burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Women's R1® TechFace Jacket

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's R1® TechFace Jacket

4.1/5
Kinda Small
November 19, 2022

Dull colors...

What happened to all the vibrant colors that Patagonia used to sell? Everything now is dark and gloomy. So BORING. You'd think they were selling funeral garb.

November 9, 2022

Nice casual jacket

I was looking to replace a jacket from a different brand, upgrading to something better. This jacket works for what I wanted it for, which was a thin-ish layer to keep warm in the office. It does its job! I could not fit a long-sleeved shirt on under it because it's a bit on the tight side, but I didn't plan on wearing it that way anyhow.... Read More

October 21, 2022

The ideal jacket

The ideal jacket in my opinion. The fit is excellent - fitted without being restricted. The arms taper so there's no bulky excess material round the wrists, and the seams are taped/covered which make them very comfortable. It is warm enough without being too warm, and is water resistant for small amounts of moisture. The pockets sit high to go... Read More under a harness or pack. I have worn it to work every day since I bought it, and look forward to wearing it riding when the weather gets colder.

August 19, 2022

Love the fabric and color.

I haven't had a chance to wear in S CA as it has been warm and dry. Tried it on and can't wait to wear it. Only wish it had 2 way zipper for comfort when sitting/driving!

June 18, 2022

Love everything about this R1

Love everything about this R1 top! Its light weight to throw on for summer warmth in air condition good, good for layering in cold weather and in changing temps, great fit true to size, looks good and washes well. Everything you would expect from a Patagonia product!

May 28, 2022

Nice piece

I liked this jacket a lot. The fit is true to size even with broader shoulders as theres some stretch to the fabric. It runs a bit long in length but Im short. The reason for the 4 stars is the color rose hip looked more pink online and when I got the jacket it was really more of a rust color. Not what I was looking for. I reordered in the fresh te... Read Moreal and I love this color and feel its more true to the color pictured on the website.

May 7, 2022

Great weight/warmth for spring weather!

Great light weight soft shell for early spring running or casual use! Sizing is true and athletic fit. But sweet enough to wear out to dinner!

April 10, 2022

Very happy with my purchase.

The fit it is tighter than I normally ware. I even went up a size. I love the fabric and the color.

March 27, 2022

Super warm

Love, Love, Love this sweater. Great for every day use

March 23, 2022

Made for women with NO hips

Alas! This is yet another Patagonia womens jacket that is cut to fit a man, not a womanmeaning no stretch for hips and was too big on the top, I am a size 6- not big OR curvy- and could barely get this zipped over my hips! I am so disappointed. Patagonia jackets that end right below the waist work great, but please Patagonia make your womens jacket... Read Mores even just a little wider at the hips.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2022

Hi Karla, thank you for your feedback! We're sorry the sizing didn't work out. We have passed your comments along to our Product/Design Team. We'd be happy to assist with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if you haven't already.

March 18, 2022

Extremely flimsy

I am usually an extra small in all Patagonia jackets. This one was extremely tight and the material was very extremely flimsy. Had to return it and got a nano jacket instead. Very disappointed with the material of this jacket.

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2022

Thank you for your feedback on the Patagonia Women's R1 TechFace Jacket, we're sorry to hear that it did not work out. The R1 is a slim fit item, which can impact the feel and fit. Please feel free to call us at 800-638-6464 if you would ever like to discuss the fit.

March 15, 2022

Thin, warm, windbreaking

I love this jacket! It is not quite as cozy as the traditional R1's because the fabric is thinner, but it is a better wind breaker with the TechFace, and it packs smaller. I wear it for figure skating in a cold ice rink every time I skate. And I run in it in temperatures in the 40's. I have been wearing the R2 TechFace, which I also love,... Read More for mountain biking in temperatures in the 30's but will soon switch to the R1 as it gets in the 40's. Please make this in more colors like light grey!!!

February 18, 2022

Warm just ran small and long

Im 53 and about 135lbs.. I bought the small. It definitely fit snug and was long. If my torso was longer it would have fit perfect. Or if I had the option for petite it probably would have been a better fit.. Im returning and will order an medium (once one is available) other than fit, it was warm and love the color!!

January 29, 2022

Perfect

Fills a really nice space between wearing a puffy and a wind jacket. Adds warmth but not too much, resists that light rain enough.

January 25, 2022

Great all-around midlayer

A very nice technical midlayer! Plenty of room for arm and shoulder movements and even a lightweight vest underneath. Warm and breathable for going uphill and blocks the wind and light precipitation going downhill. My only critique is that it's a little tight in the hips (30 waist, 40 hips so I have a tough fit sometimes) but not so much it re... Read Morestricts my movement. However- I just accept a little bunching and get on with it because this jacket is my new backcountry BFF! I don't use the pockets much on baselayers/midlayers anyways, and anything heavier than keys in a piece this lightweight pull you down when you're moving. Should be great for all 4 seasons here in northern New England!

January 25, 2022

Super comfortable!

Long torso and sleeves! Super comfortable and breathable.

September 29, 2021

Super cool/warm

The R1 products have always been a hit with my family. We think this category is one of Patagonias best pieces. We own a lot of R1!

September 12, 2021

Super chilly night wind blocker

Great piece! This season especially.

September 11, 2021

Simple & light weight

This jacket is a great light weight layer for mild weather. I would have given it 5 stars but it got a few small snags after just a few wears. I thought it would be more durable.

Response from Patagonia
September 21, 2021

We're sorry to hear about the small snags in the fabric after such a short time. Please know that your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). Don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team to discuss a return and other products that may be a better fit for you. We'll be happy to help!

August 21, 2021

Too long

II have a two year old version of this jacket with a hood, that I use constantly for all activities, but I wanted to get rid of the hood so it could be more versatile, and somehow this cut is an extra 4-5 inches longer,Which is a little silly because Im 58 and I dont need a jacket to come below my butt

August 12, 2021

Want to love it

I purchased it may/2021, now its august/2021. My husband has three of the original R1 jackets and is obsessed with them, So I wanted to order myself one. I probably should have ordered to regular one, instead of the TechFace, because quality wise there are huge differences... its pilling so much, even tough I have only washed it 3 times! After my f... Read Moreirst wash the pilling already startet and from that moment on I was afraid wearing it, as I didn't want to make it worse. the jacket is only 3 month old and I don't want to know how it will look in a couple more. I am really disappointed in the quality. The regular R1 model doesn't pill at all and has a way softer material...so guys, just stick for the regular model in plain black, than just buying something for the pretty color! I picked the TechFace because of its beautiful color...it fits very good and is flattering for my body.. that's why I gave 3 stars.

Response from Patagonia
August 12, 2021

Hey Stefanie! We're so sorry that you're having so much trouble with your fleece pilling. That's not what we expect of our gear. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team to get set up with a warranty return.

July 17, 2021

Fits like a dream

Soft inside, water-repellant outside, stretchy and long-waisted. It's snug and comfortable and warm - perfect under a shell or by itself. Nothing I don't like about it.

June 18, 2021

Great style but poor quality

I had a older version (3-4 years old) I loved it so I want to get another one. The green color caught my eyes so I decided to get it. I got it 4/2021, its currently 6/2021 and the jacket looks more worn out than my 3-4 year old jacket. It peeling so bad, its so fuzzy now. And the fabric is different from the soft one I originally got. Very disappoi... Read Morented that my two month old jacket looks so worn out . I mostly wear it once to twice a week (to combat AC at work). Wouldnt recommend getting it

Response from Patagonia
June 23, 2021

Hi Chau, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're incredibly sorry to hear about how quickly your new jacket has started to wear out. We definitely expect better quality out of our gear so we understand the disappointment. We've reached out to you privately with further assistance.

June 15, 2021

Too loose and long

I got a Med R1TechFace. It was baggy and too long. I ordered a Small and it was to snug around the waist and hips. I sent both back. They just didn't fit right for my body type.

May 15, 2021

Good Quality

Its overall really good, but runs little tight on belly or chest.

April 11, 2021

R1 Tech Face jacket

I love this jacket. It is the perfect weight for hiking and for travel. I am normally a medium in jackets, but this ran so small I had to order a large. I love the longer length.

March 24, 2021

Miracle fabric, thoughtful design

This is a light, amazingly stretchy layer that fights off morning chill or fog but doesnt get steamy. The exterior adds significant wind and water resistance AND holds up to abrasion against brush, rocks and even urban edifices. It does run noticeably long in the torso, but I love this, as it keeps my bum warm and helps hold keys or ID snug inside ... Read Moreleggings or jogging pants pockets.

February 26, 2021

Love it

Waited a long time to finally order this item due to the price. After wearing it just once I knew it was worth the price . Its warm - water resistant and attractive. I still wish it wasnt so expensive or Id get one with the hood .

February 16, 2021

Great Fleece!

I love Patagonia fleeces, the only one I will wear and this one did not disappoint. I bought this and the R2 to replace my YEARS old R1 & 2 and the style has changed for the better. The length is longer which I love, more on the R1 than the 2 and the fit is slimmer. Additionally, a great feature on the R1 is a hidden draw string around the bott... Read Moreom hem to tighten if desired. While it is always somewhat concerning ordering clothing online due to womens sizing NOT being universal I had a good idea of the size I wear in Patagonia clothing. For reference, Im 56 and weigh 128lbs and I bought a medium which left room for layering underneath; for me the fit was perfect! I highly recommend this and the R2 fleece; I absolutely love both of them!

February 14, 2021

Lite shell for cool morning work.

The team at Patagonia S.C. are great! I was buying the 5 Tech Face jacket for my workers. The size runs small. I usually wear a medium but for these I needed a large. I still need to exchange a xxlarge for a xlarge mens. One catch is we haven't worn them yet for work.

January 20, 2021

Nice warm layer!

I love the r1 but cant give it 5 stars because theres funny stiff thing going on with the collar area. Otherwise a terrific layer for active cold sports ! Fit is nice and slim which I love

October 21, 2020

Jacket Too Long

I bought this for my wife to replace a 15 year old R1. She's 5' 4" tall and the XS is just way too long. The waist hem is around the middle of her hips so it's uncomfortable to her and looks goofy. We'll have to return this and look for a different jacket. It seems others also find that this jacket runs 3-4 inches too long.... Read More It's definitely different than older R1 jackets... That said...it's a great jacket if it fits your looong torso.

October 15, 2020

Odd shape

While I want to love this jacket... its long in all the wrong places.

June 24, 2020

Comfy

Runs a little long at the waist. Love the color!

June 17, 2020

Perfect weight

I love the weight of this fabric, perfect for spring and autumn mornings. Lovely layering weight as well.

April 21, 2020

Favorite

I love the fit of this jacket. It's light and form-fitting. Very flattering for an athletic jacket. I am pretty tall and it's the perfect length for me. I purchased the red which is vibrant and fun. Will be purchasing in other colors!

December 28, 2019

a thinner version of the R2 Tech Face

LOVE this option. Especially since I don't want to take off the R2. The R1 is almost exactly the same but thinner so perfect as a shirt over a tank top but with all the technical specs that make you love Patagonia. Stretchy in every direction, slightly rain resistant, hip length (I'm 5'9" and slim build at 127 lbs). This is perf... Read Moreect for warmer days when you still want to be able to have a light layer for warmth but don't want to haul anything bulky. Of course, I ordered multiples after getting my first one. Love the color choices. It's a lovely slim fit.

December 18, 2019

slim fit means too tight

slim fit is really super skinny fit.

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

Hi Blythe! We're sorry that this was too tight. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so, but haven't already. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

October 22, 2019

I have bought these in

I have bought these in the pas t and really like them. I have 3. This one is too long overall and the fabric seems thinner. I am returning it.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment with this jacket and thank you for providing us with the feedback in regard to the material and length of the jacket. Let us know if we can offer [assistance](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=help) in that return.

October 15, 2019

Great jacket

I have worn this jacket every day since I received it. Hiking, city, etc. I am tall and thin and ordered a medium and it fit perfectly. It is long but I love that. The navy is great.

October 14, 2019

Love this Jacket

I pulled this out of the box and wore it for the next three days. It is beautiful, comfortable, soft, warm. I spent a day on/off trail hiking in the mountains with one thin wool shirt underneath and I was comfortable in the 20 degree weather. The jacket stood up to bushwhacking in thick brush. I have not used it in the rain yet. I am excited to try... Read More it out on my weekly skin up the mountain this winter. It feels perfect for the job. I am thinking "how can I justify buying another one in a different color".

September 26, 2019

Wanted to keep it!

I need a light weight, warm jacket for a 6 week hiking trip next summer and this jacket was perfect -- except it was too long in the torso. It hung half way down my thighs making the fit over my bottom very unflattering. Sadly, I sent it back. I have other Patagonia jackets and they fit nicely, but I really needed something lightweight to stuff int... Read Moreo my daypack. I would recommend it, if you are long in the torso.

Response from Patagonia
October 2, 2019

We're sorry this ended up being too long! Please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions about your return.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches