Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Galvanized Pants for Alpine Climbing

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Runs Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 11 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Galvanized Pants for Alpine Climbing

4.2/5
Runs Large
June 3, 2021

Loved everything except durability

Fit was perfect (Im in between sizes and these run a bit large.) They have the typical patagonia fit unfortunately (because women dont have hips and thighs, apparently.) But these fit well especially with the waist. Now the bad. I wore these one day of a three day alpine climb and they already have holes. One on butt and one on the thigh. And thes... Read Moree arent crampon rips or rock snags. The fabric around these holes looks like I had worn these 100 times and it just disintegrated. I cant get behind Patagonias holier than thou ethos when it comes to sustainability when a pair of their pants cant sustain a day doing what its designed for.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2021

Hey Natasha, thanks for taking the time to write this review! We're sorry you weren't satisfied with the durability of the Galvanized Pants. We appreciate your feedback and have passed it along to our Design Team who are constantly improving the quality, fit, and style of our products. One of the pillars in which we try to uphold sustainability through is repairing our products - this prolongs the lifespan of them and keeps them out of waste facilities. There are great iron-on patch [options](https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Installing+an+Iron-on+Patch/19442) to repair it yourself. Alternatively, we'd be happy to send these in to our repair facility.

March 28, 2021

GREAT winter/ early spring HIKING pants!

Wore these up in the NH White Mountains in late spring and they were perfect. Did not need any layers underneath, very breathable, warm and kept me dry as I sat on a snowbank to eat lunch. Also wore them in winter snowshoeing in CT with base layer: super comfortable! I just am not totally sure how to best wash them as I want to preserve them for ... Read Moreyears to come. I LOVE these pants!

February 27, 2021

Nice pants love the style

Theses pants are awesome really like them but I wish they made them in short lengths as being on the shorter side they are way too long. The only reason I did not give them five stars is due to the length.

February 3, 2021

Best Rain and Wind Pant

Love these pants as a shell (they slip right over another base layer of pant without having to wear balloon pants) or by themselves for rain and wind protection! One of the best versatile technical pieces I have found! Great mobility with the stretch.

January 30, 2021

Almost perfect, not a good fit for ski boots

I was looking for a light weight backcountry ski pant. These pants seemed perfect, with features like light weight, good pocket locations, and waterproof fabric. The fabric looks and feels great, the fit is close to spot on, slightly looser than expected but not a deal breaker. However, I could not get the cuffs to fit over my ski boots, so had to ... Read Morereturn. I really wanted to like these as they were perfect in every other aspect. I think they would work over hiking or regular climbing boots but not as well over ski boots or some of the bulkier insulated climbing boots (overboots).

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2021

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Thought the Galvanized Pants are highly versatile, they are intended to be used for Alpine Climbing, not downhill skiing, so they were not designed with to fit over ski boots. You could consider checking out our [ski pants](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-ski-snowboard-snow-pants) which are made to fit over boots. We're happy to help narrow down the options with you, feel free to reach out any time!

January 27, 2021

Disappointing. So close. I want to love them, but cant.

I was really excited to get these. I was looking for the perfect piece to use for multiple high-output activities, from running, xc skiing, fat biking, and even snowboarding. I realize thats a big ask, but Ive had these for a couple weeks and literally worn them twice and they are falling apart. The fabric is paper thin and just...fragile, for lack... Read More of a better word. I wore them on one 12 mile bike ride, and where the fabric was in contact with the seat, it shows a lot of wear, like its noticeable thinner and shiny. From one short ride! The fit is off, too. The thighs are a bit tight, while the waist is huge on me. There is an adjuster slider thing to tighten the waist, but no way to lock it in place, so it keeps sliding out while wearing them and they ride down and instantly limit mobility. I love the color and design and the stretchiness of the fabric, but sadly I am returning these as for anything beyond casual wear they are not going to hold up well enough to justify the investment. But, I still absolutely love Patagonia and remain a diehard fan will absolutely be reordering a different pair of pants!

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2021

We're sorry to hear these didn't work out for you but appreciate the feedback on fit and fabric, Laura! While the pressure and abrasion in a cycling setting aren't what the pants were designed for, we'll be glad to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you return them under our Ironclad Guarantee. Our team will be happy to recommend a few different pants to cover all the activities from running to snowboarding.

December 22, 2020

Great touring pant!

I have worn these a few times and the fit is great. I like the stretch in the fabric and I think they are perfect to wear to go cross country skiing... it is nice they are wind proof!

November 29, 2020

Great layering snow pant

Love these for snowshoeing. Have a medium, was looking for a larger size for thicker layers!

September 17, 2020

Perfect play-to-work-to-errand pants

I've worn these over bike short liners for 30+ miles road-bike and fat-bike rides and they were comfortable, quiet, and provided good wind and bug protection. I've worn them hiking and walking (and biking) in horizontal wind/rain and they keep me comfortably dry (pocket contents stayed dry too). Cuff ties are low-profile (you don't e... Read Morend up with puffy/ballooning fabric at your ankles). The styling is classic and I can go from biking to video meetings to errands and look presentable. The little cloth loop on the waistband to the left of the zipper is a mystery. Seems to be to cinch the waist, but it's not obvious how one secures it after cinching. I'm relatively long-legged, but short-waisted, athletic build (i.e., not skinny). These fit perfectly.

February 29, 2020

Perfect!

Im 54, 145, athletic build, even weight distribution with muscular thighs and not much of a waist. These fit perfect I have a short torso, so having a little extra room in a high rise waist is perfect. Nice give to the fabric for mobility and room to layer underneath without being baggy. Havent tried these in the snow yet, but looking forward to it... Read More.

January 5, 2020

Love!

I’m using these for winter running and loving them! The fit is amazing! The adjustable waist is fantastic.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches