burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Venga Rock Pants - Regular Reviews

Write Your Review

3.9/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
  • 44
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 15 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Venga Rock Climbing Pants

3.9/5
True To Size
January 27, 2023

Very comfortable

Great pants , very comfortable, Recommend to try it before, i isusallly have 38, But is to big, for me since is designed to fit perfect I will recommend to go one size smaller.

January 10, 2023

Great for Climbing

Got the pants for my boyfriend and he loves them. He's been climbing in them ever since. They are comfortable, sits good and in great fabric for climbing.

December 17, 2022

Not really an outdoor product.

Not really an outdoor product. More casual social wear. Not enough freedom of movement in the upper part of the trouser for it to be a true outdoor recreation pant. I purchased it for that purpose but after I found its limitations rather quickly I just wear it to the office. It's also impossible for the fabric to lay flat after washing. And si... Read Morence it's mostly synthetic or at least the elasticity part I don't believe I can iron it. I probably would not purchase this again.

Response from Patagonia
December 22, 2022

Hey Craig, thanks for the review. These pants were designed to be used while climbing: the gusseted crotch, darted knees and slight stretch are all meant to allow for freedom of movement while still maintaining durability. If you're feeling tightness in the upper part of the pants, we'd recommend sizing up. The care instructions are as follows: Machine Wash Warm, Do Not Bleach, Tumble Dry Low, Warm Iron; so ultimately you are welcome to iron if you'd like. If you're interested in checking out alternative options we recommend the [Men's Altvia Light Alpine Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-altvia-light-alpine-pants/83120.html?dwvar_83120_color=BSNG&cgid=root).

November 17, 2022

Wish there was a way to snug up the waist

Love the pants, great fabric, great stretch. One improvement could be some way to snug up the waist a little, they sag on me unless I wear a belt.

November 5, 2022

Bring back the Venga belt

Hi, I have owned many pairs of original Vanga pants and shorts. I love them. The material wasn't the longest-lasting. I typically get a year out of them before the material gets thin and ripped. But, they were so comfortable and great for any situation. The best feature was the integrated belt using the button. All Patagonia pants and shorts s... Read Morehould have this feature. The new version is ok. Maybe a little too baggy; I'm not excited with the elastic waist and am totally bummed that I have to wear a regular belt instead of the original integrated belt. The OG was so much better under a harness or around town. Please bring back the original Venga integrated belt/button.

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2022

Hey Peter, thank you for leaving us a review. These pants were redesigned in Spring '22 and part of that redesign was removing the OppoSet waist adjustment you mentioned, and replacing it with a partially elasticated waist. You might be able to find an older version of these pants on our Worn Wear website, or if you're into the idea of trying something new; you could check out our [Men's Altvia Alpine Pants - Regular](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-altvia-alpine-pants-regular/82960.html?dwvar_82960_color=BLK).

October 19, 2022

Good fabric but poor design relative to previous generations

Compared to the earlier generation of vengas, this iteration sports a stretchier fabric which allows for unrestricted movement without sacrificing durability. However, the horizontal seam between the thighs cause chafing so any approach that is not roadside will be uncomfortable. Replacing the integrated belt with elastic waist band areas was als... Read Moreo a poor decision in my opinion.

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2022

Hi Leland, we're sorry to hear that the Venga Rock Climbing Pants aren't working out for you. We want you to be comfortable gear, so please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

September 7, 2022

Pleasant feel and stretch material

Pleasant feel and stretch material makes it comfortable and a breeze to move around

July 19, 2022

Super comfy stretchy guide pants

I just got these pants before my annual striper trip in Maine . These pants are extremely tough , these Maine rocks are tough on clothing. They breath well and stretch enough to make any climbing awesome. There are no better pants than patagonias. As a saltwater guide in Florida I love them, year in and year out they hold up to the Sun salt and ski... Read Moreff mishaps that happen along the way. Great in hot weather , tough and super comfortable , thats what I need in my clothing and these pants check all the boxes! Love em!

July 13, 2022

Great color!

I'm usually a 32 waist -with muscular thighs. I had to get a 34 waist so I could put stuff in my pockets and still be able to move around. Other than that the pants are great, material is not like your usual chinos or khakis, it looks better quality and its more stretchy -without looking like tights. I got the henna brown color-way and love th... Read Moree earthy color. Will be a staple for years to come.

April 28, 2022

Old School

Materiel feel was great, the pants felt too heavy to me considering what they were replacing in reference to the out going Venga pants. The heavy materiel felt bunched up in the crotch area. The waist snap fastgener was week and kept unsnaping. the fit was perfect. I liked the oak color. I returned them.

Response from Patagonia
April 29, 2022

Hey Jeff, we appreciate the feedback. The fabric on these pants went from a 5.4-oz blend of 98% organic cotton and 2% spandex plain weave - to a 6.3-oz blend of 73% organic cotton, 24% polyester, and 3% spandex plain weave. We also removed the OppoSet waistband that used to be the adjustment method and changed it to an adjustment that goes through the entire waistband. We're sorry to hear that you were not a fan of these changes. If you prefer the older design, we do carry lightly used gear from past seasons on our Worn Wear website. Check out the Vengas we have available [here](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/shop/search?q=venga).

April 2, 2022

Everyday pants

Super comfortables! I am 32 but knowing know I would've chosen a 31s. A bit loose on my waist. The length is perfect!!!

March 17, 2022

Strong

These are great all around outdoor pants!

March 8, 2022

Hips don't lie

Full range of motion. Including raising my knee well above my waist to high step to a foot hold. Ever so slightly snug in the hips/ upper thigh. Though likely more a conversation to be had between me and the bag of m&m's I am looking at.

February 26, 2022

Waist design ruined a great pant

Always loved these pants. Just bought a pair of the new design in a 32. Upon trying them on they felt great. Went climbing in them and they expanded so much in the waist and kept sliding down. Not a fan of wearing a belt with a harness but had to this day. The old design with the cinch in the waist was perfect. These are just regular old pants with... Read More elastic points in the waist with no way to cinch them down other than a bulky belt. Had to wear them to figure this out and cant return them now.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Blake. Our product designers read these reviews, so this kind of information is very helpful to them, as well as to other customers. We see you've been able to return this pair. We want you to be happy with everything you get from us, so please let us know any time you need to return or exchange something!

February 22, 2022

Streeeeetchy

Actually really into the fit/feel for these pants. The material has a nice stretch but still feels like good ol' fashioned durable cotton pants. Runs a little big compared to the old version these replaced.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches