Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R1® TechFace Hoody

Write Your Review

4.15 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 78 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R1® TechFace Hoody

4.15
Kinda Large
February 29, 2020

Ski tour surprise

Wore for a week as my outermost layer with a 250 weight merino base layer underneath on a recent ski touring trip in Japan. I tend to run a bit warm and this was a really good system for me in the skin track in 22-35 degree temps with snow flurries and the occasional heavier snowfall. This garment breathes reasonably well and the DWR coating shed m... Read Moreoisture as well as provided more wind resistance than I expected. This was great when we got exposed above the treeline or on ridges. The hood kept my neck and ears much warmer than they would have been otherwise! The hood was slightly bulky after a transition with a hard shell over the top as the r1 techface hood does not fit over the top of my ski helmet but this compromise didn't bother me and I didnt notice it much on the down. Fit was slightly large and could have accommodated another layer underneath if needed or preferred. Great piece recommended!

February 20, 2020

Great dependable jacket!

The R1 is a fantastic, good looking, functional jacket. I wore it everyday for a month in the backcountry. It held up wonderful. It blocked some wind and kept light rain off. It is not a significantly warm jacket but its enough for mid 40s.

February 17, 2020

Handsome, well-made jacket - not sure what you would use it for - basically a light sweater with the look and feel of a jacket

This is cut like an outer jacket, with sun visor hood and drawstrings, zippered handwarmer pockets, etc. But it's very light - the weight of a light sweater. Layering something underneath for warmth seems a little strange given how light it is. Really only appropriate for mild weather - basically a light sweater with the look and feel of a jac... Read Moreket. Maybe during high energy winter activities, where you need to strip off your outer layer - but it seems strange to use it as an under layer. It's got a nice, trim cut, but not too tight in the sleeves, it looks sharp.

January 30, 2020

Almost perfect

I almost bought one of these when I saw one is a store...the killer was that you cannot pull the sleeves up to your elbows, too snug at the wrist. I have two R1 garments and that's one of the great things about them...but with this one, you can't. I wish they would make it possible, I'd buy two if they did!

January 9, 2020

Lightweight yet warm

Lightweight jacket that was surprisingly warm in cold temperatures. Was comfortable in 40's only wearing a T-shirt underneath, blocked wind really well. Regulates temperature effectively, never felt too hot or too cold while wearing it indoors or outside. Sleeves were slightly longer than I'd like but otherwise great jacket. Great looking... Read More, great performing jacket so far (have been wearing it about a month now).

January 4, 2020

Great fit, style and color.

Great fit, style and color. A favorite for me!

January 3, 2020

this is not your parents fleece

This is not a snuggly comfort layer. It a bomber technical layer that it a spectacular piece of gear! Worn as a mid layer for brutal cold or outer layer in moderated temps it's proven the perfect solution fro fishing and skiing in January in the mountains. love it.

January 2, 2020

Great Jacket

This is a great jacket, it breaths well and has been perfect for active activities. My only issue is that I find the lower part of sleeves to be a bit snug. I can only pull them up a few inches but would like to be able to pull them up higher. Maybe I just have chubby arms though...

December 31, 2019

Outstanding service!

My Christmas gift order got lost. I called. They completely went above and beyond to fix my issue!!! Best customer service I have every experienced!

December 28, 2019

Order was received on time

Order was received on time and exactly what I had ordered! Thanks!

December 16, 2019

Swift service

Busy time of year, but my order arrived really quickly. I expect it to be correct, and it is, but an order can get lost in this busy time. Not at Patagonia, apparently!

December 2, 2019

Perfect all around light weight crosslayer

Iv never been able to find a light weight jacket I can wear while working in cooler weather. I either end up to hot and have to take it off or just take it before I start working..... this jacket though is all time!. It Kept me warm before work, and is also comfortable/sleek and breathable so to not over heat/bind up /or get in the way while workin... Read Moreg! Definitely one of my best purchases! . I usually go for a little bigger size (xl) but for this crosslayer I went for a Large and it’s a perfect fit. I’m 5’10 170lbs

November 30, 2019

Great All around piece

I love this piece. I live in TN and our weather can be pretty indecisive. It can go from 60 and sunny to 30’s and snowing in the same day. The R1 has been great to layer with when really cold and perfect to throw on under a flannel for mild but windy days. I also wear it when I commute on my bicycle. The wind stopper and DWR are great for misty fal... Read Morel mornings. I also wear as a base for when I climb and find that it really does take a beating and allows for plenty of mobility. All around great piece. I think everyone needs one. I’m 5’9” and a 140 lbs and a small is perfect. It even can cover part of my butt if I pull it down.

November 27, 2019

Great Shell - Runs Large

Awesome piece for aerobic activities and layering when it gets cold. Runs a little big, I sized down from what I normally purchase.

November 26, 2019

it's good, not great

sizes are weird with this piece. I wear a small in the old R1 hoody and its perfect. Recently bought this piece and the R2 tech face hoody. The R2 in a small was perfect for me (5'11" and 140 lbs) but the R1 in a small was too big, so I went with the XS and it fits well. Not as form fitting as I had expected but nice. In my experience, th... Read Moree R1 tech face runs big, so size down - I did.

November 24, 2019

Sweet layer!

Love this! Nice layer for varied levels of activity.

November 22, 2019

Not really sure what this thing is for

I purchased this thinking it was essentially an R1 fleece with a hard face. That's not what it is. It's basically a light-ish softshell with a tiny bit of fleece lining. Doesn't pack as well as a Houdini-style windshell, doesn't shed moisture as well as a (lighter) goretex piece like an Alpha FL, doesn't insulate as well as... Read More a (lighter, cheaper) layer like the Capilene Air or the regular R1. I'm sure it's useful for... something? But overall it doesn't really make sense to me as a layer, and I'm planning to return it and purchase a regular R1.

November 22, 2019

Awesome

Best first layer around.

November 12, 2019

Love this hoody!

This thing is awesome! I can imagine wearing it until summer. Pros: Warm Stylish Fits slim enough to layer under a shell or other layers, but also loosely enough to fit a layer underneath. Wife says it flatters my figure ;) Stretchy! Cons Why doesn't it have thumb holes?!? Sleeves are long (good), but would be even cozier if I could put my ... Read Morethumbs through the sleeves.

November 10, 2019

Great fit and weather appropriate

Great fit and weather appropriate for fall wear!

November 6, 2019

Another home run

Awesome fit. Awesome product. It is a little long for my torso, but I can deal with it.

November 4, 2019

Don’t like it.

Sorry patagucci. Didn’t like the feel of the material, didn’t like the design or fit. I used to be the guy who couldn’t find the right fit with my height and wingspan, but half my order was the opposite, boxy and too big for my normal sizing.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Hi Ian! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with your R1 TechFace Hoody. Your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 27, 2019

Above and beyond expectations

Bought the tech face about a month ago looking for the perfect outer layer for me during the fall season. I’ve been able to put it through the test and have been very, very happy with how it has performed. Working on ropes courses it proves itself keeping me dry in the light drizzle, being windproof, and surprisingly warm with light layering undern... Read Moreeath. The ultimate test came recently when I surprisingly wound up on a search and rescue carry out, it was the only layer i had with me when i volunteered and i was warm, and protected on the mountain. Looking at all the people that were layered up and I was in a cotton Henley, plus my R1 techface and i was all set. Nothing but good things to say for me.

October 24, 2019

Great design but pilling after one month

The fit of this fleece is great, a bit tighter than Patagonia normally runs which is a good thing in my opinion. I am 5'11" and 190lbs, size large across all brands. when new the fabric looks great, functions well and I want to wear this for every outing and around town. The issue I have is that the fabric on the inside of the front colla... Read Morer (chin level when fully zipped) started pilling after only one month of light wear and one washing. This seems to be the same fabric as the exterior and I can see some smaller pills forming on the outside as well. Since this jacket looks so clean and modern, the pills are quite a contrast. I think this pilling is happening too soon for such a pricey technical item considering my level of care and light use. If it were not for the pilling this would get five stars. Hopefully Patagonia has addressed these issues in current fabric production. I have the black version.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear about the pilling issues you've been having. Unfortunately, all fleeces have a tendency to pill. We recommend washing your fleeces by hand in cool-cold water or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. Of course, you are absolutely welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty if needed.

October 21, 2019

Aliitle loose around the neck

I love this garment for its warmth, versatility, and lightness of weight. BUT when it is zipped up, hood up or down, there is gaping hole at the neck allowing cold air in & warm air out.

October 16, 2019

Excellent

I got this in a Medium. I'm 5'10, broad shoulders and usually am a medium or large depending on cut. More recently, I've found Patagonia's medium to fit well across the board. The tech face hoody is great. I used it for a long day climbing and scrambling at 14,000ft and wore it from car to car, only taking it off for ~1hr on the... Read More steepest portion of the approach that was baking in full sun on a scree field. Temps ranged from 30-50 degrees with 10+ mph winds. I found that it breathed very well, but provided enough wind protection to remain comfortable. In a "normal" R1, I would have been overheating at some points and reaching for a shell at other times. I like that the hood fits over a helmet. Bottomline, I will continue to use a standard R1 for ice climbing, but for almost anything else I'll be taking the Techface.

October 13, 2019

M’s R1 TechFace Hoody

Excelente option to the R1 Hoody, with pockets and a technical hood. It runs a bit too large for a piece we wear just over one layer and w would like to feel it tighter. keep the bright euro colors!

October 8, 2019

Sleeves are too long!

Fabric is spot on for this jacket, But the fit is totally different compared to the other R1 styles. Specifically the fabric in the wrist, crack climbing in this piece was difficult because of the drooping fabric in the wrist. The is defiantly more of a causal piece, not a technical piece.

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

October 7, 2019

Almost there. Hood is somewhat useless. Needs Work. Not Helmet Compatible

I've had this product for about 8 months now and have used it in a variety of environments. I had it as my only mid-layer for a week on the AT in March. The jacket is very effective and comfortable. It does most things it says, except for the hood. The hood is the biggest issue of the jacket in my experience. It certainly isn't large enou... Read Moregh for a helmet and the length of the neck is too short. When you wear the hood and have the jacket zipped all the way, turning your head will pull on the rest of the jacket. This greatly restricts movement and makes the hood useless under helmets. It is also too substantial to wear under a helmet. As for the positives, it is still very warm. In comparison with the R1 pullover Hoody, it is much less warm, but the wind resistance is great. The DWR also works well and has lasted thus far. I do enjoy all the adjustment of the waist and hood, but the sizing of the hood makes it simply useless for many applications. The jacket is great for 35-65 degree (F) weather with appropriate base layers.

October 6, 2019

Now I don't have to wear out my regular R1 hoody

If you're like me, and find yourself living in your regular R1 more than you should, you'll love the TechFace version! I'm guilty of wearing my regular R1 layer at every opportunity. This results in unnecessary piling and abrasions from a life outdoors. The R1 techface keeps all my favorite features, but with better protection. It&#x... Read More27;s abrasion resistant, longer cut, and is a decent wind blocker. Now my regular R1 can be used more as it was intended and I won't shred it to pieces prematurely! Don't expect the TechFace to be a good midlayer as the regular R1. That being said, you don't think you need the techface until you buy it.... Then you'll just wish you bought it sooner...

October 4, 2019

GREAT Layer

Versatile, good water resistance, surprisingly warm as an outer layer, a great mid layer as needed. I was amazed how well it cut the wind for a softshell. Super comfy to climb in because it has a good amount of stretch and doesn't restrict range of motion. Definitely get the hood. Get this jacket.

October 1, 2019

R1 TechFace Hoody

Great piece of hardware to have anytime in the outdoors! Works great with my Patagonia goretex jacket. Seems like the sleeves were made for each other. The material performs as described.

September 29, 2019

Awesome

it is light and high quality. It will be nice to have arm pit zipper and little more wind protection.

September 18, 2019

Best Light Jacket/Insulator Ever!

I bought the Techface last December and wear it constantly.... Casula, Mtn Biking, Hiking, Snowboarding... It's the first thing out of my closet! We live in Bellingham WA where it's typically wet and cool, this jacket works great alone on milder days and as a 2nd layer on colder days... Do yourself a favor GET ONE!!!!

August 16, 2019

Uncomfortable/Over sized...

I love R1, this one, not at all, returned immediately. Namely, it feels cheap, uncomfortable, and extremely large.

Response from Patagonia
August 29, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you aren't enjoying this one. We appreciate the feedback and would recommend you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us, if you haven't already. Let us know if we can offer any [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=help).

August 15, 2019

Great all-in-one piece!

I bought this jacket before a trip to Colorado this summer. Weather was supposed to be cooler with some rain in the mountains. I packed this with a long sleeve and felt very comfortable. The water-resistant fabric helped keep me dry, but was more breathable than a rain jacket. This was essential for our hike when it got a bit warm underneath. Keep ... Read Morein mind that this runs slimmer, so it's not meant to have much underneath. The fleece is warm enough for those cooler summer days/nights for sure!

August 13, 2019

Excellent Jacket

This has become my go-to outdoor adventuring jacket. It repels water, keeps me warm, and looks great.

August 13, 2019

R1

Jacket has been great for things like climbing as well as wearing it around town. Jacket is perfect for those windy or late summer nights. Just wish the jacket was water proof.

August 12, 2019

TechFace Hoody - great balance of insulation & water resistance

I bought this as my only outer layer for a recent summer trip to Ireland (kind of like a summer in San Francisco:)). It was the perfect combination of warmth and water resistance. A great piece whenever unpredictable weather is the norm.

August 10, 2019

Instant Standard

I ordered a vest, sun hoodie, some boxer briefs, and an R1 tech face hoodie. All became instant additions to my go-to daily wardrobe as a multi-day guide for REI Adventures. Will be buying more stuff as soon as the rest of my gear solely discentegeates on my body, trip by trip.

August 10, 2019

Hoody needs better hood

It’s a tall order to design a hood/collar which works perfectly up and provides a snug weatherproof seal when fully zipped but hood is down....this product fails dismally in the latter requirement, large gaps and plenty of spindrift down your front! Don’t trade your old R1s for this, it will be a disappointment.

Response from Patagonia
August 13, 2019

Thanks for the feedback regarding the hood on this product and we are sorry the design isn't working as well for you as the regular R1. Please feel free to mail this back to us and we are happy to offer a [refund/replacement](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). Let us know if we can offer any [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact).

August 10, 2019

Best Ever

This one is a gem, love that it’s trad r1 inside that’s super soft, the exterior is more waterproof and windproof than I expected, my intention was to buy this as a backcountry skin layer and still do this winter but I’m loving this for literally any light layer need, it’s that warm windproof n waterproof

July 20, 2019

Perfect hoody

I wear this more than anything else. It’s lightweight and warm. Mine wore out faster than usual but not enough reason to knock a star off. Love it!

May 28, 2019

Buy anyway

This is a great material! Just the perfect amount of wind resistance and breathable but Patagonia hat the hell have you done with your cuts? Need a large now for shoulders but even at 63 and a little overweight swimming in the body. WT?

Response from Patagonia
June 13, 2019

Hi Kevin. We're sorry to hear you had trouble with the sizing. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you have any questions about our exchange process.

May 23, 2019

Great technical Piece

When i first bought my R1 Tech Face I went to Dallas, TX. It was around 40 degrees, it was perfect for the Texas weather in February but I should mention that I run warm. I love the low alpine cut. I wear it backcountry skiing, hiking, mountain biking, and around town. It is breathable enough for most activities. The DWR coating works great, when i... Read More was in Dallas it was for a bachelor party and someone spilled beer all over me. The beer rolled right off the tech face, no need to wash and no sticky beer on my jacket.

May 10, 2019

Great for Climbing

I’m 6’1’’ and the XL is a great fit. It is definitely longer and I slightly swim in it, but with layers its perfect. The hood design is great because I can quickly and easily throw it over my climbing helmet. Super useful in multi pitch as its a great warmth layer that isn’t restricting. Basically its gonna be in my pack for any future trips!

May 8, 2019

It delivers

Fit, quality, fabric, and performance are amazing. It delivers what the marketing department promises.

May 8, 2019

Love it!

I love the fit and finish of the R1 Techface along with the overall weight of it - not too heavy, not too light. Very storable/packable on the move. I'm not a rock climber so I wear this while traveling to cityscapes and mountain-scapes with varied climates and temperature changes - this jacket rocks in these environments. I like that you can ... Read Moreadjust the collar to be as loose or as snug as you wish with the little pull strings. A winner!

May 8, 2019

Good

Hood is nice, simple, comfy, water repellent... not super warm but blocks a bit of wind and offers a little insulation. Good for a simple fall or cooler spring day.

May 8, 2019

I Never Take It Off

Mid-weight layer that does it all in any weather in any circumstance. I absolutely love it.

April 6, 2019

My go to jacket

I’ve been searching for years for a jacket that would be “the jacket” for me for any season. Throw in a bag and know it’ll be good. This jacket is that. It’s great on its on for spring-early fall. It pairs great with a nano puff/any insulating jacket for colder months. The DWR finish is nice, I’ve a hard time replenishing the DWR unfortunately but ... Read Morethis isn’t supposed to be an outright rain jacket. It’s very comfortable to wear and the fit is fine. My only issue is with the hood, which seems to be designed for climbing helmets, so is too big even for my enormous head. However I understand that this is a technical jacket whose design purpose is probably for climbing, so I’m not upset. Give this jacket a shot!

April 1, 2019

Pretty darn good

I bought this about a month ago and have been using it for spring cross country skiing. Overall I am quite impressed. It always seems to be just right. Just warm enough. Just cool enough. Just the right amount of wind protection. The pockets are perfect and the slightly stretchy sleeve ends mate well with ski gloves. I am a ski instructor/coach and... Read More bought the grey color only because it has a contrasting zipper (essential for students to be able to see your centerline). I don't care for the color at all but the other versions had color-matched zippers. I have just about every R1 product and this one compars well with the others.

March 26, 2019

Keep it simple

You guys ruined a perfect hoodie by getting too technical. I bought an R1 hoodie in 2017 that I've basically lived in since then. It's getting ratty, I need a replacement, this is not it. The beauty of the old R1 hoodie was it's simplicity. No hood adjustments, no DWR, no drawstrings. I'm disappointed Patagonia.

March 25, 2019

R1 Tech Face Hoody

Looking at the discussion regarding sizing of this jacket, I can’t disagree it may, like any jacket, not work for everyone, but it fits me perfectly. I’m 5’10” 160 and have fairly long arms. This was my go to running jacket for cold, stormy weather this past winter in Salt Lake City. Coupled with a mid-weight capeline top, the jacket kept me warm o... Read Moren many stormy, cold mornings with temps in the upper teens. Sleeves long enough to pull down over the ends of my gloves were appreciated. I agree that the hood design is too single purposed for climbing helmets, but after some frustration, was able to adjust for my purposes. Overall, very well made and provides an amazing amount of comfortable weather protection in very adverse conditions.

March 19, 2019

Function - A+, Smell - C-

The function of the jacket is perfect. It keeps me warm on cold tours in the backcountry, and also cool enough when the sun comes out. But... I own and have used a different patagonia fleece with the material which prevents odors. I could wear that one quite a few tours in a row without any smell on the jacket. This R1 TechFace requires washing eve... Read Morery single time I wear it or it constantly smells. I'm not a super sweaty person, but this one does not have the anti-stink fabric or coating or whatever it is.

March 16, 2019

versatile softshell

As I'm finding with other Patagonia gear, shoulders may run narrow and abdomens may run large. Designed for the backcountry, but sized for buffet country? WT..? Warm for its thickness, but decently air permeable. In my opinion, tight weave of this fabric at least rivals warmth of standard 200 weight fleece, and is much more packable. Hood fi... Read Morets well with or without hat, but have no experience over helmets. Sizing chart seems a bit off - only gear I've ever sized down to a medium. (42ish chest+33ish waist+solid ape-index = usually size large) Once sizing was determined, fit was great. Arms are adequately long for me, and the stretch prevents excessive ride-up. No interior pockets. Really like this full zip over the anorak-style R-1's; and prefer the zip pockets, hood adjustment, and lighter material over the new R1 Full Zip Regulator Hoody. Layers well over a zip-T. Great piece under a shell or light puffy. Not a perfect piece, but definitely a favorite.

March 13, 2019

Sleeves are wayyyy too long...do not buy unless you have really long arms

I never write reviews for anything, but this jacket's tailoring is so frustratingly terrible. I'm also upset since I was so excited to get this jacket...it is warm and looks nice. Backstory: I got this jacket as a gift since I needed a new rain jacket. Unfortunately the large was a bit tight around the chest to comfortably wear as a rain... Read More jacket (for reference, I am a 6 foot 1, 210 pound guy at about 15% body fat) , so I returned it for an extra large since Patagonia XL's usually give a bit more chest room. Holy smokes are the sleeves WAY too long! It's truly unwearable. I have a normal wingspan for my height, and big shoulders that should take up sleeve space and but this jacket does not fit my arms well at all. I would need a 6 foot 4 wingspan to even possibly fit this XL. I wish I could return it but when I returned my large for this extra large, I tossed the receipt. I also know it's not just the fit of Patagonia since I have an fleece XL jacket and it fits great.

February 25, 2019

The sizing

Realize that Patagonia is a design shop that outsources manufacturing and generally like the fact that sizing changes year to year and product to product as it allows me to find something that fits perfectly. Usually a slim fit XXL athletic 6'4'' 225 but this one was too big.

February 18, 2019

What's with the hood!

This jacket has incredible potential but as other reviewers have indicated this jacket has a major flaw: the hood design. The hood of this jacket is truly designed to be worn by someone wearing a helmet. I am also really disappointed by the neck design. To accommodate the hood design, the neck design is really wide and baggy. PROS: Weather abrasi... Read Moreon exterior material Stretchy Full Zip Zippered Pockets Adjustable waist CONS: Hood design - this was a true let down I wish this jacket had an alternative style that mimicked the R1 Fleece Full Zip ( I didn't care for this style because the pockets were zippered) Hood.

January 16, 2019

Light insulation + wind blocking for moving in the cold

Stretchy, wind-resistant layer with light, gridded fleece is good for aerobic activities in the cold. It's a bit of a specialized jacket, as noted by the slim fit. I'm 6'3" tall, 170 pounds (tall, thin, broader shoulders), between a M or L in most Patagonia. The Medium fits well over a T-shirt plus base layer (medium or heavy Ca... Read Morepilene, maybe an R1 hoody). The sleeves are long - full wrist coverage. The wrists themselves are trim and snug - good to keep out snow or slush without a velcro tab, but bulky gloves or puffy insulation won't fit well underneath. Tail covers my butt. Plenty of stretch and a generous hood. This seems obviously designed for ice climbing - long sleeves and tail keep you covered when reaching overhead. Also good for biking in the forward-leaning road position. Gridded fleece and breathable shell help reduce sweating when you're moving. You'd want a puffy jacket over this if you're going to start and stop frequently. Overall, this jacket was designed with some specialized requirements, but makes a good general purpose layer if it fits you well. Sizing is longer and trimmer, go down if you're thinner, up if you're huskier.

January 3, 2019

Not your Typical R1 But a Great New Concept

As a longtime lover of the traditional R1 this jacket caught my eye for its increased wind/weather protection and durability. At 6 feet and 175, I bought a large that, when paired with a medium/heavy weight base layer, fits pretty much like it does on the model above. The thinner fabric and looser fit was an initial concern but after a little exper... Read Moreimenting it’s now a go-to item for many of my outdoor activities as a light, very packable softshell. As promised, it provides a fair amount of protection against the wind and light rain while being more breathable than any of my other soft shells. When paired with a medium baselayer, it takes me down into the 40s--add an R1 in colder weather and I get down to the high 20s. When biking, it gives me the right amount of breathability and wind protection and the hood fits nicely over my helmet. I have not used it climbing yet but it’s obvious that the pockets, while great for most purposes, will not be accessible under a climbing harness. I have longish arms so the longer sleeve length is more of a blessing than a curse. I like how they can be pushed up, but think adding thumb holes would be nice addition. An unexpected benefit was the longer hem, which provides just a little bit extra warmth. I expect to be using this for quite some time.

December 27, 2018

A beautiful, functional garment

Like most Patagonia products the R1 TechFace hoodie exceeds expectations. This is a beautiful, functional garment. Size M fits me like it was tailor-made — I'm 5'10" and 160 pounds. The long sleeves can be pulled over my hands or up on my arm. I intend to use it as a paddling jacket, once I get used to the idea that it will get scuff... Read Moreed up along the way.

October 5, 2018

Just ok

This jacket is good don’t get me wrong is a nice midlayer. The sleeves are just too long even if you cuff them up.I ended up taking them to a local shop to get them shortened.The fit is a tad big for a slim fit.I would tend to say it’s more on the regular fit side .On some slim fit stuff I go one size up but this jacket I didn’t need too.If your n... Read Moreot using it with a helmet which I think it was designed for the hood almost too big to wear on it own Some of the things I do like are how high the pockets are set and multiple adjustment points on hem in the hood.

August 31, 2018

james

Wow. Patagonia has done it again. Raised the bar by making the R1 hoody better! I've wanted a R1 with a full length zipper and a hood for years and Patagonia delivered BIG TIME with the Tech Face. I'm 6' 2", 225 with wide shoulders and the XL is plenty big. You might consider ordering down one size if you don't want layerin... Read Moreg room. It's an amazing cross of an outer layer with the wind, rock and precip resistant shell and a bomber mid that wicks magnificently. The sleeves are well thought out with the half stretchy material working great with gloves and they can be pulled half way up the arms when things get sweaty. Urban use is spot on as well, looking sleek with great color choices.

August 30, 2018

Nice fabric, bad fit

Others have mentioned sleeve length, but for me the length was perfect. The problem was the fit around my arm was pretty tight. This might have been ok, but there is a seam around the circumference of the arm the hits me exactly at the elbow. So right where I need it to stretch the most, there is extra bulk and reduced stretch. As others have men... Read Moretioned, the hood is too big for non-helmet use.

July 3, 2018

Alpine Climbers Delight

I bought this jacket a couple weeks ago and have climbed Mt Shasta's West Face and Mt Sill via the North Couloir since! Such a great jacket. Fits good over a couple layers with extra room for movement while climbing a steep slope. Fits over the helmet,which is a feature I look for in all outer shells. I am 6'0" and 145 lbs. The long... Read More arms are an excellent feature. They allow me to protect my wrists from the sun while I have my gloves on and also keep my wrists from getting cold from wind or snow. On glissading down the mountains,the DWR treatment kept me dry. Really some good thought put into this and it is now my go-to outer layer for California 14ers (except when its too hot for an outer layer).

June 28, 2018

Great Technical Zip

I purchased this jacket looking for something that's lightweight and can be used in inclement weather,whether I'm working,hiking,or anything active. I also wanted something that wasn't too "extreme" to wear when out shopping or running errands. In this,I found exactly I was looking for. As some others have pointed out,the ... Read Moresleeves can be a little long,and at 5'11",170lbs,it gives an athletic fit but it looks good and I really don't even notice the added length. I would say that the length in the arms is nice if I'm climbing or riding a bike where my arms have the potential to be outstretched and I'm reaching for something. But honestly,I've never had an issue where the sleeves hang off over my hands or it looks unsightly. Anyway,this is definitely not a bulky jacket meant for super cold weather. I would liken it to an active layer that is definitely beneficial for movements when it's around 50 degrees,or if you're at standstill of temps 60 degrees and up. That's my personal opinion with it,but I haven't been anything but satisfied with the jacket. I love the grid pattern and the jacket is very comfortable to wear. Recommendation: Keep in mind of the athletic fit and make sure you get the correct size. Even though the arms are long,I would recommend sizing up if I was working with a keg instead of a six pack (if you get what I mean). I highly recommend it with its great quality and I'm very satisfied with the jacket overall.

May 17, 2018

Almost perfect

As many others have said this jacket just fits a little odd. I am about 5'10,200lbs... could lose a few pounds but not overweight by any means and settled on a large. I tried the medium and like everyone else,the sleeves were still long. The medium fit me better in terms of length but could barely zip it. On the medium and large it is very fit... Read Moreted on the arms also.. so if you are Hercules,I doubt you can even get your arms in it. I just can't get over why or who thought the sleeves should be as long as they are. It's funny,I wouldn't say it runs small because of the overall length and the arms,but it is definitely fitted. Now with all that said,I do like the jacket. It's a light weight jacket and since it is a little fitted stays pretty warm. The fabric for a fleece is great,it's much tougher and doesn't scuff like other fleeces. It's great for running,mountain biking or anything outside. I haven't tried it snowboarding yet but I bet it's great because it is a little long so won't raise high above your waist while moving. For those that haven't had this like cubed or honey comb(squares) fleece as a mid layer it's great. Oh yeah the hood... ridiculous. I understand it's for a helmet,but I would guess 90% of people would just like to wear it on their head for warmth. It's essentially a dangling parachute hanging from your neck unless it's over a helmet.

May 17, 2018

Love or hate it,your choice

This piece is different. Patagonia has gone far with a classic R1. They tired to cover the gap that other outdoor companies have passed. This R1 is wind resistant,larger in size and I will tell you why. The size is larger to allow more air to heat up while in motion and allow sweat to be vaporized in the extra space. The inside is not a high loft f... Read Moreleece. It is a low loft loop in small squares that are further away from your skin and each other. This is what creates the feeling less warmth and clamminess during any aerobic activity. The waist cinch works great and is snug from the sides of the hips to the tail bone.The sleeves can be cocked back beyond that of any R1 and makes it a 3/4 sleeve shirt. There might be some flat seem rubbing from in the elbow or inner arm,that is normal for this style of garment. Gusseted underarms and a very easy lateral hood adjustment from the chin area. Due to the way the fabric is made,it leaves a mindcraft like pattern that is completely unique. It is made for layering,not as a true mid-layer,but is a heavier version of the Houdini. The kid of a R1 and Houdini jacket. Frankly,for myself this is something I wold expect from Adidas or Nike. Myself,I have other pieces that cover this niche much better and thou I want to love it,I can not. The fleece lining is something that makes be question its moisture performance during the early mornings; however,this could a ultra-runner piece due it's niche between soft-shell and 100 gram fleece. To the design team. This piece would be better without a hood. The mesh lined pockets are a great design,and a very simple way to allow any vapor to escape. The low loft terry cloth loops lack any contact to the skin,thus allows high saturated sweat areas while in motion and relaxed. Please either decrease the spacing of the fleece grid squares and allow them to have either a hollow fill yard or make them longer to wick away moisture. I do not know how breathable this is,but I am going to wait for the 2nd or 3rd generation to purchase this again.

April 30, 2018

Poor fit.

I ordered the cost in blue size small. When I tried it on,it was skin tight,no way it was going to work for me so I ordered a medium. It was so big I floated in it. I was so surprised at the difference between small and medium. Unfortunately,I had to send it back.

April 22, 2018

very disappointed

I have been waiting for a zip down r1 hoody. I sent it back immediately. i was expecting the scuba hoody to go UNDER a climbing helmet. the hood was waaaaaay too large I actually was speechless . I love Patagonia gear. its almost all i use. Their designs are great. But i was blown away that the hood was i guess sized to go over a helmet or wasn&#x2... Read More7;t designed with a helmet in mind. my thought was ICE CLIMBING?

April 5, 2018

Love it!

This is a great piece for active use in mild,cool and breezy conditions. It does double duty as a thin midlayer or as an outer layer that offers greater wind and water resistance than a standard fleece. Slim fit is outstanding. Sufficient room for baselayer and comfort,in no way baggy and has great range of motion. It feels nice and soft against th... Read Moree skin. I usually wear a S/S or L/S baselayer underneath and its just roomy enough to fit over a shirt like a Pima cotton when you pull into town. On colder days,layer it under a vest or another midlayer and shell. I love the hood,it cinches comfortably snug over a bare head or ball cap and provides enough warmth when the chill sets in. I'm glad long sleeves and torso lengths have returned to Patagonia's designs. This is a versatile piece you can wear across a variety of movement activities and climate conditions,and stands out most when you're exerting. It's not as warm as the R1 Hoody,but it blocks wind better and is overall more functional and versatile. I'm 6'2" with 34 sleeve,42 chest and 32 waist and the fit is perfect. It fits me just like the guy in the picture. My only quibble,which is very minor and in the personal taste category,I don't like hem chord adjustments in the pockets. They don't work any better and just get in the way,and I always make adjustments where the chord lock is anyway. In this case,you'll never be wearing this jacket in conditions so cold or wet where taking your hands of the pockets is an issue.

March 21, 2018

More than expected

Very well put together/thought out piece of gear. Knew up front that the loft was less than original R1. 5'-9",170lb athletic fit and the medium fits perfect. Slim fit as advertised while still being able to add a base layer underneath. Won't want to spend an hour in it by itself if 20 degrees and gusty but 15 minutes in these condit... Read Moreions to run a quick scouting mission isn't an issue. Comfortable at 60 degrees.

March 12, 2018

Love this thing...

So I'd say all the reviews are pretty much dead on... the negative ones seems to be from folks that want this to be something its not. Long time R1 lover... before that Activist Fleece (1990's)... I used R1 pullovers and full zips as my primary mid layer for everything - climbing,skiing etc etc... but always wished they performed just a ... Read Moretouch better when you were looking for a touch more wind or weather resistance... and this think seem do that perfectly. The interior fleece grid is a little less lofty than a straight R1 but the exterior totally makes up for it... I always thought they were a touch warm anyways...and with eh "shell" like exterior knocking down the air flow / convective heat loss its perfect... Sleeves are nice and long so when your reaching up there is no resistance or pull. Hood is nice a huge to accommodate a climbing or ski helmet (even an old school Edelrid). For what it is and what I BELIEVE it was designed for - its perfect.

March 3, 2018

Decent midlayer that can be worn as outerlayer

This is an interesting piece that clearly needs some tweaking. Firstly,the fit is weird. Patagonia calls it a 'Slim Fit' - it clearly does not fit like their other slim fit pieces. If anything it is regular fit. It fits looser than a normal R1. The arms and torso are baggy. There is also an awkward seam right on the elbow which is a littl... Read Moree uncomfortable. The material also feels a little 'heavy' on your body. I face fabric does a pretty good job of blocking wind - I wear this over a baselayer for 50+ degree cycling. I'm cool at first but then its perfect when I warm up. Wish this piece came in a version without a good. All in all this is a good breathable midlayer that will get the job done. But the fit needs to improve and the fabric feels a little 'rough' and heavy.

February 25, 2018

Simply the Best

I have been a long time R 1 user. However,when hiking they can get a little on the warm side. Then I get into this place of constantly taking them off and putting them back on when I hit a shady or cooler spot. This R1 is perfect for me. It is lighter than the standard R1 but because it is wind resistant and water resistant,it keeps me warm but not... Read More too warm. I can do a lengthy hike and keep it on the entire time and not have to go back and forth with the off again on again routine. For me this is an absolute home run.

February 14, 2018

Very uncomfortable fit,not very warm.

I bought this hoodie to replace the R3 that was previously discontinued. I was looking for a mid-layer jacket I could run with from between 30-55 degrees Fahrenheit. The R3 I had was an XL so I figured I'd buy an XL with this item. I am 6'2 220. I should have paid a little more attention to the photo because it fits just like it looks on ... Read Morethe model,awkwardly. Overall Fit: If you notice the item picture on the male model,the shoulders are the right size but the arms and torso are extremely baggy. I had to righted the elastic waist strap and curl the bottoms under so it didn't feel/look too baggy. Hood: this is probably the biggest design flaw. The hood is massive. I don't have a small head but when the hood is flipped up it reaches my nose. You do have the ability to tighten the hood,but it doesn't change the length,your just not floating inside of it as much. Worst part about the hood is that although durable,when it's folded back it feels like you have a sail. It's so large and heavy that it's constantly shifting on you and slapping you in the face with the neck. Warmth: I would definitely say it's on the cooler side because with a slight breeze you can feel the air coming through. This might be good for running and dissapaiting heat but if you are looking for warmth,look for another layer or another jacket all together. Quality. Like with most Patagonia products you can tell care was taken into consideration when designing this item. It is well put together and durable,I just think Patagonia didn't field test it well enough. I will be returning.

February 4, 2018

looks good,feels meh

I bought this after years of waiting for something tolerable in the,formerly amazing,"Regulator" lineup. It looks good but that's about it. The jacket fits too slim to fit anything underneath which is a shame given how harsh the feel of the "fleece" on the inside. The outside sheds water fairly well but isn't warm so y... Read Moreou have to wear something over it if it's cold out. The hoody has a confusing little clip on the drawstring,presumably to hold the hoody rolled up behind the wearer's neck. Jacket would be better if it had soft fleece inside like "soft-pile" side of the recently discontinued,uselessly double-sided,R3 jacket. This jacket,like much of Patagonia "regulator" leaves a lot to be desired,and just seems like a very techy way to carry the lil Patagonia patch on one's chest. I will likely return this and bank a gift card,hoping Patagonia can figure out a slim,soft-fleece-on-the-inside,water-resistant-outside,non-reversible technical jacket in a solid color with "handwarmer" pockets,maybe a hood,and the classic little black label stitched on chest.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches