Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Galvanized Alpine Jacket

Write Your Review

4.62 /5

Filter Reviews

All 13 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Galvanized Alpine Jacket

4.62
Kinda Large
July 13, 2020

Great lightweight soft shell

I purchased this as a replacement for a Patagonia rain jacket/windbreaker that delaminated after ~20 years of use (I hope this one lasts as long!). Purchased for 4-season use as a shell in poor weather for fly fishing and non-sports use. I picked the Galvanized jacket because of the stretchy fabric...wanted an all purpose rain jacket that could be... Read More used on the water and in casual/business casual situations. I'm 6'0" and weight 210lbs: What I like: - Stretchy fabric is awesome - grippy coating inside the cuffs keeps it from sliding up my arm - cut is loose enough to accommodate layers, but not so big that I feel lost in it with just a t-shirt. - keeps the rain out (I've worn it in a downpour, it worked great) - like the higher pockets for wading - Extra layer of fabric on the back of the neck was a solid improvement - this is where my last jacket started delaminating, and I expect the reinforcement will help prevent similar wear - Placement of seams is well thought out, adds to the weather protection What could be improved - needs more pockets, internal storage pocket(s) would be a good improvement - Realize this is a basic/spartan jacket, but some soft fabric on the collars (where it hits my chin) would be nice Overall I'm really happy with this shell - Patagonia positions it for climbing/alpine use, but I didn't but it for that, and the stretchy fabric has performed really well in fly fishing and it looks great for casual wear.

April 29, 2020

great, breathable shell

This is a great breahable shell that so far has kept all the wind and rain out. It is listed as a slim fit but it does have some room in it, you have to remember its designed to wear over layers. I feel like the design is a little less boxy that Patagonias typical fit and I really like that about this jacket. The hood is a little large for my use b... Read Moreut again, this is in the alpine series so some users will like the space for a helmet. The hood does adjust well and I like the draw cords around the sides (not just a single pull in rear). The pit zips are great for ventilation. I've found keeping them closed in the upper part of the zipper allows you to open it with one hand by pulling down. I've worn this running in cold rain and it kept me dry from the weather without being soaked from sweat. Again, this is not the primary purpose of this jacket but it works. The main zipper is really nice. Its tight which prevents it from moving unless you are actually pulling on the zipper. Where you leave it is where it stays. This is going to be a little different than your normal rain jacket but its designed to be that way. The articulation is really nice, I can reach my hands over my head without pulling the jacket above my waist line. Also the cuffs stay on my wrist and don't slide down below glove line. My only real complaint on the jacket is that I wish it had an internal dump pocket. I'm pretty sure the rest of the jackets in this line/series have one so I definitely think it should have been added.

April 21, 2020

Nice jacket but big

Bought this jacket to be a bit of an everyday commuter shell in the winter that I could also take to the outdoors. Really like the look and feel of the jacket, however the L is very big on me. I'm 5' 10" and 185 lbs. Not big but also not too slim. The sleeves were too long (I tend to border on M and L already) and the body of the jac... Read Moreket and arms had a ton of extra space. Given it is described as 'Slim Fit' I thought maybe L would work but unfortunately it does not. I think the cut is definitely more traditional rather than slim. Will be returning for something else in a Medium (which was not available when I purchased).

March 30, 2020

Definitely waterproof

True to its claim this jacket is waterproof and windproof. Recently went on a trip to Ireland and there is no better place to test rain and wind capabilities of this jacket. Held up to all the rain and wind even when it was raining sideways. I did get a little wet but I couldn't close the hood enough to literally stop the rain from being blown... Read More in, but this was minimal and just in the very upper chest region. The other con is that when it is fully wet it does become a little heavy. Not enough to really stop me from hiking. Being 6'4" the XL fit perfect with room underneath so I could layer it if needed. This will be my go to jacket now when I'm up in the mountains or on the wild Atlantic coast of Ireland.

March 9, 2020

Bought on sale for everyday use

Bought this jacket on sale for everyday use. I usually pair it with a full zip fleece and a soft shell jacket both size large. So far its a great jacket, doesn't let the cold in and very waterproof. My only complaint about it is that it get scuffs easily and retains abrasions very visibly. Not sure if the the top layer/coating bonding is ok, b... Read Moreut all in all a great everyday outer shell coat.

March 5, 2020

Excellent all arounder

I recently bought 8 different jackets and outta them all this is my fave. It provides just the right amount of warmth and is super lightweight. I love the spandex fabric and soft texture of the jacket as well. My only dink is that the pockets sit high so if your not used to it it will take some time. Otherwise this is a super solid jacket.

February 23, 2020

A Second?

Really nice shell type jacket, but the one I bought during the half off sale appears to have a defect. The zipper does not seem to match the garment in length, so that when it was attached, and the jacket is zipped, it sticks out in the abdomen area, noticeably.

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2020

We are sorry to hear this and would be happy to get you an exchange. We've contacted you with some info on how we can move forward with this. Thanks for the feedback!

January 25, 2020

Fits perfect!

I am 5'11 185-190lbs, broad shouldered muscular build with a six pack under a blanket ;) I got this jacket to replace my old 2001 Ice Nine that gave up the ghost this winter. Sent it in for repairs and they couldnt repair it so they gave me an amazing credit for it, this jacket made up part of that credit. I was concerned that the "slim... Read More fit" was going to be too snug to fit much of a mid layer under it. I was extremely happy to find that I am able to easily and very comfortably fit the Large Nano Puff jacket I also got with this order. They fit and move like they were meant for each other and my frame. Read all of the other reviews here and have to say that I have NONE of the issues mentioned...If my build sounds like you, have no fear ordering this in a large. Also, I messed around with the hood a bit and was able to get it to snug up around my size 7 1/2 - 7 3/4 head.

December 21, 2019

Perfect Ski Shell

Using it over matching Nano Air for my ski shell. It is awesome. Lightweight, tough, windproof, keeps me dry, length and mobility is spot on!

December 14, 2019

Using For Bike Touring

I’m 5’11” and 155lbs, the medium size isn’t necessarily true to size. the sleeve length is perfect, the fit is somewhat baggy even with their slim fit, and the jacket length is spot on. i could probably size down to a small but i don’t mind a slight baggy in the torso and sleeves because as a shell i like to wear mid layers and it accommodates that... Read More well. the peppergrass green is a great color if you’re looking for some high visibility as i was because I’m using this for bike touring.

November 4, 2019

Great Jacket !!!!

Love the jacket !!! Fit is great and love the peppergrass color !!! Highly Recommend !!!

October 16, 2019

zipped up

The jacket is outstanding in fit and breathability. The zipper insures no water penetration. Great jacket!

September 24, 2019

Rain Jacket.

High visibility and rain protection are the perfect bicycle jacket.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches