Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Gritstone Rock Climbing Pants

Write Your Review

3.86 /5

Filter Reviews

All 36 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Gritstone Rock Climbing Pants

3.86
Kinda Small
September 7, 2020

Very comfortable.

These are great pants! I use them for everyday wear, hiking, tree climbing (arborist work) and general outdoor activity wear. They have the right amount of stretch, shed water pretty well and dry relatively fast as well. I'm buying my third pair and will try not to get these ones covered with pine sap!!

July 20, 2020

Daily drivers

I am an open space land manager, so my daily job entails lots of hiking, kneeling on rocky terrain, swamping through bush covered in thorns, stickers and nasties. I was attracted to these because they had the option to have knee pad inserts, and they had a slightly tapered leg unlike the rest of the work wear line. I was concerned that they would b... Read Moree too thin and not durable enough to withstand the daily beating that they receive. They have surpassed my expectations, and are worn multiple times a week. I will get another pair of the same pants when these wear out, but who knows when that will happen... The only other thing that would encourage me to get another pair was if they came in flame orange for hi visibility. Aloha, Isao

July 14, 2020

Built with Off-Width in mind

I am a trad climber and am not easy on clothing. I have been a fan of Patagonia's gear for a long time but typically nothing last long when use for off-width climbing. I have used these on a number of outings now and I am psyched on how they are still showing no wear. My first climb in them was Directissima on Chasm View wall in the Long'... Read Mores peak Cirque. Two chimney's and off-width and they were great, allowed me to move as I could. Since then I've used them around South Platte and up in Vedauwoo. Stoked on these and want a pair or two more.

June 17, 2020

Nothing Sticks to These Pants

Wow! One of the best Patagonia purchases I have made. These Gritstone Rock Climbing Pants are fantastic. The fit is perfect. They don't get clingy when you sweat (I'm in TX) and nothing sticks to them, well maybe peanut butter but that's a longer review. I highly recommend these pants for the full array of activities in your life. Th... Read Moreanks Patagonia!!

May 26, 2020

Tight AND baggy

These are a very well made pant like most of Patahonia's stuff. The fabric feels very durable but soft at the same time. Stitching is solid and pockets are a good size. I don't feel any stretch though. The hips/crotch are very tight and the lower legs baggy making for an awkward and uncomfortable fit. I had to return them unfortunately.

May 13, 2020

Industructable

I have had a pair for 20 years, lead climbing everywhere in Sierras, backpacking snow passes etc..... They have torn and I sew, they abraised and I patch. Indestructible My family surprised me with a new pair (2020) at Patagonia Ventura. I recommend these for sreious climbers.

March 7, 2020

New favorite pants

I'm not a fan of nylon so was happy to find these cotton pants, the fit and movement is excellent and the adjustable waist is a great design - and helps with adjustments throughout a climbing day. I put a hard month of climbing (Joshua Tree) on these and my only complaint was that the back pockets had blown their stitching after multiple chimn... Read Moreey climbs, a relatively easy fix job on a sewing machine. The pants even have a bit of water resistance which fades with washes but nice nonetheless. I bought another pair that I'll use for more casual wear, 5 stars on these.

December 26, 2019

Stylish Workhorse Pants

These are my favorite pants. They are both stylish and super durable - so much so that I have three pairs. This is the first time in my 52 years that I have ever bought a pair of pants and then immediately ordered two more. I use two pairs around my small farm - changing oil in my truck, working on my tractor, generally abusing them... and keep the... Read More third pair clean for a nice casual look in town. They fit me true to size, but it’s probably accurate what others reviews have said about them fitting best on slender frames. However, I am 6’2” and medium framed and they work great.

December 12, 2019

Smashing!

Actually those are pretty amazing. From working in the tuning room to getting out and about these have held up really well. The perfect size. Slightly slim but good room to move. Tough as well.

December 8, 2019

Bomber pants

Comfortable, mobile, and durable. Handles rough rock like a champ and looks nice too.

November 25, 2019

New Favorite

These are hands down my new favorite climbing pants, they fit great and offer enough movement without being huge.

November 4, 2019

Great pants for tall, slender frames

I have a shorter, stockier build than most and have always had relatively muscular legs. With the gusseted crotch and articulated patterning, these fit me a little more comfortably than most Patagonia pants, but they're still a bit long at the correct waist sizing and a bit snug in the seat and thighs. Fabric is wonderful. Comfortable, durabl... Read Moree, relatively weather resistant for the comfort and breathability factor. Stretch is sufficient for athletic movement like climbing and bike commuting, without bagging out after a few days like some spandex-heavy pants I've owned. OppoSet waist adjustment works surprisingly well for its minimalism, but I still use a thin belt unless they're going under a harness.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Hi Andrew! Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed and thoughtful review. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future season so it's much appreciated!

October 31, 2019

What a delightful surprise

Not quite the same as the Venga Rock pants but great for work - durable and ideal for being outside. I love them and will buy a second pair - should have thought of that first time around but that is always the same.

October 23, 2019

Best pants for the outdoors

These are strong and durable. Fit is great and comfortable, good flex and room in the hip and thighs. Get them a size larger than you normally wear.

October 15, 2019

Great for fall and winter

Great for fall and winter hiking, and for traveling too. With a jacket, you can get away with wearing them into a good restaurant. The slip pocket on the right leg is good for a phone, but a zippered rear posket would be a nice feature to add.

September 1, 2019

Rock pants

Just don’t fit right, sending them back

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

We're very sorry to hear these didn't fit right. Please don't hesitate to let your [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team know if you have any questions regarding our return process.

August 29, 2019

Excellent Pants

These double kneed pants arrive quickly and as advertised. They fit well and washed well and are comfortable.

August 29, 2019

Great Deal

Love the pants, but they run just a tad "lean". High-quality, comfortable, stylish, and functional.

August 17, 2019

Pants are too short for

Pants are too short for my long legs and I will be returning. Otherwise the pants are really nice .

Response from Patagonia
August 29, 2019

We're sorry these were too short! Please let us know if you have any questions regarding our [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) process.

August 15, 2019

I find myself never wanting

I find myself never wanting to take these pants off.

August 15, 2019

Too short

I really wish these came in a longer inseam, they are excellent pants all around. At 6’3” 175lbs I usually wear 31x34 or 32x34 - occasionally a 32” inseam works - but these aren’t even close, they float over my ankles. A little on the small side. They were a gift, and after trying them on I returned them.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2019

Sorry to hear that the pants have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send them in for a refund or merchandise credit.

August 12, 2019

Great climbing pants

Breathable and tough. Works great at gym and on the rock

August 10, 2019

great pants

I normally don't write reviews because most products are "meh". However, these pants are more than "meh". I liked them so much that I bought a second pair. They're designed as a climbing pant, which is why I bought them. But it turns out, they're really good at just about everything. They're a good climbing p... Read Moreant because the material is pretty rugged, the cuffs are tapered enough so you can still see your feet and the adjustable waist/belt thing works awesome (no bulk under a harness). I wear them for work all the time too, working on a sugar farm in Vermont (making maple syrup). At the end of the season, our small crew had been stacking wood for over a week to fill the 25 cord hole in the woodshed. I wore these pants everyday and they worked fine, of course, because you don't need special pants to stack wood. BUT, the last day, it downpoured. We normally would've just stayed home, but it was the last 2 cords and we wanted to finish it off. It rained real hard from about 8a-2p and these pants were absolutely soaked from mid-thigh down. We finished the day around 5p and the pants were completely dry. BONE DRY. This was a feature I did not expect from a cotton blend item. They dry just as fast as a nylon hiking pant. I think this is my favorite feature. This makes them a great choice for anything outdoors. Going for a bushwhack through wet stinging nettles? These pants do that. Post-work ski tour? These pants do that. Bolting a new project? These pants do that (you can fit a brush, blow tube, spare washers etc in the little thigh pocket). Going out to dinner with your girlfriend's parents? You can eat dinner in these pants. Fit- They are a bit on the snug side. I'm 5'8", 160 lbs, skinnyish legs. First pair are 31's. They fit snug, but they broke in really well. Second pair are 32's. They fit almost exactly the same except the legs are a bit longer, I might have them hemmed down the road. I have to roll them up for climbing. When these are new, they feel really stiff and snug, but they do break in real nice. The material softens up and they form to your body a little bit. Cons- The material isn't super burly. More rugged than a pair of Dickies, but a lot weaker than say, Carhartts. I've torn a couple small holes in them. Might be pretty snug on someone with gorilla legs. They're a little dorky because of the "double front" knee pad stitching. My girlfriend wishes you made a women's version. Most reviews on this website are pretty sad. "I bought these yesterday and they're great." "I needed pants and these are pants." "I wear these while I look at patagonia.com but they're too tight." But, I've worn these pants A LOT. I really love them and I hope this review helps someone who is on the fence about buying them.

July 21, 2019

Very nice pants

It’s interesting reading the older reviews as I picked up a pair in SFO today and these were the only pants in the store that were long enough. I have always found Patagonia pants too short but not these. I am 6’3” and 195 and bought the 36. Very comfortable, clever adjustment system and the material seems tough enough although having climbed a fai... Read Morer bit of Yorkshire gritstone I wouldn’t risk them there ! It think these will be great travel pants and general utility wear.

June 21, 2019

too short

These pants have the potential to be one of the best patagonia garments due to their materials and construction. The problem is that they are just way too short. I'll be returning my pair...

June 21, 2019

Best I've Worn

I've hiked a long way in many different pants over the years, and these are the best I've ever worn. Great fit, durable, and enough secure pockets, but not too many. I just ordered more. I'm 5'9", 165, average frame. Keep up the good work.

May 8, 2019

The fit on these pants

The fit on these pants runs small, and the waist feels high. Reminds me of 80s high-waisted pants. Not as comfortable as other pants and shorts I have from Patagonia.

May 8, 2019

Great pants, but a little tight.

I like these pants and plan to still wear them. However, they run tight in the waist and upper legs. Much tighter than any other pair of pants I've ever had... I guess I just have to lose some weight. (Currently 6'2" 195 lb)

Response from Patagonia
May 22, 2019

Sorry to hear that the pants have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send it in for a refund or merchandise credit.

March 5, 2019

Fits weird

I’ve been finding the same problem with all the new patigonia pants from performance jeans to rock pants. They sit too high on the waist and there is absolutely NO room in the but and legs for an athletic build. Makes me wonder if you guys just use models to fit test your products. Maybe you should reach out to some normal guys.

February 25, 2019

Great pant, just make a long version!

I bought this pants because they seem like the perfect multi-function option. They look decent enough to wear into the office, they're super flexible for climbing, hiking, traveling and they're durable enough for working outside chopping wood, etc. I loved them but I had to return them because they only make them in regular length (32) an... Read Mored as a guy that's 6'3 they were just too short in length to wear. I wanted them to work but I couldn't do it.

February 20, 2019

Size up one size

I'm 5'11" and and a half, and go from 168lbs to 175lbs and normally wear 32 in all Patagonia stuff and have for a decade, but the 33 fits perfect with a little synch of the waist adjustment. Took everyone else's advice here and sized up. I have the Venegas too in several colors and they had all the sizing wrong with those when f... Read Moreirst introduced too. But just like those pants, these are worth it if you can find the right size. These are a bit more bullet proof and thicker, great for travel or everyday. They were big feeling in the crotch and perfect everywhere else, but after a day or so of keeping them synched up i could see that the loose crotch was part of the design and would've been funny otherwise if you were to use the synching feature. My fear is, with the reviews, maybe in the new colors Patagonia saw they needed to fix the fit. IDK. Go 33 to be safe if you're normally 32...unless you want them tighter. The 33 isn't a slim fit. It's a bit looser than I wear my 501 levis, that's for sure, but the style looks good a bit looser in my view. This probably isn't the pant you want snug tight.

July 24, 2018

Great Pants

Purchased size 33. I'm 5.11 and 173lbs. Great fit, tough and fairly athletic. These pants are equally great for wearing under waders while standing in 40 degree water, building furniture or sitting on a bar stool.

April 28, 2018

Poor Fit

I bought this product in the same size have bought all my Patagonia pants. These are at least 2" too short. More like knickers than pants on me. The waist is also tight compared to other Patagonia pants of the same size. Material is great,albeit,not as stretchy as I assumed.

April 18, 2018

Great fit and quality construction

I've been wearing these pants for about a month. I did need to size up a size to get the fit I want,but I still don't get the 1 star reviews. I usually wear a 33,but ended up with size 34. The 33's were pretty dang snug across the crotch,but the 34's are perfect. (I'm about 5'11" and 175lbs) I love em. The fabric... Read More is killer. I've climbed,biked,stretched,slept,and sat at my desk in them. Yea,they're not yoga pants,but they still allow for easy movement. They do have a little bit of stretch and a gusseted crotch. The weight of the fabric is nice. It's substantial,but not clunky like carhartts. It seems like a pretty tight weave and is durable so far. I did a few knee bars in them with no signs of wear. They might be fine,but I still wouldn't take them aid climbing until I've gotten at least a couple years of wear out of them. I'm a little skeptical about the mesh material used in the pockets. It's just different and might turn out to be more durable than a more traditional material. They're spendy,but they seem to be pretty bombproof,they look good,and they fit me great. My last pair of Patagonia pants lasted for about five hard years. I'm ok paying for this kind of quality.

April 5, 2018

Too tight and fitted

I bought these because I was looking for some rock climbing pants to hold up and because the double knee protection. These are way to tight and fitted for my purpose,the video shows lots of flexibility,but this was not my experience at all. I am not a hefty guy,I often find 33 waist pants too loose and got the the 32. Im hoping to exchange them for... Read More something I can bend my knees in. The material is awesome,and I want them to fit comfortably.

March 17, 2018

Poor fit

I have 3 pairs of the old Venga pant and multiple pairs of Patagonia jeans. The fit on these pants is nothing like them. It is strangely tight around the waist for a 32" and then becomes baggy around the crotch. This pant offers very little stretch and poor movement. I bought these pants because of the poor reviews the new Venga pant has been ... Read Morereceiving. I will be returning them.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches