Back to Product

Patagonia Women's R2® TechFace Hoody

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 40 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's R2® TechFace Hoody

4.6/5
Kinda Large
September 9, 2021

I really needed this jacket in a Medium

Please bring this jacket back. I really needed a medium but ordered the small because that is all you had in stock but it was a bit snug. Hoping I can order a medium in the future!

Response from Patagonia
September 18, 2021

We're sorry about the lack of inventory, Kelly! We recommend that you reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team to discuss options for exchange and searching our inventory. You can expect to see some new product available in October as well.

September 6, 2021

Super comfortable

Great light jacket! Good fit and design for those days where you just need an extra layer. Super happy with the purchase.

September 3, 2021

Perfect Base/Mid Layer

This thing is a perfect mid layer for ski touring, packs down well if you shed a layer. Im 5,2, 120lbs size small fits great. i love the length as it covers my butt. The hood is awesome, fits under my helmet. all around awesome piece

August 28, 2021

Quality and comfortable great fpr hiking

Quality and great for hiking Just love it..thanks

May 14, 2021

A Keeper

The color, overall quality is great. This jacket is warm in foggy, windy weather along the California coast. Only complaint has nothing to do with this jacket but Id like to see Patagonia make the fleece two color R2 jackets like you use to.

May 13, 2021

Warm but not bulky

Its my go-to fall/spring jacket, especially for cold mornings and eveningspacks up easily if the day gets warm to fit in a large purse. I love that its sleek, warm, and comfortable with enough stretch to move with me.

May 10, 2021

Super versatile

I normally wear a medium in almost anything but the large fit perfectly. Wonderful fabric - light weight, warm, with a tight hood great for wind. Seems to cover a range of temperatures perfectly. And very attractive on top of all that.

May 6, 2021

Perfect hoody

This hoody is outstanding. Love it. Provides perfect amount of warmth in all types of weather. Perfect to layer under a jacket or alone.

May 3, 2021

Cozy. Wish it came in a high vis color

Super cozy. Decent wind protection with the tech face. Just wish it came in a high visibility color. Much safer in the mountains

April 23, 2021

Really Comfortable, but Fit Big

Fit really long and the bullets around the check are for someone who is not an extra small. Really soft on the inside and I like the outside finish! Wish it was shorter in the torso and smaller in the chest.

April 7, 2021

Perfect for activewear as well as loungewear

Great fit , wear and look for every activity

March 26, 2021

Flattering fit and sooo comfy

This hoody checks all the boxes: 1) warm, 2) flattering) well constructed tech fabric.

March 1, 2021

Great Layer

This is the best fleece layer I have ever owned. Its super warm, the hood fits under a helmet seamlessly with lots of good lower face/neck coverage for cold conditions. My favorite part: its slim fitting AND long. I'm 5'5 125lbs and the XS comes down just over the top of my butt. Its amazing.

February 28, 2021

Bad fit for petite women

This was a terrible fit for me. The back of the jacket is really long? And the middle is super tight. I bought it because my husband bought one and has worn it every single day since he bought it. He swore by this jacket but it was an immediate no go for me. Too long too tight and just not functional in the way I needed it to be.

February 5, 2021

My top favorite color

I always looking for a cobalt blue jacket and I am a BIG fan of patagonia, finally I got this R2 techface hoody from the internet. I found this jacket very versatile and super warm. I am always feeling cold, but with this jacket I have to unzip it to let the air in to cool down a bit, great job patagonia, keep up the good work

February 2, 2021

Perfect jacket!

I bought this jacket for my daughter. She wears it at the ranch while training her horses. This piece can be layered easily under a vest or jacket. She loves it so much that I bought her another one in a different color. Please make more colors, especially the cobalt, for the fall.

January 25, 2021

Daily Go-to!

My scuba suit is body snug and keeps me warm hiking, playing paddle tennis and XC skiing in Vermont temperatures that hover near 20 degrees without needing a top layer. Amazing under layer, too, for AT, Alpine or simply kicking around the house. I bought two and rotate them daily: they are my COVID uniform/security blanket and I look sleek and put ... Read Moretogether all day long. LOVE R2!!!!

January 23, 2021

Why no chest pocket for women?

Patagonia why does this not have a chest pocket? The men's version does. A chest pocket for phone, etc would make this perfect. We need pockets too!

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Hey! Thanks for taking the time to write this. You make a great point and we really appreciate this feedback. We've passed this along to our Design Team so hopefully this can be taken into consideration for future iterations of the Hoody.

January 21, 2021

Great gear weird fit

Super warm, very comfortable, and doesnt collect dog hair. That might be a weird thing to ask, I know, but it doesnt, which is great. Love it, but it fits really long. I wish it was just a little shorter and bigger in the head area. Overall though, a really great purchase.

January 15, 2021

Lightweight but super warm and soft.

This R2 is great! I've used it over my thermal base layers under my snowboarding jacket and I've been so warm and comfortable on the mountains (Colorado Mountains) I also used it for some backcountry/hiking snowboarding and it was fantastic bc it keeps you warm, but wicks away sweat so you stay dry. I love it. I ordered an XS at first and... Read More had to exchange it for an XXS.

January 12, 2021

Favorite jacket

I love this jacket. I bought one a couple of years ago that I wear all the time to play tennis in outside when its cold. I bought this one everyday! I will try not sweat in this one.

January 6, 2021

BUY BUY BUY

I absolutely love my hoody! The material is light weight yet the coverage is 100%! I recently wore mine when I went snowboarding, sleighing and walking in the snow and I cant explain enough how comfortable I was wearing this hoody. I highly recommend this purchase.

December 17, 2020

Worn every day since purchased

I was on the fence with purchasing the Women's R2® TechFace Hoody, but really like the extended length on the hips, the luxurious interior and the extended neck coverage with the hood when zipped. Unfortunately, Im not liking the cold zipper against my neck and chin when fully zipped up. I bought two (black & cobalt) because I love everyth... Read Moreing else about this product, but hope this can be revised in upgraded versions. Its great as a layer underneath a Macropuff or on its own.

December 2, 2020

Loved it

I loved this jacket but the color wasnt good on me at all - maybe too bright for my coloring, even though I liked the color by itself. I wanted the purple color, but it wasnt available. I like the R2 jacket ( the one I already had is size M and I grew out of it during the SIP) so much that I decided to see if this color would work; unfortunately, i... Read Moret didnt, so I returned it. Hopefully, next year Patagonia will make it in purple again.

November 1, 2020

Super comfy but the hood was weird

Im busty so tend to size up. This was a bit long but still flattering until I pulled up the hood. My reaction was that I looked like yoda. The hood was so tight and uncomfortable and I have a small head and neck. Maybe it would work with someone in a different body shape. My family actually lol when I showed them. High marks for softness and weight... Read More and comfort. Low for hood fit which is why I purchased.

October 28, 2020

Light weight

Light weight but warm. I really love this jacket

October 16, 2020

Great jacket, warm, light, stretchy and layers well

This hoody is great. Feels warm and cozy, love the trim fit. It layers wonderfully with the R1 crew, I wore both yesterday for a walk in damp, windy 50 degree weather and felt great, toasty but not overheating. You can also layer easily over it, which is what I will do when it gets colder. As other reviewers mentioned, one drawback this jacket has ... Read Moreis the lack of zipper protector, and zipper can be really annoying. R1 actually has the same problem. Fix it and you have the perfect jacket, Patagonia!

October 12, 2020

Favorite coat, very versatile!

Fantastic purchase, so versatile. I reach for this coat all of the time. I wear it inside around the house as a sweatshirt. I wear it outside for warmth when its not too cold. When its colder I wear it as a layer under my nanopuff jacket. So comfortable and flattering. Im 54, 140 pounds and the medium fits me perfectly. Would definitely recommend!

September 8, 2020

Best!

This is my favorite jacket. I grab this more than another jacket in cool weather. Its great for hiking and running in cold weather and a solid mid layer. Fabric is great and so warm. I bought my normal size, M. Im 59, 150 lbs, 36C and M fits perfect.

May 7, 2020

BEAUTIFUL!

Absolutely LOVE IT!!! I want every color haha!!! If I could give it 6 stars I would!!!

December 17, 2019

Sizing and Style

For my first ski trip I wanted to have warm and functional clothing. After quite a bit of research I settled on the R2 hoody for my mid -layer. Unfortunately, I am returning both the size medium and large. I'm new to Patagonia so I did follow their size chart. Ordered the size large, but was shocked at how long the torso was on my 5"4&qu... Read Moreot;, 135 pound frame. The front sits a full six inches below my hip bone and around 4 inches below the bottom of my butt. A very frumpy and unflattering look. The sleeves were very, very long and too baggy for layering (on top of). The medium was better in the length because it was tighter. Too tight especially in the chest. Mind you, I am a 36B. A very small "B" cup. So, that one didn't work either. I couldn't layer under it. Yet, the sleeves were still way too long. It's like I'm a medium/large size. No thumb holes either. The hoodie has no draw string pull. Strange because the R1 does. I have a tiny head. A child's size head and it's too big. Staying warm, but not overheating is a priority for me, but I don't want to look terrible doing it. Maybe they could make a petite size in the future.

Response from Patagonia
January 9, 2020

We're so sorry to hear that neither of the two options worked for you, Robin! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) them to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund. Also we'll send you an email with a more thorough response to your very thoughtful and detailed review!

November 13, 2019

Amazing

Chicago Verified - Warm and Wonderful

November 12, 2019

Excellent!

I have refused to take this off since purchasing it. It is just warm enough for aerobic outdoor activities. I’ve worn it on some runs at 10-15F and been very comfortable with this plus a base layer on top. It’s warm but not too warm. Have yet to use it in the rain. Looking forward to using it for ski season and for Nordic skiing. 5’4 and 135 lbs an... Read Mored the XS fits perfectly with room for a thicker wool base layer underneath. Needs thumb holes or fold over mittens

November 11, 2019

Unbelievable fit. My favorite layer

Unbelievable fit. My favorite layer by far!!

November 8, 2019

Warm for the weight

A good, mid layer jacket. I do feel that the zipper when zipped to the top tends to irritate my neck and does not have much form, but other than that it seems to be a good purchase.

November 8, 2019

R2 Techface

This jacket is great for layering. Very lightweight, yet warm. Wore it this 20 degree morning with a vest underneath and perfect. I got the hooded version and the neck zips up very high, which I like for keeping neck warm. I got a medium that allows me to wear heavier clothes underneath too. A small would have fit snug. I am normally a size 4-6.

October 14, 2019

W's R2 TechFace Hoody

Overall, I love this piece! The only changes I would make is a zipper cover as the cold metal touches my skin and makes me feel cold...

October 8, 2019

We R2 Tech Hoody

Warm, comfortable, good fit, layers well, nice travel piece!

August 18, 2019

Best fleece ever

I LOVE this fleece. Seriously one of the best products I’ve ever seen/worn. The fit is perfect. It is so warm and soft on the inside and the exterior seems very sturdy and sheds dog hair which is my favorite feature :). I do wish it had thumbholes—my only suggestion to make this jacket better. I am 5’4” 118lbs and got an extra small. There is enoug... Read Moreh room to layer a couple layers underneath without it looking bulky. Love love love this fleece so much. Good job Patagonia!

August 15, 2019

Best fleece ever

I am completely in love with this hoodie. The fabric is fantastic. It is very sturdy and comfortable and stretchy, and the inside is so nice and soft and warm. The fit is fantastic. It is form fitting but not super tight and easily layered over a lightweight fleece for added warmth. I have three long-haired dogs and the fact that this fabric sheds ... Read Moredog hair is pretty much the greatest thing about this fleece. Patagonia you definitely hit the mark on this one! The only thing that would make it better is the addition of thumb holes. And how about a beautiful purple color please? In terms of sizing I am 5’4” and 120lbs. I typically wear an extra small which is what I purchased and the fit is perfect.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches