Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R1® TechFace Hoody

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 66 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R1® TechFace Hoody

4.8/5
October 15, 2021

Excellent Product

This is an excellent hoodie! Lightweight, not bulky to wear, and takes up very little space in my pack, yet keeps me toasty warm! I have recieved numerious comments on the fit, and stlye. When I do get a comment I say, "it's worth every penny I paid for it".

October 14, 2021

Versatile Piece

I bought this as something to wear at events and have as a good layer that breathes well. I have ridden my bike in it once so far but expect I will use it often this winter for backcountry skiing. It fits really well, breathes the way I was hoping and provides the warmth I was looking for when active.

October 13, 2021

Favorite jacket

Its hard to imagine if there could ever be a more comfortable and versatile jacket. What I like most about it is that its as rugged as it is sleek. It has a wide temperature range, but I would not venture south of 30-40 degrees with this as a stand alone. With a good base layer, I am confidant this will suffice in 10-20s temp depending on how muc... Read Moreh you are moving. Since it is designed for active wear, it has somewhat thin material so you will probably get cold if you are just sitting around. Note: I recommend trying it on in person, as the sleeves are a bit long.

October 8, 2021

Go to jacket for many conditions

Lighter and less warm than an hour one but super versatile. Good on crisp fall days or with layers. Repels light showers and protects against wind. Super versatile. Ive used it to play tennis in the fall, to go sailing Wendy called. Also up in the mountains while hiking.

September 29, 2021

Products that work

I'm a total fan of Patagonia products, and this jacket confirms that belief. The jacket is comfortable, works well with either one base layer or a couple, sheds light rain, and looks great. Only reason I didn't give it a 5-star rating is that I would prefer the chest pocket to be on the outside, and would love for the jacket to be stuffab... Read Morele. Otherwise, a real winner!

September 28, 2021

durable, comfortable, right weight

durable, comfortable, right weight, fits well, keeps you warm as a light standalone or a warm midlayer while still breathing

September 1, 2021

Super versatile

This is my second R1 Tech Face Hoody. I wanted another color. I wear it fishing and long walks. I like the fit and the slim look. The most recently purchased has a zipper that is much harder to use than the first one. I have to carefully hold the right side or the zipper refuses to move. Not up to Patagonias quality standards. But I love the rest o... Read Moref the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2021

Hello Herb, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. If the zipper is not sliding as easily as it should, you may want to [lubricate](https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/How+to+Lubricate+a+Zipper/19450) it. Please note that all Patagonia products are covered by our Ironclad Guarantee so if have are not satisfied with the item, you are always welcome to return it.

August 13, 2021

A great additional layer

This is a great layer. Im a mountain guide, and I consider my layers tools for my work, which greatly effect my time in the mountains. This piece is lighter and slightly less warm than the traditional R1, which I find very helpful. The face material is like a soft shell, repels wind, and adds durability. I find it fills a niche somewhere between a ... Read Moreregular fleece and a light soft shell which is perfect for high output endeavors in cool to cold weather. I get hot pretty fast and dont like to adjust layers more than I have to, so this is an excellent layer. I try to avoid wearing a full hardshell most of the time unless it is truly wet, so I will wear this in very cold weather during high output activities on top of my R1 as well. This is a great buy!

July 24, 2021

Great midlayer

Seems like a jacket but much lighter. Faiy wind resistant. Everything in a proper place.

July 10, 2021

One jacket to rule them all

I travel a lot and find myself living out of bags that fit in the overhead compartment #Blackhole55. As a result, I look for pieces with versatility. If I am only going to take one jacket, it's this one. Just enough water resistance to stay dry in a pop up storm. Light enough to wear on all but the hottest days. When paired with a base layer,,... Read More it offers comfort with Temps in the 20s.

July 8, 2021

Technical beast!

Love it! Almost as good as the one I bought in 2008! That I still wear!

June 25, 2021

Amazing R1 Techface hoody quality is A1.

I love my R1 Techface the quality is amazing. Zipper pockets. I love the material and zip hoop and waist band. Excited to wear this on MOIST days.

June 20, 2021

Good Middle layer

Havent had the hoodie long enough to give a full review. But so far it had met all my expectations. Its light weight and warm. Also the hood coverage is great.

June 20, 2021

Super durable. Breathable

Its an amazing jacket. Got it for myself and it fit perfectly. Really breathable and is a great bear layer

May 18, 2021

This is a vital and super flexible piece of gear

The R1® TechFace Hoody can be worn as a mid-layer for added insulation, on top in the cool mornings, or an all-day ski jacket for spring outings. The DWR (durable water repellant) gives it the added protection for all but downpours. The hood fits great under a helmet and the zippered pockets keep things secure. You will be glad you snagged this.

April 29, 2021

Versatile piece

6'1", 175. This jacket fits me better than anything else I own from Patagonia. For someone with longer arms this was a great fit. Love the stretch for active pursuits. Great for hiking/climbing as an outerlayer in that 45-60F range. I have also used it as a midlayer on warmer days snowboarding. The outer material is durable and has not fa... Read Moreiled in over a year of fairly heavy use. Washing it has definitely caused pilling on the outside of the jacket but its nothing too noticeable.

April 28, 2021

Classic, versatile and great!

This is one of those pieces that satisfies so many use cases for me. I can throw it on for a run, wear it out, bring it as my one and only jacket for summer camping in NW Montana. It's a classic piece and I went back and forth between having a hood or not on this jacket. After much debate, I went with the hood and I am happy that I did. The ho... Read Moreod allows me to wear this as more of a stand-alone jacket rather than just a layering piece. The size is true to size with a slim cut, but not tight. I have found a good reason to wear it every day since it arrived at my home and it will definitely be a staple 3-season piece for me. I really couldn't be happier with this one.

April 16, 2021

My Favorite Patagonia Jacket

This jacket is the perfect weight for a cool day to keep you warm and dry. Water resistance is excellent, much better and a little warmer than a Houdini but not heavy or bulky. Fit is slim and perfect for my 6'3" 170 lb body and love this jacket!

April 14, 2021

Perfect transition jumper

Was exactly what I was looking for in a seasonal transition piece

April 8, 2021

Less warm and larger than R1

I love the cut on this piece but it does definitely run larger than the regular R1 and the sleeves seem much much longer. The sleeves even seem to scrunch up more on the model than other pieces. It's also not as warm as the regular R1 despite the tech face. I'd probably still recommend the piece but I really just wish the sleeves weren&#x... Read More27;t so long.

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2021

Thank you for the review on our R1 TechFace Hoody. We're sorry to hear about the sleeves and have passed your feedback along to the appropriate teams. If you'd like to make a return, feel free to do so at your earliest convenience. We'd also like to note that we're happy to [provide measurements](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) should you need them in the future.

April 5, 2021

A reliable Swiss Army Knife

So far I love this fleece as a fall/spring outer layer and a summer night stand alone. I have not used it skiing yet but imagine it would preform nicely as a mid-layer. The best thing about this jacket is its versatility. I have used it as a standalone, mid-layer and soft shell-ish layer. Because its so light and breathable but also has a more abra... Read Moresion resistant finish I layer it over my puffy to keep it from tearing. It also works well as a stand alone in cool conditions. I wouldnt call it a casual fleece by any means however. It has a feel and vibe that is purely technical. If you want something more casual Id go with one of the better sweaters. But if you want a Swiss Army Knife jacket this is the best choice out there. One last thing to note before I list my complaints/suggestions, the jacket has a unique feel. I dont have a problem with it but I would recommend trying it on in store before you buy it just to make sure you like it. Here are the things I would change in a future revision: 1) make the zippers more solid. The zippers, especially the main one, feel noticeably weak. I dont think they will fail anytime soon but it gives an otherwise premium jacket a cheep feel 2) add outside access to the chest pocket. My ideal implementation of this would be to have a zipper on each side of the chest pocket (both internally and externally) this way it could be accessed either way. If weight is an issue and you can only add one I would recommend having it be on the outside. That would be better suited to this jackets use cases. 3) make the hood removable. Im not sure how this would be achieved in a lightweight and reliable way but it would be nice to have a removable hood. It would make it easier to layer this piece when you want a no frills mid layer or just dont want to deal with a hood getting in the way. If anyone could pull of a good design for that it would be Patagonia so I remain hopeful. Finally, I would like to thank the employees at the Patagonia store in Bend Oregon for helping me chose this jacket and being very helpful. Keep up the good work guys!

April 5, 2021

Good layer option

I have been using this as outer layer over long sleeve capilene for ski touring. Plenty warm on the up and down. Light weight, minimal design.

March 31, 2021

Almost Perfect

I've worn the R1 TechFace Hoody throughout the seasons in Utah for high-exertion activities and have found it to be an almost perfect layering piece. Sometimes, if it gets warm enough, I even wear it with nothing underneath and it's very comfortable. While not wind proof, it certainly mitigates all but the stiffest winds, and most importa... Read Morently, it allows perspiration to escape, thus keeping you dry. The hood adjustments are very good and provide excellent peripheral vision. Sheds light rain and snow nicely, too. My only complaint is one that I also have with several other Patagonia articles; that is, the sleeves are too narrow, ESPECIALLY AT THE CUFFS. I have very skinny arms and even I can barely push the cuffs up a few inches above my wrists. This is annoying when trying to do anything with water, wash my hands or put gloves under the cuffs, for example. Overall, though, I highly recommend this hoody. I liked it so much I got the TechFace jacket as well, which I use for primarily for bicycling or times when I don't need a hood.

March 25, 2021

Great fit, versatile, but not very warm

I purchased this after the original R1 hoody neither fitted me in sizes M or L, and thought that this would be a step up. The Medium tech face giddy fits me perfectly and is very comfortable, perfect for endurance activity on a cool day. That said, it doesnt insulate as much as I thought it would (as the original R1) if youre not moving, and found ... Read Moremyself having to add more layers on 30-45 degree days..

March 15, 2021

Love this jacket!

Comfortable, sleek design, weather resistant and moves with me when I climb, hike, bike, or run! I got this jacket and havent taken it off since!

March 14, 2021

Instantly my Best Layer

I work in the outdoor industry (as a software developer for FATMAP so not a guide but I do have to be out testing a lot) and I live in Chamonix, France. Living in an area as drastic and extreme as Chamonix means you could be trail running one day and skiing the next. I needed to replace a touring layer that got ruined a few weekends ago and decided... Read More to go for this one. It seems just warm enough to keep the wind off and be good for cold, uphill travel. What I didnt realize is how versatile this layer would be. Ive brought it with me on cold trail runs, ski tours, cold climbs, etc. It immediately earned its place in my pack (although it is usually on). The techface is just enough protection for a light wind or light drizzle or flurry and it is a game changer. Each day, I move closer to not even needing to bring a Gortex layer with me. I would recommend this 1000% to anyone doing any sport. Im a big summer camper as well and I know this will be used there as well. I cant think of any activity where I wouldnt use this except in extreme heat or downpour. The construction is solid and well made like most of Patagonias stuff and the repair-ability seems good too- meaning it seems like it would be easy to patch/fix if need be. In just 4 weeks time, this became one of my most important layers if not THE most important.

March 10, 2021

Extremely comfortable

Very comfortable, good looking and performs well. Light weight and perfect for late spring mornings and through the fall.

March 9, 2021

R1 hoody

I like the weight, feel & fit of the jacket. Great for the 40 degree whatever you are doing outside.

March 3, 2021

A bit of a quandary

Don't get me wrong. I like this jacket. I just can't figure out what it's good for. It doesn't hold my body heat. It doesn't stop the wind. It certainly isn't waterproof. And it's too baggy for a midlayer. On top of that, it has monkey arms. (I'm just shy of 6' tall and a medium is 2" too long in th... Read Moree sleeves.) I guess if you're hiking in 60 degree weather on a sunny day with only a light breeze this would be fine. Otherwise it's just a one pound anchor. But, hey, it looks good.

February 28, 2021

Super versitile

This is the perfect layer for skinning in the backcountry and skate skiing. Also works great for winter fat bike riding. I highly recommend it.

February 10, 2021

If you only can get one ...,

This is a very versatile jacket. It works for walking, biking, hiking and cool weather runs. The front zipper and vented back help you adapt to changing small changes in conditions so you can stay dry and comfortable

February 7, 2021

Great jacket

Only had it a few days before I wore it on a cold mountain bike ride. It began to lightly rain which I didnt expect, but I stayed dry and warm the whole ride. Just another great product by Patagonia! Thank you!

February 2, 2021

Perfect hoodie

Light weight

February 1, 2021

Great hoody

Comfortable and very versatile, for any occasion. True to size, looks great after multiple washes. Got those in few colors. Can be a midlayer for freezing weather, or just use it over a t shirts, when temps are in the 40°

January 28, 2021

BEST LAYER EVER

This is my go to piece from Patagonia... They build a ton of amazing clothing but I find my self leaving the house with the tec face almost every day. Sheds wind well, breathable, stretchy... Great for a cold day on the trail or a bluebird day touring. Not overly techy looking to wear around town as well. Would love to see some more variety in colo... Read Morers/ patterns in these in the future...

January 25, 2021

Magic hoody

Love this piece. So light its almost not there but just enough insulation combined with the outer layer that cuts down wind - super comfortable. At first the hood visor took some getting used to but after a fast downhill in a little snow squall when I could still see because of the visor, Im sold.

January 24, 2021

Best Hoody Ive Purchased

Great wind and scuff resistance. Its very warm for how thin it is. Packable for those fluctuating temperature days hiking. Highly recommend.

January 22, 2021

Works really well.

Hoodie is a little thinner than I thought it would be. Starting the exercise session or sitting idle can feels a little cold. Once your heart rate takes off and your body starts sweating, the product works as advertised. Just wished the sleeves had adjustable slings. It would definitely make the whole experience more snug.

January 21, 2021

Super versatile

I have only had this for a few weeks, but already I've got it in my rotation and have been wearing it pretty consistently. Awesome mid layer that has great range of motion, but also keeps back light rain and makes the windchill a non-issue. Climbing in it was great and I forgot I had it on for a few routes. Just what I wanted!

January 20, 2021

base layer

This is great as a base layer or for early fall/late spring climbing. Stretchy, too.

January 20, 2021

Great, Versatile Hoody

Bought this product for a variety of outdoor uses; mountain biking, hiking, nordic skiing, among other things. In short, it has been great. Have been wearing it for nordic skiing in Minnesota with a wool base layer underneath and with temps from aprox 15 F to 35 F I have been quite comfortable. I run warm and this has kept me comfortable without ov... Read Moreerheating. Also does a decent job of blocking wind. I look forward to using it as an outer layer for mountain biking this spring as well. Great product, would recommend.

January 14, 2021

Super Comfy

I was a bit hesitant about spending $180 on a tech hoodie. This is my first jacket with stretchy material, and wow! This jacket is so comfy. I havent used it in cold temps yet...Winter decided not to come to California this year. Its fairly light weight, breathes well...oh yeah, the sleeves are long enough for my orangutan arms. Im 61 175 lbs

January 2, 2021

a more technical R1

This replaced an old neon green full zip crew R1 that is wearing thin after years of use. I'm not replacing the loud green with the cool navy of this R1 tech face bc this one is not as soft; it is however more windproof, water-resistant and maybe a little warmer. At 5'9" and 175-180 pounds a large is just right allowing a little room... Read More for wool or synthetic base layer. After a 10 or 20 minute warm up hike/ski/run this piece with the appropriate base-layer is all that is needed down to the teens depending on how you react to the cold. I tend to perspire a lot so I have to start cold and wait for the warm up, then the regulator works, although I can still be soaking after heavy up-hill exertion and then additional regulation of removing hat, gloves and fully unzip. The two outside pockets are great as is the small inside left pocket. Getting to know the tightening mechanism on the hood, which fits over or under a helmet. It's nice to finally have a full zip hoodie!

January 1, 2021

Wanted the Orange Color but only in mens small. Usually wear extra small in Most of Patagonia

Really nicely designed, but as usually it runs large...

December 30, 2020

My husband loves this hoody

Practical, fits well, he has a few and wanted another.

December 29, 2020

Great technical piece

Purchased for mountain biking, but have been using for everything including hiking, running, and snowboarding. I live in the currently wet and cold PNW and have been mountain biking and running the trails here. This piece has performed much better than expected, keeping me dry and cool on intense 50 minute mountain bike climbs, and warm and comfy o... Read Moren the fast descents (with only a dry fit T underneath). It seems to take abuse very well as slamming on my bike and snowboard haven't fazed it at all. I love it. Super versatile and excellent performance.

December 29, 2020

Lightweight and Versatile

I'm 5'6, about 165 lb. The medium is fitted in the torso and not too long. The sleeves are long for me (no surprise) but they look fine cuffed/rolled. The overall look and feel are great. I've been wearing it casually most days and on bike rides. The hood does work OK under a helmet, as suggested in the pictures, but it takes some ... Read Morefiddling to make it comfortable. The hot ember color is bright but not too bright. I wouldn't mind if the jacket were a little more insulated, but it's versatile and layers well under other jackets and vests.

December 18, 2020

Great for tall guys

This jacket fits very streamlined and long in the body and arms which is awesome for the tall guys.

December 10, 2020

Great jacket Dad!

The first time I wore it my daughter said great jacket dad makes you look slim ! Say no more... but I will ...so comfy and warm feels great and the fit is slimming without being tight. Very cool. Love the jacket!

December 8, 2020

Just right

Its just warm enough without adding any bulk

December 6, 2020

Great fit, comfort, durability

This is a great fit, durable and very comfortable. No complaints!

December 2, 2020

Versatile and functional!

Love this jacket and end up using it way more than I ever expected! It is light and breathable, but also blocks wind really well and sheds snow pretty well when ski touring. The hood fits well and stay in place with high winds. I got the XL since I like the slightly longer fit and style. Overall, I think this is a great piece to have in the jacket ... Read Morequiver and comes with the same level of Patagonia quality/function as we know and love!

November 29, 2020

Excellent jacket

This jacket fits great. It is excellent for cool days in Northeast Indiana.

November 25, 2020

Comfortable

I really like this coat although a collar would keep the neck warmer.

November 10, 2020

The Perfect Jacket

As someone who likes to be outside year-round, even when the weather doesnt cooperate, this jacket has proven to be a godsend. It blocks wind and rain, letting me be active longer without a chill. With the ability to block moisture and wind, one would expect this jacket to not breathe, but it absolutely does. I would (and have) recommend this to an... Read Moreyone

October 31, 2020

Comfortable cool weather layer

This is a good layer for cooler weather activities. I've used it climbing and hiking in the 50s and 60s and it has been the right amount of insulation while not being obtrusive.

October 28, 2020

Another great product fr Patagonia

I made the mistake of buying the mango color of the exact same product. Way too bright for mountain biking! Plus it would get dirty way too fast or show the dirt. This color is sharp looks first class looks a lot smaller. Everything about it is well thought out from the hood to the zippers to the pull tabs to make it smaller. You have to wear this ... Read Moretype of fabric to feel the stretch it's really great. I used it for mountain biking at 9,000 ft but it wasn't that cold. I'm sure with practice you could have just a single Capilene layer underneath or you could add a puffy on the outside and be perfectly fine.

September 15, 2020

Another great product fr Patagonia

Been wearing the brand since 1988, needed something for above 9.000' mtn biking near Park City, UT. Stretchy, excellent 'build' as I didn't like the super thin offerings. This probably is a classic, hood fits fine over a real bike helmet, not some baggy heavy jacket. Will report how it does this Fall.

August 11, 2020

Perfect Spring and Fall Jacket for Northern AZ

The grid insulation and the windproof Techface work great for the hard spring winds we get in northern AZ as well as the chilly mornings we have in the fall. The jacket never leaves my pack from late March through October; great for monsoons (with supplemental umbrella for the big downpours) in the Canyon and hiking hard in the fall. Good warmth to... Read More weight ratio, full zip means good venting, and the Techface makes it less subject to abrasion and even stops an occasional shower. Great, athletic fit keeps it from being too baggy.

June 17, 2020

My Go-To

My only problem with this hoody is I don't have 2 of them. I wear this piece more than any other item I own. I love the durability. I should have ripped it 100 times by now and the fabric keeps shrugging it off. This is a perfect outer-layer when you're working hard and you want an outer layer for protection, but won't overheat you. ... Read MoreI love the hood and the big chest pocket (they may have moved that pocket to an internal zipper). It fits great under a harness. I'm 6'3" 205lbs and have an XL. It's a tiny bit big, but works out when I wear layers under it.

May 21, 2020

Near perfect.

I have two versions of this jacket, the current version did away with the exterior chest zip pocket - I really miss this! Otherwise this is a beautiful jacket, love it. Im 60/175# and sized right between M and L - went with the large as the medium is just a bit too snug but the large is really a bit too big. Patagonia, please bring back the exterio... Read Morer chest pocket next year!

May 8, 2020

good fabrick but i needs a few tweeks

i think the cuffs should be like the techface r2 where there is a seam that is tighter to keep it from always falling over your hands and i like the hood on the r2 better .. it makes for a better underlayer that way.. atleast fix the cuffs please.

April 26, 2020

Perfect Jacket

Great for runs and walks. Fits perfect and super comfortable. Nice as a stand alone jacket in cooler weather and work weak as a layer. Best jacket Ive owned.

April 24, 2020

4 season perfect

I brought this hoodie right before the winter holidays 2019....it has been snowshoeing, winter hiking, road trips from Vancouver Wa to Boise ID. it was a great layer under a puffy now that it is warmer it is a breathable warm outer layer. With corvid-19 I have only worn it in neighborhood walks. I highly recommend this gear for any one kit.

March 8, 2020

Great companion for urban and outdoor.

A great multi purpose jacket that blocks wind n light rain. I love its comfortable fabric with some elastic element. I own the previous version which has the chest pocket outside of the jacket. Worn for a year n have absolutely no complaints!! I m 172cm broad shoulder muscle build and M is perfect for me. The sleeve is a bit too long but can be rol... Read Moreled up without anyproblem. Good job patagonia!!!

February 21, 2020

Amazing jacket for mountain biking and much more!

This jacket is amazing for mountain biking and much more! It has a wide range of temperatures from 10-40 and is breathable enough to keep you comfortable and dry. The fit is amazing and the breathability to warmth ratio is second to none. This jacket is great for mountain biking or any other sport where you put off a lot of heat in cool weather. My... Read More wife and I both have one and we wear them all the time. Ive been wearing this for over two years now and it shows almost no signs of wear.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches