Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Adze Jacket

Write Your Review

3.68 /5

Filter Reviews

All 37 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Adze Jacket

3.68
True To Size
July 13, 2020

Love my Patagonia Jacket

Nice material not as stretchy as my last Patagonia jacket. Too tight on my biceps. Quick easy return policy and service. Love my Patagonia jacket and hope to find a replacement soon as I have worn this one out (12 years of near daily use and even on my motorcycle in the rain).

June 21, 2020

Great jacket runs big

Great jacket order a size smaller.

June 17, 2020

Great jacket runs big

Great jacket order a size smaller.

February 26, 2020

WAY too long

I really liked the quality of fabric, construction, and overall (assumed) performance ability of this jacket as a light weight soft shell... but there is no way this jacket fits a normal sized human being. Arms on the medium ran 3" past a normal cuff length and the bottom of the jacket fell a good 5-6" below my belt line. Really wanted to... Read More love this jacket but just cant get the sizing to work. Be sure to try it on before you buy!

January 9, 2020

Ill Fitting

I love Patagonia and really want to like this jacket but I’ve been trying to get used to it for a couple of months and just can’t. Some of the reviews mentioned the arms being too long and the size being on the larger side so I got a medium and the body fits pretty well but the arms are still way too long and skinny. I can wear it with a t-shirt bu... Read Moret that’s it so it’s relegated to being a spring jacket and it’s a little too pricy for such a limited use item. If you’re a thin guy with unnaturally long arms this is probably a good jacket. If you’re an average build you need to choose between ridiculously long sleeves and wearing over long sleeve shirts or long sleeves and a t-shirt base layer. If you’re bigger than average you probably should skip this jacket.

December 30, 2019

Great jacket

Amazing fit. Not baggy but still comfortable to move around in.

December 29, 2019

My Third Adze Jacket Purchase

I have two and now I am giving them away as gifts. All you could ask for in performance in a casual style. Travel, trail, and to the tavern in one jacket.

December 24, 2019

A must have!

This jacket is a necessary part of your cool weather wardrobe. Warm and comfortable with the always dependable Patagonia quality. A must have!

December 19, 2019

Nice fit keeps moisture out, but it's not very breathable....

I like this jacket it looks nice bad fits well, but if you break a sweat it will retain all that moisture like a rubber rain coat and it takes a long time to dry ....

November 29, 2019

Favorite jacket

Favorite jacket

November 27, 2019

simple soft-shell, clean design

three-season jacket that I bought for around town/daily wear. Suitable for hiking/biking/skiing/climbing. would be nice to have a chest pocket (interior or exterior) and a color option that is cheery.

November 13, 2019

I like it OK

Patagoinia quality is always excellent and rarely matched but the only complaint I have is every top, jacket/vest/coat, I've ever ordered must have been designed for a guy with skinny arms and no shoulders. An XL is almost OK in the mid section but way too tight up top and a XXL is too big in the mid and arms too long. I'm not necessarily... Read More a huge guy and other XL brands fit me just fine. Just some constructive criticism you've probably heard before. I'll keep the XXL but seriously thinking about getting it altered.

November 12, 2019

Not the right jacket for my needs

I purchased the Adze with the intent of using it as a soft shell to be worn OVER other garments - specifically, the Better Sweater or Down Sweater. I am 5'9" and 220# - Typically wear a XL. I already own the Adze Hybrid, use it in the fashion, and assumed the cut would be similar. I knew it would be long for me, which is fine. Waist / Che... Read Morest seems fine - like an XL, but the upper arms were cut such that only a light shirt could be worn underneath without looking like a second skin. Oddly enough, the forearms were fine?!? I am also disappointed that the chest pocket was eliminated. This one goes back. No plan to re-order, different size would not solve the issue.

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2019

Hi Darrin, we're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review as it's crucial to improving products for future seasons. We'll pass this along to our design crew!

November 5, 2019

Adze Jacket

Looks great! Planning on this being my go to jacket on cool days leading into winter. The fit seems to run big. I normally wear an extra large in all my other Patagonia tops and jackets. I should have gone with a size large with this one.

October 18, 2019

Worn every day of winter for 3+ years

In a soft shell, this showcases the durability and functionality I've come to expect from Patagonia. I've worn it alpine climbing, cragging, skiing, and almost every cold day it's not been a downpour while daily bicycle commuting for over three years. It's breathable, light, warm, and looks good - I'll be wearing it many mo... Read Morere seasons to come!

September 19, 2019

everything is okay except the

everything is okay except the color which is awful; not as good as shown online unfortunately

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

We're sorry to hear the color wasn't your favorite. Feel free to give our customer service team a call at 1-800-638-6464 to set up either a return or an exchange for a different color.

September 16, 2019

Good multi-purpose jacket

I moved from a hot desert climate to England and needed a jacket that was somewhat waterproof but not too hot as I tend to sweat a lot. This jacket works great, looks good and fits well (I'm fairly broad shouldered). Would definitely recommend.

September 13, 2019

Just as many other reviews have stated

I usually order size large (5'10, 195). But went with medium because of the reviews about arm length way too long. Reviews are correct. Even medium arm length is long on me. Would have been somewhat acceptable if the rest of the jacket, especially around the chest and shoulders weren't so snug, which is probably how it's supposed to ... Read Morefeel being a medium. Just an odd fit meant for folks with really long arms I guess? Already started the return process.

September 1, 2019

Great material

Windproof, water resistant, warm. The size is great...extra long sleeves. I'll enjoy this for years.

June 19, 2019

Decent Soft Shell, Weird Sizing

The Good: This is a great soft-shell that blocks the wind and sheds off moisture. And the clean style is great for casual and/or office. It's not as warm as the NorthFace's Apex Bionic softshell, but it's great if you layer underneath. Which may explain why the sizing is odd. I'm 5'11'' 170lbs with medium build.... Read More Every other Patagonia tops I own are all Medium and they all fit just fine. Except for this. The Medium fits like an XL -- the sleeves fall past my hands. The jacket falls down to my thighs. I loved the jacket but I decided to exchange it for a Small. Again, weird sizing -- the sleeves and the length were just fine, but the shoulder area were too tight all around. I really wanted to love this jacket but the sizing is just really off. Perhaps the sizing was designed so you could layer underneath. And when I had the Medium, layering it with a 1/4 better sweater underneath provided warmth and wind blocking performance. But if you're not layering, the jacket looked really oversized on me.

May 9, 2019

The fit isn't great

I replaced a lightweight jacket that was well worn with a new Jacket of the same type. The new "Large" is definitely an XLarge. I'm 6'1" and relatively big, not skinny. the sleeves hang down well past my hands, the body is baggy, and just overall not fitted in the slightest. Not very happy with the purchase.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2019

Hi Jake. We're very sorry to hear the fit didn't work for you. Definitely feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it and please don't hesitate to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you have any questions.

May 9, 2019

Great jacket

I work ski patrol and use the Adze Jacket for most days if it is not storming. Light feel and moves well.

May 8, 2019

The jacket fits strange. Its

The jacket fits strange. Its snug accross shoulders but very generous in length and sleeves. Nice construction and I like the weight.

April 14, 2019

Thank you! Exactly what I wanted/needed

So, I have looked everywhere for the right soft shell. Most are short in the waist and arms and have that slim fit which is fine for some but not for me. I like wear thick flannel shirts in spring and fall which tend to have longer sleeves and length at the waist, which makes them hard to find a jacket for. They usually hang past the waist of the j... Read Moreacket a few inches and it looks odd. Im 6'0 160 with broad shoulders and a medium fits me perfectly and covers my shirts like I hoped it would without being too tight. I'm so glad I can stop looking for this jacket. Even without an internal pocket it's still pretty sweet. Keep up with this casual style Patagonia, and I'll keep buying them.

April 6, 2019

Wind doesn’t stand a chance...

I bought this jacket to cut through the wind on my bike rides, and it is excellent for that. However, it is a little bit tough to decide what to wear under the jacket, because it doesn’t breathe very well. As a result, it can get hot really quick. Also, I believe the description of the jacket on the website says that it is only meant for light prec... Read Moreipitation. This is absolutely correct. I wore it in some light rain recently, and it was fine, but I can see getting soaked with prolonged exposure. Despite these issues, this jacket does what I needed it to do, and it looks great.

March 13, 2019

Soft and stylish soft shell jacket

I like the jacket exterior, very soft and stylish, but below 50 degrees is not warm enough or it does not block the wind sufficiently. Also, the torso is too long by at least an inch that it covers my whole butt and crotch area. If it had a thick fleece interior (i.e. sherpa) and windwall interior, and about one inch shorter only two inches pass th... Read Moree waist, it will not have the unfit look of 3/4 long coat jacket, and it will surely be the best winter jacket from Patagonia, better the Retro X jacket, and The North Face Apex Chromium Thermal, which are really warm and windproof 100%.

March 12, 2019

Beautiful and warm jacket, but it is too long

I usually wear a large at 44 chest and almost six feet in height, with broad shoulders, so the large fits me perfectly at the top but the length is a little too long. If Patagonia will shorten the its length by an inch or two, this jacket will be perfect for someone like me. I hear a lot complaints about the sizing of certain jackets in a lot of re... Read Moreviews, so maybe it will be good idea if some jackets are offered in sizes short, regular, and tall sizes. I bet more people will buy them and sales will multiply at least since no person buys a jacket that does not fit well, especially people with the pocketbook to afford these high-end jackets that have a tendency to be more stylish or conscious of their appearance, and thus more selective in choosing clothing.

February 28, 2019

Nice jacket for very cold and freezing windy conditions.

light, wind proof, warm, and stylish, but it has one defect which is too long. I am 6' in shoes, and the size Large covers almost all my crotch area, and all my butt area. If the jacket was one to two inches shorter in length, it will do justice to the jacket's all other quality, functional, and stylish attributes.

February 18, 2019

runs large.

if you normally wear a Med... get a small size. the sleeves for MED was so long for my bf, we had to exchange it for a small.

November 7, 2018

There must be better choices.

As others have noted it is large for a medium. There is plenty of room underneath for layers. I do not care for it for two reasons. First, it feels clamy and sticky. I do not think it breathes that well. Secondly, after two washings it has an odd benzene or some volatile chemical smell to it . I find it off off-putting. The design is nice but if I ... Read Morecould I would return it and get a hoodless Nano Air or R1.

October 19, 2018

Nice soft exterior finish coat / Breathes well

This coat is as good as advertised: breathes great, stretches well. I really like this coat with a thin wool sweater or a micro-d fleece underneath. Because its a soft fabric, the whole thing drapes well together with a fleece liner. Only caveat is that is has open pockets, so you probably won't use it as a spring skiing shell unless that d... Read Moreoesn't bother you. Otherwise its perfect. I wear it for long walks in the woods and because it breathes so well, you don't really notice you are wearing it. I think its great for hiking in windy conditions. I don't know if Patagonia does this already or not, but if they don't they should consider making a performance garment in this same material. Zip pockets. Hood. The whole thing. But if you are looking for great outer shell that doesn't feel like a shell of nylon, this coat has a great soft feel and drape but still keeps the wind and cold out.

August 23, 2018

Personally, I love it

Here’s the thing.. sizing is true; it does run big. I am 6’2” , athletic build , 180 lbs w 31/32 waist and 42 chest. I pretty consistently fall right in between a Medium and a Large..Medium too tight in the chest, Large too big around the waist . This jacket falls right in between Patagonia’s typical sizing (ie: a medium feels more like a M/L). The... Read More jacket is thinner than say The North Face Apex Bionic, which can also be a positive. Nice color choices too. They just need to make a Heather Black and Olive/Drab Green. I really like this jacket for me personally.

June 14, 2018

Nice Waterproof Jacket! but sizing is not right

So I got this jacket--similar to another reviewer-- through my medical school. I'm always a medium with Patagonia (I experimented with large,too much. Small can kinda work),so I ordered a Medium. I got the jacket today and the sleeves go to my knuckles,which is surprising since I thought I have a long wingspan for my height (5'9 with a 6&... Read More#x27; wingspan). It was also long and nearly covers my butt. Regarding the quality,it's Patagonia,so it's beyond good. I even ran the sleeve over a faucet,and the water just repelled off like off the leaves of a taro plant. It was amazing! Still the sleeves have straps at the wrist,so the long sleeves issue can be solved. The length then becomes fine. So take-home message: Buy this jacket one size down.

March 26, 2018

Stylish Softshell But Runs Big and Too Light

I was looking to replace my North Face Apex Bionic soft shell,which I've had for nearly ten years. After doing some research,and with Patagonia's annual discount sale,I jumped on the Adze jacket. Sadly,this jacket won't be replacing my North Face jacket. It's much lighter and thinner than the Apex Bionic. And as other reviewers ... Read Morehave mentioned,it does run large. I'm a 5'11'' 170lb. medium build. Every other Patagonia clothes I own are in medium size. But the Adze jacket's sleeves go over my hands and it sits below my waist. It feels more like a large than a medium. It's not a critical issue for me as the jacket is thinner than I was expecting so I've learned to layer. And due to its baggy and loose fit,layering works perfectly fine. Overall,I'm fine with this jacket. I think it's great for those cool mornings in the spring. But sadly,I'll have to look for another jacket to replace my Apex Bionic.

March 14, 2018

Beware sizing - runs HUGE!

This is someone biased warning because of my circumstances. I got this jacket through work at a hospital with the hospital logo and my name embroidered on it by a second company. I have a dozen or more other Patagonia items over the last 15 years and I have always been a medium,so did not even think about size when I ordered the jacket. This jac... Read Moreket is ridiculously large and is unwearable. I am 6ft,170 lbs,so am typically on the larger side of a medium. I could fit a second person in this jacket easily. The arms are baggy,the body is baggy,the sleeves are too long - its like they sent me a large with a medium tag on it. Sadly since it is embroidered,I am stuck with a worthless jacket. The build quality and materials are all standard for Patagonia and solid just don't order it without trying it on.

February 14, 2018

Good

Great jacket for quality. Its the lighter mesh inside rather than the fleece which makes me sweat. The only thing is that it's long. I'm 6'6 and wear 36" sleeves and the sleeves are over my knuckles,just onto my fingers. I can tighten the wrist I guess but that's annoying to me every time I want to take it off and put it on... Read More. The body length isn't too bad. It could lose maybe half an inch or even an inch. Great for wind though. The fit is very regular lol. It would be a great length for a tall size.

December 1, 2017

First Non Glowing Review of any Patagonia Product

As the title says,this is the first non five star review I've left for any Patagonia product. This jacket is extremely comfortable but has a fatal flaw. The zipper gets stuck when unzipping. It catches the lining inside the jacket multiple times and makes taking the jacket off very tedious.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches