lifespan. These packable waders DO NOT have that issue. The rubber bootie is non-absorbent, and the lightweight material repels water significantly more than other waders. This makes the "pack-out" weight almost the same as the "pack-in" weight. Now one might ask "What boots would you wear with these waders?". Well, I found a perfect complement... There is a company based in Portland OR that specializes in hiking footwear with a bold rubber toe. This company makes a sandal, with a bungee lace system that is extremely lightweight and waterproof. I highly recommend pairing this footwear with these waders if packing and weight are an issue. I have tried multiple times to forward this setup to Patagonia staff but have not received a reply. THIS WILL SERIOUSLY CHANGE THE WAY YOU FISH! No more wet, bulky leather boots. No more swapping socks for wading booties. No more dreadful walks back to the trailhead. Wear your hiking boots to your fishing location/stream, take them off, waders on, sandals on, FISH ON! When you're done... Dry socks, dry boots, NO ADDED WATER WEIGHT. Just a carabiner clip holding your sandals to the outside of your pack and waders back in the stuff sack! These waders also have the same slide system suspenders to lower them on hot days or changing conditions so you can easily remove or add layers. Additionally, there is a waterproof pocket in the chest for sensitive items such as keys, phone, documents, etc. Seriously can't express how happy I am with this bootie... It's a game changer with this setup and Patagonia should do more to reach out to actual "Pros" and not "influencers" to develop more products that are versatile, reduce waste and consumption, and meet the demands of people putting them to the test, like these waders. Thanks for a great product, Patagonia. Details: 5'10", 195 lbs, Athletic Build, 11.5 Shoe Size LSM Fit Perfectly! PROS: Lightweight, very packable, rubber bootie (not Neoprene), sliding suspenders, bungee cord to adjust top rim of waders. NEED TO KNOW: Thin (Single layer) and not meant for sliding down scree fields or riverbanks, bring insulation layers if cold temperatures could be an issue (thick socks and/or sweatpants). This is a minimalist type of wader system. CONS: No outer pockets.

November 7, 2022

Very light weight and comfortable

Great product. My only complaint is the back adjustment strap. Seems to me the only way to adjust is when the waders are off to raise the back. If you drop down the front and back to waist height, the front has no problem going back up. The back stays drooping down.

November 2, 2022

Need to Be Lighter!

I've owned the previous model--Patagonia Middle Fork packable waders for 4 years, and they are still going strong. I use them exclusively for wilderness hike in ultralight float tube fishing, and they are great. PLENTY durable. Could benefit from much lighter suspenders and wader belt to make them even lighter, and I don't need gravel gua... Read Morerds for float tubing. My Swiftcurrent Packables seem quite similar to Middle Forks, but their weight is disappointing--4oz heavier than the Middle Forks. Please consider offering a dedicated float tube wader; they can be much lighter, command a premium price, and need not be bullet proof. THANKS!

Response from Patagonia
November 10, 2022

Thank you for your detailed and thoughtful feedback. We appreciate your review, Phil!

October 26, 2022

Really nice waders!

These are the best waders I have had! The fit is perfect; my measurements amtch the specified size exactly. The waders are very comfortable and kept me nice and dry but still cool (it is mid 70s to 80s here right now). Additionally, when a buckle was found to be broken Patagonia answered the phone with a live person within two minutes and had repl... Read Moreacement waders to me the next day ( I live close to Reno). Exceptional customer service, which I feel makes the price/quality/warranty a true bargain.

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2022

Thank you for your feedback, and for your kind words, Howard! We're happy to help!

June 11, 2022

Not Durable Enough

I purchased these last year to replace a pair of Middle Fork Packable waders due to leakage problems with that model in the hope this model would be more durable. In that respect is was, lasted through 25 wearings before developing a hidden leak, not good enough. I owned two pairs of the Middle Fork Packable model, each was returned to Patagonia af... Read Moreter 10-12 uses with hidden leaks. I am not a guide, do not bushwack, just hike on a clean trail for about half a mile to the river and wade in so by any measure I am pretty easy on the waders. Patagonia customer service has provided a credit for replacement each time which is great customer service but I am then without the waders for a month or more while all that gets sorted out. Previously I was advised by customer service not to expect these to be every day waders and that I should consider the mid weight model instead. The only issue with that is I bought two new pairs of wading boots, one River Salt and one Foot Tractor, to fit the thinner bootie and those will not fit (I have tried) with one of their neoprene bootie models. I loved the waders when they worked, they are so light and comfortable, perfect for late spring, summer and early fall wading, The product is very innovative, probably needed more of a longer term testing cycle prior to release.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2022

We're sorry to hear that our packable Swiftcurrent wader isn't quite the right model for your usage and we'll be happy to help with a [repair](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Repair-Process) or return. Thanks for taking the time to review these waders, Raymond!

May 9, 2022

Lightweight!

Super rad. I'm a fly fishing Guide and spend 100+ days a year on the River. Super lightweight. Can layer up. Am able to wear with the least amount of clothes...and bundled up in January.

June 24, 2021

Light is Right (for Waders)

Previous to owning this pair I thought waders were lame: heavy and cumbersome. Packing these for my first fishing trip of the year changed my mind completely. Barely noticed them in my bag, the stuff sack is perfect. Stepping into them the length is good, even for someone with short legs like me. Shoulder strap adjust system is very nice. Functiona... Read Morelly on the water they are flawless. What else do you need? Highly recommend these.

June 22, 2021

Good Investment

I've had these waiters for quite a few years now I want to say 5, I couldn't tell you one bad thing about them. I just now sent them into repair due to my feet getting wet. but to me, I got my use out of them and after repair, I will continue to. If you are looking at getting them just do it they are worth it I beat the hell out of my stu... Read Moreff and they held up. i couldn't be happier with my purchase

April 13, 2021

Rad and Tough

I travel a ton and often times the idea of waders fitting into a bag where size and weight limits are restricted, these are essential. Heading to Russia for a couple weeks, I gambled and only took these with no back up knowing how much bushwhacking we were going to be doing. Weather was pretty poor and there were nights where I literally just too... Read Morek boots off and slept in them. I was amazed that after 2 weeks, walking 8-10 miles a day through the prickliest of brush in Kamchatka, were ready to head home with nary a leak. Incredible wader...

March 4, 2021

Great fit, durability not great.

Have been wearing these waders for about 6 months. They are very light weight and fit great. Got a pretty good size tear in the upper thigh area from walking through some brush. Was able to repair them and still wearing them. Im pretty light on my gear but am in the water a good 2-3x a week. I would recommend them but may look at other options as w... Read Moreell for this price range.

October 20, 2020

nice and lightweight (but too light?)

I tried this new pair out for this past season. I loved the lightness and ease of slipping on and off; the fit was slender and good and they were easy to move in. But I was surprised that after 10-12 uses, I got a leak where my big toe hits the front of the boot -- not a puncture but rather just the rubber (a choice versus neoprene?) wearing thin w... Read Morehere it hits the boot. Anyone else have this? Also -- nice to have an inside pocket...but it's a bit small -- not big enough for a phone/camera.

July 9, 2020

Perfect Fit and Function

Once you finally get over how incredibly packable these are and that inside the stuff sack they are packaged in, those are actually waders, they are incredible. Very light yet durable enough for regular wear as long it doesnt involve a lot of bushwhacking. The fit is perfect, not too baggy nor too tight. The suspenders are very comfortable and the ... Read Moreconversion to waist high is simple. The bootie is probably the most unusual thing about these to get used to, but once in a wading boot it feels great. These are optimized when paired with the river salt wading boot, which doesnt have as much volume as other boots so you get a great fit with the no bulk bootie on these waders. If the water is quite cold, simply add a neoprene or fleece over sock layered over your wool socks and you can wade in comfort. Thanks for such a great innovative product Patagonia.

May 11, 2020

Comfortable & convenient, but definitely not durable

I've used these waders several times now and have been enjoying them. I'm 6' 2" and 195#, and the MLM size fits great. The booties are thinner than most waders, so your boots might fit a bit loose. They're comfortable, lightweight, and easy to pack which makes them great for traveling. However, on my second day wearing th... Read Moreem I lost my footing while in the river and took a knee on some loose rocks which tore a hole in the knee area. I was pretty surprised and quite disappointed at how easily they tore. Luckily they came with a patch kit so I was able to repair them. A reinforced knee area would be a great improvement to this product.

Response from Patagonia
May 29, 2020

We are glad you were able to repair them yourself and if you ever decide you need them fixed by us or returned for a warranty, please let us know and we are happy to help.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches