Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Altvia Alpine Pants

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 29 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Altvia Alpine Pants

4.6/5
True To Size
May 6, 2022

Tall people are real people too!

Ive been waiting for this pant for years. Its a great blend of light weight but durable. Built in belt, articulated, etc HOWEVER, Patagonia doesnt seem to believe in the existence of slender people with moderately long legs. At 63 my 34legs arent even long for my height but these top out at 32! Thats 2 of mosquito bite territory! 2 of chilly Achill... Read Morees! 2 of looking like a kid whose parents forgot he grew over the summer! Please Patagonia, make these in a long and Ill buy a few pairs and I doubt Ill be the only one!

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2022

Hey Galen, thank you for the feedback. Unfortunately, we've had to cut down on how many pants we offer in long lengths. Right now it will primarily be our Workwear line and the [Men's Swiftcurrent Wet Wade Wading Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-swiftcurrent-wet-wade-wading-pants-long/82106.html?dwvar_82106_color=FGE&cgid=mens-pants-jeans) that are offered in a longer inseam. The Altvia inseam does increase an inch if you go up in size, the crossover is from a size 33 to 34, which goes from a 32" inseam to a 33" inseam. We'll be sure to share your thoughts with the team.

April 2, 2022

The unfeeling pants!!!

They are super comfy and stretchys....free moves!!!I love them!

February 19, 2022

Great pants, inseam too tall.

The material is incredibly stretchy without being annoyingly stretchy. I cannot speak to how they hold up on rock yet. The pants are incredibly long. I wish they came in a shorter inseam. I am going to hem them but I will be losing the drawstrings around the ankles in the process. A little disappointing.

February 12, 2022

Game Changer

Ive been hiking, backpacking, snowshoeing, and mountain biking for over 30 years and am wondering how I ever did it with out these pants. I have pants that are specific to all these activities, and these are the most comfortable, light, yet durable. They are a little on the tight side, but the stretch and cut will take care of you. Seems true to si... Read Moreze, but would size up if you plan on adding a base layer.

February 2, 2022

Kiss the zipper pulls goodbye

I have a family of 5, we all have these pants, every pair slowly but surely lost the zipper pulls

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2022

Hey Timothy, thanks for the review. We're so sorry to hear about the zipper pulls! We are able to send out replacements to customers in the US, if you'd like to move forward with this offer please connect with our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we could get that set up for you.

January 31, 2022

Nice material.

I bought these pants primarily for cross country skiing and winter canyon hiking. Pleased with the performance. Warm and protective over long underwear. Can't say how well they'd do in a rain burst or a wet snowstorm. Good fabric, that's for sure.

January 9, 2022

Ideal

I am writing this for my grandson who lives in the mountains. The pants are pefect to wear on cloudy days when it could rain or snow. They keep you dry and dont constrict movement.

January 8, 2022

Super comfortable

I wear these on my daily walks. Throw a base layer underneath when its cold, they are very comfortable and breath nicely while exercising. I love these!

January 8, 2022

Super comfy. A little big

Ordered a 40, can wear 38-40 waist 610 265lbs Just got them out xc skiing. Then threw a shell pant over for a few down hill laps. Very comfortable. Overall good design and pocket placement. Weather was mid 30s sun and wind and the pants performed great Id place the inseam at a 34-35 Very generous waist. Ordered a 38 to try out in the blue color G... Read Moreood multi sport training pant Looking forward to testing the durability on some scrambles and climbs.

January 4, 2022

Cozy

Yet to put to the test but got well

December 30, 2021

Super versatile

I'm hard on gear and I dislike gushing over it. That being said these pants are outstanding. I was skeptical at first about winter use because the material is pretty thin, but these pants keep me warm and dry over a wide range of temps. I use them for trail running, hiking, and mountaineering in the White Mountains of New Hampshire, where the ... Read Moreweather is anything but stable. For high output activities I've skipped a baselayer in temps down to low teens. Add some midweight bottoms and it's a solid setup for most winter missions.

December 22, 2021

Overall great

Legs are slightly long. I wear 32 x 30 pants

December 15, 2021

Fit great and are very comfy

Pants are super comfy to wear. I use them mostly for casual wear.

December 8, 2021

Unmatched Tailored Fit

Great fit, nice stretch, and the pockets are just right. Material seems a little thin for the abrasion any climbing pant can expect to endure, but we'll see upon extended use.

October 28, 2021

These a great

Love these. Comfi, versatile, light weight. Just a note on fit- they do run long (lots of reviews say so) and not sure why the belt is necessary- but seems most brands have it. Find it superfluous and a bit annoying.

October 17, 2021

Perfect cool weather alpine pants

Great mobility for climbing. Plenty warm for cool weather but didnt overheat while hiking fast. Will pair with a base layer when temps drop to low 40s. Idea spot between running tights and an older pair of alpine guide pants that I use for colder missions. Ankle closure works great if you just tie an overhand in the cord after you get it adjusted r... Read Moreight. Pocket layout on point. Kudos!

September 30, 2021

Perfect for rock climbing

extremely comfortable, ideal for rock climbing

September 29, 2021

All around excellent

Very comfortable for hiking and backpacking. Perfect for my recent fall backpack in the Wind Rivers. Fabric has nice bit of stretch and is soft against the skin. I think theyll make great travel pants as well. I dont normally wear a belt but the integrated one works well. Love the slim fit and the length is just right. Only ding is lack of a fully ... Read Moregusseted crotch, which would add comfort and ease of movement, and I expect in pants at this price point.

September 8, 2021

Slightly snug

Everything fit well, the waste is a little snug. used these for hiking in Alaska, and they were warm, breathable, and water resistant.

August 15, 2021

Lenght

I would be nice to offer different lengths of your pants. They are always what to long

August 10, 2021

Light and durable

Excellent fit and good waterproof fabric great movement for high step activity

July 29, 2021

Good Pants

Excellent pants for rock climbing and summer mountaineering at moderate altitudes. Feel comfortable in hot weather

May 16, 2021

Every Day Every Occasion

Bought one pair to try, loved fit and function far beyond anything past or present. Bought two more pairs! Excellent

May 5, 2021

Extremely versatile pant

Phenomenal fit and range of motion, love this level of breath ability, so much so I bought two additional pair, once I had been schooled. Quiver killer product

April 26, 2021

Super comfortable

They are a very comfortable material that is thin and comes with a nice stretch. I bought them with the intention of wearing them alone (in summer) or with a pair of thermal underwear (in winter) and the fabric and stretch allow for that perfectly especially with my size 33. I vary somewhere 32-34 across brands. I graze 6' and usually get a 32... Read Morex32, but I'll agree with the previous comment that the inseam (pant leg) does run slightly long and could come up an inch - maybe two. The pockets are all great and I am happy to see that the two hand pockets are deep enough for a phone/wallet/etc. and not too short. Despite the length (I think there's some slight ability to sinch the leg opening) they are overall a great pant to take outside!

April 20, 2021

Really nice pants

Super nice tech pants. Fit is spot on at 32's. Bought each color. I did think they would be a little heavier material, they are pretty thin.

April 18, 2021

Great lightweight climbing pants

I usually do not review products, but this on stood out as a very good products that could use a few improvements. My main use is for climbing/hiking. Let me first say, great styling, comfort and proper use designed. My only complaint, as with most Patagonia Mens clothing is the inseam (crotch length). It's too long. Could be shortened by at l... Read Moreeast 1-2 inches across their product line. What is interesting is that the models they use for displaying the clothing even show too much inseam and look uncomfortable. This is not only a change Patagonia needs to do with this article, but across their mens line of pants/shorts.

April 16, 2021

Special

Well made but waist to small...

March 24, 2021

Incredibly comfortable

Love these pants! I rarely wear denim anymore because of the lack of movement, and have transitioned to more technical pants. These are the best pair I have tried yet. Complete freedom of movement, super comfortable, and I love the fabric feel. On top of that they look great. Highly recommend.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches