Back to Product

Patagonia Men's RPS Rock Climbing Pants

Write Your Review

4.11 /5

Filter Reviews

All 37 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's RPS Rock Climbing Pants

4.11
True To Size
March 23, 2020

Nice Fit around waist and legs only downfall is...

The pants are nice I like the general fit of them. My only complaint is the inseam is a little to long. I'm 67" tall and wear a size 32-33 waist. The pants inseam is 32" and is just a bit to long to be completely satisfied with my purchase. I find myself having to cuff each pant leg in order to prevent them from dragging on the floor... Read More.

February 21, 2020

Pants that won't die

I work in forestry and am outdoors most days. I have owned two pairs of these pants for about four years. They are worn more often than is probably sanitary, to the point that my coworkers think these are the only pants I own. They are very lightweight and perfect for hot weather. They show literally no signs of wear, even after wearing them throug... Read Moreh nasty, thorny brush for weeks at a time. A downside is that things fall out of the front pockets very easily. I don't carry change in these pockets, and I double check to make sure I still have my keys when I get up from a chair. Although they are durable, they don't provide the level of protection that heavier pants would. If Patagonia offered these pants in a heavier weight, I would buy those as well. I might never need another pair of pants again!

December 28, 2019

After Christmas Sopping

Hi - I went in to the Ventura store to ask advice on my red jacket that I had actually just has repaired by Patagonia. the jacket still has issues and the gentleman at the store went ahead and replaced it with a brand new jacket - similar. thank you for being such a great company! That is why I own so much Patagonia.

December 27, 2019

Excellent pants

Excellent fit. Enough stretch for climbing. Patagonia is always a great product.

November 26, 2019

Pants with a great feel, but still lacking functional pockets

These pants year in and year out are a great workhorse in my arsenal of pants. I have taken them both indoor and outdoor climbing, and they work great for the most part. Climbing outdoors is a lot of fun, but I usually like to have a zippered pocket to keep my phone secured on me when climbing, or to have a walkie talkie or some way to communicate ... Read Morewith my partners when I am out of sight. This is the one drawback of these pants... the zippered pocket is good for carrying small things like cash or coins, but is not big enough for today's phones or even a slightly biggger walkie talkie. The normal pockets sometimes have a tendency to not hold big items and I've lost a few parking tickets in my day with the non zippered pockets.

November 21, 2019

RPS Rock Pants are comfortable

RPS Rock Pants are comfortable and worked well climbing.

November 21, 2019

Great Pants!

I bought these pants for the purpose of indoor bouldering at my local gym. They work great. Durable and flexible. I am a skinny guy, 6ft/140lbs, I normally wear a 30/32 and a size 30 fit perfectly. They are comfortable and stylish. Would recommend to a friend!

November 18, 2019

Tight thighs

The pants are sized 32 and supposed to be flexible and stretchy enough to climb. When wearing them I find that to lift my knee up to or above hip level, such as on a steep an approach or getting a high foot hold, the pants feel restrictive around my knee and thigh. I can mitigate this by hitching up the upper part of the pant before attempting such... Read More a movement, but it is cumbersome to try to do so repeatedly or in a climbing situation. I do enjoy the pocket placement, the light weight material, and the ability to keep cool while wearing the pants.

Response from Patagonia
December 5, 2019

Samuel, we really appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback on these pants. If you find the restrictive nature of the fit causes you to want to [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) them, please don't hesitate to [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)to us!

November 10, 2019

Good Fit

Great pants but a little too baggy for my chicken legs.

November 6, 2019

Absolute favorite pants

Got these for climbing of course but they quickly became my everyday pants. They’re lightweight, super comfortable and can pass anywhere from the crag to the pub. The little cinch at the bottom is perfect for keeping them out of the way when it comes to tricky footwork. Love these pants.

October 17, 2019

Decent pants

Good pants for climbing. I wore them for a week climbing in Yosemite almost non stop. They held up fine. They provided plenty of freedom of movement but I would prefer it if the leg had more taper at the bottom. The waist adjustment is slick and doesn't get in the way of a harness.

October 15, 2019

Good fitting

Comfortable, great light hiking pants. No belt loops and the cinch is not that secure. Just a different feel.

October 2, 2019

Durably built, yet comfortable for climbing

A well-designed climbing pant with a great material choice. It is built durably (doubled-up on materiel where necessary), yet still comfortable with a slight stretch. The waist and hips fit true to size, but as a 6'2" man with long legs, they are noticeably short. That said, they're perfect length for wearing pushed up as I often do ... Read Morewhile climbing/approaching, but not so good for hiking or in town after climbing when they feel like high waters. Overall, well built rock pants.

September 27, 2019

Great do it all pants

These are my every day pants. After a few days of climbing they stretch a little bit, so hard to tell the fit. Delicate for granite, they brake easy. But the fabric dries fast, good thing for Alaska, he!

September 26, 2019

Very satisfied

Wore the RPS rock pants in the water all day then hit the rock gym with them that night and then slept in my truck with them on and I still have them on today.

September 10, 2019

Great pants!

I love the these pants fit. They are my new favorites!!

September 10, 2019

Great fit

I was really happy with the fit of these pants. I haven’t had the chance to climb in then yet but the angled zippers on the thigh pockets should make them accessible with a harness on. My only wish is that they were somehow more stain resistant.

September 7, 2019

So light

The pants feel great on the climbing wall, the color is bright and the material feels breathable and light, and it's water resistant. I do wish the women's version has deeper pockets. I got my boyfriend the men's version and he can fit two phones into his front pockets.

September 4, 2019

Rockin' Rock Pants

Already used both pair; indoor bouldering and outdoor trad/sport. Comfortable and durable whether heel hooking indoors or jamming cracks in the limestone outdoors. They even felt great during the 1.8 mile approach to the crag in 90+ temps in the Austin, TX humidity. In my opinion, they just need a pocket on the left pant leg matching the one on the... Read More right pant leg to be perfect.

September 2, 2019

Great climbing pants

I’m on my second pair, and will buy a third when these wear out. The material is great, as others say: weirdly durable despite the lightweight. The opposet works great on these pants, when I saw it at first I was skeptical. The thigh pocket is nice placed and a good size for my smallish phone or a couple granola bars. The bungee ankle closure is an... Read Moreother thing I expected to be a gimmick but is actually one of my favorite features that I use constantly. Perfect for cinching above the calf on hot days, or around the ankles when the afternoon wind is blowing up your skirt. Cut is good for me, I almost can’t get them to bind on me (the baggies pants, in contrast, bind badly on me in a comparable size). Something to watch out for is the way the butt pockets are sewn; it’s true there are two layers of material there, but the only thing making the pockets are two lines of stitches that form the bottom edge of the pocket. So once in a while these stitches wear through after too much butt-scooching through boulder fields and if you look into the back pocket you can see all the way down in the pants. It’s an easy fix of running a straight stitch across there and they’re good for another several months- but that’s the only real flaw I’ve found with these pants. Overall great rock climbing pants.

August 23, 2019

Mens RPS Rock Pants

Extremely lightweight. Very durable. Super comfortable pant. I love the angle sinch as well!

August 23, 2019

Great climbing pants

This is my second pair of grey rps pants. I only wear they for climbing and they’ve held up well and tend not to stink after multiple days in them. The only Chang I’d make is to add a small loop for hanging on a hook. Other than that I wouldn’t change a thing.

August 20, 2019

Runs smaller than older versions

I bought these pants a few years ago and they have stood the test of time. Excellent climbing pants that are lightweight but somehow ridiculously durable. Used them and scraped them across many types of rock all over the western US. I wanted another pair and bought the same size only to find out, they run much smaller and fit differently than the o... Read Morelder pair. I do like that they've moved the logo from the knee to the hip though. Sizing up to see if they still work for me.

August 12, 2019

Best pants I’ve ever owned.

Don’t ask me how it happened. I saw these pants at my climbing gym and thought they looked cool. Never thought about wearing them for climbing. Tried them on, liked the look and the feel. Now own three pairs and wear them instead of jeans almost daily. They look good—almost dressy—they wear well, and they are extremely comfortable. On the stairs at... Read More my office the other day, a guy stopped me and asked me where he could find the same for himself. This never happens. They look that good. Crazy. (Be careful about size. No belt loops. Waist adjustment works, but in a narrow range.)

August 10, 2019

Comfy pants

Would totally recommend for climbing. They’re comfortable and functional. Very well made and spacious in all the right spots

May 14, 2019

RPS rock pants

I’ve only climbed in them a handful of times but so far I love them. I prefer wearing pants when I climb and these are the perfect light weight pair for any summer hike/climb being super breathable, water resistant and lightweight. When they’re washed and not covered in chalk they even look pretty nice for a night out if ya keep it casual like I do... Read More. Nice job!

May 13, 2019

Rps Rock Pants Rock!!!!

Best pants for climbing and casual wear ever. I just wish they were a little bigger cut in the tighs and accordingly. Bigger thighs and smaller waists are hard to fit. I still buy them😂. Can’t squat comfortably and I understand these pants are for climbing but I still wear them when lifting.

May 9, 2019

Baggy around the hips

I was expecting a similar fit to the other rock pants, but was disappointed to have these not fit at all. The hips under the belt line were extremely. I will be returning these pants.

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2019

Hi Kyle! We are sorry to hear that the pants did not work out for you. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) it to a Patagonia owned store or send it in for a refund or merchandise credit.

February 28, 2019

The almost perfect bouldering pants

I thought I was going to hate these at first. When I tried them on they felt tight and non-stretchy. However after wearing them to work a few times, washing them, and then trying them at the gym I realized how great they were. I used one pair for several days in Joshua Tree and they performed very well. Very durable and managed to walk away with on... Read Morely one small hole (JTree rock eats clothing instantly. I was stoked). Great pants. Would be five star if the gusset was a little longer down the inseam, I feel like I could high-step a little higher that way.

January 1, 2019

Great Pants

Very pleased with these pants. They fit true to size. Mostly I've enjoyed their lightweight feel and high quality construction. Great for outdoor use

December 4, 2018

Inseam Too Short

I typically wear a 30 x 32 pant and purchased the size 30. The crotch area is very tight and somewhat uncomfortable; the seam in the back pretty much rides up my butt. These pants would benefit from a longer inseam or perhaps if a choice inseam length was given. Love the fabric. These pants are close to being perfect. I would buy several pair if Pa... Read Moretagonia fixed this inseam issue!

October 12, 2018

impressive durability

I have owned several pairs of the RPS pants over the years and always knew they held up well, they are my number one choice for guiding in the warmer seasons. Recently I was involved in a rockfall accident with a friend. long story short, we did our own self rescue off the wall and I scooted and drug myself though hundreds of yards of talus... I wo... Read Moreuld have assumed any pant would shred from all of that but the pants are in tact with only a few seams worn and just a few tiny tears. These pants will definitely remain my favorite!

August 27, 2018

Worse in 2018

I have the 2017 ones and the fabric is great and the built-in belt thing works great. On the 2018 model the fabric seems different, and the belt barely works. On top of that, they got rid of the belt loops, so you can't even wear a regular belt with it. Too bad as the new colors and smaller logo (on the back) look great. The 2017 ones were th... Read Moree perfect summer travel pant for me.

May 31, 2018

they look great,but...

i had nothing but compliments whenever i have these on. but when i use them for climbing: _ the gusset seams around the knee is bothersome _ advertised as "synthetic-blend fabric has stretch" but the's actually a blend of polyester and nylon - definitely no stretcdh _ bad sewing job on the back pockets. i had no idea that they had ca... Read Moreme undone and my wallet slipped down and lost it (i have a very minimalist wallet) finally had the chance to return them to the santa monica flagship store for repair,but they issued me a gift certificate a week later. i was hoping to get them repaired as i dont think it was that complicated,and believed in their wornwear program.

March 16, 2018

Comfy

I've had these pants for a few months now. I like the fit and feel,not too stretchy. I have climbed a bit in them. I like the tie cinch on the bottom,very simple and easy to use. If I could change one thing,it would be the side pocket is too small for my phone,barely big enough for a thin wallet. I also,would not mind a zippered pocket or at l... Read Moreeast a flap over the back pocket.

February 18, 2018

Great fit but too restrictive in the knees

I really wanted to like these but they were too restrictive for me. There's a weird diagonal stitch right below the knee that kept catching against my skin whenever I moved my legs around. The restriction was annoying enough that I think it would be a distraction while climbing. It's too bad because they otherwise fit well. I was sad to r... Read Moreeturn them.

February 17, 2018

Great but not durable

I got a pair of them less than a year ago. I'm just saddened by the fact that the rear pockets are so weak. Both of mine just fell apart and are completely unusable and I don't even rock climb or give them any harsh treatment. All I would put in it is my wallet (which was lost because it fell through my pocket onto the streets. I love alm... Read Moreost everything else about the pants. The rest is durable. I'm not sure if they fixed this issue in the new version,but I wouldn't buy these pants if you want durable rear pockets.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches