Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Simul Alpine Pants

Write Your Review

3.8/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 20 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Simul Alpine Pants

3.8/5
July 22, 2021

Awesome for winter hikes

Hiked Mt Elbert in March with these on. It was cold, knee deep snow in places and windy. Used a base layer underneath - kept me warm the entire time. Tied the bottom of my pants to my shoes and didn't need gaiters. Only downside is I dont think Id wear em any other time. They are pretty thick so wont wear em during summer hikes. Not sure I can... Read More pull em off as "casual wear".

June 27, 2021

Good fit

Great travel pants comfortable for a busy moving day

June 13, 2021

Wanted badly to like these, but big fail

I've previously had these pants years back and loved them! These updates pants are terrible. I wanted badly to love them. The sizing is off and they run baggy, which isn't something I was looking for for my climbing and mountain pant. The new(er) pull tab belt broke on my first pair, popped out of the sewing while in the mountains, and th... Read Moree downside of this new(er) system is there is no belt loop backup. Why remove the belt loop!? I ended up wearing these pants for days rolled at the top as they constantly fell down as I climbed. I returned my first pair thinking it must be a mistake- a one off. Returned for a second pair, same size, and about a week into using them in the mountains the pull tab belt broke again! I could not believe it. I have a standard waste 32 am in good physical shape but wearing these pants while wearing a pack or leaning over or climbing rock these pants break and there is no way to circumvent the break with a belt because there is no belt loop. I'd try these again stubbornly because I want them badly to be as well made as the old versions but I have to pass. Do not buy these pants.

May 14, 2021

I wanted to love them

I wanted a light, fairly breathable spring pant for skiing and alpine scrambling. The fabric is right on the money; light and easy to move in. However, heres a few things I wasnt really stoked about: the fly zipper snags on the inner flap every time, requiring more attention than youd think to open and close. The belt seems nice, but wont really st... Read Moreay tight for me, its always working loose. The lower legs arent big enough to roll up over my calves for long warm approaches, and barely fit over my fairly low volume ski boots. The uppermost front pockets are free floating, not attached to the leg of the pants, so objects in the pocket move from the outside of your leg to nearly between your legs. If you carry a beacon or phone, its kind of annoying. Finally, after three days of use theres two seams already coming apart. None of these things may bother you, but I wasnt too impressed.

Response from Patagonia
May 18, 2021

Hi Patrick, sorry to hear about the disappointment with the Men's Simul Alpine Pants. We're also concerned to hear that the seams are coming apart after only a few wears. We'd be more than happy to take those back as a warranty return, or we can assist with a repair. You're welcome to begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

April 1, 2021

Very dexterous pants slightly long but enough room for thin base layer

Very dexterous pants slightly Long but enough room for base layer

March 25, 2021

Poor workmanship

I had these pant for about 8 months. Climbed in them for about 6 times. Climbed devils tower and went on a few hikes with them. The stitching around the waist has completely failed. I can no longer wear them. After paying that much you think they would last longer than a year.

Response from Patagonia
March 25, 2021

Hi Andy, we absolutely agree, we hope to build product that lasts much longer than that. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know and apologize for the troubles this caused. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us and we'd be happy to get you in a new pair.

March 16, 2021

Great winter touring pant.

Love these pants for winter activities. X-country ski, fat bike, skiing, snowshoeing, etc. They block the wind, cold, and snow and perfect with light Capilene in freezing temps. Very comfortable material stretches during high use and holds up well. Slim fit means slim! Im a heavier athletic build and wear a 38 waist and these are a little tight in ... Read Morethe waist, loose around hips, butt, and crotch, then slim in the legs again. I tried the next size up and they were way too big.

March 12, 2021

Solid Cooler Weather/Winter Pants

I was looking for something with a bit warmer and more weather resistant than my Patagonia Quandry's for Maine winter activities. So far, these pants are close to perfect for what I need. I'm a slim guy (5'10" 140lbs). It's hard finding pants that fit me. The size 28 fits perfectly. The leg openings fit over my boots snuggl... Read Morey in a way that keeps deep (2-3 feet) out of my boots if I posthole or step off trail. I've used them in high winds and near zero temps, snowshoeing, XC skiing, and spending a weekend hauling firewood. Paired with a wool base layer, these pants have performed well in all conditions. They shed light snow well, but in really harsh conditions, I use a hard shell overtop. My only complaint is the button as a belt adjustment.

February 25, 2021

Favorite Ice Climbing Pants

Love these pants. Lightweight and warm enough with a base layer. Sheds snow and water to stay relatively dry all day.

February 14, 2021

Practical and Warm

Fantastic light weight snow pants. Waterproof in new england winter storm conditions. Warm and practical for snow storms and work.

February 12, 2021

Not quite what it once was.

I had two pair of the previous versions and they were incredible. This year there was an update to the fit and the material. The new material is great - stretchy, stays with you and repels water. The fit leaves a little to be desired. They feel baggier than the same size in previous versions. I don't notice it so much when I'm climbing, b... Read Moreut on the approach it frustrates me. The belt also leaves a lot to be desired. It's finicky. I'd like to see belt loops on the next pair. The weight is minimal compared to the pants staying where you want them. Otherwise, these pants are great in the mountains, ice climbing, shoulder season rock climbing or lounging on the couch.

February 2, 2021

Great pant- disappointing crafstmanship

Great pants for winter hiking. super breathable yet warm. The only problem is on of the pant pockets. The seam which is glued came undone after the 4th time wearing them and now i have to return them.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Hello Mason, we're truly sorry that the glued seam became undone. This definitely shouldn't be happening this early on so please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under warranty. If you have any questions regarding our return process, don't hesitate to reach out to our customer service team as well.

January 26, 2021

Solid Tech Pant

For my height this pant is little bit long although the design and articulation is still awesome. Very happy

January 2, 2021

Great pants

I purchased these for my husband after getting some for myself. They run small but otherwise the fit for him is good; we wear over a base layer when it is cold or wet out (MA).

January 2, 2021

Great pants that could be better

Love these pants, they are my favorite for playing in the high Rockies year round. Great combination of breathe-ability and water resistance. With a nice pair of merino wool long johns they are super warm for days out in the snow and on the ice. The button adjustable belt is a cool idea in theory, but does not work well and is a genuine nuisance. T... Read Morehese pants also dont have belt loops! Doh.. If Patagonia would go back to the previous edition with webbing belt loops (and the built in button belt) these pants would be 4+ stars in my book. Theyd be even better without the dinky button belt and solid belt loops instead. Gonna wait till this happens to buy my next pair :) That being said, if you do buy these make sure you get the right size as you will be pissed if you have to rely on the button belt to keep them on.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on our Simul Alpine Pants. We appreciate you voicing your opinion on the button closure, we're always looking to improve on design so your review helps us accomplish that. Until the new iteration comes out, we'd recommend checking out our [Men's Calcite Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-calcite-pants/85000.html?dwvar_85000_color=BLK&cgid=root) as they have a similar look and feel and include a built in web belt.

December 24, 2020

Versatile

These are some great pants, I bought them for winter fat biking and they keep me warm and dry with and without a base layer. I have worn them sledding with a base layer and they are great, pockets for snacks etc. super comfortable and really durable!

December 1, 2020

Love the fit and material but there is a functional problem.

I love the material and fit of the Simul Alpine Pants. I love having a leg pocket, but the side leg pocket is too low on the leg and too far to the outside. Anything I place in the side pocket bumps into my knee when I move. The size of the pocket is great - fits a phone - but the placement of the pocket is too close to the knee. This functional pr... Read Moreoblem is too annoying to overlook the wonderful fit and material. So close to perfect. I hope the design team will fix this by moving the pocket slightly up the leg and more medial to make the Simul Alpine pant THE perfect pant for any activity.

November 26, 2020

Awesome Pant, But major flaw

Awesome pant for cross country and tele skiing. Just shell enough to block the elements but breaths well (not waterproof but decently resistant). Only issue is the built in belt system destroyed these pants after one season. I have tried to sow it back but to no avail. Its a real fickle thing. In perfect condition and built to last, but the integr... Read Moreated belt system literally destroyed it. Ill give this feedback to Patagonia and see what they'll do. Sucks because this happened at day 1 ski season #2.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2020

Hi Garret, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about this flaw and that you were only able to use them one time. We definitely want to help you out with this so we've reached out directly with further assistance.

August 26, 2020

Great Pant

I bought this pant for cold days at the crag and missions in the alpine. So far this pant has been amazing even in 70 degree weather craging. This will be my go to pant for days in the fall and early spring. The pant is super comfortable and has great stretch so no movement is restricted. This pant could also be great for spring skis when the its t... Read Moreo hot to wear regular gore-tex pants. Overall I love this pant and I can already tell these will last me years of consistent use. The only down side is that the side packets are a little low so your phone or whatever else kinda rubs by your knee which can be annoying. But other than that I LOVE THESE THINGS!!!!!!!!

April 14, 2020

Academic Integrity

I bought these for late spring early summer fieldwork in the Sierras. I'm an academic and not usually in the wilderness (even though I'm a climber). So I did considerable research to find the best pants for the trip. (a trip that might not happen now because of COVID-19). So here's a review anyway: The pants are more substantial than... Read More they look online. The outside of them has a slightly slick smooth nylon polish and the inside is textured ever so slightly, adding some durability and warmth, as well. I'm wearing them all over Philly right now during early spring so they are facing a range of temperatures. Like other products like nano puff, these pants have a HUGE comfort range. Yesterday I wore them to walk my dog in 78 degree weather. This morning, I did the same in 33 degree weather and these pants kept me very comfortable in both situations. Never cold or hot. Just right. They are also fairly breathable in aerobic activities. I ran in them the other day (50s outside) and I sweated a lot but the pants never clung to my skin. I biked in 70 degree weather and they didn't cling to me until it started raining and they got damp. The features on these pants are great. No need to list them here. But I would personally prefer to have one or two back zip pockets, too. Sure, they would not be used while wearing a harness or pack, but whoever buys these will wear them everywhere because they are so comfortable. As to fit, I'm 5'11'' and 160 lbs. With most pants I wear a 32 or 33/32. With patagonia, I usually size up because 32 or 33 is usually too tight for me (I like my pants to sit on my hips). So I went with a 34. The pants fit loosely while not looking baggy. They are a bit long now which looks awkward with some of my shoes, but this isn't really a big deal. Shorter folks with the same waist sizing needs might be out of luck, though. As to performance against fit, the side pockets hang down around my knees which means I can't really make use of them without items in the pockets swinging around every time I move. Perhaps next iteration they could be moved higher on the thighs (I'm accounting for my personal sizing - the pockets could be moved higher for anyone and nothing would be lost). And lastly, when I high step, because of how the inseam falls (due to my sizing choice), the pant legs sometimes catch on my knees. I can solve this by hiking the pants up and tightening the belt. And it's worth it for them to fit comfortably. All in all, a wonderful pair of tough, versatile pants!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches