Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Triolet Alpine Jacket

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 44 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Triolet Alpine Jacket

4.4/5
True To Size
September 2, 2021

Ski Shell

I ordered a size up from my normal so I can layer underneath which I am glad I did. I haven't used it yet, but I was slightly disappointed when this jacket arrived because it is only a shell and I didn't see it advertised anywhere as a shell. I love my other products and am glad I ordered a larger size so I can layer.

Response from Patagonia
September 9, 2021

Hello Abigail, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry the jacket was not as expected. You are certainly welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. If you prefer an insulated ski jacket, the W's Insulated Powder Bowl Jacket or the W's Insulated Snowbelle Jacket may be better options.

July 14, 2021

Stiff material could use some stretch

I use this jacket to work on a farm in a cool, windy, misty climate. The jacket keeps me warm and dry but the material is stiff. It would be nice if it had more stretch and was more fitted. Also I cant figure out how to adjust the hood so it doesnt cover my eyes.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Hi Karin, thank you for taking the time to write a review on this. We are sorry to hear that the material is stiff and that you're having some troubles adjusting the hood. If after adjusting the cord on the hood you aren't able to get a comfortable fit, you are more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us.

March 18, 2021

Happy and dry!

I was so excited to get my first gore-tex jacket! I live in coastal Alaska so we are cold and wet in the winter. My coat is doing a great job of keeping me dry. My only complaint is that the neck is just a little too tall for my liking. I feel like I'm constantly breathing on it and it gets wet from my breath. Its in the way of my mouth. Every... Read Morething else is perfect on it! I love it!

March 17, 2021

Triolet

Very stylish outdoorsy jacket. I love it. The hood is cut to fit over a helmit but I don't wear a helmit. So I kinda wish there was a no-helmit hood design option.

February 21, 2021

Beautiful Color, Short Sleeves

I really wanted to love this shell. The color and contrast zippers are beautiful. The fit of XS is exact. Neckline and pockets are perfect. Sleeves are short and odd. I am 5'5" 117, and any arm movement raised the sleeve 2 inches above my wrist bone, above my ski mitten cuff. If you run cold, this will not be the shell for you. I will be ... Read Morereturning.

February 17, 2021

Great jacket but too fitted to functional

I bought this jacket with the hope of doing some hiking and skiing this winter. I tried to do both but the fit and cut of this jacket is just way to slim to be comfortable doing anything. It is difficult layer anything but a lightweight fleece or down jacket. The jacket seems to have great arm length but is short waisted and seems to ride up with a... Read More layer. Definitely could have sized up but even then I feel it may still be too short for my torso. Just not functional for me.

January 6, 2021

Excellent jacket

Have put it to the test in wet PNW skiing. Has been AWESOME. I was worried when I read the reviews to size up as I am usually a m-l (8-10), but I only wear one to two thin base layers under it and stay warm and dry and the look is still fitted! Love the jacket.

January 2, 2021

Perfect for skiing

Based on other reviews I sized up (Im 56 / 128lbs) and the M is a great fit for layering on cold and windy snow days or just a base layer for the warm and rainy days. Love the jacket. It keeps me warm and dry no matter the temperature or precipitation. A great investment!

December 29, 2020

THE ONE

I looked all over the place for the ideal backcountry ski jacket and I think I found it with the Triolet. The fit is very flattering, similar to Arcteryx, but long enough to go over all your base / mid layers. The Goretex will stand up to those wintery mix days that would otherwise make you want to end your tour early and head back to the car. The ... Read Morepit zips and hood tightener thingy and pockets can be adjusted with gloves on. If I were to change some minor things it would be to increase the size of the inside chest pocket, not quite large enough for ski skins as is and I would add another pocket on the left side so both skins could fit. Very minor, but I would also get rid of the snap / buckle in the back which is meant to snap onto the matching pants, but that snap is completely useless if you plan on wearing mid layers / dont have those pants. I cut it off myself which was doable without damaging the jacket. Hood is big enough to comfortably go over a ski helmet.

December 16, 2020

Not the best cut for a ski jacket

Nice jacket but the torso was too short for me to use as a ski shell (size M, 5'8" 135lbs). The length of the jacket is even shorter when the hood is up with a ski helmet on. Would maybe have better utility as a hiking/rain jacket.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2021

Thank you for the feedback on this and we are so sorry to hear about the sizing troubles with this jacket. We thank you for the feedback and encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us so we can assist with refund or exchange.

October 12, 2020

Wanted to Love, Terrible in Rain

I wanted to love this jacket but after 3 months of use and I just don't like it. I found its performance in wet weather to be poor, and not suitable for the 4-season hiking and adventuring I do. What I loved: There are SO MANY POCKETS! Honestly this is the jackets best feature! It has huge pit zips, also great. The tomato color is pinker tha... Read Moren I expected, but it grew on me after I had the jacket for a few days. What I disliked: The hood is SO BIG if you're not wearing a helmet it is completely uselessly. The adjustment points don't cinch it down well, and without a helmet I found it hard to see, even when cinched, and the way the cords pull the hood down it leaves big gaps at the bottom for rain to get in. The DWR was also disappointing, I expected more for the price. Maybe this is due to the eco-friendly DWR, but the jacket wets out quick. Ten minutes in to a gentle rainstorm I was sad to see that my coat was completely wetted out while people in basic $90 jackets still had nice little beads on their sleeves. I know this is billed as an alpine jacket but it also says that it is waterproof and my experiences using it in the rain are contrary to that. Because of the way the hood/collar is designed I had rain falling down the front of my jacket during a 4 hour backcountry hiking adventure. The inside of my coat (and the rest of me) ended up completely soaked. Even with the hood on the poor design let water run off the hood and straight into the jacket. I found snow can also fall down the front of the jacket because of the collar/hood design. A few stars for the awesome features, but this jacket did not work for me.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

Hello Katy! We're sorry that the hood ended up being too big for you and that it caused leaking issues. We'd recommend washing it with a technical wash to revamp the waterproofing. If you remain unsatisfied with it due to the hood and collar design or if it fails to keep you dry, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty. Thanks so much for sharing your detailed review with us!

August 31, 2020

Really great design and quality!

I really love this jacket. I can wear it alone or over a down sweater, better sweater or a lightweight gortex jacket. It has a flattering fit - not boxy - which I love. The 2020 "catalan coral" really looks closer to red in my opinion and I'm super happy with the color. I like this jacket so much, I just ordered it in cobalt blue!

August 28, 2020

Love This Jacket - (runs small)

I adore this jacket! Im buying it to replace my 13-year old patagonia raincoat, which I also loved... A fan of heavier shells, I like that it has a bit of warmth and def. wind protection, so I dont have to bring many layers if hiking/biking in a possible summer storm (and I run cold). Also works well as a winter shell when paired w down underneath.... Read More Love that it is a slimmer, more flattering cut- definitely is longer than my old one, so it covers everything. My ONLY gripe is that the sizing is small. Ive been a Small forever (my old jacket was too), and this jacket I needed a Medium to have enough room in the hips/thighs/shoulders and to fit a light layer underneath and move freely. I would order up EVEN if youre a solid small. Chose the cobalt blue and it is beautiful. Cant wait to get another 13 years of usage out of this one;):)! For reference- 54, 130, 36a and broad shoulders. I feel blessed (and I never use that word)- thanks Patagonia!

June 17, 2020

Nice jacket

Nice jacket. The craft pink is a lovely color. I've not yet been in anything other than a drizzle and high wind but the construction looks really high quality. For reference I'm 5.6 and 135 lbs with a 36 chest and curvy hips and usually wear a Patagonia small but the medium fit is right. The arms would have been too short in a small and t... Read Morehe jacket would not have allowed puffy layers in the small. The fit allows for rear coverage on my shorter torso. Hoping it holds up to the standard I have come to expect of Patagonia.

March 9, 2020

Perfect

There isn't a feature they didn't think of. I've used this coat for downhill skiing, cross country skiing, snowshoeing and hiking. It layers great so I've been able to use it for 10 below as well as 35 degree days. I ordered an XL to be able to wear a lot of layers underneath and it was a good call for coal days. Perfect jacket ... Read Moreand the blue color is beautiful.

February 24, 2020

Great durability but tight in the hips

I normally wear a medium in Patagonia jackets. I have this coat in a medium. I have a short torso and this jacket is really tight on my hips. I have a torrent shell in medium and dont have this problem. Otherwise this jacket does amazing in snow, rain and wind. If you have a short torso and plan to want to wear thicker layer underneath I would def ... Read Moresize up.

February 2, 2020

Great jacket, except...

The arms are about 2-3" too short. I am 5'6" and 160lbs and ordered a L so that I could use it with some layers underneath when skiing on resort or backcountry. The body of the jacket fit really well, covered my butt, was able to fit a puffy and a vest on underneath comfortably, but when extending my arms (as you do when you ski) the... Read More arms came up too much and my wrists are exposed. I was very excited about the jacket, it otherwise is very well made and the color is great. Had to return.

January 30, 2020

Great all-around shell w/ decent fit

The technical aspects and function of this jacket are superb. It is Patagonia, after all. The weight/heft is spot on - heavy enough to feel substantial and durable yet light and supple enough to be packable. My biggest question when I ordered it was how would it fit? Patagonia’s fit has been all over the board for a few years now. The Spring 2020... Read More Triolet runs smaller than some of their other jackets - which is to say it is true to size, whereas many of their other jackets run large. I am 5’7” and 140lbs with athletic build and broad-ish shoulders. The medium Triolet fits me pretty well. It is slightly snug in the shoulders but not so much that it restricts movement. It is more fitted in the body than my other Patagonia jackets (for example, the insulated Powder Bowl from Fall 2018, which I wear in size small). It works well with layering pieces but less well with baggier, more casual winter tops like the Marsupial fleece. Overall, it’s a great all-around shell with a decent fit.

January 9, 2020

Works great for skiing

I went back and forth between the small and medium and decided on the small. It still gives me some room to have some layers underneath. I can even fit my light puffy underneath. The med was just too big in the arms and chest. I am 5.4, athletic build 129 lbs.

December 24, 2019

Patagonia Triolet Jacket

Love my new jacket. Have worn it for skiing with different thickness puffys underneath, depending on how cold it was. Love the number of pockets; it fits great and is easy to move in; can rely on staying dry in it, no matter what the weather here in Alaska and I've already had lots of compliments on the blue colour!

December 19, 2019

Versatile!

I love the triolet, keeps me entirely dry in rainy oregon weather, and is also stylish for everyday use! I use it walking, biking, and even running so far. I bought the balsamic color and really like it. I plan to use it as a jacket for snowboarding as well. I am 5’9 and 140 lbs, athletic build with wide hips. I found the large to be very comfortab... Read Morele and roomy, which I wanted for extra insulation and movement. Great investment if you want a jacket that has multiple uses.

December 1, 2019

ComfortPatrol

Does the job it says it would! Against chilling winds on the Great Lakes and skiing in bitterness

November 28, 2019

W's Patagonia Triolet

Love this jacket!

November 23, 2019

Great Jacket!

I wanted a shell that I could put layers under. This jacket is perfect! I bought a medium, and I fit my Nano Puff jacket under it, with plenty of room for movement.

November 23, 2019

Quality Jacket

Great shell jacket!

November 10, 2019

I had to order a

I had to order a size larger than I had expected. I ordered a M because I had tried another jacket in that size and that fit. This one I needed a Large.

November 9, 2019

Great jacket

I love this jacket. It’s a good weight for close to 4 season use. Great useful pockets, especially the inside drop in pocket. I only gave it 4 stars, because like my other Patagonia products, I find it a bit tight through the shoulders.

November 8, 2019

Fits well. Looks great! Can't

Fits well. Looks great! Can't wait to try it on the slopes this winter.

November 5, 2019

Seems like a great jacket!

Haven't worn it yet but it's high quality for sure. It fits 'just' perfect so no spare room for layering anything bulky. If you want to wear light layers underneath or use this as a rain coat, I think it will be perfect.

November 3, 2019

Good jacket, could use a few improvements

Basically a good jacket I would give it 4 stars if it was not for the cheap zipper, with very small teeth that is hard to use. Better made gear has zippers with the larger teeth that last longer and are much easier to use. No storm flap over zipper. Also, cut a but small to layer and fit over a jacket. Pockets placed well. Could use reinforced elbo... Read Morews and shoulders for mountaineering use. Nice color.

October 31, 2019

Love the color and fit,

Love the color and fit, cant wait to get on the slopes!!

October 30, 2019

Great jacket, only complaint would

Great jacket, only complaint would be the sleeves are a little short.

October 21, 2019

Snug around the hips

I usually wear M in Patagonia clothing and jackets. For this jacket, I want to layer snow pants and base layer jacket underneath for skiing. The Medium was too snug around my hips to fit the layers comfortably. I'm a curvy 5'3", 130 lbs. For this reason, I'm trying a large size.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2019

Sorry to hear the sizing has been a bit tricky on the Triolet Jacket. Let us know if you decide to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) that size Large and we'll be happy to assist in the process as well as recommend another product if you like!

October 21, 2019

Looking forward to wearing this

Looking forward to wearing this jacket (alpine) skiing in the frigid, icy, wet New England weather

October 15, 2019

Beautiful and super well made!

Beautiful and super well made!

October 11, 2019

Beautiful shell

I bought a L and XL to try on for side by side comparison. I'm typically a Large but appreciate extra room for all the layers. I haven't work this jacket yet but expect to be active whenever I'm wearing it, so extra room seemed like a good idea. Very roomy!

September 20, 2019

Good at keeping out the

Good at keeping out the rain on sail boat

September 20, 2019

Truly Waterproof

I am so grateful for this jacket - keeps me warm and dry skiing in the PNW. You know those days when the wet snow is coming down? It is magical until you are soaked to the bone. No worries with this coat & the pants too. You stay dry! So nice. Great fit. No rubbing, and on warmer days, I love the pit zips.

September 11, 2019

Best hard shell ever!

I’ve owned this jacket for well over a year now and have worn it in a variety of weather conditions and temperatures. It performed exceptionally well in all of them, from alpine trekking here at home in Denali NP, kayaking amongst icebergs in Glacier Bay NP, to a recent six week adventure trip in New Zealand. Its worst day of reckoning so far happe... Read Morened a few weeks ago when I guided a couple of visitors on a glacier hike in Wrangell St. Elias NP. The visitors had purchased brand new shells from another brand for this trip, claiming the highest grade of protection with thousands of mm of waterproofing. I had to admit that I didn’t know what mm scale of waterproofing Patagonia provided, but that I simply trusted the brand. Well, we ended up in an epic, torrential downpour and the visitor’s jackets couldn’t handle it. One guest had the seams on her neck and shoulders fail, while the other, who carried a backpack, ended up soaking wet all the way down his back. I wore a Capilene base layer and my Nano Puff underneath the Triolet and carried my Nine Trails Pack with roughly 15 pounds of gear and provisions and stayed completely dry. The seams held up, the waterproofing held up and breathability remained consistent - there was no dampness inside the jacket! It’s lightweight, packs small and after putting it through the wringer for the past 17 months, it still looks new. Thanks Patagonia!! This is one of my favorite and most trusted pieces of clothing!!

May 16, 2019

Triolet jacket

I love my new jacket. Fit just fine and was great for spring skiing! Rey comfortable.

May 8, 2019

Excellent Gore-Tex Shell

High quality, great fit, love the color and plenty of pockets. Use this year was for spring skiing in CO and Idaho.

May 8, 2019

Great jacket

I love this jacket. Fit is perfect roomy arms lots of detail and pockets. Women’s fit so looks great

October 12, 2018

The "tomato" is pink

The nice tomato red of the jacket in the picture online is actually a ugly pale pink. I am constantly disappointed by the gendering of the colors of Patagonia clothing and I was really excited that a more "masculine" color (red) was finally being made into a women's product. Sadly this was not the case. The pictures on the website ar... Read Moree not accurate at all. Other then that a very good jacket.

August 23, 2018

Exceeded expectations

I could not be happier with this jacket! I bought the Triolet to take on an Alaskan cruise two weeks ago; the forecast was 50-60 degrees (F) most days, and this jacket served me well every day. Our first stop was Juneau. Our group did a canoe trip and we were greeted with rain and 50 degree temps. I layered this over a Better Sweater and stayed wa... Read Morerm and dry on the water. This zipper pockets protected my phone and wallet (and there are LOTS of pockets!). Our next stop was Skagway- the temperature was mild, but the wind was brisk.. this jacket was perfect over a long sleeve tee. Next, we cruised through the Tracy Arm Fjord. We were on the top deck of the ship at 6 am and it was only about 40 degrees. I layered this over a long sleeve and a hoodie and once again stayed surprisingly warm and dry. I bought an XS (I am 5’4” and 120lb), in the Lapiz Blue. The color is beautiful, and the fit is flattering: a bit longer in the arms and torso, and easy to move in, not “stiff” like GORE-TEX can be. Highly recommend!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches