Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R2® TechFace Jacket

Write Your Review

4.55 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 51 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R2® TechFace Jacket

4.55
Kinda Large
February 16, 2020

Everything You could ask for

This is the perfect layer for cool coastal winter days. I was searching high and low for a lightweight layer that could keep the damp chill of coastal Southern California winters off me and this jacket has surpassed my expectations. As a stand-alone outer, I would say that the jacket’s ideal temperature range is from the high 40s up into the low 60... Read Mores. It keeps you warm and dry in moderate wind and misting rain, as well.

February 2, 2020

Awesome technical piece, weird sleeves

This jacket is a go-to for hiking under 40 degrees, casual wear, travel, and ice climbing. This and the R1 jacket were fantastic pieces for a September trip to Iceland with weather that varied with the hour. However, the fit of the sleeves is weirdly puffy around the biceps, and a bit bunched around the armpits. It’s especially odd given the fitted... Read More contour of the lower arms. Not a dealbreaker for me, but doesn’t have as sleek an appearance as I’d like out of a fitted jacket.

January 26, 2020

Wonky collar, awesome jacket

I’ve been using this jacket for hiking and climbing around 30-45 degrees and while skiing under a shell 30 and lower. It’s got just the right mix of breathability, wind blocking, and warmth to keep me comfortable when steaming uphill but not freezing on the downhill leg. Really appreciate the stretch and semi-soft shell hard face, both of which mak... Read Moree this a more usable jacket than a standard R2. However, it’s got a very tall collar that doesn’t lie down very readily, and it’s quite long - hip length, not waist length. The hoody version has a very close-fitting, scuba-style hood that covers your chin, so it also is wonky in the collar department. I tried both and settled on the jacket. All that said, it’s such a good winter hiking piece I can forgive some idiosyncrasies.

December 29, 2019

Love this!

Makes me look very slender too!

December 26, 2019

So far so amazing

I am pretty tough on my fleece and demand a lot from my layering systems. As a river guide I work in a lot of conditions and need my layers to be light, warm, breathable and comfy. The R2 totally delivers. From Maine in January to Panamanian rain forest this layer has kept me warm, well regulated and fits in on just about any adventure.

December 25, 2019

Great material but fit is a bit too long

I am 6’2” 170 lb and got the medium. It is beautifully constructed with great material. I’m sure it was intended to be long for cold winds etc, but I almost always have the sleeves rolled up a few inches and the bottom of the jacket prob covers 1/3 of my butt. I’m sure this was the intention by Patagonia to make a longer jacket, but I just got it ... Read Morefor Florida winters so I don’t really need the length :).

December 19, 2019

Ms r2 TechFace Jacket

Love this jacket,first thing I reach for on a cool morning hike,love the fit and warmth it provides,once again never disappointed 😎

December 14, 2019

Great fleece jacket! Very comfortable!

Great fleece jacket! Very comfortable!

December 14, 2019

Great for layering and running

I've done 4 UTMB with similar products from Patagonia and this new one has already kept me warm and safe in the mountains when I trail run. It's not the most breathable or packable but it's warm and soft. It makes me feel safe.

November 26, 2019

I love it!!

I love it!!

November 25, 2019

Ms R2® TechFace Jacket

Very comfortable and perfect midlayer for winter. Also works as a standalone jacket in the fall with just a t-shirt underneath. Super comfortable and would definitely buy again (but hope that this one lasts long enough that I don't have to). My only complaint is that the sleeves are just a bit long, but that's a very minor issue.

November 24, 2019

Awesome, just a little long

This jacket is excellent. My only criticism is it seems a little long and the mid section is a little roomy.

November 24, 2019

It's great!

Fits great for a slim person like me. Like how thin it is. I only wish it were a tad bit warmer.

November 22, 2019

Great jacket for active could be warmer

I’ve worn this jacket almost daily for two months trekking and traveling. It is great as a layer and when active it holds up in colder weather but doesn’t keep the amount of warmth I would like when I stop moving even with additional layers. The fit and comfort are nice for everyday use.

November 22, 2019

Best fleece yet!

I grabbed this fleece for my husband after I fell in love with my own R2 TechFace Jacket. We both love the warmth - and it's really warm. Great all-around fleece jacket for cooler days. Two thumbs up!

November 21, 2019

Great all around jacket

Awesome jacket, comfortably warm, the cuff design is next level. The only thing I’d say about the jacket is that the fit is on the larger side. So I’m a 185 6’ male and large is definitely a little too big, the medium was a much better fit.

November 20, 2019

Great jacket

Love my OG R2, by itself or with a shell, probably the most versatile jacket I have. When the new TechFace came out I was super interested, and after trying on M and L, because if you know the brand you know the size can vary year to year. I’m 5’11 190 lbs 42 chest 33 waist and the medium fit great, the large was way to big, the jacket is stretchy,... Read More no draw string at waist or wrist. The stretch gives you the seal you need to keep warmth in.

November 20, 2019

Another Great jacket

I love this jacket, it’s fall in Minnesota and I can wear this jacket every day. I can wear it on its own on warmer days, and layer it when the weather changes.

November 20, 2019

AWESOME JACKET

THIS JACKET IS SUPER NICE AND FITS WELL!

November 14, 2019

Love it👍

Love it👍

November 12, 2019

Great Jacket! Deceivingly warm

Great Jacket! Deceivingly warm

November 8, 2019

Great layer

Super comfortable, lightweight and warm. I'm 5'8", 165 lb and the Medium fit me well.

October 28, 2019

great jacket very warm.

great jacket very warm.

October 22, 2019

Great jacket

Great mid-layer jacket.

October 20, 2019

R2 Review

Fits true to size. We live in Minnesota where fall through spring can be very cold. The R2 is a good stand alone layer for fall and is a great mid layer for the winters here.

October 20, 2019

Significantly warmer than R1

I didn’t need it. Family told me not to get it. Already own two R1 Tech face hoodies. And yet, I covet this piece like no other. Luxurious interior instantly warms with only a cotton or light merino layer in chilly temps. Love the exterior texture and pattern. Sans hood, I can layer it comfortably under my R1 for extra cold protection. Well designe... Read Mored for Colorado climate, it breathes very well and cuts wind and sheds snow making it the most ideal layer for ski tours. Many times it is my only shell for autumn bikepack adventures. Mid winter I will pack a hard shell to fit over this all day piece. Pockets are warm, but I miss a bit o fleece there. The only question is, “ When will there be trousers?”

October 15, 2019

The fit is off

I tried both the medium and large. I'm 6'1 and weigh 175. The medium was very tight in the body and the sleeves were a bit short. When I tried on the large, I was first worried that I received a XL. It was baggy everywhere and was too big. The R1 techface large fits perfectly. So, I'm not sure what's going on with the R2 sizi... Read Moreng.

October 12, 2019

I like the large jacket

I like the large jacket and the size is a good fit but it is long. I was replacing a Nano air hybrid that was stolen and it had a better fit in the Medium. This was too small in the medium. I would have ordered the hybrid again but it was not available in black.

October 5, 2019

Too early to tell....

I just got the jacket a couple of days ago and did were it on a cool morning. Fabric felt nice, has some stretch to it. Will definitely wear it a lot. Seems to run slightly long but no biggie. Bought this to replace a really worn R1 jacket and it was on sale.....and this stuff is pricey even on sale. As a long time Patagonia customer I have noticed... Read More the quality is not what it used to be, but the guarantee is awesome and keeps me coming back. I think I will like this jacket a lot.

September 24, 2019

warm and durable

Perfect jacket for camping and going to the ball game. Great fit (size medium for 5'8" 155 lb). The wind, water, and wear resistant surface is awesome. I expect this jacket to last through the next ten years.

September 20, 2019

Extremely comfortable

This jacket is so soft and pliable, you'll never want to take it off. The tapered sleeves are snug so the fabric never gets in the way. You wouldn't want to wear several layers under this jacket. Maybe a thin shirt or long underwear base layer, then this jacket. I wouldn't call it waterproof, but it can fend off a light rain easily. ... Read MoreThe location of the pockets are perfect. I'm 5'11" and 160 lbs, and the medium fits great. My estimated temperature comfort zone for this coat is 25-65 degrees, perfect for a majority of the year up north. I've owned several Patagonia jackets and this one is my favorite for extreme comfort, style, and practicality.

September 18, 2019

Ms R2 TechFace Jacket

I ordered the large fits perfect and so comfortable and i can move freely. This jacket is perfect were i live whole year round i can wear it.

September 6, 2019

Great jacket, poor seams

I am 6'2" 185, broad and long limbed. I bought the Medium and the fit is a tad snug in the chest but otherwise good. The arms are long as they should be. A Large might fit better up top, but Patagonia designers unfortunately think taller and broader people are fat, so most of their Larges have balloons of fabric around the middle. This is... Read More an annoying, inexcusable and persistent problem. It is easy to fix and they should do so. The material is great and makes this a perfect mid-temp outer layer and cold/bad weather mid-layer. The one annoying flaw is the stitch choice. They used a folded-in stitch like on a good hardshell, and left the beads of folded-in material loose inside the jacket. They should have used the standard fleece flat stitch. Any loss of water resistance would be trivial given the material. It might not look as sharp on the outside, but the inside seams would snag less and feel better. It is also unclear why they do not use the same pattern as the standard R2. It seems to work well. I am keeping the jacket and will use the life-time guarantee to exchange it for a new one when they fix the stitch.

September 2, 2019

R2 techface jacket

I haven’t worn it in cold weather yet, but it seems like the waffled lining will trap air as an insulator to keep you warm. The fit and quality are excellent.

August 15, 2019

R2 Tech Face Jacket

I got this jacket at the start of the summer, so it hasn't been through the ringer yet, but I have worn it enough to know that it will be a staple for years to come. First off the fleece lining has exceptional next to skin comfort, and I have spent a couple of cozy nights sleeps in the jacket after underestimating my sleeping bag needs on a co... Read Moreuple camping trips. The mobility of the face fabric is wonderful, and I know I will be wearing it on colder day climbing excursions. It provides some wind and abrasion resistance. As a point of reference, this jacket is similar in weight and thickness to the Nano-Air line, however this R2 jacket breaths better, seems like the face fabric is more durable, and is not quite as warm. I am 6' and 155 lbs, and the fit is ideal. Fits well and is non restrictive if worn with a t-shirt and another R1 type layer. It also fits well beneath a belay parka or shell layer. Highly recommend.

May 9, 2019

Versatile Midlayer

Purchased this jackets in early April. In the first month, I wore it as a mid layer for snowboarding, under my waders for the opening day of fly fishing in Michigan, to mass on Easter Sunday, and to work a few days too! I’d call that a pretty versatile piece. For reference I am 5’11” 175lbs and the medium is perfect. Still enough room to wear a nan... Read Moreopuff vest under and not be restricting. Not windproof but definitely more wind protection than the standard regulator fleece. The outer face fabric is very durable; and the pockets well placed for my needs. A solid investment I am looking forward to wearing for many activities.

May 8, 2019

M’s R2 TechFace Jacket

20-some years ago I had a grey, quilted-looking Patagonia snap-closure pullover. Wore it everywhere, everyday. It still lives in multiple old Polaroids. I literally scraped pennies together to save up for that thing. Got this R2 hoping to replace my long, lost love. I am wealthier now. I got the blue one. Love is anew. So much so that I will also g... Read Moreet a black one. And a red one. And, whatever other color they choose to make-one. I will NEVER be without one again. I’m not a big guy. 5’-8”, 170. 44” chest, 32” waist, athletic build. I usually wear large in most stuff. The R2 is perfect in medium. I got the better sweater vest in a large.

March 18, 2019

Fit for a select few

My climbing guide son-in-law has owned one of these for years and loves it, so I thought I’d try one. I only weigh 130. A medium fit close around the chest but the sleeves hung down past my fingertips. Good jacket if you’re 5’11 and skinny.

February 21, 2019

bad stitching placement

The large stitching in the arms runs directly down the back of the arm and over the elbow making for a very uncomfortable garment, especially one that is designed to be worn during athletic pursuits. The medium fits like a large or extra large in comparable brands

February 18, 2019

Where's the hood!!!

This jacket has potential to provide exceptional warm from everyday to mountain use; however, it plain and simple needs a hood option. For a jacket designed for the option of mountain use, this jacket would have much more versality if it had a hood option.

January 28, 2019

Awesome

so I used to have an r3 when they made the older styles 09-11 and that had a furry inside and fleece outside and they used to have it tagged as a laminate less windbreaker because how it was sewn. Well this is as close to that jacket they have ever made and its awesome. Now it even has water repellency. The inside is very similar and the fit is gre... Read Moreat to layer yet nice for alone use. it also does a great job at stopping the wind. Probably the best fleece on the market as we speak. good and warm, warmer than its predecessor!

January 15, 2019

hoody option in this?

Would love to see this with a hood I think that this would be perfect all around - 1) some weather/wind resistance 2) warm 3) hood for cold(er) days 4) packable 5) high warmth/thickness ratio any consideration for adding a hood? this would give it 5 stars

December 30, 2018

Great Jacket

So it is a bit pricey, but it is a great one. With a hoodie underneath, this jacket can easily keep you warm at high 30s to low 40s temperature. Water repellent works excellent. Walked 5 blocks in pouring rain in Portland and about 15 minutes in the car the jacket was all dry. Also looks very stylish and sleek.

December 26, 2018

Great Soft Shell Alternative

+Lightweight, half the weight of soft shell +Good snug fit +One month in, no durability issues +DWR treated exterior perfect for PNW +Breathability

December 13, 2018

Love this jacket

I got this in a medium to replace an older medium R2 that I thought was a bit too snug in the neck and body. I am 5"10" and 170Lbs. This is a better fit all around and warmer. My one complaint is that the sleeves are longer than I like but that was easy to fix by tucking them inside and then sewing new seams. They don't even look lik... Read Moree they were altered. I wore this as a mid-layer over a compression top and under an unlined Patagonia ski shell in zero degree weather skiing in New Hampshire and was very comfortable as long as I was moving.

December 2, 2018

One of the best

I think this may have become one of my favorite Patagonia fleeces! I used to wear the normal R2 fleece all the time, but this just is a bit more "jacket" I guess because it blocks that extra bit of air and a bit of precipitation and is nice and warm. I miss the soft fluff on the outside, but sacrifices must be made for function sometimes ... Read MoreLOL. It can fairly easily go down to 40s or so temp wise depending on what you are doing in it. I normally wear a Patagonia Medium and this fits as expected. I'm not a fan of the dimpled look on the outside, but I don't notice it as much now that I've warn it for while. (I have the black and it doesn't show as much on there either) Maybe they could take this (minus the techface and put it inside a softshell jacket (like replacing the insulation in the Adze with this grid fleece) It's softer and warmer than that insulation.

December 1, 2018

Love it

Love everything about this jacket. The exterior surface is awesome. Easy to layer over but tough enough to not worry about it snagging. Plenty warm. A little extra length in sleeves, waist, and collar are nice as you stay covered in motion. True to size but it is a little slim fitting. However, it stretches really well.

November 17, 2018

Incredible Jacket

I wanted to provide a quick review to hopefully help those who are considering this jacket. I purchased this jacket about 2 months ago and it has become my daily jacket / layer. Listed below are the key things I like about the jacket. For reference I am 6’5” and weigh 190lbs. and sleeve length is 16.5”. Likes: 1.) Sizing - I normally wear a Large ... Read Morein tops / jackets. I tried this jacket in a large but found it was way to big around the mid section with a lot of excess fabric. I decided to go with the medium which provides more of a trim fit. Even though I went with the medium the sleeve length is perfect and when active or extending my arm I don’t have a problem with the jacket exposing or riding up my arm. Also the torso length in the medium is also long enough where I don’t get waist creep (back exposure) when I bend over. Part of this maybe the fact that the jacket moves with your body and the fabric has the perfect amount of stretch and is not restricting. 2.) Fabric - Techface smooth outer surface has not pilled or does not attract lint / dog hair like other fleece jackets I have tried. The interior surface is super soft is very comfortable when wearing next to skin. I usually just throw a merino baselayer underneath and I am good for hiking, running around town or going out. I also really like the look of the fabric and that is the first thing that attracted me to the jacket when I saw it. 3.) Warmth - I have to agree with other reviews this jacket is very warm. I have been wearing it in weather that varies from the 30’s to 50’s and in windy conditions. It has been extremely warm with very good wind resistance. I like this jacket so much I find myself putting it on first thing in the morning and I leave it on all day. It’s lightweight, warm and doesn’t feel like I am wearing a jacket. If I am going to be outside in cold windy weather, I put my Patagonia Houdini over the top and its perfect. 4.) Other features I like: - HIgh neck - The neck is the perfect height. When I have it fully zipped up it covers my neck for extra warmth and I don’t even need to wear a buff / scarf. - Stretch panels at the Wrist - With tapered sleeves the stretch panel makes it easy to get the jacket on and off. It helps so my baselayer shirt doesn’t ride up and when you want to look at your watch it makes is easy to peel back the cuff to see my watch. - Pocket’s - chest pocket is big enough which can hold my IPhone 7+, the handwarmer pocket placement is perfect so when I have my daypack on and use the waist strap the pockets ride above the strap so I can have easy access. I also like the 2 very deep interior pockets which gives me extra storage. - Zipper - when I have the jacket partially zipped the zipper doesn’t move down. I think they have used a zipper with built in locks so it stays in place. Overall this is one of the best jackets I have come across in a long time and I would definitely recommend this to someone looking for a very warm jacket with some great features.

November 14, 2018

GREAT in-between jacket!

Grandma? Maybe so...my grandma chops firewood and climbs mountains and rides horses. I wear this jacket while trying to keep up with her!

October 17, 2018

Badass

The last guy must care what people think of him. I got the same size, in black, and it's handsome as hell. There is nothing "grandma" about this jacket. It stretches with your body when biking or playing with the dog and keeps you warm while not making you sweat a ton

September 25, 2018

r2 techface

On the whole this is a nice jacket. It is very warm, almost too warm. The sleeves fit nicely -- I've recently had problems with Patagonia sleeve length being too long, but not on the R2 techface. The divets of the jacket provide an interesting texture, but I was told it looks like a grandma's quilted jacket, so that was not ideal. If it i... Read Mores in the 30-40 degree temp range I think this is a helpful piece. Above that and you will be sweating...like a grandmother.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches