Back to Product

Patagonia Women's RPS Rock Climbing Pants

Write Your Review

3.93 /5

Filter Reviews

All 40 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's RPS Rock Climbing Pants

3.93
Kinda Small
June 14, 2020

Comfy and light!

I am normally small when it comes to Patagonia clothing so I was hesitant about ordering a size 8 in these pants (wear a 6 in all others). Let me just say, the reviews about the sizing on these are spot on!! They are perfect in the thighs so I can see the 6 being too tight. The cinchable waist and ankles are perfect for getting the pants just where... Read More you want them and boy are the comfy and lightweight! Super happy with this purchase!

June 7, 2020

Fantastic, Not the most durable

I really love these pants overall and would most likely buy them again. They dry extremely well - I got them completely soaked on a hike and a half hour later they were fully dry. They're comfortable and flexible, I love the drawstring feature on the bottom of the pant legs. My only gripe is that they're not extremely durable. My pants go... Read Moret snagged on a tree branch and ripped a hole - to be expected with this thin material I guess? I haven't climbed in these yet but I expect the knees won't hold up well getting constantly rubbed on rock/plastic gym holds. Regardless, great pants that I still do recommend - though maybe not for bushwhacking on hikes :)

Response from Patagonia
June 9, 2020

Hi Karolina, we're so sorry to hear about the tear in your RPS Pants. We'd be more than happy to take those in for repair, return or exchange. You're welcome to begin any of those processes here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

December 27, 2019

Great Active Pants

I really love these pants for doing every day activities, not just hiking and rock climbing. I have a big butt so being able to cinch in the waist and not have a huge gap is great. runs a little small I sized up to an 8 and am normally a 6 in Patagonia pants.

December 15, 2019

Womens rps pants

This pants are great but definitely fit snugger in the hip and thigh region than most other Patagonia pants. I have another pair or Patagonia pants that I wear a size 6 in and these I had to get an 8 and they are still a little restrictive when squatting deep or high stepping. Material and color are great! I am 5’4” 135 lbs.

December 7, 2019

too small

I usually wear a size 6 in pants, so that's what I ordered but they were very tight in the legs. I would size up. Otherwise they are constructed well.

December 4, 2019

Present for my wife

Bought these for my wife ... she loves them very much. Great quality, great fit.

December 3, 2019

Supportive and strong

This material is stronger than the typical yoga legging. It feels like it won't get ripped on a passing branch. Initially they felt tighter than P's normal sz small, but then I realized they are more supportive. I feel supported in these and will use them in my Spartan race.

November 30, 2019

weird fit

very tight in the hips/crotch. material doesn't stretch so makes the weird fit even worse. fits more like a low rise men's pant. might be ok as a casual pant but doesn't seem practical for climbing. returned.

November 25, 2019

Really tight in the thighs

Great material but they fit a little small and are weirdly tight in the thighs, which is weird for climbing pants. I ended up returning mine.

November 24, 2019

Rock Pants

I like the fabric and design with the knees and cosseted crotch however not the waist. I prefer, just below natural waist instead of low rise which these are. With low rise, my back gets exposed and chill comes quickly. I the adjustable waist idea is good but should be on both sides of the pants instead of just one side. The adjustment area could a... Read Morelso be nearer the hips to work with both back and front fits instead of just near the zipper.

November 22, 2019

Pants

I like the sweater very much. The pants would be perfect if they were an inch longer. I find them on the short side. regular usually fits me, but they are a tad short.

November 22, 2019

Why no belt loops?

Why. Why do these pants have no belt loops? Otherwise they're great!

Response from Patagonia
December 10, 2019

Hi there! The reason these pants do not have belt loops is because they have an adjustable waist creates a low-bulk, customized fit—simply hold the button and pull the webbing tail to tighten. However, if you are unsatisfied with this design, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us.

November 22, 2019

Sweet but Not Perfect

These pants look great! The colors rock and they make me feel super cool, except the material wasn't as stretchy as I needed. My favorite move is a hand-foot match, which was uncomfortable in these pants. They are super light and breathable, but I needed a little more stretch. I'll def still wear these all the time.

November 21, 2019

Pockets Done Right

Fantastic light-weight pants. I wear these to work and to workout. Looking forward to layering them for winter use. 5 pockets could not be better!

November 20, 2019

rock pants a little small on the thigh

I love the color and the details and will keep them but they were designed for stringy-legged rock climbers, not hearty-thighed ones like me.

November 20, 2019

Fits perfectly.

Fits perfectly.

November 12, 2019

Super cute less pratical

Definitely size up! I am normally a size 25 in jeans and that translates as a 2 on the size chart. The size 2 was skin tight and I ended up ordering a 4. These look super cute on and are really flattering. Yet, when climbing they are just too tight around the upper thigh and crotch to really feel like you are able to use your full range of motion.

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2019

Hi Mackenzie, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about some of the disappointment with the pants. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 10, 2019

Smaller than 2016 and 2017

I have three pair of these pants in a size 2. The earlier versions' fit is almost size larger than the 2019 version. The rise is lower and the legs are tighter with the additional loss of the subtle stretch in the fabric. They are less of a good climbing pant than the previous editions. I would not recommend buying your regular size unless you... Read More first try them on. I am 115 lbs and 5'3.5"

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2019

Hi Nancy, we're sorry to hear the new fit didn't work out! Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. In the meantime, please remember that we're always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

November 7, 2019

Runs big but not tooo big

I absolutely love these pants! Based on the other reviews I sized up to a 4 from my standard size of 2 (5 ft, 1150 lbs) and they fit perfectly. Still have enough room to slide on a pair of leggings if it is cold.

October 5, 2019

Perfect

The items came on time, fit perfectly; will be for years!

September 30, 2019

Love!!

Love these pants. The only fault is a sizing issue. I have the same pants in red and green and the red are tighter than the green. Same exact size but I love them anyway. Just different look.

September 17, 2019

RPS Rock pant

My other size 8 Patagonia pants fit true and appropriate to function. The RPS pant fits snug on my thighs and even a bit at my lower hips . Fit fine at length and at my waistline... tight to walk up stairs to the point I could never imagine climbing or hiking in these pants.

Response from Patagonia
September 27, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the troubles here with sizing. Please feel free to send these back to us and we are happy to process either an [exchange, or a return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). If you'd like our assistance with this we are happy to extend our [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact).

September 16, 2019

Favorite Climbing Pants

These are the perfect climbing pants. Breatheable, adjustable ankle synchs or the fabric rolls nicely if the pant legs are too long for you, roomy thigh pocket, easy access back pockets. My favorite feature is probably the adjustable waste-band, it’s so convenient! Ever since I got these, they’re pretty much the only pant I wear climbing. Definitel... Read Morey going to want to keep a pair of these ready in the closet at all times!

September 9, 2019

I Second the Sizing Issues

I really want to like these pants. I read the reviews about them running small and even ordered a size up based on those comments. However, when the pants arrived, they were much too tight in the thighs and hips. I have several Patagonia pants, shorts, and skirts, and I am a consistent 2 or XS. I do have a pair of Venga pants in a size 4, as it was... Read More the smallest size available when I bought them on sale. I can almost take off the Vengas without unzipping them, so I felt pretty confident a 4 should be large enough in the RPS pants. Wrong. I hate to write a negative review about one of my favorite outdoor clothing companies, but something is way off with the sizing of these pants. I'm returning them and debating whether to try a size 6 or just go with a different pant. Bummer, and not what I expect from this company. Patagonia designers, please remember your clientele are athletic women; we have muscular thighs and glutes!

Response from Patagonia
September 20, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback to us on this. We completely understand your concerns and are sorry to hear that these have not worked well for you. Please note, you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us. If you'd like any [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with this process, please let us know.

September 8, 2019

Not rock pants

These pants were absolutely terrible. They are not rock pants. It was impossible to move in them. They were not designed well for a harness. The knees of the pants restricted the movement of my knees. I usually wear a 2 or a 4. These were a 4. I returned them immediately.

September 4, 2019

I wanted to like them

I loved the color, material, and the size of the pockets (pockets!!! YES!!!), but the fit was way too slim. I haven't had too many issues with sizing at Patagonia but these pants definitely run small. I would order the next size up, but the inseam was also too short and when I look at the size chart it says all sizes from small to XL have the ... Read Moresame length inseam?? That seems like a mistake, but since these aren't offered with the Long option I'm going to have to send them back for a refund instead of an exchange. I'm disappointed because I like everything else!

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2019

We're sorry to hear these were too small. Please don't hesitate to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you have any questions regarding our return process.

August 16, 2019

RPS pant

Wow the best climbing pant I’ve ever had! Got caught in a thunderstorm at the cliff and the pants were dry in minutes! They are so breathable and comfy, move really well on rock. I can wear them on cool days and hot days sure breath well. I can’t say enough about this pant. Very worth having even if you’re not climbing in them.

August 16, 2019

perfect fit

Love, love, love these pants. The material in these pants are breathable, light and stretchy all well still feelings strong and rip resistant. Perfect for the trad climber looking for the perfect climbing pants!

August 15, 2019

these pants do not fit

these pants do not fit my body type. they are tight across the butt and loose in the waist. no belt loops, the cinching system does not stay tight so the waist is always loose. these pants are comfortable for casual wear but i do not enjoy them for any actual activities. did not like hiking in them. did not like biking in them. i can't imagine... Read More that i would like climbing in them. I do like the design of all the pockets.

Response from Patagonia
August 28, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with your purchase! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us.

August 5, 2019

Great slim fit

I am 5'2" and 105 lbs, and I got a size 2. Venga and Quandary pants are too wide on me, with too high of a rise. These RPS Rock pants are the only Patagonia pants I've ever tried that have a slimmer fit for a tomboy-ish figure, and the lower rise is so much more comfortable on my waist than other styles. These pants fit and look grea... Read Moret, not like other more relaxed (read: baggy) styles, while still being relaxed enough to climb in. The drawstring adjustment system is elegant (i hate loose ends that i have to tie up). The only problem is when I left the store they left the security tags on, so now I can't wear them out for awhile...sigh. Otherwise, I love these pants! (i think they do run a bit small which i like, but i would normally wear a 0 in most brands).

May 30, 2019

Bulletproof

My search for the ideal field pants ended last year with the RPS Rock Pants. Since they've arrived, they have powered through Outward Bound courses, rock climbing expeditions, white water, and they still look good enough that I can wear them in public when I go into town. As an outdoor educator, having comfortable pants that are reliable and c... Read Morean fit a variety of need is important. These are almost comfortable enough that I could sleep in them if I needed to and the zipper pocket on the leg is in the perfect spot to not get stuck in all the parts of my climbing harness.

February 17, 2019

Survived J Tree

I've been on the road for a few months now and these are the only pants I own that survived Joshua Tree. Granted, the back pockets don't work anymore (the stitching blew out) and they did rip down the middle, but I sowed them back up and they are surviving. All of my other pants are completely destroyed. Buying a second pair because they ... Read Moreare a great durable climbing pant, and I love the colors. They are also the only ones that I have found with a built in draw string belt, and a side pocket with zipper for phone on longer multi-pitch. Also, I appreciate the water resistant material. It is a little cold at times (you can wear a base layer underneath to counter this but they are a little hard to move in if you do). I count on these pants the most on long, multi-pitch days in moderate temperatures. The sizing does run a bit small but if you order one size up it fits great. Thanks, Patagonia!

October 18, 2018

Weird Fit

So I love Patagonia and I love the people who work there. Let's start with that. Basically everything in my arsenal of mountain gear has the Fitzroy logo proudly displayed and I'm happy with that arrangement. Accordingly I got these pants for a trip down to South America. I wear a size four in most Patagonia pants, a small in the stretchy... Read More pants, and occasionally a size 6 in the older styles. So I ordered a size four... I was about three inches away from being able to button them closed. I then tried on a size 6, 8, and 12. They all were wonky – Really loose in the thigh and really tight on the waist. They also hit me right in the widest part of my hip whereas all other pants seem to come in just above my hips so I can sit them comfortably on my natural waist line. These never got there. I ended up returning them without ever finding a size that fits and I'm pretty sure I'm not unusually shaped as the alpine guide pants and the venga rock are my go to pants in size four.

August 28, 2018

favorite pants

Great fit and so comfortable i wear them almost every day i must buy another pair.

May 23, 2018

Sizing is wierd/small

I wear a size 4 in the Venga rock pants and love those pants. I was hoping these would fit the same as the vengas,but a size four was super tight in the thighs and butt! I'm 5'7",140 lbs,hoping a size 6 works better...

May 3, 2018

Unfavorable change from previous RPS Rocks Pants

The fit and cut has changed drastically from the original RPS pants (of which I have 3 pairs - size 4). This version is now too big in the waist and too narrow in the legs. Patagonia should go back to the previous fit parameters and the nice accent color that was on the side pocket. I am 5'3" and 115 pounds.

April 20, 2018

Love these pants!

I think these might be the best climbing pants I've ever owned! I am 5'2",120lbs,wearing a Size 4. The fit is body-contouring,but not tight. The waist is slightly large,but the adjustment system works perfectly without adding uncomfortable bulk to the waistband. Despite other reviews,I thought the rise was perfect - low enough to be ... Read Moresporty-stylish,but high enough to cover what needs covering. The drawcord ankles are easily adjustable and stay in place when pushed up (very important to me). The fabric is lightweight yet extremely resistant to abraision. The front pockets are nice and deep,and the side pocket has a zipper closure for small valuables. Only room for improvement - more colors! I actually hesitated to order these because of the color selection - I like bright climbing clothes,but am not a purple girl. Available in orange anytime soon?

March 27, 2018

Too low rise

I am returning the purple color of these pants and I am almost about to cry. Everything about these pants is perfect. I so wanted them,but the low rise! I just don't feel comfortable in these and I know that I will end up not wearing them as much as I love to because of that. Please and please make these pants but high rise.

March 20, 2018

Love these pants!

I bought these pants when they were on sale a few weeks ago and I couldn't be more pleased. The fabric is super light but durable,perfect for spending all day at the crag. I'm 5'5,about 128 pounds,and purchased a size four. They fit perfectly in the thigh and butt (a little extra room would be nice but I feared sizing up would cause ... Read Morethe waist to be much too large),and the waist doesn't squeeze at all. I also love the adjustable cuffs! I'm super excited to try these out in Chattanooga in a few weeks and can't wait to purchase another pair! Thank you Patagonia for making such quality gear.

February 25, 2018

Great material,sort of weird fit

I bought these for climbing and there are a lot of things I love about them. Great material,sturdy but lightweight fabric. I love the elastic at the bottoms of the legs. However,like I find with other Patagonia pants,they're too low rise and crotch is really short,so they often ride up while I'm climbing in them. Overall,not a bad pant to... Read More climb in,but Patagonia,please make higher rise pants!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches