Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R1® TechFace Jacket

Write Your Review

4.48 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 21 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R1® TechFace Jacket

4.48
True To Size
May 12, 2020

Flawless crosslayer for just about anything

I have three of these. My wife thinks Im nuts. But I wear them every day in Colorado shoulder season. I hike, boulder, ice climb, ski, snowshoe, bike, and run in them. I never took my black one off in September in Iceland. Theyre comfortable from about 40 to the mid-50s while on the move. They shed wind, but not so much a breeze doesnt cool you dow... Read Moren a bit. Theyll shed light precip, spindrift, beer snarfs. Stretchy, but not annoyingly so. Fits relatively slim, but with room for a Nano Air, fleece, or sweater underneath. All I wish is that there was a Napoleon chest pocket and a few more colors - carbon, roots red, new adobe, or mission olive would not go amiss in this lineup. And if anyone one the product team reads this, this same fabric tailored into a shirt-jac would be incredible.

April 16, 2020

Perfect for Spring running

I usually wear large, but since this is listed as slim fit, I went with an XL, Im glad I did. Its a little baggy on me, but I love it; Im able to wrap the sleeves around my hands and not bring gloves. I use this in Anchorage Alaska where the weather in mid-April is mid 30s to low 40s in the afternoon. This jacket has blocked the wind and rain, kept... Read More me warm, is very lightweight, and breathable. In the past I would wear cotton or polyester hoodies, and I cant believe its taken me this long to switch to something performance focused. I will be purchasing this jacket again and again when mine wears out.

February 4, 2020

Light, Warm, wind and rain resistant

I have two R1s now one with the hood in one not. These are fantastic layering pieces. I use a Merino underlayer for warmth and wicking and this as an outer layer. The full zip allows me to cool down or warm up depending upon what I’m doing. I really like the fact that it’s wind resistant and good in light spring shower situations and layers well.

January 6, 2020

Awesome athletic fit

Husband 6’2” , 180 lbs with Extra long arms, the athletic fit works well for him & his arms!

December 27, 2019

Love it.

Great color and fit. Perfect for colder weather, but not too heavy. Would purchase again.

December 20, 2019

Service

Excellent product and the service to match. Thank you!

December 1, 2019

Love R1 TechFace

I have the R1 TechFace jacket and hoodie. I love: grooves in fleece keep air circulating, keeping me comfortable over huge temperature range. Good fit, looks good, great for layering or by itself. And, important for me, unlike conventional fleece TechFace doesn’t get dirty as easy and animal hair doesn’t stick to it. I can wear black and don’t need... Read More to use lint roller.

November 22, 2019

Ms R1 TechFace Jacket

I love the R1s decided to try techface. Hoping for more durable, less pilling, and less seed and burr attraction. I think it will be what I hoped for. Time will tell on durability.

November 22, 2019

Great warm sweater jacket

Great warm sweater jacket

November 20, 2019

R1

Great light weight jacket.

November 3, 2019

Not bad, but bring back the regular R1 zip up!

I own the hooded version of this jacket. It's more weather resistant on wet or windy days, but it doesn't seem to be as warm as the older regular R1 zip up. It's great for weather in the high 50s and 60s. I hope they bring back the R1 zip-up that had the hand pockets! They seem to have gotten rid of it for the 2019 fall season.

November 2, 2019

A-w-e-s-o-m-e

A-w-e-s-o-m-e

October 31, 2019

Lighter than the ‘regular’ regulator

compared to the standard or regular R1: 1. You get some DWR 2. You get a little less insulation 3. You get about the same wind resistance as a regular R1 in the wind... which is not much.

October 24, 2019

Almost Five

Love the R1 Techface, just think there could be a bit more of a tailored fit.

October 24, 2019

Too Thin

Purchased this item but ended up returning it. It was too thin for my liking. A lot thinner than I had thought and thinner than the competitions jackets. Also, this seems to be an ongoing issue for me with all Patagonia items but the sizes are slightly off to what I am used to from most other brands. A small is always a little too big for me and a ... Read MoreXS is a little too small. I feel like their small should be right in between these two as I’ve never had any other issues with smalls on most other brands.

Response from Patagonia
November 13, 2019

Hi Daniel! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback, it's crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket, and our sizing. If you ever need help with sizing in the future feel free to reach out to our Customer Service team and they'd be happy to assist!

October 24, 2019

Nice and Light, a little tight

I was looking for a jacket that was very light and breathable and this works perfectly. It is a little tight, especially in the arm pits. I am 5'8 170 and got a medium.

October 11, 2019

Nice jacket, but not as warm as traditional R1

My old full zip R1 is pretty tired so gave this a shot without seeing it in person. Don't get me wrong, the jacket is well made, fits pretty well, etc., but it's not as comfy or as warm as the traditional R1 jackets, hoodies and 1/4 zips. Probably better suited for higher output activities or mild temperatures. I like the face material, b... Read Moreut there just does't seem to be quite as much of the waffle material on the inside. I'm going to keep it, but ended up ordering the R2 Tech Face jacket hoping it better meets my needs.

October 8, 2019

Rough fabric

In attempting to make the r1 abrasion proof, the fam]bric used was not comfortable. Please bring back the old r1

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't meet your expectations! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 25, 2019

R1 Techface Jacket

Very high quality, good fabric, resistant to the weather elements and light enough to not be bulky.

August 10, 2019

Perfect light multi-sport jacket

The weight of this jacket is quite light, making it the perfect companion for everything from everyday wear to the office, to hanging on the beach in the morning/evening, to hiking, to running/post-run, and as a light layer under a shell. The fit is as expected, which is definitely not a given with Patagonia, but this piece is dialed in. The He... Read Morem cord is well done and appreciated. The zippered pockets are perfect and highly functional. Overall the piece is pretty flawless from my perspective, having tried about 6-8 other styles in this category from Patagonia, it's the best. Only downside is the price seems high for the lightweight nature of the piece. Considering there is substantial innovation going into the fabrics and one is helping to finance Patagonia's eco programs with every purchase, I'd say it's worth the price. I'm the first month having this jacket in San Diego (July) Ive worn it everyday, usually mornings and evenings. I love it.

July 31, 2019

Favorite jacket

About time they got rid of the hood. I have the hoody, which is great, but with the hood being sized for a helmet, not a very useable hood... unless you walk around town in a helmet. This is such a great lightweight jacket. Great as a mid layer or just for everyday wear. Wish they brought the sprout green color back, but black will suffice. Arms ar... Read Moree long but that actually works pretty well for activities where you stretch your arms out, perfect for biking. 5’10, 200lbs, a large fits great. Pretty snug but stretchy from the shoulders all the way to the hands. Not so much that it looks like some muscle jacket though.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches