Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Escala Rock Climbing Pants

Write Your Review

3.91 /5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

All 46 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Escala Rock Climbing Pants

3.91
Kinda Small
May 6, 2020

Super versatile, comfortable pants

I love these pants so much! Bought them in multiple colors. I'm usually size 8/M in bottoms in Patagonia but had to size up since these run small. The stretch is fantastic, and the material can be dressed up or down. These are some of my favorite work pants. They seem to run a little long, which is fine since rolling up the bottom is kinda cut... Read Moree. ;)

March 11, 2020

Beautiful pants

Love the fabric, the design of the legs/knees/thighs (I have very long, slender legs) and the legs fit perfectly. However, the waist is really small...This is the size I usually wear in all pants, so I was surprised. Im sending these back for the next size up! At least they are long enough!!!

March 4, 2020

ALMOST the perfect pants

Okay so truly nothing is perfect and I do want to disclose that I do actually love these pants and get a lot of use out of them. That being said, there is a lot of room for improvement. I like to use these as a crossover climbing and work pair of pants. As Ill transition from retail job to coaching/routesetting/gym climbing and then out for food/... Read Moredrinks afterward..these pants are theoretically perfect, but they havent stood up to those tests the way I had thought they would. For starters... the seams are _very_ bulky and uncomfortable. The knee darting is really great for a pair of pants youre going to move in, but the lack of gusset in the crotch or darting at the hips leave the pants still feeling kind of stiff through the waist. Furthermore, the seam through the crotch of the pants makes them in my opinion inexcusably uncomfortable to wear while either hangdogging a sport project, sitting in a hanging belay, routesetting, or even just riding a bicycle to commute for basic transportation. I bought three pairs, all in a size 8, in the three colors available for MY2019, and each fits wildly differently. While QC/consistency in sizing is a known weakness of Patas, I thought that I was safe to assume that the same pants from the same year would fit the same. I was wrong. Furthermore with sizing, I know sizing is arbitrary and that the most important thing is buying the pair of pants that fits. However it is always a little upsetting to upsize two whole sizes. I am very consistently a size 4 across almost all brands (58 x 133lbs). I walked out of the store in these pants in an 8. When I ordered two more pairs, one fit EVEN tighter and then last pair is very loose and pretty much only gets one wear out of the dryer before being too stretched out. Lastly, the fabric both in color and actual fiber integrity has not held up the way I would hope either. After about a year of use the pair that I wear most frequently (Dolomite Blue) is washed out and splotchy just from regular machine washing with mild detergent and the high stress areas of the pants, most notably the seams near the knees have worn down either from movement or abrasion on walltopia walls. The abrasion comes with the territory of gym and sandstone climbing, the seams pulling apart in those high stress areas however is fairly disappointing. Lastly, the belt is very medium. It is low bulk under a harness and that is definitely a nice feature. Whats missing is a belt loop to hang my keys off of while Im not actively climbing. The low bulk of the built in belt definitely sacrifices the longevity of a waistband adjustment. I find myself constantly readjusting it. It also will sometimes get lost inside the pants when theyre in the wash and is annoying tondig back out. All of this to say....I do actually really love these pants and I get a lot of use out of them. Theres just obvious room for improvement that I have noticed and feel strongly about after a year of use. I hope this review is helpful to someone looking to buy these pants. These pants do a mostly really good job of meeting the anticipated needs that I purchased them for and despite the ways I want them to improve, I probably would buy them again as is.

February 25, 2020

Fits perfectly

I love how these pants fit. I am 57 and about 123 lbs. I often have a hard time finding pants that fit my hips properly without gaping in the back waistline. These fit me like a glove. The only reason I gave them 4 stars is because I dont love the color I picked, light balsamic, but I will keep them anyways because they are so comfortable and they ... Read Morewere on sale. I dont know that I would have paid full price for them.

February 13, 2020

First pair is amazing! Second pair has uncomfortable seam. :(

As a relative newcomer to the skinny-pant world, I bought a pair of Pinyon Pines pants in Oct of '08, and have been very happy with them - although I had expected them to have a little stretch (the current description is for "stretchy twill canvas") and as "hiking pants," I'd want more movement - but they are great for... Read More work. Enter Escala Rock Pants - great fabric, definitely with a little stretch, and thicker and softer fabric than the Pinyon Pines. I loved the fit of the P.P. so searched the Escala reviews and actually found one that said the Escala fit was the same as P. P., so I got a pair in Oct 2019. The interwoven drawstring is genius, and I loved them. I just bough a second pair in another color, and while the overall fit is the same, the center crotch seam is offset to the left, and super uncomfortable while sitting. The side pocket is also smaller than on the first pair, but still fits my iPhone8 with a slim cover. The first pair is comfortable enough that I have chosen to use them as travel pants, but the recent pair falls short of that. I hate to do a return, but the bottom line is that if they are hanging in my closet I'll think twice about the comfort, and end up leaving them there. :( I'm 5'7" and ~130#.

December 28, 2019

Great product but not what

Great product but not what I was looking for

December 18, 2019

Great pants

Super comfy, wear them all the time. Will likely get another color. I like the drawstring eliminating the need for a belt. I am 5’5” and 150ish with large hips and a 10 fits nicely. Could maybe have done an 8 if I wanted them super fitted but I was looking for a slightly more relaxed and functional fit for work and hiking ect. Really not sure if I ... Read Morewould ever climb in these but they do feel durable and have decent stretch so maybe? Love how they never look dirty after many wears. I’ll say true to size even though I mean “true to your patagonia size” i’ve never been a 10 elsewhere.. my jean size is normally 29.

December 12, 2019

Perfect fit

Like a glove. I love how the knee area are stitched to provide space at the exact bend. Very comfy, looks great.

December 9, 2019

Best Climbing Pant

I have been using the Escala Rock Pants for several years now and I have not found another climbing pant that is this comfy. I wear them all the time if it is to my office to edit photos, to the climbing gym and of course out on the rock.

November 24, 2019

Not for curvy women

The cut isn’t for anyone with a butt. 4 is my usual size in pants, but they were too tight in the mid section. The slim fit cut on the legs is great, and the fabric is soft.

Response from Patagonia
December 13, 2019

Hi J, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. Feedback like this is so crucial to improving products for future seasons so it's really appreciated. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 21, 2019

Probably would be great?

These seem like they'd be great if they fit. I bought the same size I wear in other Patagonia pants and they are so small I can't even fasten them. The waist is also too low.

Response from Patagonia
December 10, 2019

We're sorry these were too small! We went ahead and emailed you with a free shipping label in case you wanted to return these. When in doubt, we are always happy to provide you with any item's measurements chart.

November 21, 2019

Great pants

I wear either 4 or 6 in Patagonia pants at 5’7” and 135lbs with athletic quads - reading other reviews I sized up and the pants fit perfect. Waistline is lower than a lot of other pants I’ve tried (sits at hips not waist which I really like) and super flexible, durable material. Look great, totally recommend.

November 20, 2019

The fit is a little

The fit is a little weird. The waist is too big. The tag on the front left hip is terrible. It’s a little better than my Patagonia jeans, but they both actually rub the skin off my hip. It should either be moved or made or something soft.

Response from Patagonia
December 10, 2019

Hi Caryn, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! It's truly crucial to improving products for future season so it's appreciated. We're really sorry to hear about the trouble you've experienced with the fit. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 20, 2019

Sizing off

I loved the texture of the pants and the color. Unfortunately, they don't fit! They are too small however, another pair of pants of a different style fit perfectly. Sizing needs to be more uniform among different lines of pants.

November 20, 2019

Runs small, otherwise amazing

I initially ordered a size 4 based off the size chart recommendation since I have a 26 in jean size, but it was pretty small. I had to order a size up to a size 6 and it fit much better I love the fit of the pants now! I wore them climbing this past weekend and had great mobility for high steps.

November 20, 2019

Runs small

I have bought Patagonia pants and have mostly worn size 2, sometimes 0. I ordered size 2 for these pans but the waist was too tight and I returned it. But I really liked the Teal color and was able to find size 4 from a Patagonia dealer, and it fits better. Inseam is very long for me, but it is close to Pagatonia size chart - I wish they have petit... Read Moree sizes or make ankle length version for short people. It does not seem to stretch much, but soft and comfortable.

November 20, 2019

Very comfortable

I’m alway surprised when I find pants that are a perfect fit. I have fairly narrow hips and these pants are not tight in the waist. I like the brushed feel of the fabric. It helps keep the fabric from feeling cold on a chilly day.

November 17, 2019

I want to like these so bad

So as typical for Patagonia, these run pretty small. I am 5'6" 143lb and most brands I wear a 4/27. I ordered these in 6, which gave me some low grade muffing top but seemed to fit thru the legs. I'd be open to trying an 8 but that's a little annoying. Anyway. I feel like these are SO close to being right. Their major downfall i... Read Mores the fact that the front rise and back rise appear to be the same such that just putting them on and having any kind of butt results in them being far too low in the back. I tried squatting in these and doing a heel hook, whole butt was out. I'd NEVER wear these for climbing for that reason. They seemed well constructed and the fabric was nice, but didn't seem stretchy enough for the fact that they're a climbing pant. Despite having gussetted knees, my movement felt marginally restricted. I frequently climb in the Patagonia slim cords, which are only 1% elastine but are must stretchier. Maybe the fabric wears in, which I didn't have the opportunity to test that out since the whole design of the pant in the seat region is just unworkable. I really wanted to love them but seems they need to tweak the design a bit!

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2019

Sorry that the pants didn't work for you, but we really appreciate the great feedback, Ashley! It looks like you returned them already, or we'd be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the XXXX to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund.

November 11, 2019

Stretchy but tight

These pants are great, but I think they are more of a "night on the town pant" and less of a rock pant. Also, there are no belt loops :(

November 6, 2019

Wanted to love these pants

The waist was a little big and with no belt loops, when I bent down You could see crack. The tie to make the pants tighter on the waist was not effective. The pants came extremely long. I’m 5’4” but have long legs so pant length is usually never a problem. I loved the color and the rest of the pant was comfortable. Unfortunately due to the waist an... Read Mored length I am returning the pants.

November 6, 2019

Love them, Ordering 2nd Pair

I wear the blue pants often and receive a lot of compliments I love them! I wear them casually but probably wouldn't climb in them. About to order my second pair in grey. I am 5'-9", 132 lbs, slender but athletic build and wearing a size 6.

October 22, 2019

Love these pants!

I am 5’2 and an athletic build (Not curvy) 130 pounds. I purchased the teal pair in a 6 after trying on in the store. I fluctuate between a 4 and 6 in Patagonia. These pants are comfortable (maybe not rock climbing comfortable), stylish and warm. I am so happy about the low waist. I hate the new high waist styles that are so popular right now! I ju... Read Morest came back to the web site to purchase another pair. I truly love these pants for casual wear and would love to see more colors!

October 19, 2019

Sizes run large for Quandary pants/womens

I love the material and the style, but had to exchange for a smaller size.

September 25, 2019

nothing like the old version

I loved the old Escalas. In these the sizing and shape was weird. I usually wear a 6, or a 4 in stretchy pants. In these I the 4 and 6 seemed identical, with the 4 actually a bit bigger! I returned both and got an 8 and a 10, and the 10 was OK but stretched out too much, but, worse, the way theyse were cut, though not at all tight, I could feel the... Read More seams at my knees and in the crotch when sitting or bending...So, probably it's not good for climbing, esp with no gusset anymore! The fabric seemed nice, durable, and cotton-feeling, though, despite the stiffness (and good amount of synthetic), though, again, it felt very different than the old canvassy Escalas.

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2019

Thank you for providing your feedback on this item! We're sorry to hear that the updated version of these pants did not meet your expectations. Please note, your satisfaction is guaranteed and you are always welcome to [Contact US](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) to initiate a [Return or Exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 23, 2019

Neat fabric and cool cut but...

Pant color and make did not disappoint, however I went a size up from what a regular fit would be and it's still to small. I am in the process of losing weight, so hoping they will fit in 30 days. Also, slim or heavier, I am more curvy on the bottom. These pants are quite the right style for a hip to waist proportion that's larger.

September 17, 2019

chances of me climbing in these pants are zero!

First, I made the mistake of buying according to the size I wear on the RPS model.. big mistake.. this one is very small compared to my old pants. How can the same size be so different? According to the size chart they should fit me, and they do (my butt looks amazing).. but not for rock climbing.. The pants have a very low waist so that means if y... Read Moreou decide to boulder with them, your butt is gonna show. At least they don't have belt loops like the old model of the RPS pants, my gear gets caught in them all the time. They are as stretchy as any regular stretchy jeans, so don't think about doing high heel hooks with them. Overall, the pants are very cute for the city, but not for rock climbing

Response from Patagonia
September 27, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to express your feedback to us. We are sorry to hear these aren't working well for climbing. If you decide you don't want to use them as causal pants, and would like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return), please reach out and we are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact).

September 13, 2019

Great pants!

I love the color and the fit. A little higher-waisted than I expected, but I know these are going to be on heavy rotation in my wardrobe. Just enough stretch to make them super cozy. Great fit. I’m 5’5” and 122 and the 6 is just right, a touch long, but I don’t mind .

September 13, 2019

Comfort and style

I wear the Escala pants for outdoor activities as well as for social outings. The fit is comfortable and true to size. I have 2 pair of different colors. Works well with boots or sandals.

September 7, 2019

Need belt loops

Love the stretchy pants for walking or hiking. Love sleek side pocket (not a giant cargo one) for phone but the pants needs belt loops so I I wear a belt and snug around the pants.

August 31, 2019

Comfortable, versatile pants

I love how versatile and well-made these pants are. Very comfortable for work as well as climbing. They definitely run small as others have mentioned. I am usually size 8 in Patagonia pants and I needed to buy size 12.

August 23, 2019

My new favorites!

Comfy, easy to dress up or casual down. Lovely fabric that holds but allows a little stretch. They have real pockets, too! They are my new favorites!!!

August 15, 2019

Escala Rock Pants

I have counted on the quality and workmanship of Patagonia clothing for number of years and these pants did not disappoint. They are well-made and the fabric is luxurious. My go to size has always been a 6 but these pants run very slim. The crotch was tight as well as the thigh. I returned the 6 and got an 8. They fit much better and I plan on keep... Read Moreing them.

August 7, 2019

Cool looking pants, not sized for everyone

These pants looked great! But the fit did not work for me. I am 5'10 145lbs, athletic build, and wear a 6 in just about everything, but these pants in a 6 were extremely tight. The rise is slightly low and they were too tight around my hip bones, yet gapped really bad in the back when I sat down, which might be on account of me being too tall ... Read Morefor the pants. I liked the material and cut otherwise, but did not try a larger size as they were also far too short. The stitching to articulate the knee was much too high for my longer legs and made bending my legs uncomfortable. These seem like a good fit for someone 5'8 or shorter and as others stated, someone with thinner legs. If you have big thighs, these will be snug. They also have very little stretch, so they don't work well if they're too tight.

May 9, 2019

Love these pants

These are my first Patagonia pants and they fit me perfectly! I love the adjustable belt and the side leg pocket fits my phone just right. I like the maroon color too.

May 9, 2019

No complaints

....except no belt loops. I didn't think it would matter, but I find myself wanting to wear a belt with these pants sometimes. Was on the cusp between sizes and went for the smaller....nope. Returned and got the larger, exchanging sizes was easy, good customer service. Mostly wearing for business casual that can withstand bike commuting or a... Read Morefter work hikes.

May 8, 2019

Good quality, poor fit and sizing

I bought these pants to have a heavy duty pair for my daily bike commute. The sizing was smaller than I expected for a pair of pants supposedly built for movement. The fit was also odd; the drawstring ribbon in the waist for tightening the waist was way too short for my waist size and the pant legs aren't made for someone with muscular thighs ... Read Morefrom biking and running. If I was into climbing I would not be able to lift my legs. The length is fine and the fabric and make seems tough enough

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the fit/function was not what you were expecting! You're welcome to return or exchange your item at any time. View return instructions [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 5, 2019

Yes please!

I love these pants. I'm a size 2 or 26 in most pants and have a thinner athletic build (I run ultras). I think my inseam is 31" and while most "regular" Patagonia pants (and pants in general) are a touch too long for me, these are perfect. So, I guess I luck out this time with the "shorter" sizing as other reviewers ha... Read Moreve noted. I find these pants slim fitting but super comfortable with just the right amount of stretch to be functional for climbing and other outdoor shenanigans. There are thoughtful pockets, great articulation around the knees and a stay-put waist. Could actually be my favorite pants ever.

March 15, 2019

Sturdy construction, flattering design

I just bought these in a second color. I initially was planning to use them as climbing pants, but they look normal enough to wear to work. The material is sturdy and they fit me well. My only complaint is that I wish the lower leg was at least 2 inches longer. The fit is perfect everywhere else, which is unusual because I often can't get pant... Read Mores that fit like skinny jeans over my disproportionately large calves, but these just look like I'm expecting a flood. I'm 5'8 122lbs and got a size 2.

December 3, 2018

Perfect fit and durable

These pants do fit snug but they are a great blend of casual and performance fabric. The are just stretchy enough with no baggy stretched out spots after activity. A wider waistband would help them feel more like a climbing pant. Hopefully that's remedied next year!

October 23, 2018

Run Small!

Got these pants about a week ago. I wore them for a day and realize they are way too tight to climb in. I wear a 2 in other Patagonia pants but I guess not in these ones :/

October 14, 2018

The Best

I LOVE these pants, stylish enough for everyday, and stretchy enough to climb anything, thick, durable material makes these the perfect climbing pant. I went with a size 6, which is the same size I wear in the Pinon Pine Pant. A 4 would fit, but maybe a little tight for climbing in. Waist is 28", Hips 36" for reference.

October 11, 2018

Escala Rock Pants

not a climber, but a sailor. and these pants rock (no pun intended). they are a perfect fit for me, work great on boats, big and small, and look fantastic. would love another pair, i have the blue, but dont really like the other colors. i shop seldom, and never buy 2 of anything (before this), but may just do to so i can have them for the rest of m... Read Morey life.

September 30, 2018

love these! they run slim

I have these in a 4 and a 6, they are quite slim, great stretch and the waist fits great, not too high! I climb in both, but the larger are my all time favorite for climbing (in red :) And the 4's are better when I know it is cold, and I'm headed to the brewery strait from the Buttermilks. They are perfect off-widthing or hip scumming in ... Read MoreYosemite or Indian creek pants, durable and nice soft texture that won't slip on the rock. In the larger size they feel incredibly stretchy. Nice side pocket for an Iphone.

September 17, 2018

Not quite

These pants run super small, are fairly stiff, and are uncomfortably low rise. Not a keeper for me. They're a durable material, but I can't imagine trying to climb in them. If you're really tiny, maybe they'd be a good fit. Girls with any curves, not so much.

September 13, 2018

Stretchy & durable!

Nabbed a pair of these to add to my ever-growing list of climbing pants to try and was quite impressed. These stood up all day for multipitch shenanigans in both Tuolumne and on Devils Tower and were durable enough for granite. I was surprised by how much stretch these pants offer, especially in the thigh area. The side pocket on the right leg is p... Read Moreretty nifty, also. I was expecting these to feel heavy and lack breathability, but they were the perfect thickness for spending all day on the rock, especially when moving in and out of the sun. My only wish is that these were high wasted for us longer-torso folks, and also to better fit underneath a harness. Then they'd be perfect :)

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches