Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R1® TechFace Pullover

Write Your Review

4.5 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 28 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R1® TechFace Pullover

4.5
True To Size
May 16, 2020

Nailed it!

Patagonia nailed it with this top. I've been wearing the R1 TechFace Pullover all spring through variable New England weather. Sometimes cold (30's), sometimes chilly (40's-50's), and even in the warmer 60's. Sometimes a little wet... and often windy. This top is awesome for a wide range of temps and conditions. I choose a ... Read Morebase layer (always capilene) depending on the weather, and I never feel too warm or too cold leaving the R1 TechFace on throughout my ride or run. Exactly what I needed... Perfection!

May 13, 2020

Finally got it right

Patagonia finally got the R1 right. The cut is roomy but not baggy. The lapel over the zipper creates a nice clean look (and nicely hides the chest pocket), The sleeves aren't crazy long like the R1 Techface hoodie. This has become my go to mid layer. At this time they only have 3 color options and would be nice if they had more.

May 1, 2020

One of my favorite outdoor gear pieces

I bought this at an outlet. It was a good deal. I wasn't sure what I was getting, but it has quickly turned into one of my favorite pieces. It's durable. Great ratio of weight to warmth. It'll keep wind out to a point and has some water resistance. I even like wearing it in some casual situations. All around my favorite Patagonia ite... Read Morem. The pack small feature is great too for hiking and trying to keep the pack light and not overloaded volume-wise.

March 19, 2020

Disappointing item

This product is calmed to be abrasion resistant so it won't shred against rock... I had backpack clipped on my waste while hiking and garment on this so called abrasion resistant shirt showed some serious damage. This is brand new shirt. I am extremely disappointed in this item, don't buy this.

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Thanks for the feedback Bojan. We're sorry to hear you experienced some disappointment with your new product. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your item if you are not completly satisfied with its performance under our [ironclad guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee).

December 29, 2019

The R1 Perfected

The original R1 pullover has become one of my most versatile shirts. I’m 5’8 145-lbs and a small fits me perfectly. I wear it trail running when temps dip down into the 40s and also use it as a base layer when skiing. The only problem is that it looks ‘worse for the wear’ with all of the use it gets. It easily snags on briars when running and piles... Read More fairly easily from abrasion. The Techface R1 solves that problem. I really like this new material. The face fabric is not as ‘soft’ as the regular R1 and it’s slightly less stretchy. Those are two minor compromises in comparison to the snag and abrasion resistance the new material provides. I also like the hidden zipper for the front pocket. It’s looks cleaner and provides one less snag when layering. Overall, a great product. I hope this material gets incorporated into the NanoAir soon!

December 29, 2019

great golf top

It will be great for those cool golf days in Ireland

December 28, 2019

Nice

Nice shirt. Love the subtle pattern for my husband, makes it different from all the other 1/4 zips out there. The navy is really dark. My husband is 6’2” and wears a large generally. This one is slightly tight in the upper chest, and I do wish it was an inch longer. He still loves it, and has worn in twice in the last three days.

December 26, 2019

TechFace

Love it! I already had a different color.

December 9, 2019

Great Product

I have been using the R1 Techface for a few weeks now and it is performing awesome. I like that is less stretchy than the regular R1 and has the DWR finish.

November 18, 2019

A mew favorite!

My new favorite piece of kit. It's super thin, super light, just the right amount of stretchy. But it's also shockingly resistant to wind for its weight, and I've been out riding on several 30F days with nothing more than this and a t-shirt and some gloves. More warmth than I'd expect from something this lightweight. Very versat... Read Moreile, easy and comfortable to wear. Comments: - Very (very) slightly binding at the armpits - More colors would be great - A hooded version with this fabric would be great

November 17, 2019

The perfect pullover

Tough and stretchy with water/rain wind resistance. Form fitting 6’ 230lbs 38 pants. Xxl fits perfect.

November 9, 2019

Why not just a Techface version of R1?

I wish it had the athletic cut of the traditional R1 hoody. It’s cut more baggy and is missing thumb holes to keep the sleeves down with my gloves.

November 6, 2019

Tech face R1

I have worn it twice. Mountain biking and hunting. It worked perfect.

November 3, 2019

My New Go-To Gravel Riding Piece

I often struggle on the question of outwear for morning gravel rides that start at 40-45 degrees (no rain); base layer, jersey, and light shell (to cut the wind), or base layer, jersey, light fleece (like a traditional R-1, of which 2 in the gear closet). Cyclists know the importance of starting cool and bringing up the comfort/temperature level to... Read More a sweet spot...easier said than done. Purchased the R-1 TechFace this week and yesterday morning threw it over a thin merino wool long-sleeve base and a merino wool short-sleeve cycling jersey for a long gravel ride. Temperature at outset of ride was 43 degrees and 4 hours later it was at 55, winds light (5-7mph). It was one of more comfortable rides I’ve had in those conditions. Never felt overheated during the ride, even during climbs, and the deep front zip helped with that process. This piece is a KEEPER, and am looking forward to wearing it on some upcoming, long gravel ride benefit events. I am 6’3”, 202lbs, with 46” chest. It fit great over the 2 merino wool pieces.

October 21, 2019

Great addition to R1 line

Purchased this past spring, and it is my 'go to' fleece for spring and fall, and I always keep one in my pack. Suburban adaption - Coaching two of my boys soccer teams, I am on the soccer fields a lot and there is typically a noticeable temperature swing in the evenings. This is great to wear for for the active portions of practice where ... Read MoreI am teaching and scrimmaging with them, as well as observation and coaching from the side line in the wind and rain. The pocket is great, large enough to carry my 'on call' phone for work while I am on the field. The R1 line is always part of my layering, and I look forward to taking it with me camping, hiking, fishing, sailing and camping this fall.

October 21, 2019

GL 50

Great product, with all the technical I need

September 4, 2019

Poor Fit

The cut of R1 products varying so greatly over the years makes it difficult to order online for myself or any of my fours sons - lived the color, the fit across shoulders and sleeve length but about 4” too long this version. Discouraging for those many folks living in beautiful outdoor areas not near a Patagonia store, unable to try on before buyin... Read Moreg. Great customer service reps on the phone

September 2, 2019

Fits a Niche for Me

Saw this on sale, and fell in love. I was unfamiliar with the R1 TechFace material, but decided to take a chance, despite reviewers complaining that it's not a true R1—which it's not. I have yet to put this piece through a serious variety of weather extremes, but in truth, I don't think that's what it's designed for. As a ... Read Morenumber of reviewers have already suggested, it's in a new class of its own, designed for great versatility in moderate conditions. And that's what it's doing for me at this point. It's perfect over a capilene Air crewneck on dawn hikes in the New Mexico highlands (7400'), and I sense it will provide plenty of surprises for unanticipated layering possibilities. The well-thought out design and the beautiful cut and assembly makes a great looking pullover (I haven't bought a zip pullover in decades). Can't help but wonder if the same designer/s produced the Hampi pants. Good job!

September 1, 2019

Gonna wear this like every day.

Extremely comfortable and looks great.

August 14, 2019

Tech Face pullover

Nice quality, great color and the fit is perfect.

August 10, 2019

Great

Awesome pullover. It is indeed abrasive resistant. Tested it on The Fins (Idaho) where the rock cuts like a knife!!!! Dries quick and the long front zipper is great for when it gets a bit warm during the approach or while climbing. The front small hidden zipper is not super easy to get to. A potential improvement? The fit is great and stretchy fab... Read Moreric lets you move nicely while climbing. Arms (forearms) are fitted and perfect length for my long arms. Designers: please please keep using funky colors! Need more options other than the plain old colors!

May 20, 2019

Perfect

I bought one for myself. My husband and I live in Alaska and a lot of motorcycle riding. The weather can be super cold in morning, and hot at the end of the day. Add rain, and you can be miserable. Having functional layers is important. But too many laters under our outer shells, and bulkiness can be dangerous for response. Every later counts. This... Read More pullover was perfect. In addition, the ability to zip up the next and keep air our of the helmet (without strangling you) was the winner. All this, and it looks pretty nice! My hubby bought one too. We just got back from riding out to Denali and we both agreed we each needed another one. This is a critical piece of gear for our world travels.

May 10, 2019

On the fence with the tech face R1

The tech face R1 seems like a good idea on apaper but this materail is NOT the same thickness or as warm as the "regular" face R1 garments that I own. I still haven't used the R1 tech as I'm leaning towards returning it.....this is R1 lite.....not R1. I'm 6'0" tall and about 190 lbs - the large fits snug but jus... Read Moret the way you want it for the R1 mid to base layer. I veiw the R1 as a mid layer....the R1 tech face as a base layer (thin stuff).

May 8, 2019

Happy Tech Face

Hiked with my R1 tech face for the first time today. Perfect! Sunny day but cool breeze and all I needed was a Cap 1 and the tech face. The others were bundled up in jackets. Great fit for me, I’m the same dimensions as the on line model - medium - perfect. Plenty of mobility, didn’t even notice I had it on. Highly recommend.

May 8, 2019

Love it

A very versatile piece that is remarkably warm yet comfortable in a broad range.

May 8, 2019

Inconsistent fit

I have an R1 pullover that I’ve had for years. Nice fit and cut. Bought same size in R1 techface and fit was more like a dress, so I returned the item.

Response from Patagonia
May 31, 2019

Sorry this R1 didn't have the fit you were expecting! Please reach out and let us know if you need any help returning. We don't want you to be stuck with anything that isn't working for you. I will contact you to get you set up with all you will need to return this R1.

April 22, 2019

Pilling after one wear

"Designed to be abrasion resistant so it won’t shred against rock" sure.. after one wear, with my messenger bag on my side, this garment shows a fair amount of pilling. Big disappointment.

February 17, 2019

Haven't taken it off

Great over a t shirt as an outer layer on chilly days and could be used as a mid layer. I like that the wrists are tapered and not baggy, but it could be pretty tight if you're larger. Nice slim fit but not super tight around the waist. Pockets would be a nice addition. 6'1" 185 and got a L. Purchased for many activities but think th... Read Moreis is the first Patagonia item that is perfect for golf, which is one of the reasons I got it.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches