Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Simul Alpine Pants

Write Your Review

4.28 /5

Filter Reviews

All 29 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Simul Alpine Pants

4.28
True To Size
December 2, 2020

Great for my purpose (cold temp jogging/walking).

I wear long underwear under these for cold temperature (30-40 degrees so far) walking and jogging. I especially like the ability to tighten up the very bottom of the legs. They feel great - I ended up buying a couple sizes (38 and 40) since my weight varies.

November 30, 2020

Perfect, enough said

Functional pants that are exactly as described.

October 28, 2020

A bit baggy

Sizing on Patagonia pants is all over the place! Im a 33 in most jeans but a 34 Patagonia is too tight in the package department and in a 36 I need suspenders. Ive never seen a 35 available to purchase so cant weigh in on that size. For being an average sized middle aged man (510 & 180 lbs) I have such a hard time fitting into Patagonia anythin... Read Moreg.

Response from Patagonia
December 5, 2020

We appreciate the review and have noted the issues on size discrepancies. This feedback helps us fine tune our designs, so thank you! If you haven't already, please feel free to make a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 15, 2020

Best outdoor pants

Simply the best pans for most outdoor activities.

September 9, 2020

Simul Alpine Pants

Very comfortable. Good fit.

September 8, 2020

Love these pants!

I got these pants for some cooler weather biking and find myself relaxing in them around the house when not active. They are extremely comfortable and I very much enjoy the large pockets on the sides. I love these pants! They fit great, but might be a touch on the small side.

July 13, 2020

Skeptical Convert

These are a replacement for my much beloved Alpine Guide pants that I shredded coming down East Osceola after 8 winters of well worn use. I'm in the "hefty" size category so I was initially skeptical about not having belt loops. The fit is slim but not tight and it looks like it will keep me from snagging snowshoes, crampons, poles e... Read Moretc.

July 9, 2020

Skeptical Convert

These are a replacement for my much beloved Alpine Guide pants that I shredded coming down East Osceola after 8 winters of well worn use. I'm in the "hefty" size category so I was initially skeptical about not having belt loops. The fit is slim but not tight and it looks like it will keep me from snagging snowshoes, crampons, poles e... Read Moretc.

June 20, 2020

Love these

Wear theses all the time

March 12, 2020

New winter essential

Using with a variety of base layer combinations for winter fat biking. The zip pockets allow loose items like keys to be captured with a minimum of loiter time at the trailhead exposed to the weather. Excellent wind resistance and very good moisture resistance. The default taper avoids flapping fabric near the crank. Additional water resistance in ... Read Morethe seat area would be the only desirable addition.

March 8, 2020

Great pant/Needs more durable seat

I wore these pants above 10,000 feet on my way to the summit at 19,346 on Kilimanjaro, Feb. With and without a base layer of Patagonia capilene these pants performed and did everything I asked of them. In the clouds when it got wet and the snow they kept me dry and warm. Love the stretch. Only suggestion is that they make the seat of a more durable... Read More material. My seat got punctured and torn in several places which wasn't good. Fit is great and Opposet waist maintained a good grip around my waist. Definitely recommend these pants.

March 3, 2020

Great for snowshoeing!

I live in Michigan's Upper Peninsula and these pants are perfect for snowshoeing especially when paired with a base layer. They are water repellent and wind resistant. I haven't used them in summer months but so far I am very satisfied with them!

November 14, 2019

Great Travel and Hiking Pants

Great travel pants that fit well. The pants look like a good pair of slacks so that were great traveling in Europe. I did not feel out of place walking in churches, cathedrals and palaces. Then I did a 13 walk along the Wales coast and they did great. I wear them at home when I want something more dressy than jeans. Shreds dirt very well while trav... Read Moreeling I only washed them after four of five days of use. Great waist adjustment mechanism. Pants still fit after losing 25 pounds.

November 6, 2019

Jack of all trades, master of... somethings

The Patagonia Simul Alpine pant (2018/2019 version) has been my do it all go to climbing pant. The fit is phenomenal and the lack of rear pockets and belt loops make them pair really nicely with layers and a harness. I initially used them as an ice climbing pant. When paired with a heavyweight merino baselayer they are snow repellant and wind resis... Read Moretant (and surprisingly warm) however they quickly become soaked on the top the thigh by dripping water and ice. The other minor problem I found was that they aren’t resistant to accidental crampon strikes. Unlike some stretch fabrics that close up around holes this pant tears in a way similar to non stretch fabrics. Ultimately they are incredibly abrasion resistant on rock and work well as an ice climbing pant as long as you aren’t getting hit with flowing water. I absolutely recommend getting a pair of these pants (just picked up a 2019/2020 set) but understand the limitations of the materials.

November 4, 2019

Great Value

These are the go to do all pant. Sizing runs a little small for those of us with American thighs. I wish i would have bought them sooner.

October 17, 2019

Reliable

One of my most reliable pants for when things get serious. Equally suited to the snow environment as it is to rock, this pant is a staple for anyone transitioning between the two. Unrestricted mobility and a nice medium weight face fabric, this is ideal for those climbs where you expect a little chillier temps.

October 15, 2019

Great Pant!

I have really enjoyed both versions of this pant, but prefer the side cargo pockets of the newer version. I have found the paints to be great for any use, and the fit to be on point. Other than the fit the best feature of this pant is its ability to dry quickly after bushwhacking through heavy wet brush or after a rainfall. The pants also tend to f... Read Moreeel light even when soaked, unlike other soft shells that seem to get the heavy/stretchy feel when wet. All being said I did have to retire my first pair after 3.5 years when the crotch blew out, I have since bought two more pairs and the crotch seems to be holding up so fingers crossed.

October 7, 2019

Simul Alpine Pants

They were great. Wet weather and worked out awesome.

May 15, 2019

Perfect multiuse softshell

Stretchy, comfortable, weather resistant, and easy to layer. Great for most alpine and backcountry missions but not a substitute for snow/rain pants.

May 8, 2019

Simul pant

Overall, I like these. Good cut, useful leg and waist mechanisms, ease of movement, not too hot later in the day. Quibble: The thigh pocket is too long, such that items in the pocket *bang into the knee.* I suggest adding a velcro patch, snap, or some other device about 2/3 of the way down, so that the pocket is more useful for small-and medium-siz... Read Moreed items, but can be opened all the way for things like a map or hat.

May 8, 2019

Outstanding pants

Excellent fit and quality.

May 8, 2019

Cross country pants

Love the feel and fit!

May 6, 2019

1 step forward, 2 steps back

Forward: Cargo packets. Two of them. Hurrah! Step back? Too deep so they hang low and their contents bang the back of your knees. Will probably stitch the bottom two inches closed to make them functional. Not sure about the fancy new waist adjuster either. It seems to hold but doesn't provide the psychological security of a belt. Otherwise, t... Read Morehey're pretty much the same as my prior pair which were my go-to pants (and still are given the problems with the new ones even as they slowly wear out). They also have larger upper pockets, which are nice, but the back pockets are gone. No big deal, IMO, if the cargo pockets worked.

March 20, 2019

Good pants, could use some updates

These pants seem pretty durable. I've taken them out for hikes in the rain and snow, through rocky areas, and they've held up. My biggest gripes are the lack of belt loops, and the placement of the thigh pockets. The oppo-set feature is nice in theory (who wouldn't love pants that adjust to their waste to save you from wearing a heav... Read Morey or uncomfortable belt?) but doesn't work so well in reality. It works to some degree, but I definitely find myself readjusting the tightness in the waist multiple times throughout a hike, whereas my pants that have belt loops I never have to do this. The thigh pockets are roomy enough for most things, but I'm the sort of hiker who spends a fair amount of time bending over to check out insects, fungi, and other things along the trail. I find I can't put anything stiff in these pockets unless it is very small (pocket knife), otherwise, it ends up limiting my mobility bending at the knee. I imagine it would impact climbers in a similar way.

February 21, 2019

Missing belt loops

I am disappointed to find out the new iteration of this pants are missing belt loop. As the other reviews mentioned, the "opposite" waist adjustment doesn't do the job. Why would you take away a perfectly functional feature and make the product worst???

October 14, 2018

Almost great, but too tight

These pants would be the perfect cold weather climbing pants, but they're WAY too tight in the seat and thigh. I'm (almost) 5'10" and weigh about 153. I'm trim, but the pants restrict my movement, especially with any high steps or hand foot matches. The material is great, and they feel plenty warm to me in temps well below ... Read Morefreezing. They're durable as well. I just wish they had a more relaxed fit, like the RPS Rock Pants

October 13, 2018

Great Pants...Don't count on drawstring

Loved the feel and comfort of these pants climbing and being outside. They are a light weight soft-shell pant. I sized up counting in the drawstring that way I had the option to layer on the colder days. Unfortunately the draw string or "Opposet" belt won't stay snug on me. The pants just kept opening back up to the original size aft... Read Moreer a few minutes. Slightly annoying... I have been a Patagonia customer for over 20 years and have never had to call upon their "Ironclad guarantee." Even after wearing the pants on a few outings Patagonia customer service insisted I send them back and the offered me a refund or a different size of pants. I took a new pair of simul pants in the smaller size and now they are perfect. Thanks, Patagonia. Customer for life but you need to rework the "Opposet" drawstring on these pants.

September 2, 2018

Removing belt loops was a mistake.

The OppoSet innovation just doesn’t stay tight. On my past season versions I can live with that because I just rely on my belt holding them up. I’m guessing that by removing belt loops there will be a large segment of at least the climbing market, that won’t buy these. Innovation that replaces something reliable, but is itself unreliable, is just a... Read More gimmick.

March 4, 2018

My favorite cold-weather pants

Scored these a couple of years ago at an outlet sale and they have been my go-to pants for cold-weather activity ever since. The fit is spot on,(although not actually a slim fit),as I can easily wear them alone or with a thermal weight baselayer without restricting my movement at all. I am 6'0" 150lbs and love my size 30. The material is ... Read Morevery sturdy and comfortable and still looks brand new after several seasons of chilly climbing,camping,and hiking. Zippered pockets,drawcord cuffs,built-in belt,burly belt loops,and a great fit make these the best winter pants I have for anything that doesn't require a hard shell. My wardrobe is currently maxed out on grey pants but I am looking to purchase several more of these as soon as they offer new colors!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches