Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Galvanized Alpine Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 31 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Galvanized Alpine Jacket

4.6/5
Kinda Large
September 21, 2021

Great Jacket

This is an absolutely fantastic jacket. I'm 5'9" 180lbs with an athletic/muscularly build, ordered both a M and L in Peppergrass (due to other reviews stating the jacket fits larger). This jacket is a true slim fit in my opinion. The sleeves are long on both but the M was very tight along my back/shoulders/chest. I would recommend to... Read More others who are built similarly to probably go with your normal size (I'm normally a L). Its built sturdy, the peppergrass looks sick, the hood accommodates the ski helm very well, mobility is great, overall this is a solid jacket.

September 6, 2021

An engineered rain solution

Limited use thus far reveals absolute waterproofness, great flexibility and room to accommodate layers for all-season use. The way this thing is cut from fabric and assembled is a fascinating puzzle of optimized bias and moving seams away from stress areas and tradition leak points. It is a marvel. Others comment on long sleeves, which is somewhat ... Read Moretrue for me. More significant is the 'stovepipe' (non-tapered) sleeve design that ends in a vary large opening at the wrist - great for venting air, but kinda clunky; more function than form here.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2021

Thanks for your thoughtful and detailed feedback on this jacket, Erik! We hope the sleeve fabric relaxes a bit over time, but if you find that they compromise performance, please don't hesitate to reach out to us. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

September 2, 2021

Excellent shell!

I bought this to wear over my down sweater and macro puff hoody, and it works excellent for both. Fits well over both and the stretch makes mobility/activity a breeze!

July 16, 2021

Great but sleeves are a bit long

I was looking for the magic do-it-all hard shell jacket. As usual, companies send you a link to review a product a short time after purchase, so I can't say that I've put this through the wringer just yet. My initial impressions are positive, I love that the jacket has a lot of stretch to it. It seems like it is going to stand up to abuse... Read More pretty well. I've worn it in the rain briefly and it didn't have any issues, and that's my BIGGEST concern. I am 6 feet tall and weigh about 225lbs with pretty broad shoulders and chest. I wear an XXL in everything, and have for years. I originally ordered an XXL but I was swimming in it. The sleeves were WAY too long and well past my finger tips. I returned it (quite an easy process - Thank you Patagonia) for an XL and it fits much better (although just a little tight in the chest), but once again, the sleeves are still just a touch too long. Overall, I'm very pleased with the Galvanized jacket so far and I would highly recommend it.

June 16, 2021

Too big

I was super excited to get this jacket on sale to replace my current one which is an older version, but disappointed in the fit. I find Pata's clothing tends to run large across the board, and even the slim fit is not quite the fit I'm looking for. I'm 6'3" and 185lbs and even with a down jacket on under this coat, I find i... Read Moret too long in the arms and overall length, and too baggy in the general fit. Frustrating that the trend is moving too much towards a baggy fit, and this jacket is not consistent in fit with my previous slim fit purchases. I'll be returning this unfortunately, which I hate to do because from a feature and function standpoint it's what I'm looking for.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Hi Michael, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that you found the jacket to be too big. We also really appreciate the feedback you've shared regarding our sizing running large. This is important feedback that will help us to improve things in the future. Don't hesitate to [contact us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with any future product comments or concerns!

June 4, 2021

Quiver of One

Thanks to Patagonia for an incredible jacket. Environmentally conscious customers looking for the best gear want a quiver of one, not to be marketed 16 niche jackets for each activity and set of conditions, like some other brands do. The next time I read "resort-specific" in a jacket description, I'm gonna lose it. Kudos to Patagonia... Read More for bringing this jacket, the closest yet to a quiver of one for the winter. This will go the distance. It's time to move sizing to the next level, however, and Patagonia could take the lead there, too. Taller, thinner folks need a Large in the shoulders and a Medium at the abdomen and don't need extra length in a softshell--trim 3-4 inches off the bottom of the Large. This seems to be a theme across multiple jacket reviews. Do that and this jacket becomes a classic.

May 21, 2021

Rain stopper

OK I bought this to shell over whatever mid layer for max protect during alpine touring--and when traveling to rainy climes. Touring will have to wait to next year but got a rare steady rain here in Colorado to test it recently and it fits the bill. It fits fine as a shell over a medium or full mid layer, and otherwise is a roomier fit but the leng... Read Moreth is a plus in a soaking rain. Lightweight, nice feel, like the drawstrings for the hood, this should do the trick all the way around. If you want a trim fit maybe size down. I have a feeling the small would be too restrictive for my multiple uses. Very happy with the purchase.

May 4, 2021

Should do the trick

Purchased this for bombproof days in Colorado backcountry and casual use in inclement weather when traveling elsewhere. Looks to do the job--at least I'm not concerned it won't. As for fit, runs a little larger than other brands' mediums, especially as to sleeve length, but it is true to the sizing guide. Considering this will be goi... Read Moreng over layers during touring use, I don't think sizing down for a super trim fit is the way to go anyway.

April 22, 2021

Love this gem of a jacket

I first thought it run a bit too big for a slim fit, but its not. Its a slim fit but with room for layers for a cold and wet day. I wore this in a down pour and it kept me dry. Also protects from the win. I like it that it runs long for extra protection. The best feature is its flexibility. Cant go wrong with this jacket. Love it

March 30, 2021

Formidable Winter Protection

Riding ski lifts for hours, with snow falling on my hood, shoulders and sleeves, and the Galvanized didn't show a single hint of weakness. There wasn't a wet spot to be seen. The overall fit is regular, with space to layer a light fleece and puffy with no loss of mobility. It's cut slightly long with ample coverage for your torso a... Read Morend backside. There are no internal dump pockets and the chest pocket is too snug for a bigger iPhone. The hand pockets are huge. The Hood fits a ski helmet. Sleeves are nice and long, and the Galvanized is stretchy like a soft-shell, so mobility is vastly better than any Gore-Tex shell.Breathability is commendable, especially with the pockets and pit zips open. Weight is competitive with other hard shells by Patagonia and the 50 Denier face fabric is plenty tough. Overall, rock solid jacket that splits the difference between a hardshell and soft-shell.

March 17, 2021

Excellent jacket

I was worried when I received it that it might be too lightweight/supple to hold up to wind/ cold temps. I was worried for nothing. I wore only a thick base layer and this jacket on a windy day riding and it was great. Impervious to wind on the chair. DWR was great at shrugging off wet flakes and drips from lift towers (as expected being brand new)... Read More. Flattering fit, the photos don't do it justice. Fits well for, I'm 6ft, about 215 lbs, and it fits well, without being boxy or tight. Definitely recommend.

March 9, 2021

Fantastic wind and rain blocker

Wonderful light weight wind and rain protection. Can be outside in mid 30° weather with only a base layer underneath. Full shoulder mobility, a great addition to my workout gear.

March 4, 2021

Not the warmest jacket

When I purchased this jacket I thought I was getting a jacket that was potentially going to be heavier and for colder weather. This jacket is more of a windbreaker than a cold weather jacket. Works great in 40-55 degrees anything colder I would recommend a heavier jacket. I got a great deal on this so I did not return it.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thanks for your feedback, David! This jacket was designed as a waterproof outer shell to wear over a fleece top in cool weather or an insulated jacket in colder temps. We would be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you with a return so that you can get the kind of jacket you're looking for, or we're happy to recommend a layer to keep warm underneath.

February 19, 2021

Awesome jacket

Such a great fit

January 21, 2021

Great Jacket!

Waterproof? yes! Breathable? yes!

January 21, 2021

Great Jacket

Looks good and keeps you warm. True to size and water resistance. High quality material and backed with a solid warranty. An inner pocket or two would be nice, but otherwise perfect.

January 8, 2021

Did not disappoint

I've had mine for about 3 months and have used it in a variety of conditions. Two weeks fall hiking in Utah, very strong winds, sometimes bitter cold. There was plenty of dust & sandstone. Several times the jacket was scraped along the sandstone while sitting or hiking/scrambling in slot canyons, it still looks new without any scuffs. I ri... Read Morede an electric longboard even when it's below 30 & also snowboard. This thing is bulletproof to wind, even when skating 25mph at 25 degrees. It brings all of the efficiency out of whatever insulation im wearing. It's also seen a few dozen falls on ice and snow but shows no wear to the elbows or rear. By now I expected at least some wear to show but it hasn't shown any yet. I've given it about a years worth of use in just a few months. It's hard to imagine buying another shell layer until this one falls apart.

December 30, 2020

Too Big in the mid-section

Bought this slim fit rain jacket for my tall and very lean fiance in medium but it is too big. We're exchanging it for a small to see if we can find a nice fit for the mid-section (everything else fits him well). Beautiful jacket but the fit requires a beer belly ;D

July 13, 2020

Great lightweight soft shell

I purchased this as a replacement for a Patagonia rain jacket/windbreaker that delaminated after ~20 years of use (I hope this one lasts as long!). Purchased for 4-season use as a shell in poor weather for fly fishing and non-sports use. I picked the Galvanized jacket because of the stretchy fabric...wanted an all purpose rain jacket that could be... Read More used on the water and in casual/business casual situations. I'm 6'0" and weight 210lbs: What I like: - Stretchy fabric is awesome - grippy coating inside the cuffs keeps it from sliding up my arm - cut is loose enough to accommodate layers, but not so big that I feel lost in it with just a t-shirt. - keeps the rain out (I've worn it in a downpour, it worked great) - like the higher pockets for wading - Extra layer of fabric on the back of the neck was a solid improvement - this is where my last jacket started delaminating, and I expect the reinforcement will help prevent similar wear - Placement of seams is well thought out, adds to the weather protection What could be improved - needs more pockets, internal storage pocket(s) would be a good improvement - Realize this is a basic/spartan jacket, but some soft fabric on the collars (where it hits my chin) would be nice Overall I'm really happy with this shell - Patagonia positions it for climbing/alpine use, but I didn't but it for that, and the stretchy fabric has performed really well in fly fishing and it looks great for casual wear.

April 29, 2020

great, breathable shell

This is a great breahable shell that so far has kept all the wind and rain out. It is listed as a slim fit but it does have some room in it, you have to remember its designed to wear over layers. I feel like the design is a little less boxy that Patagonias typical fit and I really like that about this jacket. The hood is a little large for my use b... Read Moreut again, this is in the alpine series so some users will like the space for a helmet. The hood does adjust well and I like the draw cords around the sides (not just a single pull in rear). The pit zips are great for ventilation. I've found keeping them closed in the upper part of the zipper allows you to open it with one hand by pulling down. I've worn this running in cold rain and it kept me dry from the weather without being soaked from sweat. Again, this is not the primary purpose of this jacket but it works. The main zipper is really nice. Its tight which prevents it from moving unless you are actually pulling on the zipper. Where you leave it is where it stays. This is going to be a little different than your normal rain jacket but its designed to be that way. The articulation is really nice, I can reach my hands over my head without pulling the jacket above my waist line. Also the cuffs stay on my wrist and don't slide down below glove line. My only real complaint on the jacket is that I wish it had an internal dump pocket. I'm pretty sure the rest of the jackets in this line/series have one so I definitely think it should have been added.

April 21, 2020

Nice jacket but big

Bought this jacket to be a bit of an everyday commuter shell in the winter that I could also take to the outdoors. Really like the look and feel of the jacket, however the L is very big on me. I'm 5' 10" and 185 lbs. Not big but also not too slim. The sleeves were too long (I tend to border on M and L already) and the body of the jac... Read Moreket and arms had a ton of extra space. Given it is described as 'Slim Fit' I thought maybe L would work but unfortunately it does not. I think the cut is definitely more traditional rather than slim. Will be returning for something else in a Medium (which was not available when I purchased).

March 30, 2020

Definitely waterproof

True to its claim this jacket is waterproof and windproof. Recently went on a trip to Ireland and there is no better place to test rain and wind capabilities of this jacket. Held up to all the rain and wind even when it was raining sideways. I did get a little wet but I couldn't close the hood enough to literally stop the rain from being blown... Read More in, but this was minimal and just in the very upper chest region. The other con is that when it is fully wet it does become a little heavy. Not enough to really stop me from hiking. Being 6'4" the XL fit perfect with room underneath so I could layer it if needed. This will be my go to jacket now when I'm up in the mountains or on the wild Atlantic coast of Ireland.

March 9, 2020

Bought on sale for everyday use

Bought this jacket on sale for everyday use. I usually pair it with a full zip fleece and a soft shell jacket both size large. So far its a great jacket, doesn't let the cold in and very waterproof. My only complaint about it is that it get scuffs easily and retains abrasions very visibly. Not sure if the the top layer/coating bonding is ok, b... Read Moreut all in all a great everyday outer shell coat.

March 5, 2020

Excellent all arounder

I recently bought 8 different jackets and outta them all this is my fave. It provides just the right amount of warmth and is super lightweight. I love the spandex fabric and soft texture of the jacket as well. My only dink is that the pockets sit high so if your not used to it it will take some time. Otherwise this is a super solid jacket.

February 23, 2020

A Second?

Really nice shell type jacket, but the one I bought during the half off sale appears to have a defect. The zipper does not seem to match the garment in length, so that when it was attached, and the jacket is zipped, it sticks out in the abdomen area, noticeably.

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2020

We are sorry to hear this and would be happy to get you an exchange. We've contacted you with some info on how we can move forward with this. Thanks for the feedback!

January 25, 2020

Fits perfect!

I am 5'11 185-190lbs, broad shouldered muscular build with a six pack under a blanket ;) I got this jacket to replace my old 2001 Ice Nine that gave up the ghost this winter. Sent it in for repairs and they couldnt repair it so they gave me an amazing credit for it, this jacket made up part of that credit. I was concerned that the "slim... Read More fit" was going to be too snug to fit much of a mid layer under it. I was extremely happy to find that I am able to easily and very comfortably fit the Large Nano Puff jacket I also got with this order. They fit and move like they were meant for each other and my frame. Read all of the other reviews here and have to say that I have NONE of the issues mentioned...If my build sounds like you, have no fear ordering this in a large. Also, I messed around with the hood a bit and was able to get it to snug up around my size 7 1/2 - 7 3/4 head.

December 21, 2019

Perfect Ski Shell

Using it over matching Nano Air for my ski shell. It is awesome. Lightweight, tough, windproof, keeps me dry, length and mobility is spot on!

December 14, 2019

Using For Bike Touring

I’m 5’11” and 155lbs, the medium size isn’t necessarily true to size. the sleeve length is perfect, the fit is somewhat baggy even with their slim fit, and the jacket length is spot on. i could probably size down to a small but i don’t mind a slight baggy in the torso and sleeves because as a shell i like to wear mid layers and it accommodates that... Read More well. the peppergrass green is a great color if you’re looking for some high visibility as i was because I’m using this for bike touring.

November 4, 2019

Great Jacket !!!!

Love the jacket !!! Fit is great and love the peppergrass color !!! Highly Recommend !!!

October 16, 2019

zipped up

The jacket is outstanding in fit and breathability. The zipper insures no water penetration. Great jacket!

September 24, 2019

Rain Jacket.

High visibility and rain protection are the perfect bicycle jacket.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches